Community

 
Jump Menu:
Post Reply
Page 1 of 51  •  1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 51 Next
Tome of Battle: CustServ Q&A (UPDATED Aug. 17)
6 years ago  ::  Aug 10, 2006 - 3:11PM #1
R.213
Date Joined: Aug 14, 2004
Posts: 257
NOTE: This thread was migrated to the new boards, so many of the links to the original CustServ response posts are invalid. I'm working on repairing them.

Last Updated: August 24th, 2006

I will add to this post as CustServ emails are posted.

* Maneuvers - General Update!Spoiler: Show

Readying - multiple "copies" of a maneuver
Here, here, and hereSpoiler: Show
Q Can a Swordsage or a Warblade ready more than one "copy" of the same maneuver so that he can use the maneuver more than once per encounter without having to spend actions to regain his maneuver(s)?

A Unfortunately not. Readying a maneuver isn't like preparing a spell. You are either Ready to use the maneuver or you aren't! You can't "Double Ready" a Maneuver! You can only use a given maneuver once per encounter unless you Recover it during the fight!
Readying - multiclass martial adepts
HereSpoiler: Show
Q Another multiclass question. Can a multiclassed martial adept (eg. Swordsage/Warblade) choose/and or ready the same maneuver for each of it's classes (provided you have access to the same maneuver)? And if you gain a maneuver in one class, can you use it as a prerequisite in gaining a maneuver in the other class?

A No, you can only ever learn/ready a maneuver once. If you gain a maneuver in one class it can indeed fulfill prerequisites in another class!
Maneuvers - non-preferred weapons
HereSpoiler: Show
Q The "preferred weapons" of each discipline seem to serve very little function, except for a couple of feats and the Discipline Focus feature. Can you perform any maneuver with any weapon? Similarly, for "key skills," it seems like most maneuvers can be performed perfectly well without the relevant skill. Are these correct?

A Your assumptions are correct. The preferred weapons are just that, preferred, and there are some feats and other abilities that you can build around such weapons, but they are not required for using maneuvers from that discipline. The key skills are the same way. While there are some maneuvers that use the key skill to determine their effects, this is not always the case. There are plenty of maneuvers that you do not need the key skill for at all.
Maneuvers - interaction with Unarmed Strikes
Here and here Spoiler: Show
Q Alot of feats and maneuvers in this book refer to weapons, as in the case of snap-kick (which refers to a melee attack with one or two melee weapons) and maneuvers, as in the Tiger Claw's 1st level maneuver wolf fang strike. My confusion arises from the fact that unarmed strike is referred to as a favored weapon in the description of some of the schools of combat (Setting sun, tiger claw, shadow Hand). Does that mean that unarmed strike counts as a weapon when the word weapon is used in the description of a maneuver? Does it make a difference if the character has the improved unarmed strike feat? I'd just like to clear up this confusion.

A Yes your unarmed strike counts as a weapon when the word weapon is used in the description of the maneuver. Yes it makes a difference if you have improved unarmed strike feat, as you will provoke if you do not.
Maneuvers - initiating out of combat
HereSpoiler: Show
Q I see nothing in Tome of Battle that specifies how often (if at all) you can use manuevers out of combat... specifically the Shadow Blink/Jaunt/Stride manuevers. How often can you use them out of battle?

A According to the rules, you only recover your maneuvers at the end of each encounter, without a feat or something to allow you to do this differently. A DM could rule, that if you use a maneuver while not in an encounter, you would have to wait until the end of the next encounter to recover it.
Maneuvers - undefined saving throw DCs
HereSpoiler: Show
Q Some maneuvers, such as Inferno Blast (ToB p.55) allow saving throws according to their stat block, but do not list the DC's for these saving throws (or even mention them at all) in their body text. Do these maneuvers actually allow saves? If so, what are their save DCs?

A The Maneuvers to allow saves: until Errata can be created it is up to the DM to adjudicate what the save DCs are for those maneuvers that don't list them.
Maneuvers - missing
HereSpoiler: Show
Q Just because it isn't really clear in the book: a maneuver that misses is still expended, correct? You can't "hold the charge" like with a touch spell?

A You are correct. A maneuver that misses is still expended, unless of course that particular maneuver states otherwise (currently I don't believe any maneuvers state otherwise, but if more maneuvers are created in the future, it is possible they could have additional rules text that could specify such a thing).
Maneuvers - initiating while raging New!
HereSpoiler: Show
Q Can a Barbarian use a Maneuver while Raging?

A Yes, so long as the maneuver does not require a concentration check.
* Maneuvers - Specific Update!Spoiler: Show

Diamond Mind "save-substitution" Counters - interaction with modifiers
HereSpoiler: Show
Q Can the counters that replace Saving Throws with Concentration Checks (eg. Moment of Perfect Mind) be modified by miscellaneous bonuses to saving throws (eg. a magic item or feat that provides you with a bonus to your saving throws)? If not, what happens if there is a penalty to your saving throw, does it apply to the skill check?

A The Concentration check plus any applicable Concentration skill check modifiers completely replace the Will save and its modifiers. Bonuses and penalties to saving throws or even specifically Will saving throws don't apply.
Avalanche of Blades - interaction with True Strike
HereSpoiler: Show
Q If you use True Strike with the Avalanche of Blades maneuver from the Tome of Battle, does the +20 benefit the entire maneuver or only the first attack.

A Only the First Attack roll.

The Second attack would be at +8.
Clarion Commander - interaction with ranged attacks
HereSpoiler: Show
Q The Clarion Commander tactical feat requires you make a DC 20 intimidate and then make an attack on the next turn. The result is flanking for all allies for one minute, does this allow a character with a ranged weapon to flank?

A It just simply states the enemy counts as flanked for you and your allies, so while you normally wouldn't be able to flank with a bow, it looks like you can with this feat!
Time Stands Still - interaction with Dancing/Raging Mongoose Update!
HereSpoiler: Show
Q I read on the boards that a forum member asked you how Raging/Dancing Mongoose worked with Time Stand Still, and you replied that you get the extra attacks per full attack action, so you would get double the attacks from Raging/Dancing mongoose using Time Stand Still.
Now I looked the maneuvers over in Tome of Battle, and I can't figure out why that is. The maneuver states that it last until end of turn and you get some extra attacks per weapon wielded (max of 2 or 4), nowhere in the maneuver is it said that the extra attacks come per full attack action. If you read about being hasted, it very specificly says you get the extra attack as part of a full attack action and therefore you will get an extra hasted attack from using Time Stand Still. But I can't see why you would get double bonus from Dancing/Raging Mongoose.

So my question is, why did you rule it that way? Have I overlooked something or?

A Hmm.. Not sure who answered it that way, but they must have misunderstood the question! You could initiate Time Stands Still and Raging Mongoose, and Raging Mongoose would give you four extra attacks that turn, two with each weapon you wield! But only four. not Eight. You would be able to choose which full attack action to apply the extra attacks to during your turn.
Overruled responseSpoiler: Show
Q When using the high level diamond mind manuver Time stands still, you can make two full attack actions in a row seperate from each other. Suppose you normally get 5 attacks, three from base attack and two more from two weapon and improved two weapon fighting. You use Raging Mongoose to gain two attacks with each weapon at your highest base attack, this ability lasts for one round. Does Raging mongoose let you make two extra attacks with each weapon for each full attack action, or does the limit of two attacks for each weapon apply only for the first full attack.

A You can make two extra attacks for each full attack action that you make with this combination. So you would get the extra attacks in the first full attack action, and get them again in the second full attack action.
Time Stands Still - action substitution
HereSpoiler: Show
Q When using Time stands still can you use a standard action instead of a full attack action?

A Time Stands Still specifically allows you to make two full attack actions, so you would not be able to use standard or move actions
Setting Sun tripping maneuvers - size differences
HereSpoiler: Show
Q In the Tome of Battle: Book of Nine Swords, the Setting Sun discipline has many throw maneuvers that follow the rule: "as part of this maneuver, you must succeed on a melee touch attack against your foe. Resolve the throw as a trip attempt (PH 158)". Normal tripping can only be done against foes one size category larger than you. Does this size limitation apply to Setting Sun throws as well, or could (for example) a Small sized swordsage use a Mighty Throw on a Large opponent?

A You are still limited in the sizes of creatures you can trip/throw.
Dancing/Raging Mongoose - two weapon fighting penalties
HereSpoiler: Show
Q The manuver Raging Mongoose allows you to make extra attacks with a weapon in each hand, but it mentions nothing about taking the standard two-weapon fighting penalties for doing so.

Are these extra attacks penalized by the normal two-weapon fighting rules?

A You will indeed incur two weapon fighting penalties if you are wielding two weapons and take your extra attacks with both those weapons!
Iron Heart Surge - applicable effects
HereSpoiler: Show
Q Can Iron Heart Surge remove:
1. Poison.
2. Disease.
3. The spell "Bestow Curse".
4. Ability score damage.
5. Level drain.
6. The influence of an antimagic field. (*)

Lastly,
7. If you use Iron Heart Surge against an effect which does not solely target you, but also affects an area, do you end the entire effect or do you just dismiss it from yourself?

A
1. Yes.
2. Yes.
3. Yes.
4. Ability score damage is not an ongoing effect. It is the result of an attack, spell, or ability. So no - damage, even ability score damage, will not be removed by Iron Heart Surge.
5. In most cases, level drain is similar to damage when determining if Iron Heart Surge removes it from the martial adept. If something level drained you, this is a permanent result, not an effect with an ongoing duration. You would not be able to use Iron Heart Surge to remove level drain.
6. Yes, you would be able to end the antimagic field if you chose to do so with Iron Heart Surge.
7. If the effect does not solely target you, such as the antimagic field in number 6, it will still end the entire effect.
Strike of the Broken Shield - interaction with Uncanny Dodge
HereSpoiler: Show
Q Also I am confused by the Uncanny Dodge-flat foot paradox. I was under the impression that uncanny dodge allowed one to keep the dexterity bonus when caught flat footed - not eliminate the actual condition of being flat footed. I'm looking at the "strike of the broken shield" power on p. 74-75 and it says, "If your target cannot be caught flat-fotted (he has uncanny dodge, for example)," which is the source of my confusion. Many of these manuevers only work vs. flat footed opponents; must they *also* be denied their dexterity bonus?

A The Strike of the Broken Shield wording is worded improperly because Uncanny Dodge does not make you immune to being flat-footed. But the intent should be clear enough. Characters with Uncanny Dodge or characters that cannot caught flat-footed cannot be made flat-footed by this maneuver. I will pass this miswording along to the appropriate departments for potential errata purposes.

In general, follow the flat-footed rules you know when determining the effects of maneuvers. If a maneuver can be used against a flat-footed person (rather than having their Dex denied to their AC), a character with Uncanny Dodge can still be victim to the maneuver.
Counter Charge - target's movement
HereSpoiler: Show
Q Counter Charge: The victim is moved "2 squares in a direction of your choice away from you." Is this 2 squares from your location, or 2 squares from where it began the charge? Also, how can it be "away from you" and also "in a direction of your choice?" "Away from you" is a direction.

A Again, this is not specifically covered in the text. Simply by reading, it is 2 squares away from you, which could be any two squares that do not pass through you. It does not say 2 squares away from the direction that you came from, only 2 squares away from you. But since it is not specifically covered in the exact terms that you asking for, it is going to be up to your DM to determine exactly how this would work.
Dance of the Spider - clinging in place
HereSpoiler: Show
Q Dance of the Spider: You need one hand free to climb, but do you need one hand free to remain in place while stuck to a wall?

A The rules don't mention anything anywhere about what you need just to cling to a wall, so this would again be up to your DM.
Clever Positioning - Attacks of Opportunity
HereSpoiler: Show
Q Clever Positioning: Lacks the text that says that this movement is not subject to attacks of opportunity. Does this mean that it provokes AoOs normally?

A While the flavor text of the maneuver uses the word "moving into his space," the actual rules text of the maneuver never uses the word "move." The rules text of the maneuver simply states that you "swap positions with the target." This seems to show that it is not treated as normal movement and would not provoke. Of course, I see the ambiguity you're speaking of, so in a case like this, it is again going to be up to your DM to determine how he/she thinks the ability should work.
Five-Shadow Creeping Ice Enervation Strike - effect duration
HereSpoiler: Show
Q Five-Shadow Creeping Ice Enervation Strike: I don't understand this one at all. The box says the duration is 1 minute, but the text says that the special effects last for 1d6 rounds. Does that mean that the ability damage only lasts one minute? That's not the way abiltity damage usually works. Or does the "freezing" effect not kick in for one full minute after the initial attack? Or does it affect one body part per round for 1 minute? Or is this simply an error, and one or the other of those statements is wrong?

A In cases where the stat block and full text of an entry disagree, the full entry wins out, unless an errata states otherwise. So in this case, the 1 minute duration is incorrect, and the special effects of each result only last for 1d6 rounds. The ability damage is treated as damage is normally treated and lasts until it is healed. For the time being, just ignore the 1 minute duration, and when the errata file is created, it should have all the new/correct information.
Setting Sun tripping maneuvers - interaction with Improved Trip
HereSpoiler: Show
Q When using the many Setting Sun Maneuvers that require you to make a trip attempt (Tornado throw, ballista throw e.t.c.) can a character with the improved trip feat make an extra melee attack if he succeeds on the trip attempt?

A This depends upon the maneuver. Some of the maneuvers end with your opponent out of reach, so this wouldn't be possible. I imagine that any maneuver that ended with your opponent in a threatened square would work just fine for this purpose. However, without a specific maneuver to reference it is impossible for me to give a definitive answer.
Diamond Nightmare Blade - damage multiplication New!
HereSpoiler: Show
Q Say I have an attack which does the following damaged on a successful hit: 2d6 (from weapon + 5 (from Str) + 5 (from Power Attack) + 1d6 (Fire) (from the Flaming enhancement) + 10 (extra damage provided by the Stormguard Warrior Tactical feat). Which damage is multiplied if I hit my target using the Diamond Nightmare Blade maneuver?

A You will not get the Fire damage dice multiplied, but the integer modifiers to your damage from Str, Power Attack, and your Tactical Feat will be, along with your weapons base damage.
Firesnake - duration New!
HereSpoiler: Show
Q The Desert Wind maneuver, Firesnake, has a duration of Instantaneous listed in its stat block. However, the game mechanics text refers to how far the snake can move in a round and how damage is handled from round to round. Is Firesnake intended to be instantaneous (deal damage once and then disappear)? Or is it intended to be an ongoing effect (deal damage as directed for X number of rounds)? If it is intended to be an ongoing effect, what should its duration be?

A It seems that the description that allows the snake to move around round after round is incorrect. the maneuver is instantaneous, in that you assign a line for the snake to follow, and it does so instantaneously and is done. Errata has not been put up for this yet, and until it is, it is up to your DM to adjudicate the effect of this spell as he or she sees fit.
* Maneuvers - StancesSpoiler: Show

Stances - "overlays"
HereSpoiler: Show
Q When you use a stance from Jade Phoenix Mage or one of he other classes that overlays an existing stance, it isn’t clear whether or not you’re still considered to be using a Stance from that Discipline, or any discipline.

For example if you have Shadow Blade active with Assassin's Stance and use Mystic Phoenix Stance over the usual bonus of Assassin’s Stance, is the stance still considered a Shadow Hand stance for purposes of receiving the benefit of the Shadow Blade feat?

Any insight?

A Yes you are still considered being in your Assassin's Stance even though you are getting the benefit of the Mystic Pheonix Stance, in regards to being in a Shadow Hand Stance for your feat.
Shifting Defense - attack timing
Here and hereSpoiler: Show
Q According to the "shifting defense" stance on page 73, it says, "You can make an immediate 5-foot step each time an opponent atacks you." When does the step take place in relation to the attack?

A Actually if you look a little closer, these 5-foot steps can only be taken when your opponent "misses" you.

" Each failed attack gives you the split-second you need to move without drawing attacks."

So you can't mess up an attack because he already messed it up. If he made a 5-foot step to attack to start making a full attack action against you and missed, you might be able to move out of reach to avoid the rest of his attacks
Giant's Stance - interaction with other size increases
HereSpoiler: Show
Q Giant's Stance: This stance says "to a maximum of Large." But other similar increases have no such text. Could you then choose to use this stance to gain the damage as if you were Large, then subsequently apply an ability (like Improved Natural Attack, Shillelagh, or Powerful Build) to increase your damage die further?

A The rules are unclear on how this increase would or would not stack with other things that increase you size. So again, it will be up to your DM.
Island of Blades - applicable targets
HereSpoiler: Show
Q Island of Blades: Does this apply only against exactly one or two opponents, or against any number of opponents to which both you and an ally are adjacent?

A It can apply to any number of opponents. It simply uses 2 opponents as an example. As long as you and your ally are both adjacent to an enemy, you get the flanking bonuses.
Martial Spirit - valid targets
HereSpoiler: Show
Q Martial Spirit: This stance lacks the "the foe must pose a threat to you and your allies" text. A literal reading would therefore say that you can make any "opponent," even one who poses no threat, like an ant at a picnic, and gain the benefit of this ability. That can't be right.

A If we take a literal reading of the text, you are correct, we would have to apply it to any opponent, at any time, even if they pose no threat to you. Hopefully the DM of your campaign can step in and point of what is, and isn't, a reasonable opponent for the use of this maneuver.
Blood in the Water - interaction with critical immune targets
HereSpoiler: Show
Q Blood in the Water: How does this interact with an opponent who cannot be critted, but you have a Flaming Burst weapon? Does that count as a crit?

A The ability doesn't specifically state that it doesn't work on creatures that are immune to critical hit damage, nor is the bonus from the maneuver treated as critical hit damage, so it looks like this maneuver would work on a creature that is immune to crits.
* Maneuvers - PrerequisitesSpoiler: Show

Maneuvers - qualifying as a multiclass martial adept
HereSpoiler: Show
Q And finally, let's say someone is a multiclass swordsage/warblade. Can a maneuver from Diamond Mind picked from their swordsage maneuvers forfill the prerequisites for a maneuver from Diamond Mind picked by their warblade maneuvers? From what I seen, this looks like how it works, but I figured I'd ask just to be sure.

A Yes Maneuvers taken from one Adept class can fulfill prerequisites for maneuvers taken in another Adept Class. If you have a diamond mind maneuver as a sword sage maneuver, and you gain a maneuver as a warblade, you could Choose Emerald Razor as your Sword Sage Diamond Mind maneuver would fulfill the Pre-requisite.
Maneuvers - fulfilling multiple prerequisites concurrently during level-up
HereSpoiler: Show
Q I have a PC who is a 16th-level Fighter, and I have recently accrued enough experience points to advance to 17th-level. I would like to take a level in the new Warblade class from Tome of Battle. This entitles me to 3 maneuvers known, and 1 stance known. Because my initiator level is 9, the maximum level of the maneuvers/stances that I can learn is 5th. My question pertains to fulfilling the pre-requisites for different maneuvers and stances. Assuming that I stick to a single discipline when I select my 3 maneuvers known and 1 stance known, Would it be legal for me to acquire one maneuver that has no pre-requisites, a second maneuver that has one maneuver as a pre-requisite, a third maneuver that has two maneuvers as a pre-requisite, and a stance that has three maneuvers as a pre-requisite? In other words, can I use maneuvers/stances as pre-requisites for other maneuvers/stances, even though I am acquiring them all at the same time?

A Yes, you can certainly do this.
Mountain Tombstone Strike - prerequisites
HereSpoiler: Show
Q The Level 9 Maneuver for the Stone Dragon Style is listed as 'Mountain Tombstone Strike' (p84). I note that this maneuver (unlike all the other L9 maneuvers) has no prerequisite maneuvers. Could you confirm whether this is intentional, or is an omission?

A It is indeed intended as written for the time being. I am passing it along to the appropriate departments for review regardless. If any Errata is printed it will be posted to the Errata section of the site!
Maneuvers - losing prerequisites
Here and hereSpoiler: Show
Q All of the new base classes from Tome of Battle offer the option of swapping out an old maneuver to gain a new maneuver at certain levels.
What happens if, as a result of swapping out an old maneuver, I can no longer meet the pre-requisites for another stance or maneuver that I currently know? Suppose, for instance, that I currently only have the following 2 maneuvers/stances from the Iron Heart discipline: A) Absolute Steel, and B) Disarming Strike. Absolute Steel is a stance that has one Iron Heart maneuver as a pre-requisite. Disarming Strike currently fulfills that pre-requisite for me. Suppose I reach 4th level and decide to swap out Disarming Strike for another maneuver from a different discipline. I no longer meet the pre-requisites for the Absolute Steel stance. Am I still allowed to use the Absolute Steel stance? What if Absolute Steel were a maneuver instead of a stance; would I be allowed to use it?

A Going with a strict interpretation of the rules, you would only need to have the appropriate number of maneuvers to meet a prerequisite when you needed to learn the maneuver, not if you wanted to use that maneuver later. So the character in question would still be able to use the Absolute Steel stance even though you have given up your only Iron Heart maneuver. So again, you only have to meet the prerequisites when you learn the maneuver or stance, not when you want to use ready or use it. I hope that clears things up.
* FeatsSpoiler: Show

Adaptive Style [feat] - interaction between Readying and Recovering
Here,   here, and hereSpoiler: Show
Q The Adaptive Style feat in Tome of Battle allows you to change your readied maneuvers as a full round action rather than spending five minutes to do so. Does this...

A) Allow a martial adept to regain and change all of their maneuvers with a single full round action

or

B) Allow them to change the maneuver that is readied in their unexpended "slots".

A Adaptive Style will actually let you perform option A) from your list. So as a full round action, you can choose a new set of readied maneuvers, and in doing so, reset all of your maneuvers. I hope that clears things up. Have fun and good gaming!
Adaptive Style [feat] - multiclass adept maneuver Recovery
HereSpoiler: Show
Q With the Adaptive Style feat, will it refresh all the maneuvers of a multiclassed martial adept (Swordsage/Warblade for example), or just one class's maneuvers?

A Yes, it refreshes all the maneuvers of all your classes.
Evasive Reflexes [feat] - limits on 5' steps taken
HereSpoiler: Show
Q The Tome of Battle includes a feat named "Evasive Reflexes". This feat is raising a lot of questions on the message boards. Here are the main questions that I hope you can shed some light on:

1. If I have both Evasive Reflexes and Combat Reflexes, and I am normally entitled to four attacks of opportunity per round, what is the maximum number of 5-foot-steps per round that I can make using Evasive Reflexes?

2. Do the 5-foot-step(s) that I make using Evasive Reflexes count against the total number of attacks of opportunity that I can make in a single round?

Thanks in advance.

A
1) 4. You can take a five foot step each time an enemy provokes.

2) Yes they do! Essentially you are replacing the attack with the move, but it still uses up an AoO!
Snap Kick [feat] - interaction with Unarmed Strikes
HereSpoiler: Show
Q When the Snap Kick feat mentions "When you make a melee attack with one or more melee weapons" is unarmed strike considered a "melee weapon" for the purposes of activating snap kick?

A Yes indeed, unarmed strike would count.
Stormguard Warrior [feat] - critical touch attacks during Combat Rhythm
HereSpoiler: Show
Q When using the stormguard warrior combat rythym ability, is it possible to score criticals with the touch attacks (still dealing no damage however) ? This comes into play when using the Tiger Claw blood in the water stance which adds to your to hit and damage when you score a critical.

A Yes, it sure is.
* Classes Update!Spoiler: Show

Swordsage - skill points
HereSpoiler: Show
Q The Sword Sage's chart (ToB p.16) lists skills as "6 + Int modifier per level, x6 at first level". Should that be "x4 at first level", instead?

A Correct!
AC Bonus (Swordsage 2) - clarification New!
HereSpoiler: Show
Q Alright, so the Swordsage's AC Bonus ability states "Starting at 2nd level, you can add you Wisdom modifer as a bonus to Armor Class, so long as you wear light armor, are encumbered, and do not use a shield."

Does this mean that you can't use this ability when you are unarmored, ONLY in light armor? By RAW it does but... is it a mistake for errata, should I inform my DM that it works with no armor as well?

A The intent is that you get this benefit whether you are wearing light armor or are unarmored. I will pass this issue along to the appropriate departments for potential errata treatment. Of course your DM is allowed to rule however he/she wishes. Thank you for bringing this to our attention!
* Prestige Classes Update!Spoiler: Show

Prestige classes - maneuver replacement progression
HereSpoiler: Show
Q All three base initiator classes have a mechanism by which they can replace less powerful lower level maneuvers with higher level ones. (i.e. in the case of the SwordSage they can replace a maneuver at 4th level and every two levels thereafter) (Somewhat akin to a Sorcerer's or a Bard's spellcasting) Yet no provision is similarly given for all the PrCs. Is this on purpose? Are the PrCs meant to stick with all the lower level maneuvers, or does the same mechanism apply to them?

A At this point there is not provision for changing your lower level maneuvers when advancing in a Prestige Class.
Master of the Nine - Improved Unarmed Strike prerequisite
HereSpoiler: Show
Q I noticed "Improved Unarmed Strike" in the prerequisites for the Master of the Nine Prestige Class and found that unusual as there is absolutely no Unarmed Combat perks in the class and further, the Martial Adept classes are all really "weapon-focused".

I suspect that it's in error and perhaps they meant "Weapon Focus" or at least something more weapon related.

A It is not an error. Not all prerequisites for a prestige class lead to a class ability based on that prerequisite.
Prestige classes - Initiator Level
HereSpoiler: Show
Q 'The full prestige class level,' receives no sort of context. My question is thus:

Do all prestige classes work toward this goal, or just the ones that specifically give maneuvers? (Meaning the Bloodstorm Blade wouldn't contribute.) Furthermore, what exactly is the goal? They increase iniator level, sure, but it seems to only indicate it does so with the existence of a martial adept level, which isn't concise with the way other classes work. So do prestige classes have no effect on your iniator level without a martial adept level? Or is it that they just have a greater effect with a martial adept level?

A Only Prestige Classes that state specifically that they count towards Initiator level do so. This information is given in the specific Prestige Class descriptions. All other prestige classes that lack this distinction would be counted at a 1/2 ratio as per the multiclass rules.

Q Furthermore, does initiator level impact your ability to swap out maneuvers directly? I ask this, because as you might know, sorcerers can still swap out spells when progressing in a prestige class, based on their 'hard' arcane caster level (as opposed to 'soft,' which can be stuff like Practiced Spellcaster or caster level buffs).

A Initiator level does have an impact on how high a level of a maneuver you can swap for. But it doesn't NOT effect when you would swap out the maneuver. That is based on class levels only.
Prestige classes - multiclassed Initiator Level
HereSpoiler: Show
Q If you are a multiclassed martial adept (Swordsage/Warblade for example) and you enter in a Prestige Class (say, the Master of the Nine) do you add the full prestige class level to one class or both when determining Initiator Level?

A The Prestige class levels would apply to both. When you initiate a maneuver for either of your given classes you would add your levels in that class plus your prestige class levels (So long as that class is one of those that specifically states it adds to initiator levels) and 1/2 your other Martial Adept class levels.
Armored Uncanny Dodge (Eternal Blade 3) - clarification
Here Spoiler: Show
Q The Eternal Blade PrC has an ability called "Armored Uncanny Dodge" (ToB p.110). It does not state the benefits instead refering the reader to the Player's Handbook. It goes on specify that "You can use Uncanny Dodge or Improved Uncanny Dodge even if you wear medium or heavy armor".

However, uncanny dodge is not restricted by armor worn. Should the Eternal Blade's actual ability instead be Armored Evasion, since evasion is also a rogue ability on the page referenced, also has an improved version that the character could gain if she already had the basic version, but normally doesn't function if the character is wearing medium or heavy armor?

A Hmm.. interesting. For now, it reads as written, even with that redundant bit at the end. I have submitted this to the appropriate departments for review! Any changes will be posted in the Errata section as soon as they are made available to the public. I am including a link below to the Errata section of the site!
Island in Time (Eternal Blade 10) - consumption of swift and immediate actions
HereSpoiler: Show
Q The Eternal Blade's Island in Time ability (ToB p.110-111) lets a 10th level Eternal Blade take an entire turn as an Immediate action. Taking an Immediate action normally prevents a character from taking a Swift action in their following turn. Does the Immediate action of taking a whole turn use up that turn's Swift action, or, since the entire turn is an Immediate action, would the Swift action be lost from the following, normal initiative count turn?

A Yes indeed it does take up a use of a swift action for that turn.
The Balance of Light and Dark (Shadow Sun Ninja 10) - touch attacks
HereSpoiler: Show
Q When a Shadow Sun Monk from the Tome of battle book reaches 10th level, he/she gains access to The Balance of Light and Dark Supernatural ability that lets him/her bestow one negative level with "each successful unarmed attack you make".

My question is thus, would an unarmed touch attack qualify for the above mentioned unarmed attack? Such that a character could make multiple touch attacks that deal no damage but each inflict a negative level? (with the caveat of course that each negative level will deal you 1 constitution point worth of damage when the state ends.)

For that matter can maneuvers that require successful melee attacks, such as Five Shadow creeping ice enervation strike (from the shadow hand discipline), feral death blow (from the Tiger claw discipline) or the avalanche of blades (from the diamond mind discpline) be done with successful melee touch attacks that deal no damage?

Thanks for your kind consideration,

P.s. It might seem that avalanche of blades does nothing if done with touch attacks but try applying the subsequent number of successful touch attacks to the Combat rhythm ability from storm guard warrior and you arrive at a very potent combination. I would like also to ask if this is a possible combination?

A No. An unarmed strike is not a touch attack.

You cannot use melee touch attacks in place of normal melee attacks unless the ability or maneuver specifically says so.
Thunderous Throw (Bloodstorm Blade 2) - clarification Update!
Here (part 1), (part 2), here, and hereSpoiler: Show
Q Dear CustServ,

Recently on the optimization boards, two of our members sent in queries concerning Tome of Battle and got two seemingly contradictory answers, which one is the correct one?1 Show
Q For the Bloodstorm Blade's Thunderous throw ability, when it says "you can choose to treat your ranged attack rolls with thrown weapons as melee attacks for the rest of your turn" does this apply to all aspects of the ranged attack? I.e. Does the character basically replace all his ranged attacks with melee attacks with respect to feats (combat rythym from the stormguard warrior feat, for example, could the touch attacks for that be made at range with this ability?), damage (do you basically replace the possible ranged damage with melee damage) and things you can do with melee attacks (i.e. tripping, disarming and suchlike, without requiring the ranged disarm or ranged trip feat or ability respectively)?

A If you couldn't normally do these things at range, then you couldn't now. All this ability does is substitute your Strength bonus for your Dexterity bonus, and allows you to use feats that affect your attack bonus for melee attacks and such. Ultimately all this changes is how you determine your attack bonus. You could use this in conjunction with Stormguard Warrior's, combat rhythm ability, but keep in mind that you do no damage when this occurs (until the next round of course).
2 Show
Q Does Stormguard Warrior's Combat Rhythm damage bonus apply to ranged attacks made with Thunderous Throw? Furthermore, are damage rolls when using Thunderous Throw considered melee damage rolls?

A The answer is yes. Since your Ranged attacks are considered Melee attacks, the damage is Melee damage. With the Combat Rhythm tactical option these attacks would be Melee touch attacks.
Thanks for helpint to sort out this confusion.

A Thunderous Throw does allow you to deal melee damage with your ranged attacks rather than ranged damage. That is the intent.

Both those answers state that you can use Thunderous Throw and Combat Rhythm in conjunction with one another. But damage is not dealt when you first use Combat Rhythm with your Thunderous Throws. The fact that Combat Rhythm's states that you don't deal damage with the melee attack trumps the fact that you are dealing melee damage with Thunderous Throw. The bonus to melee damage on the following round does apply to your Thunderous Throw damage, however
Overruled response
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Aug 10, 2006 - 3:51PM #2
Seerow
Date Joined: Nov 7, 2005
Posts: 1,544
No spellcaster in my games will ever prepare more than one spell at a time ever again =D
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Aug 10, 2006 - 3:54PM #3
R.213
Date Joined: Aug 14, 2004
Posts: 257

Seerow]No spellcaster in my games will ever prepare more than one spell at a time ever again =D


Will you also give them a feat to re-prepare every spell slot for every prepared caster class they have levels in, as a full-round action? wrote:

No spellcaster in my games will ever prepare more than one spell at a time ever again =D[/quote]
Will you also give them a feat to re-prepare every spell slot for every prepared caster class they have levels in, as a full-round action?

Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Aug 10, 2006 - 4:01PM #4
igotsmeakabob
Date Joined: Nov 6, 2004
Posts: 366
Wow, this was ridiculously helpful.
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Aug 10, 2006 - 4:12PM #5
Seerow
Date Joined: Nov 7, 2005
Posts: 1,544

*R*]Will you also give them a feat to re-prepare every spell slot for every prepared caster class they have levels in, as a full-round action? wrote:

Will you also give them a feat to re-prepare every spell slot for every prepared caster class they have levels in, as a full-round action?


Sure, but they only have 6 slots by level 20 ^_^

Also, their spells are all getting powered down. Way down. 6th level spell = 9th level maneuver roughly, from what I've seen.

Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Aug 10, 2006 - 4:46PM #6
R.213
Date Joined: Aug 14, 2004
Posts: 257

Seerow]Sure, but they only have 6 slots by level 20 ^_^

Also, their spells are all getting powered down. Way down. 6th level spell = 9th level maneuver roughly, from what I've seen.


In other words, you're replacing them with Warlocks that have to spend FRA to reloa wrote:

Sure, but they only have 6 slots by level 20 ^_^

Also, their spells are all getting powered down. Way down. 6th level spell = 9th level maneuver roughly, from what I've seen.[/quote]
In other words, you're replacing them with Warlocks that have to spend FRA to reload

Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Aug 10, 2006 - 4:48PM #7
tsuyoshikentsu
Date Joined: Jul 12, 2004
Posts: 2,862
Well, yeah. But then, spellcasters can'\t spend a FRA to reprepare all their spells.

IE, who cares if you only get 6th-level spells if you get NI spells per day?
On the CO IRC, generally as TorpedoFish.

Vain? Me?  NEVER. Show

Mar 19, 2010 -- 6:09PM, lordduskblade wrote:

You're the straightest shooter I know on these boards. You don't mince words about your opinions, and I respect that about you. The whole fiasco you described in the last State of the CO Forum was particularly enlightening (and kind of disappointing with regards to how they see us).

Mar 26, 2010 -- 12:33AM, Khan_the_Destroyer wrote:

Ah, Tsuyo. When your post isn't one sentence long full of asterisks, you have much wisdom to share with us .

From the IRC:

(19:52) RuinsFate: You know, I was gonna agree with something PalOn said... but I think I'm just gonna through my lot in with tsuyo's sudden train-wreck grade interjection.

(01:45) Nausicaa: yes your rage is a righteous rage :D
(01:45) Nausicaa: righteous rage of torpedo



My sci-fi writing.
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Aug 10, 2006 - 4:48PM #8
Seerow
Date Joined: Nov 7, 2005
Posts: 1,544
So it's a bad thing to do this to Wizards but good to do it to Fighters?

What a double standard.
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Aug 10, 2006 - 4:48PM #9
igotsmeakabob
Date Joined: Nov 6, 2004
Posts: 366
Wait... whats getting powered down where?
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Aug 10, 2006 - 4:49PM #10
Daeger
Date Joined: Jan 19, 2004
Posts: 315
I have submitted one DOOZY of a question and I'm waiting for a response. Here's a transcript, I'll post the answer when I get it.

On page 39, the final paragraph of the Multiclass Characters section, it gets into talking about how prestige classes work with iniator level.

However, the description is somewhat ambiguous. 'The full prestige class level,' receives no sort of context. My question is thus:

Do all prestige classes work toward this goal, or just the ones that specifically give maneuvers? (Meaning the Bloodstorm Blade wouldn't contribute.) Furthermore, what exactly is the goal? They increase iniator level, sure, but it seems to only indicate it does so with the existence of a martial adept level, which isn't concise with the way other classes work. So do prestige classes have no effect on your iniator level without a martial adept level? Or is it that they just have a greater effect with a martial adept level?

Furthermore, does initiator level impact your ability to swap out maneuvers directly? I ask this, because as you might know, sorcerers can still swap out spells when progressing in a prestige class, based on their 'hard' arcane caster level (as opposed to 'soft,' which can be stuff like Practiced Spellcaster or caster level buffs).

And finally, let's say someone is a multiclass swordsage/warblade. Can a maneuver from Diamond Mind picked from their swordsage maneuvers forfill the prerequisites for a maneuver from Diamond Mind picked by their warblade maneuvers? From what I seen, this looks like how it works, but I figured I'd ask just to be sure.

I humbly request that you seek a second opinion to these answers as well, since I would like to post the response from this in the forum for people to reference, saving you guys a bit of work.

Thanks!


Quick Reply
Cancel
Page 1 of 51  •  1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 51 Next
Post Reply
Jump Menu:
 
    Viewing this thread :: 0 registered and 1 guest
    No registered users viewing