Skip to search.

Breaking News Visit Yahoo! News for the latest.

×Close this window

Set To Play Sold-Out Gig At Radio City Music Hall

Yahoo! Music, Mar 16, 2001 7:00 am PST
(3/16/01, 7 a.m. ET) -- Irish-pop sensations the Corrs play a sold-out show at the famed Radio City Music Hall in New York City tonight (March 16). The show is the last in a very brief stopover in the United States for the sibling group in support of its current album, In Blue.

The Corrs have only played sporadically here in America, where their fame is only a fraction of what it is in many other countries across the globe. Still, the band has experienced enough of the States to know that it's not quite like home.

Sharon Corr tells LAUNCH: "Oh God, there's a million things that stick out about your culture: Your language, the way you speak American rather than English, you know; the way you spell things like 'color,' as in c-o-l-o-r rather than c-o-l-o-u-r, the way we spell it; food, the size of your sandwiches are just unbelievable, like Reubens, you know."

The Corrs will now set their sights on a series of dates in the United Kingdom in April. A tour of the Far East and Australia is already slated for this fall.

-- Neal Weiss, Los Angeles

Got news tips, comments, or questions? Send them to newstips@launch.com.

More Artist News

U2 & The Corrs To Perform At Special Olympics World Games

Apr 29, 2003 9:00 am PDT

(4/29/03, 12 p.m. ET) -- U2, The Corrs, Samantha Mumba, and famed Tenor Ronan Tynan are among the Irish artists that will perform at the Opening Ceremony of the 11th Special Olympics World Summer...

The Corrs Drummer Caroline Corr Weds

Aug 24, 2002 4:00 am PDT

(8/24/02, 7 a.m. ET) -- Caroline Corr, 29, the second-youngest member and drummer of the sibling Irish band the Corrs married her longtime boyfriend Frank Woods, at a ceremony in Deia on the Spanish...

The Corrs To Perform At Queen's Golden Jubilee Celebration

May 31, 2002 10:00 am PDT

(5/31/02, 1 p.m. ET) -- The Corrs will perform at London's Buckingham Palace on June 3 for the Party At The Palace, a free concert that is part of Queen Elizabeth II's Golden Jubilee Weekend celebra...

The Corrs And Bono Receive Presidential Treatment

Mar 15, 2002 12:00 pm PST

(3/15/02, 3 p.m. ET) -- President George W. Bush has gotten his musical groove on recently, getting into the St. Patrick's Day spirit by meeting with U2 singer Bono and hosting the Irish quartet The...

, Mark Knopfler, Jewel Set For 'America's Sweethearts'

Jun 27, 2001 9:00 am PDT

(6/27/01, 12 p.m. ET) -- Music From The Motion Picture America's Sweethearts is set to hit stores July 17. The soundtrack features songs from Jewel, Mark Knopfler of Dire Straits fame, and the Corr...