Skip to search.

Breaking News Visit Yahoo! News for the latest.

×Close this window

Mya Shoots Video For 'Best Of Me' Remix

Yahoo! Music, Jul 30, 2000 10:00 am PDT
(7/30/00, 10 a.m. ET) - R&B songstress Mya was in Malibu recently shooting the video for the remix of her hit song "Best of Me." and told LAUNCH about the song's message.

"The song talks about thinking about consequences before you make a decision, especially decisions made when you're in a situation of the heat of the moment," she explained, "when passion and infatuation and seduction and all these things are taking place, and you're actually liking it. However, as a female, things do happen to you that you must carry on after the fact, so you're trying to weigh the consequences and make a decision based on what you know, and you may not know much about this person. It's just about setting standards for yourself and what you want."

The original version of "Best Of Me" featured Jadakiss of the Lox and is currently Number 97 on the Billboard Hot 100 after 17 weeks. The remix features the vocals of Jay-Z, who was on hand for the Hype Williams-directed video.

The remix will be the first single from the forthcoming album DJ Clue Presents The Hard Knock Life Tour Backstage, which is due out August 29. DJ Clue also appears in the "Best Of Me" video, and his new album collection is his second offering on Rockafella Records; his previous set, The Professional, has been certified gold. T-Boz of TLC, Beanie Sigel, Amil, the Cash Money Millionaires, and Capone-N-Noreaga are among the many other guests who appear on DJ Clue Presents The Hard Knock Life Tour Backstage.

Mya's current album, Fear of Flying, has been certified gold and is currently Number 109 on the Billboard 200 after 13 weeks; the set peaked at Number 15.

-- Yves Salomon, New York

Got news tips, comments, or questions? Send them to newstips@launch.com.

More Artist News

Mya To Appear In 'Dirty Dancing: Havana Nights'

Jul 31, 2003 12:00 pm PDT

(7/31/03, 3 p.m. ET) -- Singer/dancer Mya has landed a supporting role in the forthcoming film Dirty Dancing: Havana Nights, a sequel of sorts to the smash 1987 film Dirty Dancing. Patrick Swayze...

Mya To Appear On 'Passions' Soap Opera

Jun 25, 2003 2:00 pm PDT

(6/25/03, 5 p.m. ET) -- Mya is heading for daytime TV. The singer and actress will appear as herself on NBC's Passions on July 24. Mya will sing her brand new single, "My Love Is Like... Wo," while...

Ludacris And Mya Among Teen People's 25 Hottest Stars Under 25

May 6, 2002 7:00 am PDT

(5/6/02, 10 a.m. ET) -- Rapper Ludacris and R&B/pop singer Mya are among Teen People magazine's 25 hottest stars under the age of 25. All areas of the entertainment industry are represented includin...

& Missy Talk 'Lady Marmalade' Remake As Single Hits Number One

May 25, 2001 10:00 am PDT

(5/25/01, 1 p.m. ET) -- Christina Aguilera, Lil' Kim, Pink, and Mya's remake of Labelle's 1975 classic "Lady Marmalade" snags the Number One slot this week on Billboard's Hot 100 Singles chart. Mya ...

Releases New Video And Talks Tour

Mar 2, 2001 10:00 am PST

...