Skip to main content

Breaking News
  • Austrian skydiver Felix Baumgartner sets record for highest-ever freefall
| |

The winners of the European Union Prize for Literature included Kevin Barry from Ireland, who won for his novel`City of Bohane`.

Kevin Berry
Kevin Barry was born in Limerick and has travelled widely spending time in Cork, Santa Barbara, Barcelona and Liverpool before settling in Sligo.

He has written for many publications, including the Sunday Herald, the Irish Examiner, The Guardian, The Irish Times and The Sydney Morning Herald. His short fiction has appeared widely on both sides of the Atlantic. He was awarded the 2007 Rooney Prize for Irish Literature for his debut collection of short stories `There Are Little Kingdoms`, which was published by Stinging Fly Press, Dublin. He was the 2012 winner of the Sunday Times EFG Private Bank Short Story Award.

City of Bohane`City of Bohane` is set 40 years in the future, when the once-great Irish city of Bohane is on its knees, infested by vice and split along tribal lines. There are posh parts of Bohane, but it is in the slums and backstreets of Smoketown, the tower blocks of the Northside Rises and the eerie bogs of Big Nothin’ that the city really lives. For years, Bohane has been in the grip of Logan Hartnett, the dapper godfather of the Hartnett Fancy gang. But his trusted henchmen are getting ambitious, and his missus wants him to give it all up and go straight. And then ther is his mother…

The winners were announced at the Frankfurt Bookfair and other winners included authors from Austria, Croatia, France, Hungary, Ireland,
Italy, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia and Sweden.

The award ceremony takes place in Brussels on 22nd November 2012.

Anna Kim from Austria won for her novel `Die gefrorene Zeit` (Frozen Time) set in the aftermath of the Kosovo war.

Lada Žigo from Croatia won for her novel `Rulet` (Roulette) which explores how gambling can become the only hope for people living in a society with no prospects.

Laurence Plazenet from France won for `L’amour Seul` (Love Alone) about unrequited love.

Viktor Horváth from Hungary won for `Török Tükör` (Turkish Mirror), an adventure set in 16th-century Hungary, when the country was still ruled by Sultan Suleyman the Magnificent.

Emanuele Trevi from Italy won for `Qualcosa di Scritto` (Something Written) which is about a writer living in Rome.

Giedra Radvilavičiūtė from Lithuania won for `Siąnakt aš Miegosiu Prie Sienos` (Tonight I Shall Sleep by the Wall) a collection of short stories dealing with everyday life.

Gunstein Bakke from Norway won for `Maud og Aud: Ein Roman om Trafikk` (Maud and Aud: A Novel on Traffic) which alternates between narrative flashes and poetic descriptions, containing reflections on traffic and the physical aspects of human life in a society where technology has become an increasingly important part of our lives.

Piotr Paziński from Poland won for `Pensjonat` (Boarding House) which describes a day-trip by a young man to a boarding house outside Warsaw. As a small boy, he often spent time there with his granny, and he now encounters several aged guests who remember him as a child.

Afonso Cruz from Portugal won for `A Boneca de Kokoschka` (Kokoschka’s Doll) which is a metaphor for a story of friendship, of how the Other is fundamental for our own identity.

Jana Beňová from Slovakia won for `Cafe Hyena: Plán odprevádzania`(Café Hyena: Seeing People Off) which is an unusual collection of short stories, observations, experiences and memories, amidst which emerges a relationship between a young woman and an ageing man.

Sara Mannheimer from Sweden won for `Handlingen` (The Action) which is the story of a woman who is driven by a desire to conquer The Library, containing the entire global collection of literature.

For more information see here

More about: ,

Copyright © 2012 euronews

| |

Log in
Please enter your login details