...For The Whole World To See Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 4 Ratings

  • Summary: After refusing to change the band's name, the trio of brothers from Detroit were turned away by Clive Davis of Columbia Records and the album was never completed. The surviving songs receive a proper album release some 30-plus years later from Drag City.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. 80
    Belatedly, it turns out to be great: seven prescise, insurrectionist ramalams that somehow fit somewhere between the MC5's high Time and Dead Boys' 'Sonic Reducer.' [Mar 2009, p.82]
  2. Although just 26 minutes long, it's an unexpected triumph. [Apr 2009, p.115]
  3. Lost in the dustbins until now was 'Freakin Out,' which sounds like a primal version of the Buzzcocks. 'Rock–N–Roll Victim' is the kind of chunky cock rock Kiss would refine for arenas. But not everything is so visionary.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Joseph
    If you read Pitchfork, you're an idiot. This album IS diamond-in-the-rough territory. Am I to believe the limp shoegaze indie pop throw-back of The Pains of Being Pure At Heart or the lemme-run-my-mix-through-a-digital-brickwall-compressor-so-no-one-realizes-my-songs-suck of Wavves is better than DEATH!? Get the hell outta here! Expand
  2. ryink
    Not necessarily a lost classic, but an incredible document.