Main content

Masthead Non-Homepage


New Top Leader


Vics name eight Cats

10:13 PM Sun 04 May, 2008

Paul Chapman is one of eight Cats in the Victorian squad



VICTORIA has named eight Geelong players and five Hawks in its 30-man squad for the May 10 Hall of Fame Tribute Match against the Dream Team at the MCG.

Captain Jonathan Brown has been named despite missing the Brisbane Lions’ loss at Skilled Stadium on Saturday with a quadricep injury. Gary Ablett, who has also been in doubt with injury, is in the side.

Grand final heroes Paul Chapman and Steve Johnson are among the Cats’ eight, although master tagger Cameron Ling was one of the players unlucky to be omitted from the preliminary squad of 40 selected last month.

Richmond captain Kane Johnson was left out, along with Essendon’s Matthew Lloyd, who kicked five goals in Sunday’s heavy loss to Port Adelaide at Telstra Dome, and West Coast’s David Wirrpanda.

Hawthorn star Luke Hodge is one of the highest-profile omissions after he tweaked a hamstring in Saturday’s blockbuster against Collingwood at the MCG.

Coach Mark Thompson, assistant coach Kevin Sheedy and captain Jonathan Brown are the Victorian team's selection panel, with players from 10 clubs chosen to make up the squad.

The remaining members of the coaching panel are Brenton Sanderson, Ken Hinkley and Chris Scott. Chris Johnson and Duncan Kellaway will act as team runners.

The team will gather in Melbourne for training at the MCG on Thursday May 8 and Friday May 9, before the final team of 25 (18 plus seven interchange) is named the day before the game.

The full squad is:

Jonathan Brown (captain) Brisbane Lions
Gary Ablett Geelong
Jimmy Bartel Geelong
Daniel Bradshaw Brisbane Lions
Campbell Brown Hawthorn
Paul Chapman Geelong
Trent Croad Hawthorn
Nick Dal Santo St Kilda
Brendan Fevola Carlton
Nathan Foley Richmond
Josh Fraser Collingwood
Adam Goodes Sydney Swans
Brent Harvey North Melbourne
Brad Johnson Western Bulldogs
Steve Johnson Geelong
Chris Judd Carlton
James Kelly Geelong
Darren Milburn Geelong
Sam Mitchell Hawthorn
Robert Murphy Western Bulldogs
Ryan O'Keefe Sydney Swans
Scott Pendlebury Collingwood
Luke Power Brisbane Lions
Jarryd Roughead Hawthorn
Matthew Scarlett Geelong
Joel Selwood Geelong
Brad Sewell Hawthorn
Heath Shaw Collingwood
Troy Simmonds Richmond
Jarrad Waite Carlton

Exclusive to AFL BigPond Network

Embedded Video Player

Sensis Ad1

Mobile Promo - Sidebar


AFL on Facebook

Sensis Ad2


Sensis 620x60_1 Network

AFL Network News