About the Awards
World Fantasy Awards


By Year
By Category

Winners and
Complete List by Nominee
Records and Tallies

Judges List

• Results by Year:

prev <— About Page thread —> next

Created in the mid-1970s, the World Fantasy Awards, associated with the annual World Fantasy Conventions, were established as a fantasy counterpart to the SF-oriented Hugo and Nebula Awards. They differ from those awards in significant ways, primarily in that winners are determined by judges — though two places in each category on the final ballot are determined by votes from convention members.

Full Name World Fantasy Awards
First year given 1975, for works published in 1973 and 1974
Who World Fantasy Convention
What A trophy in the form of the bust of H.P. Lovecraft, designed by Gahan Wilson
Where & When Annual World Fantasy Convention, held in various cities at the end of October
Scope Fantasy -- all types
Categories Novel, novella, short fiction, and artist; plus categories for Anthology and Collection, plus two 'special' awards, professional and nonprofessional, for personal achievements not tied to specific works in other categories.
Eligibility period Year prior to award
Dating convention Year of award
Issues and controversies Judging is often contentious; on several occasions judges have deadlocked and actual winners have been determined by the award administrators.
Type judged
Process Convention members nominate two entries per category; judges can add three or more nominees per category. Judges select the winners.
Website http://www.worldfantasy.org/awards/

Copyright 2000-2011 by Mark R. Kelly and Locus Publications. All rights reserved