63 Countries Vie for 2011 Foreign Language Film Oscar®

Beverly Hills, CA (October 13, 2011) – Sixty-three countries, including first-time entrant New Zealand, have submitted films for consideration in the Foreign Language Film category for the 84th Academy Awards®.

The 2011 submissions are:

  • Albania, "Amnesty," Bujar Alimani, director;

  • Argentina, "Aballay," Fernando Spiner, director;

  • Austria, "Breathing," Karl Markovics, director;

  • Belgium, "Bullhead," Michael R. Roskam, director;

  • Bosnia and Herzegovina,"Belvedere," Ahmed Imamovic, director;

  • Brazil, "Elite Squad: The Enemy Within," José Padilha, director;

  • Bulgaria, "Tilt," Viktor Chouchkov, Jr., director;

  • Canada, "Monsieur Lazhar," Philippe Falardeau, director;

  • Chile, "Violeta Went to Heaven," Andrés Wood, director;

  • China, "The Flowers of War," Zhang Yimou, director;

  • Colombia, "The Colors of the Mountain," Carlos César Arbeláez, director;

  • Croatia, "72 Days," Danilo Serbedzija, director;

  • Cuba, "Havanastation," Ian Padrón, director;

  • Czech Republic,"Alois Nebel," Tomás Lunák, director;

  • Denmark, "Superclásico," Ole Christian Madsen, director;

  • Dominican Republic,"Love Child," Leticia Tonos, director;

  • Egypt, "Lust," Khaled el Hagar, director;

  • Estonia, "Letters to Angel," Sulev Keedus, director;

  • Finland, "Le Havre," Aki Kaurismäki, director;

  • France, "Declaration of War," Valérie Donzelli, director;

  • Georgia, "Chantrapas," Otar Iosseliani, director;

  • Germany, "Pina," Wim Wenders, director;

  • Greece, "Attenberg," Athina Rachel Tsangari, director;

  • Hong Kong,"A Simple Life," Ann Hui, director;

  • Hungary, "The Turin Horse," Béela Tarr, director;

  • Iceland, "Volcano," Rúnar Rúnarsson, director;

  • India, "Abu, Son of Adam," Salim Ahamed, director;

  • Indonesia, "Under the Protection of Ka'Bah," Hanny R. Saputra, director;

  • Iran, "A Separation," Asghar Farhadi, director;

  • Ireland, "As If I Am Not There," Juanita Wilson, director;

  • Israel, "Footnote," Joseph Cedar, director;

  • Italy, "Terraferma," Emanuele Crialese, director;

  • Japan, "Postcard," Kaneto Shindo, director;

  • Kazakhstan, "Returning to the ‘A,’" Egor Mikhalkov-Konchalovsky, director;

  • Lebanon, "Where Do We Go Now?" Nadine Labaki, director;

  • Lithuania, "Back to Your Arms," Kristijonas Vildziunas, director;

  • Macedonia, "Punk Is Not Dead," Vladimir Blazevski, director;

  • Mexico, "Miss Bala," Gerardo Naranjo, director;

  • Morocco, "Omar Killed Me," Roschdy Zem, director;

  • Netherlands, "Sonny Boy," Maria Peters, director;

  • New Zealand,"The Orator," Tusi Tamasese, director;

  • Norway, "Happy, Happy," Anne Sewitsky, director;

  • Peru, "October," Diego Vega and Daniel Vega, directors;

  • Philippines, "The Woman in the Septic Tank," Marlon N. Rivera, director;

  • Poland, "In Darkness," Agnieszka Holland, director;

  • Portugal, "José and Pilar," Miguel Gonçalves Mendes, director;

  • Romania, "Morgen," Marian Crisan, director;

  • Russia, "Burnt by the Sun 2: The Citadel," Nikita Mikhalkov, director;

  • Serbia, "Montevideo: Taste of a Dream," Dragan Bjelogrlić, director;

  • Singapore, "Tatsumi," Eric Khoo, director;

  • Slovak Republic,"Gypsy," Martin Sulík, director;

  • South Africa,"Beauty," Oliver Hermanus, director;

  • South Korea,"The Front Line," Jang Hun, director;

  • Spain, "Black Bread," Agusti Villaronga, director;

  • Sweden, "Beyond," Pernilla August, director;

  • Switzerland, "Summer Games," Rolando Colla, director;

  • Taiwan, "Warriors of the Rainbow: Seediq Bale," Wei Te-sheng, director;

  • Thailand, "Kon Khon," Sarunyu Wongkrachang, director;

  • Turkey, "Once upon a Time in Anatolia," Nuri Bilge Ceylan, director;

  • United Kingdom,"Patagonia," Marc Evans, director;

  • Uruguay, "The Silent House," Gustavo Hernández, director;

  • Venezuela, "Rumble of the Stones," Alejandro Bellame Palacios, director;

  • Vietnam, "The Prince and the Pagoda Boy," Luu Trong Ninh, director.

The 84th Academy Awards nominations will be announced live on Tuesday, January 24, 2012, at 5:30 a.m. PT in the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

Academy Awards for outstanding film achievements of 2011 will be presented on Sunday, February 26, 2012, at the Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center®, and televised live by the ABC Television Network.  The Oscar presentation also will be televised live in more than 200 countries worldwide.

Contact Information

Teni Melidonian

Don't Show Again