| Site Map  Feedback  Search  Login 
  Athletics New Zealand
Athletics NZ News/Media Calendar Events/Results National Records Centres/Clubs Get Involved Shop
Jacko Gill completes a set of world shot put age bests
13/12/2010 4:07:39 p.m.
New Zealand Secondary Schools Track and Field Championships – 11/12 December 2010
World junior shot put champion Jacko Gill eclipsed the world best for a 17 year old with the 5kg shot put at the New Zealand Secondary Schools athletic championships in Hastings on Saturday.
The 15 year old sent the shot out to 23.86m to add 63 centimetres to the previous best by for 17 year old set by Krzysztof Brzozowski of Poland, in beating Gill at the inaugural Youth Olympic Games in Singapore in August.
Gill, competing for Takapuna Grammar School, now holds the world record in both the 5kg and 6kg shot for every age from 14 to 17.
Gill said that he knew the record was there after throwing 22 metres consistently in training.
“There is still a lot more left,” he said.
Joshua Hawkins improved on his New Zealand M16 110m hurdles record of 14.19s in winning the senior boys 110m hurdles in 14.09s (+0.9).

Julia Ratcliffe set a schools record in the hammer throw extending Valerie Adams 2001 record by 3.32m to 57.47m.
Other schools records were set by Leesa Lealaisalanoa in the senior girls discus 52.02m, Merewarihi Vaka 46.45m in the junior girls discus, Brad Mathas in the senior boys 800m in 1m 51.25s and Jade Graham junior girls triple jump 11.70m (+1.2). Vaka also won the shot put with 14.73m.
Joseph Millar collected the senior boys’ sprint double in 10.68s (+1.2) over 100m and 21.27s (+2.5) in the 200m. Millar was under Mark Keddell’s record of 21.40s but the following wind was fractionally over that allowable for records. Lauren Wilson won the senior girls double in 12.23s (+2.5) and 24.88s (+1.8). The junior 200m were won by Dalton Coppins in 22.05s (+0.9) and Madison Gipson in 25.11s (+3.6).
Portia Bing won the senior 100m hurdles in 14.42s (+1.0) and the long jump with 5.56m (+1.7). Brendon Barnett won the senior long jump with 7.13m (+2.0).
Kyle Van de Merwe won the junior boys discus 54.34m and the javelin 58.09m.
Susannah Lynch won the junior girls 4km road race in 14m 47s from Jean Kozyniak who then beat Lynch in the 1500m in 4m 52.54s.
Rebekah Greene won the senior 1500m in 4m 41.92s but was narrowly beaten by Georgie Grgec in the 3000m. Grgec winning in 9m 54.86s to Greene’s 9m 54.99s.
St Pauls Collegiate of Hamilton were dominate in the relays winning the senior and junior boys 4 x 400m and the junior boys 4 x 100m.Wanganui Collegiate won the junior girls 4 x 100m and 4 x 400m relays.
The athletes of the championships announced at the conclusion of the meeting were: Jacko Gill, Julia Ratcliffe, Leesa Lealaisalanoa, Brad Mathas and Joseph Millar.

Link to complete results: http://nzssaa.org.nz/static/nz-tf-2010/nzsstf-results.pdf
The North Face 50 mile Endurance Challenge, Fort Barry Sausalito CA – 4 December 2010
Anna Frost won the women’s race with an outstanding performance of 7h 45m 3s for the demanding 50 miler.

Zatopek meeting, Melbourne – 9 December 2010
Adrian Blincoe was fourth in the Zatopek 10,000m in 28m 25.52s, the fastest by a New Zealander in at least the last three years. Luke Hurring was 15th in 30m 8.65s and Shaun Krawitz 16th in 30m 11.88s. Kellie Palmer was fourth in the women’s 10,000m in 34m 57.96s.
Aaron Pulford was second in the Under 20 3000m in 8m 11.36s, and Cameron Graves was third in 8m 12.53s.
Brett Tingay was 12th in the 1500m in 3m 50.22s.


Viaduct Harbour 5km Series – 6 December 2010
Andrew Haigh won in 15m 31s from Michael Lichtwark 16m 54s. Julia Reed was the first woman in 19m 13s.

Eastside 5km River Run – 6 December 2010
Andrew Wark won in 17m 41s, three seconds ahead of Tim Pearce. Helen Rountree was the first woman in 18m 33s.

Waterfront 5km Series – 6 December 2010
Adam Steinmetz won in 16m 39s, from Stuart Grange 16m 45s. Stephanie Mackenzie was the first woman in 18m 20s. Tim Dutton won the walk in 27m 28s with Terri Grimmett recording 30m 41s, both series best times.
Athletics, QEII Stadium – 11 December 2010
The Canterbury masters 5000m championship was held, Carsten Joergensen won the men in 16m 00.09s and Tracy Crossley the women in 18m 19.33s. Alex Jordan ran a fine 400n in 47.00s. William Lentjies won the senior sprint double with 11.58s (-1.6) in the 100m and 23.61s (+1.1) in the 200m. Fiona Morrison won the 100m in 12.82s (-1.5) and Kelsey Berryman the 200m in 27.49s (-1.2). James Welsh was over the M16 high jump at 1.85m.


Athletics, Caledonian Stadium – 11 December 2010
Michael Jolly won the M16 javelin with a throw of 41.45m and he also won the M16 100m in 12.02s (+1.1). Joe Kemp won the M19 100m in 11.06s (+2.0) with Daniel O’Shea winning the senior in 10.95s (+2.0). Fiona Hely the senior women’s 200m winner in 25.79s (+1.8) and Andy Moore the senior men 21.90s (+1.8). Hannah Blair had the javelin out to 43.87m, while Brent Cheshire was out to 11.46m in the M16 triple jump with 11.46m (+2.2). Roseanne Robinson won the 3000m walk in 14m 5.09s and Dougal Thorburn the 5000m in 15m 5.93s.

World discus champion in 1997 Beatrice Faumuina has retired from athletics.
In winning the world title in Athens in 1997 Beatrice became New Zealand’s first track and field world champion. Just prior to the world championships Beatrice competed in Oslo where she set the New Zealand national record of 68.52m. She also holds the New Zealand resident record of 67.58m set in 1998 on the North Shore.
Beatrice won her first New Zealand senior discus title in 1993 and since then has won 17 titles. She also won four national shot put titles.
Beatrice won the discus at the 2002 world cup in Madrid, the first win by a New Zealander at a world cup meeting.
She received the ONZM (Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit) in the 2005 Queen’s Birthday honours and in October 2005 was nominated Goodwill Ambassador of the Food and Agriculture Organisation of the United Nations. Beatrice was on the IAAF athlete’s commission 2005 to 2008.
Last month Beatrice was appointed Chief Executive of the Best Pasifika Leadership Academy aimed at finding and mentoring Pasifika business leaders.
Olympic Games
1996, Atlanta 23rd
2000 Sydney 12th
2004 Athens 7th   NZ Flag bearer at these Games
2008 Beijing 28th
Commonwealth Games
1994 Victoria Silver medal, also shot put 9th
1998 Kuala Lumpur Gold medal, also shot put 4th
2002 Manchester Gold medal
2006 Melbourne 4th
2010 Delhi 5th
World Championships
1992 Junior Seoul 5th, also competed in shot put
1995 Goteborg 28th
1997 Athens Gold medal
1999 Seville 5th
2003 Paris 13th
2005 Helsinki 4th 
2007 Osaka 24th 
The Marlborough Senior Athletics Club President, Richard Harvey, died on Sunday 5th December, aged 52.
Richard was also a delegate for Tasman on the council at Athletics New Zealand annual general meetings for five years 2005 -2009, always wearing his distinctive cap.
He worked in real estate in Blenheim.

Murray McKinnon
Communications Advisor
Athletics New Zealand
0274 806086

Made possible by:

The Lion Foundation

 Return to top   Print Article   Print Instructions