SA Heritage Council Members

Judith Carr, Chair

Judith is an architect and Executive Director within the Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure. Judith has extensive experience in public administration, building construction project management, architecture and building asset and property management.

Carolyn Wigg, Deputy Chair, Local Government Association Nominee

Carolyn is an Architect with extensive experience in architecture, heritage conservation and urban and regional development. She is a member of the Development Assessment Commission and the Local Heritage Advisory Committee. Carolyn is a Councillor for the Town of Walkerville and on the State Executive Committee of the Local Government Association, a past President of the SA Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects and was formerly a part time lecturer in the School of Architecture, Landscape Architecture and Urban Design, University of Adelaide. In 2010, Carolyn was awarded a UniSA Fellowship to research 'Sustainability and Adaptive Reuse of Heritage Buildings'.

Robert Donaldson

Robert was formerly Chief Executive Officer of the City of Holdfast Bay and is now Assistant General Manager of Shoalhaven City Council on the NSW south coast. Robert has significant experience in public administration and urban and regional planning and the interface between the heritage and planning systems. His knowledge of both the strategic and operational issues facing local governments in relation to planning and heritage matters enhances the Council's capacity to provide advice in these areas.

Gavin Leydon

Gavin is an environmental lawyer in private practice with extensive experience in the area of development and planning. He brings to the Council an understanding of the policy interface between heritage and urban and regional planning. Gavin is also currently the Chair of the Local Heritage Advisory Committee, which provides advice to the Minister for Urban Development and Planning on heritage related matters.

Michael O'Connell

Michael is an experienced urban and regional planner in private practice. He has also worked as a Senior Planner and Director within Local Government in Mount Gambier, Port Adelaide, Adelaide City and Adelaide Hills Councils and on major State Government Projects. Michael has significant experience in public administration, urban planning, regional development and heritage conservation.

Jason Schulz

Jason is a registered architect with nearly 20 years experience in the conservation, policy development, and adaptive reuse of heritage places. As a Director of DASH Architects, Jason brings to the Council extensive expertise in the boarder issues associated with heritage in our built environment. He regularly provides expert witnessing services to the Environment, Resources and Development (ERD) Court and is also a member of the Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure's Local Heritage Advisory Committee. Jason has also recently been appointed Chair of the Integrated Design Commission's masterplanning Design Review Panel.



Emeritus Professor Jane James

Jane is Adjunct Professor of International Tourism at Flinders University, where she was Head of Tourism at Flinders University from 1997 - 2010. Jane's specialist research has covered a number of areas including site management and interpretation, the interpretation of natural and cultural heritage sites and the evaluation of visitor experiences, both in Australia and overseas. Jane has held three Ministerial appointments to boards and committees in tourism, heritage and conservation sectors.

Jamie McClurg

Jamie has over 20 years experience in senior management positions directing property and development projects in South Australia and interstate. Jamie is a Division Council member of the Property Council and was the SA representative for the Residential Development Council on the National Board.

Michael Queale, Acting member

Michael is a registered architect practising in South Australia, with over twenty years of expertise in architectural conservation, particularly in heritage assessment, the conservation of historic buildings and the design of contemporary architecture in historic contexts. Michael is currently Vice-President of the Australia ICOMOS Executive Committee, the Australian chapter of the International Council on Monuments and Sites, the key professional body for cultural heritage practitioners based in Paris. Michael is also a State and Local Heritage Adviser to councils in South Australia and Victoria.

Bruce Harry, Acting member

Bruce is an architect with qualifications in and knowledge of business administration. He has extensive experience in the design, documentation and administration of a wide range of building projects and is a recognised specialist in the restoration and redevelopment of historic buildings. Bruce has been providing heritage consultancy services to State and local government, institutional and corporate clients for over 30 years.