HomeNAIDOC Awards


The annual NAIDOC Awards recognise the outstanding contributions that Indigenous Australians make to improve the lives of Indigenous people in their communities and beyond, or to promote Indigenous issues in the wider community, or the excellence they’ve shown in their chosen field.

Nominations are now open so if someone in your community deserves to be recognised for their contribution, complete the Awards Nomination form. Entries close on Friday 26 April 2013.

There are awards in ten different categories, covering a diverse range of fields and talents:

  • Person of the Year
    May be eligible for a $20,000 bursary
  • Elder of the Year
  • Elder of the Year
  • Apprentice of the Year
    For people who have completed an apprenticeship in the 12 months prior to the awards
  • Artist of the Year
    For musicians, performing artists and visual artists of all kinds
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
    Recognises a sustained contribution to Indigenous people and our causes
  • Scholar of the Year
    For achievement in secondary or tertiary studies
  • Sportsperson of the Year
    For achievement in individual or team sport
  • Youth of the Year
    For young individuals between aged 16 – 25 years of age
  • Caring for Country Award
    Individuals, communities, and projects are eligible for nomination

Award recipients will be honoured during NAIDOC Week at the National NAIDOC Awards Ceremony and Ball to be held in Perth on 12 July 2013.

For previous National NAIDOC Award recipients view the winners profiles.