English  |  Español  |  Français  |    |    | 
In this section
International standards
General Recommendations of the Special Rapporteur
Urgent appeals
Allegation letters
Country visits
Issues in focus

Press releases
Related links
against Torture
United Nations Voluntary Fund for Victims of Torture
Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture

External links

Atlas of torture

(Note: The Atlas of Torture is not an official OHCHR website, but it contains information relevant to the conduct of the mandate.)

Special Rapporteur on torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment

The United Nations Commission on Human Rights, in resolution 1985/33, decided to appoint an expert, a special rapporteur, to examine questions relevant to torture. The mandate was extemded for 3 years by Human Rights Council resolution 8/8 in June 2008. It covers all countries, irrespective of whether a State has ratified the Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment.

The mandate comprises three main activities:

1) transmitting urgent appeals to States with regard to individuals reported to be at risk of torture, as well as communications on past alleged cases of torture;
2) undertaking fact-finding country visits; and
3) submitting annual reports on activities, the mandate and methods of work to the Human Rights Council and the General Assembly.

Unlike the complaints mechanisms of the human rights treaty monitoring bodies, the Special Rapporteur does not require the exhaustion of domestic remedies to act. When the facts in question come within the scope of more than one mandate established by the Commission, the Special Rapporteur may decide to approach other thematic mechanisms and country rapporteurs with a view to sending joint communications or seeking joint missions.

  • Mr. Juan Méndez, (Argentina), 1 November 2010-present
  • Mr. Manfred Nowak, (Austria), 2004 - 31 October 2010
  • Mr. Theo van Boven, (Netherlands), 2001 - 2004
  • Sir. Nigel S. Rodley (United Kingdom), 1993-2001
  • Sr. Peter Kooijmans (Netherlands), 1985-1993
    © OHCHR 1996-2011 Site map  Contact us