Robot 6

SDCC ’10 | Winners announced for 22nd annual Eisner Awards

2010 Eisner Awards

2010 Eisner Awards

A Drifting Life and The Wonderful Wizard of Oz were among the titles winning multiple honors in the 22nd annual Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards, presented Friday night in conjunction with Comic-Con International. David Mazzucchelli and J.H. Williams III led the creator categories with two wins each.

The winners were announced at the Hilton Bayfront by presenters ranging from the cast of Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World and actor Thomas Jane to cartoonists Berkeley Breathed and C. Tyler. Bongo Comics co-founder Bill Morrison and voice actor Maurice LaMarche were the masters of ceremony.

The complete list of nominees can be found here. The winners of the 2010 awards are:

Best Short Story
“Urgent Request,” by Gene Luen Yang and Derek Kirk Kim, in The Eternal Smile (First Second)

Best Single Issue (or One-Shot)
Captain America #601: “Red, White, and Blue-Blood,” by Ed Brubaker and Gene Colan (Marvel)

Best Continuing Series
The Walking Dead, by Robert Kirkman and Charles Adlard (Image)

Best Limited Series or Story Arc
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, by Eric Shanower and Skottie Young (Marvel)

Best New Series
Chew, by John Layman and Rob Guillory (Image)

Best Publication for Kids
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz hardcover, by L. Frank Baum, Eric Shanower and Skottie Young (Marvel)

Best Publication for Teens
Beasts of Burden, by Evan Dorkin and Jill Thompson (Dark Horse)

Best Humor Publication
Scott Pilgrim, Vol. 5: Scott Pilgrim vs. the Universe, by Bryan Lee O’Malley (Oni Press)

Best Anthology
Popgun, Vol. 3, edited by Mark Andrew Smith, D. J. Kirkbride and Joe Keatinge (Image)

Best Digital Comic
Sin Titulo, by Cameron Stewart

Best Reality-Based Work
A Drifting Life, by Yoshihiro Tatsumi (Drawn & Quarterly)

Best Adaptation from Another Work
Richard Stark’s Parker: The Hunter, adapted by Darwyn Cooke (IDW Publishing)

Best Graphic Album — New
Asterios Polyp, by David Mazzucchelli (Pantheon)

Best Graphic Album — Reprint
Absolute Justice, by Alex Ross, Jim Krueger and Doug Braithewaite (DC Comics)

Best Archival Collection/Project — Strips
Bloom County: The Complete Library, Vol. 1, by Berkeley Breathed, edited by Scott Dunbier (IDW Publishing)

Best Archival Collection/Project — Comic Books
The Rocketeer: The Complete Adventures deluxe edition, by Dave Stevens, edited by Scott Dunbier (IDW Publishing)

Best U.S. Edition of International Material
The Photographer, by Emmanuel Guibert, Didier Lefèvre and Frédéric Lemerier (First Second)

Best U.S. Edition of International Material — Asia
A Drifting Life, by Yoshihiro Tatsumi (Drawn & Quarterly)

Best Writer
Ed Brubaker, Captain America, Daredevil, Marvels Project (Marvel) Criminal, Incognito (Icon)

Best Writer/Artist
David Mazzucchelli, Asterios Polyp (Pantheon)

Best Writer/Artist–Nonfiction
Joe Sacco, Footnotes in Gaza (Metropolitan/Holt)

Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team
J. H. Williams III, Detective Comics (DC Comics)

Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (interior art)
Jill Thompson, Beasts of Burden (Dark Horse); Magic Trixie and the Dragon (HarperCollins Children’s Books)

Best Cover Artist
J. H. Williams III, Detective Comics (DC Comics)

Best Coloring
Dave Stewart, Abe Sapien, B.P.R.D., The Goon, Hellboy, Solomon Kane, Umbrella Academy, Zero Killer (Dark Horse); Detective Comics (DC Comics); Luna Park (Vertigo)

Best Lettering
David Mazzucchelli, Asterios Polyp (Pantheon)

Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism
The Comics Reporter, produced by Tom Spurgeon

Best Comics-Related Book
The Art of Harvey Kurtzman: The Mad Genius of Comics, by Denis Kitchen and Paul Buhle (Abrams ComicArts)

Best Publication Design
Absolute Justice, designed by Curtis King and Josh Beatman (DC Comics)

Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award
Vault of Midnight, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Hall of Fame
• Burne Hogarth
• Bob Montana
• Steve Gerber
• Dick Giordano
• Michael Kaluta
• Mort Weisinger

Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award
Jeannie Schulz

Bill Finger Award for Achievement in Comic Book Writing
Otto Binder, Gary Friedrich

Russ Manning Most Promising Newcomer Award
Marian Churchland (Beast)


Gorilla Grodd

July 24, 2010 at 8:19 am

Three “Best Writer” Eisners in four years, good job God Brubaker.

Brubaker is on fire! He’s doing the best work of his career.

And it’s all the more impressive considering the company he was in.

Yeah Brubaker’s stuff is great. J.H. Williams III as well.

Glad to see Asterios Polyp get the award.

Props to Ed Brubaker, the best writer in comics!

Great to see Gerber in the Hall of Fame. He deserves it!

Good job Ed Brubaker and David Mazzucchelli. Asterios Polyp is my favourite book of 2009 and is a true masterpiece in the medium of comics. I’d have had Sweet Tooth or Unwritten over Chew but whatever.

I also can’t wait to read A Drifting Life, all 800+ pages. Yoshihiro Tatsumi’s other work like Pushman was shocking, especailly given the time it was created in (late 60′s, early 70′s).

Sucks that Naoki Urasawa was shut out in several categories. He’s doing my favorite book right now.


July 24, 2010 at 10:19 am

Brubaker’s been great, but I feel Morrison should have gotten it for B&R, IMO it’s been better than Cap lately.

It blows my mind that Morrison has yet to win a “Best Writer” Eisner, while Alan Moore has like…9 of them, lol.

Bru is not the best writer in comics, lol.

Congrats to everyone, but these are some pretty tame choices. No surprise there, just saying.

Oh thank God! Cry for Justice didn’t win and The Wonderful Wizard of Oz AND Beasts of Burden did!

2nd Gerber!

Cap 601 as best single issue!?! What a joke! Shouldn’t have even been NOMINATED!

I can get behind all the other wins, though, except Best Adaptation from Another Work should have gone to The Book of Genesis Illustrated, by R. Crumb – not Cooke’s Parker book, good as it was — and Old Man Logan deserved a win. Love or hate the character, that run was amazing.

Leave a Comment


Browse the Robot 6 Archives