The APRA Music Awards were established in 1982. An annual event, the awards honour those composers and songwriters who have achieved the highest performances of their work and excellence in their craft over the previous year. The 2013 APRA Music Awards sees the introduction of a new category: Pop Work of the Year.

APRA Music Award recipients over the years have been as inspiring and varied as the songs they represent. Previous winners have included some of the finest names in the Australian contemporary music landscape, with an honour roll that has included Neil Finn, Gotye, Powderfinger, Sia, paulmac, Daniel Johns, Kasey Chambers, Nick Cave, Gurrumul Yunupingu, Paul Kelly, Slim Dusty, The Presets, Savage Garden, Alex Lloyd, Tina Arena, Chris Cheney, Angus & Julia Stone, John Butler, Sally Seltmann, Missy Higgins, Glenn Richards, Wolfmother and many, many more.

Some of the award categories are based on APRA's analysis of performance data. 2011 saw the introduction of additional data in the form of digital and online performance statistics to determine the nominees and ultimately, the winners. Other awards are decided by APRA's Board of writer and publisher members, and the Song of the Year Award is decided based on peer voting by the 60,000+ eligible voting APRA members, making it the only peer voted music award in Australia. Needless to say, recognition from fellow musicians and industry peers is always a uniquely prized honour.

The 2012 event marked 30 years of the APRA Music Awards, and APRA’s commitment to honouring songwriters and composers is as strong as ever. The 2013 APRA Music Awards will be held in Melbourne on Monday 17th June.

Previous Years