Click to Skip Navigation
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Government > City Council
City Council
City Council
Recent City Council Minutes
City Council Meetings
Caucus Meetings
Ann Arbor History
Mayor John Hieftje
Mayor List

Contact Information:
Location: 3rd floor, City Hall
Phone: (734) 794-6161
Fax: (734) 332-5966 

NEW! View Recent Council Minutes

The Ann Arbor City Council meets at 7:00 p.m. on the 1st and 3rd Mondays of every month in the City Hall Council Chamber, 2nd floor of the Guy C. Larcom, Jr. Municipal Building, 301 E. Huron Street. 

Current Council Packet  (New Design!) Council Meetings
Offices and People (Boards and Commissions) Caucus Meetings
Council Meeting Calendar Past Mayors of Ann Arbor
Council Rules

Election Information

City elections are held every fall on the Tuesday after the first Monday in November. (The same day as national, state and county elections, which are held in even-numbered years.) To vote in a city election, you must be registered in the City of Ann Arbor. To register you must be a US citizen, at least 18 years of age by election day, a resident of the City of Ann Arbor for at least 30 days prior to election day. You need to register 30 days before an election. Absentee ballots and other election information may be obtained from the City Clerk's Office. For more information, call 734-794-6140   To view Election Information on line, click here.


The Mayor is elected on a partisan ballot every even year. The Mayor is the presiding officer of the City Council and appoints all Council committee members and members of many boards and commissions, with the approval of City Council.

The City Council consists of the Mayor and ten Council members, two from each of Ann Arbor's five wards. One half of City Council is elected in annual partisan elections. Members serve two-year terms.

Contact your Council Members using the email address links below. Alternatively, the preferred phone number for each Member is also listed. All Council Members and the Mayor also receive written correspondence at: City of Ann Arbor, Attn: City Council, P.O. Box 8647, Ann Arbor, MI 48107.

John Hieftje (D)
100 N. Fifth Ave. 48104

Photo: John Hieftje

Sabra Briere (D)
1418 Broadway 48105


Photo: Sabra Briere

Sumi Kailasapathy (D)
2530 Mallard Ct., 48105


Sumi Kailasapathy

Jane Lumm (Independent)
3075 Overridge Drive 48104


Sally Hart Petersen (D)
2976 Hickory Lane 48104
Sally Hart Peterson image

Stephen Kunselman (D)
2885 Butternut
Ann Arbor, MI 48108

Stephen Kunselman


Christopher Taylor (D)
1505 Brooklyn Ave. 48104

Photo: Christopher Taylor

Marcia Higgins (D)
1535 Westfield 48103  734-662-0487

Photo: Marcia Higgins
Margie Teall (D)
1208 Brooklyn Ave.  48104
Photo: Margie Teall

Mike Anglin (D)
549 S. First St. 48103


Photo: Mike Anglin


Chuck Warpehoski (D)
2020 Winewood, 48103


To email Mayor and all members of Council, use this link: EMail Mayor and Council

When emailing Mayor and/or Council members, please include your telephone number and address to facilitate an appropriate response.



Go to the top