School of Communication

Notable alumni

Mike Adamle (71) sports anchor, WBBM-Ch. 2 Chicago; former pro football player
Katrina Adams (88) former pro tennis player
Michael Alvarez (02) director of communication relations, Illinois Department of Employment Security
Ann-Margret (63) actress
Andrew Barrett-Weis (92) director of current programs, Warner Brothers Television
Karim Bartoletti (94) executive producer, FilmMaster
Warren Beatty (59) actor, Academy Award-winning producer
Richard Benjamin (60) actor/director
Greg Berlanti (94)
Creator of Everwood. Writer and producer for Jack and Bobby. Writer for Dawson's Creek.
Eric Bernt (86) screenwriter
Craig Bierko Tony Award-nominated actor
Bill Bindley (84) writer, director
Jeffory Blackard (81) founder and CEO, Blackard Development
Richard Block (73) associate head of the School of Drama, Carnegie Mellon University
Robert Borden (89) executive producer, George Lopez
Zach Braff (97)
Television and film actor, director, screenwriter, and producer. During the 2000s, he became known for his role as J.D. on the NBC sitcom Scrubs, as well as starring in several films. Braff also wrote and directed 2004's Garden State. The soundtrack record, which he selected and produced, earned him a Grammy for Best Soundtrack Album in 2005.
Clancy Brown (81) actor
Charles Busch (76) actor, Tony Award-award nominated playwright
Robert Olen Butler (67) author and winner of Pulitzer Prize for literature
Bruno Campos (95) actor
Elynne Chaplik-Aleskow (71) founding general manager of WYCC-TV Channel 20/PBS and Chicago's first female television general manager
Adam Chase (90) former writer, executive producer, Friends
Rory Joseph Clark (76) president and CEO, Process Corporation
Cheryl Coffey-Curry (87) director of affiliate relations, Harpo, Inc.
Stephen Colbert (87)
Actor, writer and producer of The Colbert Report. Colbert was a primary writer and senior on-air correspondent on The Daily Show, which received numerous Emmy and Peabody Awards.
Christopher Corbett (73) journalist, former news editor and reporter, Associated Press
Stephanie Shemin D'Abruzzo (93) Tony Award-nominated actress
Laura Eason (89) artistic director, Lookingglass Theatre Company
Gregg Edelman (80) Tony Award-nominated actor
Debi Feinman (78) senior partner, WorldWide Client Service Director at Ogilvy & Mather
Barbara Gaines (68) founder and artistic director, Chicago Shakespeare Theatre
Sondra Gair (45) public radio journalist and host
Tom Galantich (83) actor
Frank Galati (65) Tony Award-winning, Oscar-nominated director; writer, actor, and retired Northwestern professor
Barry Gardner (98) professional football player
Ana Gasteyer (89) actress
Richard Gephardt (62)
Elected in 1994 to serve as House Democratic Leader, the top- ranking Democratic leader in the United States House of Representatives.
David Gersh (70) president and owner, Gersh Agency
Ileen Getz (83) actress
Eric Gilliland (84) writer/producer
Joy Gregory (88) scriptwriter
Michael Greif (81) director, Rent
Napoleon Harris (02) professional football player
Deborah Hayes (71) director of audiology, speech pathology, and learning services at the Children's Hospital-Denver
Heather Headley (97) Tony Award-winning actress, star of "Aida" and "Lion King," Grammy-nominated R&B singer
Marg Helgenberger (82) Emmy Award-winning actress
Charlton Heston (45) Academy Award-winning actor
David Hollander (90) screenwriter and TV producer
Richard Hopple (69) chairman and CEO, Unicast Communications Corporation
Chris Hughes (95) sports information director, California State University
Laura Innes (79) actress
Donald J. Jackson (65) founder, chairman, and CEO, Central City Productions
Brian d'Arcy James (90) Tony Award-nominated actor
Jennifer Jones (40) Academy Award-winning actress (also known as Phylis Isley)
Alex Kent (94) president and founder, Symphonic Wireless
Tom Keramides (83) vice president, Leo Burnett USA
Richard Kind (78) actor
Rikki Klieman (70) anchor, Court TV
Jeff Kurland (75) costume designer
Jeff Kwatinetz (87)
CEO, The Firm, one of the top five agencies in Hollywood. The Firm represents clients and also producers in music, TV, film and literary. Clients include Leonardo DiCaprio, Cameron Diaz, Linkin Park, and Ice Cube.
Martha Lavey (79) artistic director, Steppenwolf Theatre Company
Sherry Lansing (66)
Former Chairwoman and CEO of Paramount Pictures.
Brad Lawer (89) co-founder, Chopper Films
Cloris Leachman (48) Academy Award-winning actress
Harry Lennix (86) actor
Richard Lewis (83) director
John Logan (83) playwright and scriptwriter
Shelley Long (71) Emmy Award-winning actress
Tim Louis (86) co-founder, Desert Voices Oral Learning Center
Julia Louis-Dreyfus (83) actress
Renetta McCann (78) CEO, Starcom North America
Grace McKeaney (74) writer and producer for the Lifetime television network
Laverne McKinnon (87) executive vice president of drama development, CBS Broadcasting, Inc.
Susan Messing (86) performer, teacher, and director at Second City, ImprovOlympic, and the Annoyance Theatre
Seth Meyers (96) actor
Newton Minow (49) attorney, former FCC chairman
Judi Sheppard Missett (66) CEO and founder, Jazzercise
Jason Moore (93) Tony Award-winning director, Avenue Q
Megan Mullally (81) actress
Dermot Mulroney (85) actor
John Musial founding member and director, Lookingglass Theatre Company
Margaret Nagle (83)
Writer of the screenplay for the HBO movie Warm Springs, which won the 2005 Emmy Award for Outstanding Television Movie as well as the Writers Guild of America Award.
Patricia Neal (47) Academy Award-winning actress
George Newbern (86) actor
Agnes Nixon (44) soap opera inventor
Denis O'Hare (84) Tony Award-winning actor
Dana Olsen (80) screenwriter
Jerry Orbach (56) actor
Danita Patterson (90) president, Destiny Outreach, Inc.
Stephen Peck (68) documentary filmmaker
Michael Pellerin (87) partner, Kurtti/Pellerin; produced The Lord of the Rings DVD trilogy
Paula Prentiss (59) actress
John Quaintance (93) writer, Joey
Charlotte Rae (48) actress
Tony Randall (41) actor
Tony Roberts (61) actor
Tina Rosenberg (81) editorial board, The New York Times; Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award-winning author
Jeri Ryan (90) actress
Kate Johnson Santhuff (83) vice president, 3rd Wave communications company
Alexis Sarkisian (71) Emmy Award-winning television producer, international marketing executive
Rebecca Schnur (87) director of communications, Maine Hospital Association
David Schwimmer (88)
Best known for his role as Ross Geller in the acclaimed television series Friends (1994–2004). Schwimmer also co-founded Chicago's Lookingglass Theatre Company, where he has directed a number of productions.
Melvin Sembler (52) U.S. Ambassador to Italy
Jon Shapiro (87) IMAX film producer
Peter Shapiro (95) IMAX film producer
Kate Shindle (99) actress; Miss America, 1998
Francesca Spinelli (74) senior vice president of people, PETsMART
Joseph Staten (94) director of cinematics, Bungie
Peter Strauss (69) actor
Nicole Sullivan (91) actress
Ira Ungerleider (90) former producer, writer, Friends
Allison Teichner Wallach (90) vice president of original programming, Lifetime Television Network
Harry Wappler (58) former chief meteorologist, KIRO-TV
Lois Weisberg (46) commissioner, Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs
Jim Weitzer (96) actor
Dawn Westlake (86) actress/writer/producer; president, Ron de Caña Productions
Kimberly Williams (93) actress
Rachael Yamagata (97) singer, songwriter
Mary Zimmerman (82) Northwestern professor, Tony Award-winning director