Pages - Statement Details
Media Statements : Statement Details

Hon Albert Jacob BEnvDes M.Arch JP MLA

    Finalists announced for State Heritage Awards

    Wednesday, 5 March 2014
    • 26 regional and 30 metropolitan finalists announced for the 2014 Western Australian Heritage Awards
    • Winners to be announced on April 3 at His Majesty’s Theatre
    A lighthouse keepers’ quarters entirely rebuilt from ruins and the conversion of old York Primary School into a community health hub are among the finalists at the 2014 Western Australian Heritage Awards.
    Heritage Minister Albert Jacob said the award finalists demonstrated the wide spectrum of heritage success stories across the State.
    “The 56 inspiring finalists are an indication of the strong field contending for top heritage honours in 11 categories,” Mr Jacob said.
    “The WA Heritage Awards is an opportunity to convey that ‘heritage’ is about so much more than conserving old buildings - it is about understanding how to incorporate it in our daily lives, to adapt heritage assets to modern use, to use heritage to add value to places and experiences and make it relevant to contemporary living.”
    The awards are in their 22nd year and honour the leading contributors to heritage conservation, adaptive reuse, promotion, tourism and interpretation in WA.
    The Minister said this year had attracted the strongest ever response to the Outstanding Contribution to Heritage by a Community-Based Organisation category. Finalists in this category include groups that undertake a broad range of activities including establishing community museums, promoting architectural styles, and conserving local heritage for the benefit of the wider community.
    “This suggests that the broader community is engaged and participating in heritage priorities and projects,” Mr Jacob said.
    “There has also been a marked increase in the use of technology to interpret heritage, enhance experiences, reach new audiences and make it accessible and relevant to the younger generation.
    “Congratulations to all the finalists whose work has resulted in significant achievements in the promotion and conservation of our rich cultural heritage.”
    Fact File
    Minister’s office - 6552 5800
    2014 Western Australian Heritage Awards finalists
    Outstanding voluntary contribution to heritage by an individual
    Beth Frayne, Toodyay Historical Society
    Samantha Good, York Residency Museum
    Jan James, Avon Valley and Northam
    Joan Williams, Northam and Districts Historical Society
    Loretta Wright, Northampton
    Outstanding contribution to heritage by a professional in the heritage industry
    Ken Mulvaney, Dampier, Rio Tinto
    Richard Offen, Perth, Heritage Perth
    Alice Steedman, Kensington, Alice Steedman Architect
    Guy Weguelin, O’Connor, Weguelin and Partner
    Outstanding contribution to heritage by a community-based organisation
    Art Deco Society of Western Australia
    Carnamah Historical Society, Carnamah
    Friends of Mandurah Community Museum, Mandurah
    Irwin District Historical Society, Dongara
    Margaret River Community Resource Centre, Margaret River
    Mount Lawley Society, Perth
    York Residency Museum, York
    Outstanding contribution to heritage by a public or private organisation
    Rottnest Island Authority, Perth
    ScreenWest, Perth
    Whiteman Park, Whiteman
    Outstanding heritage practices by a local government
    City of Bayswater
    City of Cockburn
    City of Greater Geraldton
    Shire of Leonora
    City of Perth
    City of Subiaco
    City of Swan
    Shire of York
    Outstanding conservation of a residential place
    Earlsferry, Bassendean
    Ferndale Homestead, Balingup
    Outstanding conservation of a non-residential place
    Cape Inscription Lighthouse Keepers’ Quarters, Shark Bay
    Freshwater Bay Boatshed, Peppermint Grove
    Lombadina Mission, Lombadina
    Public Health and Medical Department, Perth
    Rottnest Island WWII defence establishment, Rottnest Island
    St Brigids Group, Northbridge
    Treasury Building, Perth
    York Post Office, York
    Outstanding interpretation project that enhances a place
    Albany Town Jetty, Albany
    Aviation Commemorative Park, Maylands
    Five Exhibition - Fremantle Prison, Fremantle
    Fremantle Arts Centre, Fremantle
    Freopedia QR Code Smartphone Heritage Tour, Fremantle
    Government House, Perth
    Lynton Convict Hiring Depot, Northampton
    Mundaring Weir, Mundaring
    Parliament House, Perth
    Outstanding heritage tourism product
    Discovery Bay Historic Whaling Station, Albany
    Kulin Open Doors and Kulin by Night, Kulin
    Oakabella Homestead, Northampton
    Two Feet & a Heartbeat, Scarborough
    Excellence in Adaptive Reuse: The Gerry Gauntlett Award
    One40william, Perth
    Old York Primary School, York
    Kalgoorlie Courthouse, Kalgoorlie
    The Professor David Dolan Award
    Gideon Digby, Canning Vale
    Sun City Guest House, Geraldton
    Weeriana Street Media, Roebourne