# Twin Cities Mayoral Historical Overview

Eric J. Ostermeier
Ph.D. Candidate
Department of Political Science

Lawrence Jacobs
Director
Center for the Study of Politics and Governance

Center for the Study of Politics and Governance, Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs University of Minnesota

In the nearly century and a half of mayoral elections in the Twin Cities, today's contests stand out for their competitiveness in Minneapolis races and the DFL dominance in both cities.

#### Minneapolis

Minneapolis has had 36 different mayors dating back to 1867 when Republican Dorilus Morrison took office as the city's first mayor. The longest mayoral tenure is 14 years, held by DFL Mayor Donald M. Fraser from 1980 to 1993. Republican Richard M. Erdall was in office the shortest (one day): he assumed office on the last day of Mayor Charles Stenvig's first term in 1973 because Stenvig resigned to become acting Chief of Police.

Minneapolis mayoral elections have often been competitive during the last few decades. Since 1971, incumbents have lost four re-election bids: Charles Stenvig (in 1973 and 1977), Albert J. Hofstede (in 1975), and Sharon Sayles Belton (in 2001). Four races have been decided by 10 percentage points or less, although just one since 1977 (Sayles Belton's reelection win over Independent Barbara Carlson in 1997).

#### Minneapolis Mayoral Service by Political Party, 1867-2005

Party	Years in Office		
Republican	52		
DFL	50		
Democrat	22		
Independent	6.5		
Farmer-Labor	4		
Populist	2		
Loyalist	2		

Overall, the DFL has dominated Minneapolis mayoral politics since the 1970s, winning nine of these eleven races. The last Republican to be elected mayor of the City was P. Kenneth Peterson, who served from 1957-1961. Republicans have served 52 years in office, but

mayors associated with the DFL, Democratic, and Farmer-Labor parties have served a combined 76 years.

## Minneapolis Mayoral General Election Results, 1971-2001

Year	Winner	Party	%	Loser(s)	Party	%
2001	R.T. Rybak	DFL	64.7	Sharon Sayles Belton (I)		34.6
1997	Sharon Sayles Belton (I)	DFL	54.7	Barbara Carlson Independent		44.5
1993	Sharon Sayles Belton	DFL	57.1	John E. Derus	DFL	42.4
1989	Donald M. Fraser (I)	DFL	79.0	Jens E. Peterson	N/A	20.6
1985	Donald M. Fraser (I)	DFL	81.8	Roger W. Jensen	N/A	18.2
1981	Donald M. Fraser (I)	DFL	60.0	Mike Barros	N/A	27.9
				Giovanna P. D'Agostino	N/A	9.7
			Tom McDonald	N/A	1.3	
				Stephen Thomas	N/A	1.1
1979	Donald M. Fraser	DFL	52.3	Charles Stenvig	Independent	25.5
				Mike Barros	IndRep.	20.0
			Tom McDonald	GVT	1.3	
				Gayle Swann	Socialist Workers	0.9
1977	Albert J. Hofstede	DFL	52.9	Charles Stenvig (I) Independent		43.4
				Tom McDonald	Independent	2.5
			-	Jim Carson	Socialist Workers	1.3
1975	Charles Stenvig	Ind.	46.0	Albert J. Hofstede (I)	DFL	45.4
				William L. Hathaway	Republican	4.5
				Tom McDonald	IndConserv.	2.5
				Mary Hillery	Socialist	1.6
1973	Albert J. Hofstede	DFL	46.0	Charles Stenvig (I)	Independent	42.4
				Gladys S. Brooks	Republican	10.5
				Tom McDonald	Independent	0.6
				Jane Van Deusen	Socialist	0.5
1971	Charles Stenvig (I)	Ind.	72.4	W. Henry Davis	N/A	27.6

### St. Paul

In St. Paul, 44 persons have served as mayor, dating back to 1850 when Thomas R. Potts became the City's first mayor. The longest tenure is 15 years, held by Robert A. Smith, a lawyer who served the City off and on at the turn of the last century -- 1887-1892, 1894-1896, and 1900-1908. George Latimer holds the record for the longest period of consecutive service, serving 14 years from 1976 to 1990.

Unlike its sister city to the west, mayoral incumbents have fared very well in recent St. Paul general elections; they successfully defended their office in all six attempts during the past

30 years. This record will be put to the test in 2005 when Mayor Randy Kelly attempts to overcome the 25-point loss to DFL challenger Chris Coleman in September's primary.

Like Minneapolis, the DFL party has dominated the St. Paul mayor's office in recent years as well, controlling the office since Lawrence D. Cohen became mayor in 1974. The one exception is Norm Coleman's second term (1998-2002) after he switched parties from the DFL to the GOP. Coleman was the City's first Republican mayor since attorney John C. Daubney, who unseated incumbent Edward K. Delaney in 1952. Political independents George J. Vavoulis (1960-1966) and Charles P. McCarty (1970-1974) also held the office in the past half-century.

Only four of the last eleven general election mayoral races in St. Paul have been decided by ten points or less – Larry Cohen's 7.8 point win over Dean Meredith and Hugo Hagstrom in 1974, George Latimer's 3.2 point win over former Independent mayor George Vavoulis in 1976, Norm Coleman's 10.4 point win over DFL endorsed state representative Andy Dawkins in 1993, and current mayor Randy Kelly's 0.7 point win over DFL-endorsed Jay Benanav in 2001.

## St. Paul Mayoral General Election Results, 1973-2001

Year	Winner	Party	%	Loser(s)	Party	%
2001	Randy Kelly	DFL	50.1	Jay Benanav	DFL	49.4
1997	Norm Coleman (I)	Republican	58.7	Sandy Pappas	DFL	40.8
1993	Norm Coleman	DFL	54.7	Andy Dawkins	DFL	44.3
1989	James A. Scheibel	DFL	56.3	Bob Fletcher	Republican	43.4
1985	George Latimer (I)	DFL	84.3	George L. Ostrand	N/A	15.7
1983	George Latimer (I)	DFL	69.0	Russ Bovee	N/A	31.0
1982	George Latimer (I)	DFL	71.4	Mike Fritz	N/A	28.6
1980	George Latimer (I)	DFL	85.5	Glen John Mansfield	N/A	14.5
1978	George Latimer (I)	DFL	70.7	Edward T. Nyborg	N/A	24.2
				Libby Moser	N/A	5.0
1976	George Latimer	DFL	51.6	George Vavoulis	Independent	48.4
1974	Lawrence D. Cohen	DFL	52.9	Dean Meredith	N/A	45.1
				Hugo Hagstrom	N/A	2.1