C. Scott Hemphill

Professor of Law

Office: Jerome Greene Hall, Room 929
New York NY 10027
Tel: (212) 854-0593
Email: hemphill@law.columbia.edu

Assistant Info

Name: Taylor Grace Cook
Phone: (212) 854-4282
Email: tcook@law.columbia.edu


Scott Hemphill, Professor of Law at Columbia Law School, teaches and writes about antitrust, intellectual property, and regulation of industry. He holds a J.D. and Ph.D. in economics from Stanford, an A.B. from Harvard, and an M.Sc. in economics from the London School of Economics, where he studied as a Fulbright Scholar. He served as Antitrust Bureau Chief for the New York Attorney General and clerked for Judge Richard Posner on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, and Justice Antonin Scalia on the United States Supreme Court.

Professor Hemphill’s research focuses on the law and economics of competition and innovation. Recent work examines the antitrust problem of parallel exclusion in concentrated industries, the patenting practices of pharmaceutical innovators, and copyright protection for original fashion designs. His work on anticompetitive settlements of patent litigation by drug makers has been cited by the Supreme Court. He has testified before Congress on antitrust matters, such as the proposed merger of Comcast and Time Warner Cable. His writing has appeared in law reviews, peer-reviewed journals, and the popular press, including the Yale Law Journal, Science, and the Wall Street Journal.

Recent work is available here.

More information on Scott Hemphill.


  • Stanford University, Ph.D. in Economics, 2010
  • Stanford Law School, J.D., 2001
  • London School of Economics and Political Science, M.Sc. in Economics, 1997
  • Harvard College, A.B. in Social Studies, 1994


  • Antitrust
  • Intellectual Property
  • Regulation of Industry
  • Technology and the Law

Professional Affiliations

  • Member, American Law Institute
  • Chair, Law and Economics Section, Association of American Law Schools, 2011-2012
  • Term Member, Council on Foreign Relations, 2007-2012