Should Carroll have owned up to blunder?

Last updated at 13:20 06 January 2005


Former Manchester United keeper Alex Stepney believes it is unfair to criticise Roy Carroll for not admitting Tottenham should have scored a late winner during Tuesday night's 0-0 draw.

Carroll blundered when dropping a 60-yard speculative lob from Pedro Mendes over his own goalline at Old Trafford but the goal was not given.

Neither referee Mark Clattenburg or his assistant Robert Lewis were in a position to see where the ball bounced and so waved play on.

The incident has led to calls for the introduction of video technology to prevent such mistakes happening, but many critics also feel

Carroll should have owned up at the time.

However, European Cup winner Stepney insists the Northern Ireland international should feel no guilt after merely playing to the referee's whistle.

'Never own up'

"If you can get away with anything in football, especially for a goalkeeper, you need a bit of luck and you've got to go with it," Stepney told Sky Sports News.

"I would never have owned up and said 'no, that was a goal'. I'd have done exactly the same as Roy. You play on until the referee makes the decision."

Ulsterman Carroll also received the backing of Professional Footballers' Association chief executive Gordon Taylor.

"Sir Alex (Ferguson) would have been thrilled with him saying it was a goal, I'm sure," laughed Taylor. "He wouldn't have been best pleased as it was, but that would have made it even worse.

"That's starting to be naive because there are so many rubs of the green where you don't get what you feel you should get, and you hope it balances out.

"Playing on like Roy did shouldn't be a burden on a particular player."

No comments have so far been submitted. Why not be the first to send us your thoughts, or debate this issue live on our message boards.

We are no longer accepting comments on this article.

Who is this week's top commenter? Find out now