On this day - September 25

Cathy Freeman

Cathy Freeman won a memorable 400m gold at the Sydney Olympics

1962: Sonny Liston knocked out Floyd Patterson in the first round of their world heavyweight title fight at Comiskey Park, Chicago. Patterson, conceding almost 12 kilograms in weight to the challenger, was the first man to lose the heavyweight title in the first round.

1983: Nelson Piquet beat Alain Prost and Nigel Mansell to the chequered flag in the first European Grand Prix at Brands Hatch, then a new event in the schedule of world championship races.

1995: Rangers striker Mark Hateley signed for QPR for £1million. The 33-year-old teamed up again with Loftus Road boss Ray Wilkins, with whom he played in Scotland.

1998: Fifteen-year-old swimming sensation Ian Thorpe broke the world record for
the men's short-course 400 metres freestyle by 0.64 of a second at the Australian Short-Course Championships, clocking three minutes 39.82 seconds.

2000: The most anticipated event of the Sydney Olympics saw Cathy Freeman win gold for Australia in the women's 400m final as Britain's Katharine Merry claimed bronze. Elsewhere triple-jumper Jonathan Edwards won gold and 800m runner Kelly Holmes won a bronze medal for Britain.

2003: Rangers manager Alex McLeish ended speculation by signing a new four-year
contract, tying him to the Ibrox club until 2007. McLeish parted company with the club at the end of the 2005-06 season.

2004: An unbroken ninth-wicket stand of 71 saw West Indies snatch an unlikely victory against England - chasing their first major one-day tournament victory - in the ICC Champions Trophy final at the Oval.

West Indies

Ian Bradshaw and Courtney Brown of West Indies celebrate scoring the winning runs for the West Indies against England in the Champions Trophy Final at the Oval in 2004

2005: Spain's Fernando Alonso became the youngest Formula one world champion at
the age of 24 after finishing third in the Brazilian Grand Prix.

2007: Durham's veteran West Indian bowler Ottis Gibson, now in England's coaching set-up, was named as the Professional Cricketers' Association player of the year.

No comments have so far been submitted. Why not be the first to send us your thoughts, or debate this issue live on our message boards.

We are no longer accepting comments on this article.

Who is this week's top commenter? Find out now