TANZANIA COMMISSION FOR UNIVERSITIES



UNIVERSITIES AND COLLEGES RECOGNIZED BY THE TANZANIA COMMISSION FOR UNIVERSITIES (TCU)

TABLE 1: FULLY FLEDGED UNIVERSITIES OPERATING IN TANZANIA AS OF JANUARY 2015

SN	Name of the Institution	Approved Acronym	Category of University	Ownership	Head Office
1.	University of Dar es Salaam	UDSM	Fully Fledged University	Public	Dar es Salaam
2.	Sokoine University of Agriculture	SUA	Fully Fledged University	Public	Morogoro
3.	Open University of Tanzania	OUT	Fully Fledged University	Public	Dar es Salaam
4.	Ardhi University	ARU	Fully Fledged University	Public	Dar es Salaam
5.	Hubert Kairuki Memorial University	НКМИ	Fully Fledged University	Private	Dar es Salaam
6.	International Medical and Technological University	IMTU	Fully Fledged University	Private	Dar es Salaam
7.	Tumaini University Makumira	TUMA	Fully Fledged University	Private	Arusha
8.	St. Augustine University of Tanzania	SAUT	Fully Fledged University	Private	Mwanza
9.	Zanzibar University	ZU	Fully Fledged University	Private	Kusini Unguja
10.	State University of Zanzibar	SUZA	Fully Fledged University	Public	Mjini Magharibi
11.	Mzumbe University	MU	Fully Fledged University	Public	Morogoro

SN	Name of the Institution	Approved Acronym	Category of University	Ownership	Head Office
12.	Mount Meru University	MMU	Fully Fledged University	Private	Arusha
13.	University of Arusha	UOA	Fully Fledged University	Private	Arusha
14.	Teofilo Kisanji University	TEKU	Fully Fledged University	Private	Mbeya
15.	Muhimbili University of Health & Allied Sciences	MUHAS	Fully Fledged University	Public	Dar es Salaam
16.	Nelson Mandela African Institute of Science and Technology	NMAIST	Fully Fledged University	Public	Arusha
17.	Muslim University of Morogoro	MUM	Fully Fledged University	Private	Morogoro
18.	St. John's University of Tanzania	SJUT	Fully Fledged University	Private	Dodoma
19.	University of Dodoma	UDOM	Fully Fledged University	Public	Dodoma
20.	University of Bagamoyo	UoB	Fully Fledged University	Private	Dar es Salaam
21.	Eckernforde Tanga University	ETU	Fully Fledged University	Private	Tanga
22.	Catholic University of Health and Allied Sciences	CUHAS	Fully Fledged University	Private	Mwanza
23.	St. Joseph University in Tanzania	SJUIT	Fully Fledged University	Private	Dar es Salaam

SN	Name of the Institution	Approved Acronym	Category of University	Ownership	Head Office
24.	United African University of Tanzania	UAUT	Fully Fledged University	Private	Dar es Salaam
25.	Katavi University of Agriculture	KUA	Fully Fledged University	Public	Katavi
26.	Mbeya University of Science and Technology	MUST	Fully Fledged University	Public	Mbeya
27.	Sebastian Kolowa Memorial University	SEKOMU	Fully Fledged University	Private	Tanga
28.	Tanzania International University	TIU	Fully fledged University	Private	Dar es Salaam
29.	Butiama University of Agriculture and Allied Sciences	BUAAS	Fully fledged University	public	Mara
30.	University of Iringa	UoI	Fully fledged University	Private	Iringa
31.	Efforts University of Management, Science, Technology and Innovation	EUMSTI	Fully fledged University	Private	Bagamoyo
32.	East Africa University of Technology	EAUT	Fully fledged University	Private	Bagamoyo
33.	Tanzanite University	TU	Fully fledged University	Private	Chamanzi
34.	AbdulRahman Al-Sumit Memorial University	SUMAIT	Fully fledged University	Private	Mjini Magharibi
35.	Moshi Cooperative University	MoCU	Fully fledged University	Public	Moshi

36.	Mwenge Catholic University	MWECAU	Fully fledged University	Private	Moshi
37.	Ruaha Catholic University	RUCU	Fully Fledged University	Private	Iringa

TABLE 2. UNIVERSITY COLLEGES OPERATING IN TANZANIA AS OF JANUARY 2015

SN	Name of the Institution	Approved Acronym	Category of University	Ownership	Head Office
1.	Kilimanjaro Christian Medical College	KCMUCo	University College	Private	Kilimanjaro
2.	Tumaini University Dar es Salaam College	TURDACO	University College	Private	Dar es Salaam
3.	Mkwawa University College of Education	MUCE	University College	Public	Iringa
4.	Dar es Salaam University College of Education	DUCE	University College	Public	Dar es Salaam
5.	Stefano Moshi Memorial University College	SMMUCO	University College	Private	Kilimanjaro
6.	Kampala International University (Dar es Salaam Constituent College)	KIU - DAR	University Constituent College	Private	Dar es Salaam
7.	Archbishop Mihayo University College of Tabora	AMUCTA	University College	Private	Tabora
8.	St. Francis University College of Health and Allied Sciences	SFUCHAS	University College	Private	Morogoro
9.	Jordan University College	JUCO	University College	Private	Morogoro
10.	Stella Maris Mtwara University College	STeMMUCO	University College	Private	Mtwara
11.	Josiah Kibira University College	ЈОКИСО	University College	Private	Kagera

SN	Name of the Institution	Approved Acronym	Category of University	Ownership	Head Office
12.	St. Joseph University College of Agricultural Sciences and Technology	SJUCAST	University College	Private	Ruvuma
13.	St. Joseph University College of Information Technology	SJUCIT	University College	Private	Ruvuma
14.	St. Joseph University College of Management and Commerce	SJUCMC	University College	Private	Njombe
15.	Arch Bishop James University College	AJUCo	University College	Private	Ruvuma