Orpheum Summer Movie Series 2015

May 1, 2015 10:47 am2 commentsViews: 2385

The Orpheum's annual Summer Movie series is one of my favorite annual events, and it begins on June 4. The theatre, which is primarily used for Broadway shows returns to its movie house roots on weekends in summer. The air conditioner is cranked up, there are all kinds of pre-show shenanigans (like costume contests, themed cocktails, etc.), and people get very, very into whatever is playing. Here's the schedule:

orpheum

Thursday, June 4 at 7:00 PM                        Top Gun

Friday, June 5 at 7:00 PM                              Back to the Future

Thursday, June 11 at 7:00 PM                     Grease

FridayJune 12 at 1:30 PM                            FAMILY MATINEE: Space Jam

Friday, June 12 at 7:00 PM                            Casablanca

Thursday, June 25 at 7:00 PM                     Clueless

Friday, June 26 at 1:30 PM                            FAMILY MATINEE: James and the Giant Peach

Friday, June 26 at 7:00 PM                            Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Thursday, July 9 at 7:00 PM                          The Wizard of Oz

Friday, July 10 at 7:00 PM                              Airplane!

Thursday, July 23 at 7:00 PM                       The Sound of Music

Friday, July 24 at 7:00 PM                              DOUBLE FEATURE: Nightmare on Elm Street/Friday the 13th

Thursday, July 30 at 7:00 PM                       Hook

Friday, July 31 at 7:00 PM                              Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

Friday, August 14 at 7:00 PM                       Young Frankenstein

Friday, August 28 at 7:00 PM                       Gone with the Wind

Admission to all of the movies is $7 for adults and $5 for kids, and seating is general admission.

Go there:

The Orpheum Summer Movie Series

The Orpheum Theatre
203 S Main St., Memphis, TN 38103
(901) 525-7800

2 Comments

Leave a Reply