Sangamon County

Sangamon County

Sangamon County was formed in 1821 out of Madison and Bond counties. The county was named for the Sangamon River, which runs through it. Prior to being elected President of the United States, Abraham Lincoln represented Sangamon County in the Illinois Legislature. Lincoln, along with several other legislators, was instrumental in securing the Sangamon County seat, Springfield, as the state’s capital. Sangamon County was also among the area represented by Lincoln when he served one term in the US House of Representatives.

In the 2010 census, it had a population of 197,465. Its county seat is Springfield.


County Board meets second Tuesday of month at 7:00pm – Phone: 217-753-6650 – Chairman Andy Van Meter < >

Candidate Connor Vlakancic appointment date to present his candidate credentials to be determined and posted here…


326 South 7th Street, Springfield 62701 – 217/753-4900 –

See public activity events schedule to be posted here…


See public activity events schedule to be posted here…


YOU can volunteer to be County Coordinator, providing events and activity list and dates and weblink.

Click on the [Invite Connor to meet YOU] button.

Invite Connor to meet YOU