Delta Sigma Theta

Omega Psi Phi

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated was founded on January 13, 1913 at Howard University by 22 dynamic undergraduate women. These young women wanted to use their collective strength to promote academic excellence and to provide to the needy. Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is a private, non-profit organization whose purpose is to provide services and programs to promote human welfare. Delta Sigma Theta has a membership of over 200,000 predominately African-American college educated women. The Sorority currently has over 850 chapters located in the United States, Japan, Germany, Bermuda, Haiti, the Bahamas, the Republic of Korea and the Virgin Islands. The major progrqams of the Sorority are based upon the organization's Five Point Thrust which is as follows: Economic Development, Educational Development, International Awareness, Involvement Physical and Mental Health Political Awareness and Involvement. Program Development and Implementation in Delta is a cooperative function with several committees and executive board involved. Those with direct leadership responsibilities for implementation include members of the Program, Planning, and Development Committee, Social Action Committee, Membership Services and Regional Officers. A brief listing of the selected national program areas are as follows: Delta Habitat for Humanity Summit III: Preparing our Sons for Manhood School America Delta Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and AIDS Community Education Project (ADACE) Black College Convocation Distinguished Professor Endowed Chair Delta Days at the Nation's Capitol Young Artists Renaissance Gala.