18th CD counties

Connor For Illinois 18th Congressional District

At the time of the American Revolutionary War, three competing American colonies — Massachusetts, Virginia, and Connecticut with each claiming part of what is the modern state of Illinois. The matter was ultimately solved in 1778 when Virginia amalgamated lands in the region into one massive county called Illinois, with the name of one of the area’s native people. “Illinois” is an Algonquian Indian word? It comes from the Miami-Illinois tribal name Illiniwek, which means “the people.”

The 18th Congressional District of Illinois covers central and western Illinois, including the cities of Jacksonville, Peoria, Quincy, and Springfield. Republican Aaron Schock had represented the district since January 2009, but resigned March 31, 2015. A special election has been scheduled to select his replacement.

Although he represented the 7th district, Abraham Lincoln served much of the area that now lies within the 18th district.


2011 US 18th Congressional District counties (all or part)

The district covers parts of McLean, Peoria, Sangamon, Stark and Tazewell counties, and all of Adams, Brown, Cass, Hancock, Logan, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, Menard, Morgan, Pike, Schuyler, Scott and Woodford counties, as of the 2011 redistricting which followed the 2010 census. All or parts of Bloomington, Chatham, Jacksonville, Lincoln, Macomb, Morton, Normal, Peoria, Quincy and Springfield are included. The boundaries became effective on January 5, 2013.