Moonlight and American Honey lead the Independent Spirit Awards nominations... with Jackie and its star Natalie Portman also getting nods

The nominations for the Film Independent Spirit Awards were announced on Tuesday.

American Honey and Moonlight led the way with six nominations each. Manchester By The Sea received five nods.

Jackie and Chronic were also in the best feature category.

Standing out: The nominations for the Film Independent Spirit Awards were announced on Tuesday. American Honey and Moonlight (pictured)  led the way with six nominations each

Jackie star Natalie Portman was nominated in the Best Female Lead category.

She was joined by Annette Bening for 20th Century Women, Isabelle Huppert  for Elle, Sasha Lane for American Honey, and Ruth Negga for Loving. 

The 32nd annual Spirit Awards will be held on Saturday, February 25. 

Props: Jackie star Natalie Portman was nominated in the Best Female Lead category. Here she is seen on November 14

In character: Portman as Jackie Kennedy in the drama

Best Male Lead went to Casey Affleck  for Manchester by the Sea, David Harewood for Free In Deed, Viggo Mortensen in Captain Fantastic, Jesse Plemons  in Other People and Tim Roth in Chronic.

Ralph Fiennes for A Bigger Splash, Ben Foster for Hell Or High Water, Lucas Hedges for Manchester By The Sea, Shia LaBeouf for American Honey and Craig Robinson for Morris From America received Best Supporting Male nominations.

Edwina Findley for Free In Deed, Paulina Garcia for Little Men, Lily Gladstone for Certain Women, Riley Keough for American Honey and Molly Shannon for Other People landed in the Best Supporting Female category.

He made it: Best Male Lead went to Casey Affleck (pictured with Lucas Hedges) for Manchester by the Sea, David Harewood for Free In Deed, Viggo Mortensen in Captain Fantastic, Jesse Plemons in Other People and Tim Roth in Chronic

Best Director noms went to Andrea Arnold  for American Honey, Barry Jenkins for Moonlight, Pablo Larrain for Jackie, Jeff Nichols for Loving and Kelly Reichardt for Certain Women.

Though Moonlight was nominated for best picture, it did not receive one performance nod. 

But director Barry Jenkins, casting director Yesi Ramirez and the entire cast have been selected to receive the annual Robert Altman Award.

Independent Spirit Awards nominations 


Best Feature

“American Honey”



“Manchester by the Sea”



Best Director

Andrea Arnold (“American Honey”)

Barry Jenkins (“Moonlight”)

Pablo Larrain (“Jackie”)

Jeff Nichols (“Loving”)

Kelly Reichardt (“Certain Women”)


Best First Feature

“The Childhood of a Leader”

“The Fits”

“Other People”

“Swiss Army Man”

“The Witch”


Best Male Lead

Casey Affleck (“Manchester by the Sea”)

David Harewood (“Free in Deed”)

Viggo Mortensen (“Captain Fantastic”)

Jesse Plemons (“Other People”)

Tim Roth (“Chronic”)


Best Female Lead

Annette Bening (“20th Century Women”)

Isabelle Huppert (“Elle”)

Sasha Lane (“American Honey”)

Ruth Negga (“Loving”)

Natalie Portman (“Jackie”)


Best Supporting Male

Ralph Fiennes (“A Bigger Splash”)

Ben Foster (“Hell or High Water”)

Lucas Hedges (“Manchester by the Sea”)

Shia LaBeouf (“American Honey”)

Craig Robinson (“Morris from America”)


Best Supporting Female

Edwina Findley (“Free in Deed”)

Paulina Garcia (“Little Men”)

Lily Gladstone (“Certain Women”)

Riley Keough (“American Honey”)

Molly Shannon (“Other People”)


Best Screenplay

“Hell or High Water”

“Little Men”

“Manchester by the Sea”


“20th Century Women”


Best First Screenplay



“Jean of the Joneses”

“Other People”

“The Witch”


Best International Film



“My Golden Days”

“Toni Erdmann”

“Under the Shadow”


Best Documentary Feature



“I Am Not Your Negro”

“O.J.: Made in America”


“Under the Sun”


Best Cinematography

“American Honey”


“Free in Deed”

“Eyes of My Mother”



Best Editing

“Hell or High Water”


“Manchester by the Sea”


“Swiss Army Man”


John Cassavetes Award

“Free in Deed”

“Hunter Gatherer”



“Spa Night”


Robert Altman Award



Piaget Producers Award

Lisa Kjerulff

Jordana Mollick

Melody C. Roscher

Craig Shilowich


Truer Than Fiction Award

Kristi Jacobson (“Solitary”)

Sara Jordeno (“Kiki”)

Nanfu Wang (“Holligan Sparrow”)

Someone to Watch Award

Andrew Ahn (“Spa Night”)

Claire Carre (“Embers”)

Anna Rose Holmer (“The Fits”)

Ingrid Jungermann (“Women Who Kill”)





The comments below have not been moderated.

The views expressed in the contents above are those of our users and do not necessarily reflect the views of MailOnline.

By posting your comment you agree to our house rules.

Who is this week's top commenter? Find out now