UNITED NATIONS



NATIONS UNIES

(XXI.6)

POSTAL ADDRESS-ADRESSE POSTALE- UNITED NATIONS, N.Y. 10017 CABLE ADDRESS-ADRESSE TELEGRAPHIQUE UNATIONS NEWYORK

REFERENCE: C.N.150.1996.TREATIES-6 (Depositary Notification)

UNITED NATIONS CONVENTION ON THE LAW OF THE SEA CONCLUDED AT MONTEGO BAY, JAMAICA, ON 10 DECEMBER 1982

NOMINATION OF ARBITRATOR BY GERMANY UNDER ARTICLE 2 OF ANNEX VII OF THE CONVENTION

The Secretary-General of the United Nations, acting in his capacity as depositary and with reference to depositary notification C.N.369.1994.TREATIES-4/7 of 22 March 1995, communicates the following:

On 25 March 1996, the Government of Germany notified the Secretary-General that Dr.(Ms.) Renate Platzoeder has been designated as arbitrator for the purposes of article 2 of Annex VII of the above Convention.

12 June 1996

Attention:

JRRESPONDENCE UNIT

143 MEMBER STATES plus 6 NON-MEMBERS

IGLISH AND SPANISH

GHANISTAN GOLA TIGUA AND BARBUDA MENIA STRALIA STRIA ERBAIJAN HAMAS HRAIN NGLADESH RBADOS LAR JS LIZE TTTAN AIVIA SNIA AND HERZEGOVINA TSWANA AZIL UNEI DARUSSALAM LGARIA NADA ILE INA LOMBIA STA RICA OATIA ΒA PRUS ECH REPUBLIC MOCRATIC PEOPLE'S REPUBLIC OF KOREA INMARK MINICA MINICAN REPUBLIC TIADOR YPT. , SALVADOR ITREA TONTA

ETHIOPIA FIJI FINLAND GAMBIA GEORGIA GERMANY GHANA GREECE GRENADA GUATEMALA **GUYANA** HONDURAS HUNGARY ICELAND TNDTA INDONESIA IRAN IRAO IRELAND ISRAEL JAMAICA JAPAN JORDAN KAZAKSTAN KENYA KUWAIT KYRGYZSTAN LATVIA LESOTHO LIBERIA LIBYAN ARAB JAMAHIRIYA SAUDI ARABIA LIECHTENSTEIN LITHUANIA MALAWI MALAYSIA MALDIVES MALTA MARSHALL ISLANDS MAURITIUS MEXICO

MICRONESIA MONGOLIA MOZAMBIQUE MYANMAR NAMIBIA NEPAL NETHERLANDS NEW ZEALAND NICARAGUA NIGERIA NORWAY OMAN PAKISTAN PALAU PANAMA PAPUA NEW GUINEA PERU PHILIPPINES POLAND PORTUGAL QATAR REPUBLIC OF KOREA REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA RUSSIAN FEDERATION SAINT KITTS AND NEVIS SAINT LUCIA SAINT VINCENT AND THE GRENADINES SAMOA SEYCHELLES SIERRA LEONE SINGAPORE SLOVAKIA SLOVENIA SOLOMON ISLANDS SOMALIA SOUTH AFRICA

SPATN

SRI LANKA SUDAN SURINAME SWAZILAND SWEDEN SYRIAN ARAB REPUBLIC TAJIKISTAN THAILAND THE FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO TURKEY TURKMENISTAN UGANDA UKRAINE UNITED ARAB EMIRATES UNITED KINGDOM UNITED REPUBLIC OF TANZANIA UNITED STATES OF AMERICA URUGUAY UZBEKISTAN VANUATU VENEZUELA VIET NAM VEMEN YUGOSLAVIA ZAMBTA ZIMBABWE

NON-MEMBER STATES

COOK ISLANDS KIRIBATI NAURU NIUE TONGA TUVALU

FORMATION COPY SENT TO:

SO SENT TO:

THO

96/379

(Send English and French copies except where indicated otherwise)

.

_

-

M. Moritaka Hayashi, Director, Division of Ocean Affairs and Law of the Sea (OALOAS), DC2-0450

The Executive Director, International North Pacific Fisheries Community, 6640 Northwest Marine Drive, Vancouver 8, B.C. Canada