Every year, Diss Town Council awards the Honoured Citizen and Junior Good Citizen to members of our community who have dedicated their time for the good of others. Nominees range from community group leaders to that neighbour who is always ready to lend a hand to help others!

If you’d like to nominate someone for the award, download a nomination form.  Next year’s winners will be presented with their awards in April/May 2019 at the Annual Town Meeting.

To view the rules for nominating a Junior Good Citizen or Honoured Citizen, please click here.

This year’s Honoured Citizen awards were presented to Jack Bell and Jamie Scales who saved the life of a pensioner who had collapsed in a diabetic coma and was alone at home for four days. The pair turned detectives after the man, a regular in his local bookies, hadn’t been seen for several days. Congratulations Jack & Jamie!

But we’ve been recognising our community heroes since 1994 ….

Honoured Citizens

Charles Gardener (1994), Henry Judd (1995), Arthur Wood JP (1996), David Bell & Reginald Wright (1998), Gladys Hancock (1999), Jack Lee (2000), Denis Clarke (2001), The Revd. Ben Sasada (2002), Geoffrey Tebble (2004), Francis Bradley (2005), Michael Booty (2006), Clifford Bird & Stuart Ballantyne (2007), Sue Brazier (2008), Basil Abbott (2009), Anne Dutton (2010), Doreen Collins (2011), Alan Rowe (2012), William (aka Billy) Turner (2013), no nominations received in 2014, Suzanne Kayne (2015), Pete Gillings (2016), Harold Rackham & Elizabeth Dewhurst (2017), Jamie Scales & Jack Bell (2018).

Junior Good Citizens

Laura Turner (2002), Jonathan Chambers & Claire Rogers (2007), Alice Baillie (2008), Jordan Longshaw, Robin Lemon, Archie Hewitt, Alfie Hewitt (2009), Ryan Howell (2011), Aston Taylor (2012), Shelby Baker (2013), Thomas Kembery (2014), Ellen Nicholas (2015), Owen Leeder (2016), no nominations received in 2017, Rheuben Botwright & Kieran Murphy (2018).


Honorary Aldermen

Cyril Grace (2005), Glyn Walden (2012)

Freedom of the Town

The Royal Anglian Regiment (2012)