AFGHAN GOVERNMENT 2009

Elected Officials	Office	Ethnic Group
Hamid Karzai	President	Pashtun
Ahmad Zia Masood	1st Vice-President	Tajik
Abdul Karim Khalili	2nd Vice President	Hazara
Asif Rahimi	Minister of Agriculture	Pashtun
Asadullah Khalid	Minister of Border & Tribal Affairs	Pashtun
Wahidullah Shahrani	Minister of Commerce & Industry	Uzbek
Amirzai Sangin	Minister of Communications	Pashtun
Khodaidad, Gen.	Minister of Counternarcotics	Hazara
Abdul Rahim Wardak	Minister of Defense	Pashtun
Mohammad Jalil Shams	Minister of Economy	Tajik
Faruq Wardak	Minister of Education	Pashtun
Ismail Khan	Minister of Energy and Water	Tajik
Omar Zakhilwal	Minister of Finance	Pashtun
Rangin Dadfar Spanta	Minister of Foreign Affairs	Tajik
Mohammad Sediq Chakari	Minister of Hajj & Islamic Affairs	No data
Sayed Mohammad Amin Fatemi	Minister of Health	Pashtun
Mohammad Azam Dadfar	Minister of Higher Education	Uzbek
Mohammad Hanif Atmar	Minister of Interior	Pashtun
Mohammad Sarwar Danesh	Minister of Justice	Hazara
Nur Mohammad Qarqin	Minister of Martyrs, Disabled & Social Affairs	Turkoman
Ibrahim Adel	Minister of Mines & Industries	Hazara
Surab Alli Safari	Minister of Public Works	Hazara
Abdul Karim Brahawi	Minister of Refugees & Repatriation	Baluch
Ehsan Zia	Minister of Rural Development	Tajik
Hamidollah Faruqi	Minister of Transportation	Pashtun
Mohammad Yousef Pashtun	Minister of Urban Development	Pashtun
Hasan Bano Ghazanfar	Minister of Women's Affairs	Uzbek
Abdul Karim Khuram	Minister of Youth & Culture	Pashtun

Source: Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), World Leaders: Afghanistan, 9/28/2009, https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/world-leaders-1/index.html (first two columns), various sources (third column).

^{© 2009} The Southern Center for International Studies