

」。

Lーしートいる
Nunavut Maligaliurvia
Legislative Assembly of Nunavut
Assemblée législative du Nunavut

RELEASE

## MLA for Kugluktuk resigns from the Legislative Assembly

**IQALUIT, Nunavut** (**August 22, 2008**) - Joe Allen Evyagotailak, Member of the Legislative Assembly for Kugluktuk, has declared his decision to resign his seat as a Member of the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut, effective August 21, 2008.

Pursuant to the *Legislative Assembly and Executive Council Act*, Mr. Evyagotailak formally informed the Speaker of his decision by way of correspondence dated August 20, 2008.

Mr. Evyagotailak said, "After close consultation with family, constituents and colleagues, I have determined that I can best focus my efforts on behalf of the residents of my community and region by standing for the Presidency of the Kitikmeot Inuit Association."

The next Nunavut general election will be held on October 27, 2008. Pursuant to the *Nunavut Elections Act*, the Commissioner of Nunavut issued a Proclamation in March 2008, which was published in Part II of the March 2008 *Nunavut Gazette*. Residents of Kugluktuk who are interested in standing for election to the Legislative Assembly may contact Elections Nunavut at 1-800-267-4394 for further information.

Mr. Evyagotailak added, "I wish to take this opportunity to thank all of my constituents and colleagues for the support that they have extended to me since my election to the Legislative Assembly in 2004."

-30-

For more information:

John Quirke Clerk of the Legislative Assembly Tel: (867) 975-5000