## JAMES WATT INTERNATIONAL MEDAL RECIPIENTS

1937		1973	
Great Britain:	Sir John Aspinall, nominated by The Institution of Mechanical Engineers.	Great Britain:	The Rt Hon the Lord Hinton of Bankside, nominated by the Swiss Society of Engineers and Architects.
1939		1975	-
USA:	Mr Henry Ford, nominated by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.	Germany:	Professor Dr-Ing Siegfried Meurer, nominated by the Verein Deutscher Ingenieure.
1941 Switzerland and Czechoslovakia:	Professor A Stodola, nominated by the Swiss Society of Engineers and Architects, Czechoslovakia Society of Engineers, and the Engineering Institute of Canada.	1977 Great Britain:	Air Commodore Sir Frank Whittle, nominated by the New Zealand Institution of Engineers.
1943	0 0	1979	
Great Dominion Overseas:	Mr A G M Michell, nominated by the Institution of Engineers, Australia, South African Institute of Engineers and the Engineering Institute of Canada.	USA:	Raymond L Heacock, nominated by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
1945	6 6	1981	
Great Britain:	Dr F W Lanchester, nominated by The Institution of Mechanical Engineers.	USA:	Professor Jacob P Den Hartog, nominated by The Institution of Mechanical Engineers.
1947		1983 C	
USA:	Professor Stephen Timoshenko, nominated by the Swiss Society of Mechanical Engineers and Architects.	Great Britain:	Sir Christopher Cockerell, nominated by The Institution of Mechanical Engineers.
1949		1985	
Sweden:	Dr Frederik Ljungstrom, nominated by the Swedish Society of Engineers.	Great Britain:	Sir Hugh Ford, nominated by The Institution of Mechanical Engineers.
1951		1987	
Denmark: 1953	Dr H H Blache, nominated by the Danish Society of Engineers.	Great Britain:	Sir Denis Rooke, nominated by The Institution of Mechanical Engineers.
Great Britain:	Sir Harry Ricardo, nominated by The Institution of Mechanical Engineers.	USA:	John E Steiner, nominated by The Fellowship of Engineering.
1955 USA:	Dr Igor Ivan Sikorsky, nominated by the American Society of Engineers.	1991 Japan:	Soichiro Honda, nominated by The Japan Society of Mechanical Engineers.
1957 Germany:	Professor Walther Bauersfeld, nominated by the Verein Deutscher Ingenieure.	1993 France:	Frédéric J P d'Allest, nominated by the Comité des Applications Académie des Sciences, France.
1959		1995	
British Commonwealth:	Sir Claude Gibb, nominated by the Institution of Engineers, Australia, and supported by The Institution of Mechanical Engineers.	Japan:	Eiji Toyoda, nominated by the Japan Society of Mechanical Engineers.
1961	-	1997	
USA:	Professor Dr Theodore von Kármán, sponsored by the American Society of Engineers.	Great Britain:	Sydney Gillibrand, nominated by The Institution of Mechanical Engineers.
Great Britain:	Sin William Stanian nominated by The	1999	Destasson Sin Domond Crossland
Great Britain.	Sir William Stanier, nominated by The Institution of Mechanical Engineers.	Great Britain:	Professor Sir Bernard Crossland, nominated by The Institution of Engineers of Ireland.
1965		2001	
Great Britain:	Professor Sir Geoffrey Taylor, nominated by The Institution of Mechanical Engineers.	Great Britain:	Professor Duncan Dowson, nominated by The Institution of Mechanical Engineers.
1967		2003	
USSR:	Academician Ivan Ivanovitch Artobolevskii, nominated by the Academy of Sciences of the USSR.	Great Britain:	Sir Ralph Robins, nominated by The Institution of Mechanical Engineers.
1969		2005	
Japan:	Dr Hideo Shima, nominated by the Japan Society of Mechanical Engineers.	Great Britain:	Leroy 'Skip' Fletcher, nominated by The American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
1971		2008	0
USA:	Dr Robert Rowe Gilruth, nominated by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.		Nominations required by 1 <sup>st</sup> March 2008.

## INSTITUTION OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERS

c/o ASK House, IMechE Prizes and Awards Department, Northgate Avenue, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England, IP32 6BB Tel: +44 (0) 1284 717887, Fax: +44 (0) 1284 717889

E-mail: prizesandawards@imeche.org Web: http://www.imeche.org