Irish Film & Television Awards Winners 2005

People's Choice Awards

O2 TV Personality Of The Year Award Winner: Mark Cagney – TV3

Mark Cagney – TV3
Aoife Ní Thuairisg – TG4
Stephen Nolan – BBC
Gráinne Seoige – Sky News Ireland
Pat Shortt – RTÉ

AIB Best Irish Film Award Winner: Inside I'm Dancing

Adam & Paul Headrush Inside I'm Dancing Mickybo & Me

Avica Best International Actor Award Winner: Mickey Rourke - Sin City

Christian Bale – Batman Begins
Johnny Depp - Charlie & The Chocolate Factory
Brad Pitt – Mr. & Mrs. Smith
Mickey Rourke – Sin City

Jameson Best International Film Award Winner: Charlie And The Chocolate Factory

Batman Begins Charlie And The Chocolate Factory Crash Sin City

Pantene Best International Actor Award Winner: Gillian Anderson – The Mighty Celt

Gillian Anderson – The Mighty Celt Drew Barrymore – The Perfect Catch Dakota Fanning – War of the Worlds Natalie Portman – Garden State

Jury Award Winners

AWARDS IN FILM

Best Film Award Winner: Pavee Lackeen

Mickybo & Me The Mighty Celt Pavee Lackeen Tara Road Trouble With Sex

Best Director Award Winner: Terry George - Hotel Rwanda

Anthony Byrne – Short Order Fintan Connolly – Trouble With Sex Terry George – Hotel Rwanda Perry Ogden – Pavee Lackeen

Best Cinematography Award Winner: Seamus Mc Garvey - Sahara

Seamus Deasy - The Mighty Celt Brendan Galvin - Flight Of The Phoenix Seamus Mc Garvey - Sahara Owen Mc Polin - Trouble With Sex

Best Music in a Film Award Winner: Gregory Magee - Winter's End

Niall Byrne - Short Order Niall Byrne - Trouble With Sex Gregory Magee - Winter's End

Fiachra Trench - The Boys & Girl From County Clare

Best Script for Film Award Winner: Terry George & Keir Pearson - Hotel Rwanda

Anthony Byrne - Short Order Pearse Elliott - The Mighty Celt Terry George - Hotel Rwanda Terry Loane - Mickybo & Me

Best Production Design for Film Award Winner: Eleanor Wood & Laura Bowe - Short Order

Laurent Mellet & Steven Kingston – Trouble With Sex Tom Mc Cullagh - Mickybo & Me

Anna Rackard - Boy Eats Girl

Eleanor Wood & Laura Bowe - Short Order

Best Costume Design for Film Award Winner: Hazel Webb-Crozier - Mickybo & Me

Susan Scott - Boy Eats Girl Marian Smyth - Trouble With Sex Hazel Webb-Crozier - Mickybo & Me Judith Williams - Short Order

AWARDS IN ACTING

Best Actor in a Feature Film Award Winner: Liam Neeson - Kinsey

Gabriel Byrne - Wah Wah Cillian Murphy - Red Eye Liam Neeson - Kinsey Aidan Quinn - Convicted

Best Actress in a Feature Film Award Winner: Renee Weldon - Trouble With Sex

Andrea Corr - The Boys & Girl From County Clare
Jillian Bradbury - Winter's End
Winnie Maughan - Pavee Lackeen

Renee Weldon - Trouble With Sex

Best Supporting Actor Film Award Winner: Sean McGinley - On A Clear Day

David Kelly - Charlie & The Chocolate Factory

Sean McGinley - On A Clear Day Cillian Murphy - Batman Begins Tagdh Murphy - Boy Eats Girl

<u>Best Supporting Actress Film Award Winner:</u> Charlotte Bradley - The Boys & Girl From County Clare

Charlotte Bradley - The Boys & Girl From County Clare
Nora Jane Noone - The Descent
Deirdre O' Kane - Boy Eats Girl
Tatianna Ouliankina - Short Order

Best Actor in Television Award Winner: Tom Murphy

Allen Leech - Love Is The Drug

Finbar Lynch – Proof 2 Tom Murphy - Pure Mule James Nesbitt - Murphy's Law

Best Actress in Television Award Winner: Dawn Bradfield - Pure Mule

Dawn Bradfield – Pure Mule Elaine Cassidy – Fingersmith Anne Marie Duff – Shameless Aisling O' Sullivan – The Clinic

Best Supporting Actor in Television Award Winner: Gary Lydon

Garrett Lombard - Pure Mule Gary Lydon - The Clinic John Lynch - The Baby War Chris O'Dowd - The Clinic

Best Supporting Actress in Television Award Winner: Eileen Walsh - Pure Mule

Eva Birthistle - The Baby War
Tine Kellegher - Showbands
Eleanor Methevan – Love Is The Drug
Eileen Walsh – Pure Mule

Best Short Fiction Award Winner: Six Shooter

George – Rory Bresnihan & John Butler Jellybaby – Ronan and Rob Burke Ouch – Ken Wardrop Six Shooter – Martin McDonagh

Best Animation Award Winner: Cúilín Dualach

Agricultural Report – Barley Films
Cúilín Dualach – Cartoon Saloon
Dick Terrapin – Vinegar Hill Productions
Not There Yet – Monster Animation

BSE/IFB & NIFTC Breakthrough Talent Award Winner: Perry Ogden - Pavee Lackeen

Daniel O'Hara - Fluent Dysphasia Terry Loane - Mickybo & Me Martin McDonagh - Six Shooter Perry Ogden - Pavee Lackeen

AWARDS ACROSS FILM & TELEVISION

Best Editing in Film / TV Drama Award Winner: Emer Reynolds - Shameless

J. Patrick Duffner - Short Order Emer Reynolds - Shameless Ray Roantree - Trouble With Sex Ben Yates - Love Is The Drug

Best Sound in Film / TV Drama Award Winner: Pure Mule

Boy Eats Girl - Patrick Drummond, Tom Johnson, John Fitzgerald & Stuart Bruce Pure Mule – Philippe Faujas, Niall Brady & Ken Galvin Short Order – Ray Cross, Nikki Moss, John Fitzgerald & Peter Blayney Showbands - Karl Merren, Nicky Moss & Ken Galvin

AWARDS IN TELEVISION

Best TV Drama / Drama Series Award Winner: Love Is The Drug

Love Is The Drug – Saffron Pictures / RTÉ
Murphy's Law – Tiger Aspect Productions / BBC NI
Pure Mule – Accomplice Television / RTÉ
Showbands – Parallel Films / RTÉ

<u>Best Current Affairs Programme Award Winner;</u> Prime Time Investigates: Home Truths - RTÉ

Prime Time Investigates: Home Truths - *RTÉ*Prime Time Investigates: The Money Pit – *RTÉ*

Insight: When Hospitals Kill - *UTV* Spotlight: Dirty Secrets - *BBC*

Best News Programme Award Winner: BBC Newsline - BBC

BBC Newsline – *BBC* Nuacht TG4 – *TG4* RTÉ News – *RTÉ* Sky News Ireland – *Sky News*

Best Children's / Youth Programme Award Winner: Pic Me

Go For It – Adare Productions / RTÉ
The Island Of Inis Cool – Terraglyph – Telegael Teo / TG4
Pic Me – Jam Media
What's The Story? – Media Circus Ltd / RTÉ

Best Entertainment Award Winner: Stew

Killinaskully - The Short Comedy Theatre Company / RTÉ The Panel – Happy Endings / RTÉ Stew – Grand Pictures / RTÉ Wild Trials – Crossing The Line Films / RTÉ

Best Lifestyle Programme Award Winner: Show Me The Money

Neelo KKK – Adare Productions / TG4 Mother Knows Best - Stopwatch Productions / RTÉ The Snip – Power Pictures / RTÉ Show Me The Money – Independent Pictures / RTÉ

Best Sports Feature Award Winner: Marooned

Coach – *Motive Productions* The Crossing – *BBC* Final Words: Hurling '04 – *RTÉ* Marooned – *Motive Productions*

Best Documentary in the English Language Award Winner: John McGahern: A Private World

Haughey – Mint Productions / RTÉ
John McGahern: A Private World – Hummingbird Productions Ltd. / RTÉ
Macintyre's Underworld: Gangsters – Extreme Productions / TV3
My Name Is Paul – BBC NI

Best Documentary in the Irish Language Award Winner: Concerto Chaitlín Maude

An Bathadh Mór – Vertigo Films
Concerto Chaitlín Maude – EO Teilifís
Cosc Ar Ghnéas – Louis Marcus Productions
Iran: An Bealach In Airde – Crossing The Line Films Ltd

Best Director TV Drama / Drama Series Award Winner: Pure Mule – Declan Recks Fingersmith – Aisling Walsh Pure Mule – Declan Recks

Pure Mule – Charlie Mc Carthy Shameless – Dearbhla Walsh

Special Award Recipient

<u>Lifetime Achievement Award recipient – David Kelly</u>