

IDAHO STATE HISTORICAL SOCIETY REFERENCE SERIES

## **COUNTIES WHICH NO LONGER EXIST**

Number 11

1962

Two former counties (one of which operated for over thirty years; the other, for six) no longer exist:

Alturas - February 4, 1864 to March 5, 1896. Although Esmeralda was designated the original county seat, Rocky Bar actually served as county seat from April 4, 1864, until July 6, 1882. Hailey continued as county seat from August 2, 1882, to March 5, 1895, when a legislative act made Hailey county seat of Blaine County.

Logan - February 7, 1889 to March 5, 1895. Bellevue was county seat. When Logan was abolished, it was combined with Alturas to form Blaine County. Logan, though, was a forerunner of Lincoln County, established two weeks later with a reduced area. An 1891 attempt to make this revision (the Alta-Lincoln Act) failed in the courts.

Eight counties authorized by the legislature did not materialize, although four of them (Kootenai, Latah, Lincoln, and Clearwater) were established by subsequent legislation. The four which lost out altogether were Alta, Lewis, Clark, and Selway—although Alta, in effect, eventually became Blaine, and Lewis and Clark (the names used later for entirely different counties) now exists, for practical purposes, as Bonner and Kootenai. Only Selway, out of the ten rejected counties, failed completely—both as a name and as a county.

Latah and Kootenai, established December 22, 1864, failed to organize and were abolished January 9, 1867. A new Kootenai, however, was set up in the 1867 revision, but remained unorganized until July 9, 1881. Latah finally was created by act of Congress in 1888.

Alta and Lincoln (in place of Alturas and Logan) had a brief existence, March 3-May 6, 1891; when the supreme court voided the legislation creating them. This pair was reestablished in 1895 under the names of Blaine and Lincoln.

A Clearwater County act of March 27, 1901, was void, but the county eventually was established ten years later.

A Kootenai division bill, February 28, 1905, provided for two new counties of Lewis and Clark (with Sandpoint and Coeur d'Alene as county seats in place of Rathdrum), but this act also was void. These are the forerunners of the present counties of Bonner and Kootenai, and are not to be confused with the present counties of Lewis and Clark in other parts of the State.

Provision for Selway County (to be formed out of Idaho and Lewis) was made March 4, 1917, subject to a referendum July 2, 1917, when Selway County was rejected.