## A PROGRESS REPORT ON THE JURISDICTIONS SURVEYED BY THE OECD GLOBAL FORUM IN IMPLEMENTING THE INTERNATIONALLY AGREED TAX STANDARD

Progress made as at 2<sup>nd</sup> April 2009 (latest version of report: <a href="www.oecd.org/tax/progressreport">www.oecd.org/tax/progressreport</a>)

Jurisdictions that have substantially implemented the internationally agreed tax standard						
Argentina	Germany	Korea	Seychelles			
Australia	Greece	Malta	Slovak Republic			
Barbados	Guernsey	Mauritius	South Africa			
Canada	Hungary	Mexico	Spain			
China <sup>2</sup>	Iceland	Netherlands	Sweden			
Cyprus	Ireland	New Zealand	Turkey			
Czech Republic	Isle of Man	Norway	United Arab Emirates			
Denmark	Italy	Poland	United Kingdom			
Finland	Japan	Portugal	United States			
France	Jersey	Russian Federation	US Virgin Islands			

Jurisdictions that have committed to the internationally agreed tax standard, but have not yet substantially implemented							
Jurisdiction	Year of	Number of	Jurisdiction	Year of	Number of		
	Commitment	Agreements		Commitment	Agreements		
Tax Havens <sup>3</sup>							
Andorra	2009	(0)	Marshall Islands	2007	(1)		
Anguilla	2002	(0)	Monaco	2009	(1)		
Antigua and	2002	(7)	Montserrat	2002	(0)		
Barbuda			Nauru	2003	(0)		
Aruba	2002	(4)	Neth. Antilles	2000	(7)		
Bahamas	2002	(1)	Niue	2002	(0)		
Bahrain	2001	(6)	Panama	2002	(0)		
Belize	2002	(0)	St Kitts and	2002	(0)		
Bermuda	2000	(3)	Nevis				
British Virgin	2002	(3)	St Lucia	2002	(0)		
Islands			St Vincent &	2002	(0)		
Cayman Islands <sup>4</sup>	2000	(8)	Grenadines				
Cook Islands	2002	(0)	Samoa	2002	(0)		
Dominica	2002	(1)	San Marino	2000	(0)		
Gibraltar	2002	(1)	Turks and	2002	(0)		
Grenada	2002	(1)	Caicos Islands				
Liberia	2007	(0)	Vanuatu	2003	(0)		
Liechtenstein	2009	(1)					
Other Financial Centres							
Austria <sup>5</sup>	2009	(0)	Guatemala	2009	(0)		
Belgium <sup>5</sup>	2009	(1)	Luxembourg <sup>5</sup>	2009	(0)		
Brunei	2009	(5)	Singapore	2009	(0)		
Chile	2009	(0)	Switzerland <sup>5</sup>	2009	(0)		

Jurisdictions that have not committed to the internationally agreed tax standard						
Jurisdiction	Number of	Jurisdiction	Number of			
	Agreements		Agreements			
Costa Rica	(0)	Philippines	(0)			
Malaysia (Labuan)	(0)	Uruguay	(0)			

<sup>1.</sup> The internationally agreed tax standard, which was developed by the OECD in co-operation with non-OECD countries and which was endorsed by G20 Finance Ministers at their Berlin Meeting in 2004 and by the UN Committee of Experts on International Cooperation in Tax Matters at its October 2008 Meeting, requires exchange of information on request in all tax matters for the administration and enforcement of domestic tax law without regard to a domestic tax interest requirement or bank secrecy for tax purposes. It also provides for extensive safeguards to protect the confidentiality of the information exchanged.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2.</sup> Excluding the Special Administrative Regions, which have committed to implement the internationally agreed tax standard.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> These jurisdictions were identified in 2000 as meeting the tax haven criteria as described in the 1998 OECD report.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4.</sup> The Cayman Islands has enacted legislation that allows it to exchange information unilaterally and has identified 12 countries with which it is prepared to do so. This legislation is being reviewed by the OECD.

<sup>5.</sup> Austria, Belgium, Luxembourg and Switzerland withdrew their reservations to Article 26 of the OECD Model Tax Convention. Belgium has already written to 48 countries to propose the conclusion of protocols to update Article 26 of their existing treaties. Austria, Luxembourg and Switzerland announced that they have started to write to their treaty partners to indicate that they are now willing to enter into renegotiations of their treaties to include the new Article 26.