--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/1on1 As it appears live September 19, 2020 5:03:19 PM UTC

Showing posts with label 1on1. Show all posts
Showing posts with label 1on1. Show all posts

Friday, 18 November 2011

PAP – Post Activation Potentiation - Tony Horton One on One Volume 3 Disk 11

Tony Horton
One on One
P90X - MC2
Volume 3 Disk 11
PAP - Post Activation Potentiation

Beachbody


Tony calls this workout PAP Post Activation Potentiation (which most scholarly articles either hyphenate or combine to Postactivation.) and it is very different from any of the other workouts from Tony. In the One on One Series, P90X or P90X+, there is both far more variety and more repetition then we are used to from Tony. For the variety there is an extensive pre and post PAP section of the workout. Then the actual PAP is broken into 2 sections - the first you do three exercises and repeat 4 times and the second you do 4 exercises and repeat 4 times.

The Exercises are: Warmup:
1. Heel Walk
2. Huggers
3. Ball of Feet Smackers
4. Deep Lunges (Twist & Reach)
5. Burpee Salutations
6. Under The Fence Push Ups
7. March Skippers
8. Supine Scorpion Twists
9. Crossover Run
10. 1-Leg Front & Side Swingers
11. Speed Slalom
12. Chatarunga Pushups
13. Speed Front-Back Hops
14. Loading Dock
15. Lateral Jumps
16. 2-Dog Push Ups
17. Speed Slalom
18. Chatarunga Pushups
19. Speed Front-Back Hops
20. Loading Dock
21. Lateral Jumps
22. 2-Dog Push Ups
PAP Set 1:
1 Front to Back Lunges
2 Flying Lunges
3 Forearm Side Arm Balance

PAP Set 2:
1 Push Up Rows
2 Plyo Pushups
3 4-Ball Chatarunga Iso
4 Floor Clock

Post PAP:
1. Doorway Chest Stretch
2. Eagles Lat Stretch
3. 3-Way Band Stretch
4. Piriformis Stretch
5. Quad Stretch
6. Bow-Lat Stretch On Bench (or Ball)
Equipment Needed:
4 Exercise/Medicine Balls
Mobility Balls
Dumbells/Powerblocks
Exercise Bands

As stated earlier, it is a very different workout from some of Tony's earlier works. It will take a while to get used to the change. I had to do the workout a few times before I even attempted to write this review. My impression is that this will be a great workout to switch it up from time to time, but I doubt most people will work it into the schedule regularly.
As a side note, it is with great disappointment that I have heard the One on One's are coming to an end. Tony will be focused on marketing and sales of P90X MC2. We can only hope that he will return to this subscription based format at some point in the next few years.

To find out more about this series or other workouts in the collection, follow the links below. I have created a random workout generator that uses 1 on 1's and P90X if your interested.
Volume 1, Disk 1: Plyo Legs
Volume 1, Disk 2: Power 90® Road Warrior
Volume 1, Disk 3: Killer Abs

Volume 1, Disk 4: Just Arms
Volume 1, Disk 5: 30-15: The Upper-Body Massacre
Volume 1, Disk 6: Fountain of Youth
Volume 1, Disk 7: Super Cardio

Volume 1, Disk 8: Mammoth UML
Volume 1, Disk 9: Bun Shaper
Volume 1, Disk 10: Medicine Ball Core Cardio
Volume 1, Disk 11: Recovery 4 Results

Volume 1, Disk 12: Diamond Delts
Volume 1, Bonus Disk - Holiday Workout
Volume 2, Bonus Disk - Pay It Forward
Volume 2, Disk 1: Cardio Intervals
Volume 2, Disk 2: Core Ball Sandwich
Volume 2, Disk 3: Patience "Hummingbird"
Volume 2, Disk 4: 10-Minute Crusher Pack

Volume 2, Disk 5: Butt and Belly (I Dare You)
Volume 2, Disk 6: Back and BellyVolume 2, Disk 7: On One Leg
Volume 2, Disk 8: Iso Abs
Volume 2, Disk 9: Cardio Confusion - Mason's Choice
Volume 2, Disk 10: 100/30/20
Volume 2, Disk 11: On One Leg 4 legs
Volume 2, Disk 12: Upper Body Balance
Volume 3, Disk 1: Chest, Back & Balls
Volume 3, Disk 2: ARX2 (Ab-Ripper X 2)
Volume 3, Disk 3: Shoulders and Arms MC2
Volume 3, Disk 4: Base and Back
Volume 3, Disk 5:  MC2
Volume 3, Disk 6: Plyocide
Volume 3, Disk 7: Stretch And Recovery
Volume 3, Disk 8: V Sculpt
Volume 3, Disk 9: Core Synergistics MC2
Volume 3, Disk 10: UBX
Volume 3, Disk 11: PAP
Volume 3, Disk 12: Total Body X

(Disclaimer:
I am asked frequently if I am a Beachbody Coach, no I am not, I am just some one who has used their products, P90X, 1on1 with Tony Horton and more and liked them and achieved good results. I am not paid by Beachbody or any of their affiliates. You can see my full disclaimer here.)

Thursday, 21 April 2011

Stretch and Recovery - Tony Horton One on One Volume 3 Disk 7

Tony Horton
One on One
P90X - MC2
Volume 3 Disk 7
Stretch and Recovery

Beachbody
Tony talks about calling this Warrior Stretch 22, in part because there are 22 exercises in 70 minutes. It starts with a skip rope warm up, and then straight into it. He does some basic ballistic stretching and then 22 moves. There are a few moves we have not seen before and some variation on moves we have seen before. There is far less chatter in this one.
Equipment Needed:
Jump Rope
ExerciseMat
I absolutely loved this workout. Flexibility is my weakest point. I love some of the workouts, MC2, Fountain of Youth and Patience "Hummingbird", and this one is another great workout in line with those. It is more advanced than Stretch X from the original P90X. It is also more focused on the stretch part than Recovery 4 Results. Overall I would rate it a 4.5 out of 5 making it one of the best from Volume 3. I know it is a workout I will visit frequently.

To find out more about this series or other workouts in the collection, follow the links below. I have created a random workout generator that uses 1 on 1's and P90X if your interested.
Volume 1, Disk 1: Plyo Legs
Volume 1, Disk 2: Power 90® Road Warrior
Volume 1, Disk 3: Killer Abs

Volume 1, Disk 4: Just Arms
Volume 1, Disk 5: 30-15: The Upper-Body Massacre
Volume 1, Disk 6: Fountain of Youth
Volume 1, Disk 7: Super Cardio

Volume 1, Disk 8: Mammoth UML
Volume 1, Disk 9: Bun Shaper
Volume 1, Disk 10: Medicine Ball Core Cardio
Volume 1, Disk 11: Recovery 4 Results

Volume 1, Disk 12: Diamond Delts
Volume 1, Bonus Disk - Holiday Workout
Volume 2, Bonus Disk - Pay It Forward
Volume 2, Disk 1: Cardio Intervals
Volume 2, Disk 2: Core Ball Sandwich
Volume 2, Disk 3: Patience "Hummingbird"
Volume 2, Disk 4: 10-Minute Crusher Pack

Volume 2, Disk 5: Butt and Belly (I Dare You)
Volume 2, Disk 6: Back and BellyVolume 2, Disk 7: On One Leg
Volume 2, Disk 8: Iso Abs
Volume 2, Disk 9: Cardio Confusion - Mason's Choice
Volume 2, Disk 10: 100/30/20
Volume 2, Disk 11: On One Leg 4 legs
Volume 2, Disk 12: Upper Body Balance
Volume 3, Disk 1: Chest, Back & Balls
Volume 3, Disk 2: ARX2 (Ab-Ripper X 2)
Volume 3, Disk 3: Shoulders and Arms MC2
Volume 3, Disk 4: Base and Back
Volume 3, Disk 5: MC2
Volume 3, Disk 6: Plyocide
Volume 3, Disk 7: Stretch And Recovery
Volume 3, Disk 8: V Sculpt
Volume 3, Disk 9: Core Synergistics MC2
Volume 3, Disk 10: UBX
Volume 3, Disk 11: PAP
Volume 3, Disk 12: Total Body X
(Disclaimer: I am asked frequently if I am a Beachbody Coach, no I am not, I am just some one who has used their products, P90X, 1on1 with Tony Horton and more and liked them and achieved good results. I am not paid by Beachbody or any of their affiliates. You can see my full disclaimer here.)

Monday, 11 April 2011

Core Synergistics MC2 - Tony Horton One on One Volume 3 Disk 9

Tony Horton
One on One
P90X - MC2

Volume 3 Disk 9

Core Synergistics MC2

Beachbody

There is a lot of variety packed tightly into 67 minutes in this workout. I hated the original Core Synergistics. I literally got sick the first few times I did it, and it always left a bad taste in my mouth. Now to be honest, I have a bad shoulder from a work injury, had surgery and such, and the original one always pushed me beyond my limits and I had to stop doing it. This one, on the other hand, has the same feel and focus but does not isolate my shoulder nearly as much. It is a great workout.

The Exercises are:
Balance Plank Cross Crunch
Warrior 3 Cross Crunch
Single Leg Burpee
Forearm Balance Tin Soldier
Roller Boat
One Leg Lateral Squats
Stability Ball Core Circles
Tip Toe Screamer Lunges
Med Ball Dreya Roll
Plank Burpee on Stability Ball
Banana Ball Cruch
3 Point Squat / Press

Bonus Round:
Single Leg Forearm Walk Outs to Plank
Walk-Outs 1-Leg Med Ball Burpee Press
Inch Worm Hands to Feet
X-Plank Spider Twist
Equipment Needed:
Stability Ball
Medicine Ball(s) or Basket Ball
Floor Sliders
This one is not one of the best of the over 30 out now, but it is a good solid workout that I can see myself working into my schedule regularly. But I am really excited about UBX, the revised and revamped Chest, Shoulders and Tris that is out next month.

To find out more about this series or other workouts in the collection, follow the links below. I have created a random workout generator that uses 1 on 1's and P90X if your interested.
Volume 1, Disk 1: Plyo Legs
Volume 1, Disk 2: Power 90® Road Warrior
Volume 1, Disk 3: Killer Abs

Volume 1, Disk 4: Just Arms
Volume 1, Disk 5: 30-15: The Upper-Body Massacre
Volume 1, Disk 6: Fountain of Youth
Volume 1, Disk 7: Super Cardio

Volume 1, Disk 8: Mammoth UML
Volume 1, Disk 9: Bun Shaper
Volume 1, Disk 10: Medicine Ball Core Cardio
Volume 1, Disk 11: Recovery 4 Results

Volume 1, Disk 12: Diamond Delts
Volume 1, Bonus Disk - Holiday Workout
Volume 2, Bonus Disk - Pay It Forward
Volume 2, Disk 1: Cardio Intervals
Volume 2, Disk 2: Core Ball Sandwich
Volume 2, Disk 3: Patience "Hummingbird"
Volume 2, Disk 4: 10-Minute Crusher Pack

Volume 2, Disk 5: Butt and Belly (I Dare You)
Volume 2, Disk 6: Back and BellyVolume 2, Disk 7: On One Leg
Volume 2, Disk 8: Iso Abs
Volume 2, Disk 9: Cardio Confusion - Mason's Choice
Volume 2, Disk 10: 100/30/20
Volume 2, Disk 11: On One Leg 4 legs
Volume 2, Disk 12: Upper Body Balance
Volume 3, Disk 1: Chest, Back & Balls
Volume 3, Disk 2: ARX2 (Ab-Ripper X 2)
Volume 3, Disk 3: Shoulders and Arms MC2
Volume 3, Disk 4: Base and Back
Volume 3, Disk 5: MC2
Volume 3, Disk 6: Plyocide
Volume 3, Disk 7: Stretch And Recovery
Volume 3, Disk 8: V Sculpt
Volume 3, Disk 9: Core Synergistics MC2
Volume 3, Disk 10: UBX
Volume 3, Disk 11: PAP
Volume 3, Disk 12: Total Body X


(Disclaimer:
I am asked frequently if I am a Beachbody Coach, no I am not, I am just some one who has used their products, P90X, 1on1 with Tony Horton and more and liked them and achieved good results. I am not paid by Beachbody or any of their affiliates. You can see my full disclaimer here.)

Wednesday, 9 February 2011

Plyocide - Tony Horton One on One Volume 3 Disk 6

Tony Horton One on One
P90X - MC2

Volume 3 Disk 1

Plyocide
Beachbody

The run time for this video is nearly 70 minutes with warm-up and cool down. It is a very hard workout but one I loved from the first time through. I love the original Plyometrics workout. And the final product in P90X MC2 will be awesome. Like all works in progress this is a little rough around the edges but a workout you will be able to use again and again. Out of the 6 available in volume three this one makes the top two with Shoulders and Arms MC2. And it is probably in the top 10 of 23 One on One's that have been released so far. Each exercise is done once, either for a target set of reps or for a set time.

The Exercises are:
Rope Jump Doubles
Box Jump Knee Tucks
Top Tap 360
Killer Katherine Lunges
Wide Leg Toe Squats
Run Jump Chair
Warrior 3 Lunges
Think Drills
Depth Charges
Super Skater Kicks
Rope Jumps Single
Run Up Kicks (Gladiators)
Football Hero
Jump Tap Jump
Frog Burpee Hops
Half Pipe Spins
Weighted Quick Jumps
Lunge Jump Lunge
4 Direction Iso Lunge
Medicine Ball Jump Press
Equipment Needed:
Jump Rope
Medicine Ball
Dumbbells
Like I said earlier, one of the best of the One on One's. It will make you sweat, and make you moan but keep you coming back for more.

To find out more about this series or other workouts in the collection, follow the links below. I have created a random workout generator that uses 1 on 1's and P90X if your interested.Volume 1, Disk 1: Plyo Legs
Volume 1, Disk 2: Power 90® Road Warrior
Volume 1, Disk 3: Killer Abs

Volume 1, Disk 4: Just Arms
Volume 1, Disk 5: 30-15: The Upper-Body Massacre
Volume 1, Disk 6: Fountain of Youth
Volume 1, Disk 7: Super Cardio

Volume 1, Disk 8: Mammoth UML
Volume 1, Disk 9: Bun Shaper
Volume 1, Disk 10: Medicine Ball Core Cardio
Volume 1, Disk 11: Recovery 4 Results

Volume 1, Disk 12: Diamond Delts
Volume 1, Bonus Disk - Holiday Workout
Volume 2, Bonus Disk - Pay It Forward
Volume 2, Disk 1: Cardio Intervals
Volume 2, Disk 2: Core Ball Sandwich
Volume 2, Disk 3: Patience "Hummingbird"
Volume 2, Disk 4: 10-Minute Crusher Pack

Volume 2, Disk 5: Butt and Belly (I Dare You)
Volume 2, Disk 6: Back and BellyVolume 2, Disk 7: On One Leg
Volume 2, Disk 8: Iso Abs
Volume 2, Disk 9: Cardio Confusion - Mason's Choice
Volume 2, Disk 10: 100/30/20
Volume 2, Disk 11: On One Leg 4 legs
Volume 2, Disk 12: Upper Body Balance
Volume 3, Disk 1: Chest, Back & Balls
Volume 3, Disk 2: ARX2 (Ab-Ripper X 2)
Volume 3, Disk 3: Shoulders and Arms MC2
Volume 3, Disk 4: Base and Back
Volume 3, Disk 5: MC2
Volume 3, Disk 6: Plyocide
Volume 3, Disk 7: Stretch And Recovery
Volume 3, Disk 8: V Sculpt
Volume 3, Disk 9: Core Synergistics MC2
Volume 3, Disk 10: UBX
Volume 3, Disk 11: PAP
Volume 3, Disk 12: Total Body X


(Disclaimer:
I am asked frequently if I am a Beachbody Coach, no I am not, I am just some one who has used their products, P90X, 1on1 with Tony Horton and more and liked them and achieved good results. I am not paid by Beachbody or any of their affiliates. You can see my full disclaimer here.)

Friday, 22 October 2010

ARX2 Ab Ripper X2 - Tony Horton One on One Volume 3 Disk 2


Tony Horton
One on One
P90X - MC2
Volume 3 Disk 2
ARX2 - Ab Ripper X2
Beachbody


I was very disappointed with Chest Back and Ball; so much so I was not sure I was going to keep reviewing each of the Tony Horton's One on One P90X-MC2 workout videos. I like the idea of watching the progression of Tony creating a new program. But paying each month for such raw material was starting to look pointless. I was even more disappointed with Ab Ripper X2 than Chest Back and Balls. And to be honest, a 45 minute Ab workout seemed a little absurd. Tony takes us through 20 exercises but there are lots of breaks as Tony makes notes, recovers, chats with Mason. Some of the exercises are great. The end product will probably be amazing, but even trying to do this with a remote handy to skip ahead, hardly seems worth it.

The Exercises are:
Banana, Two Crunch
Scissor Twist
Oblique Roll Crunch
Side Arm Balance
Bug Bicycle Crunch
Row Your Boat
Scissor Clapper
The Abrinome
Draw Bridge Lift
Phelan Twist Lifts
Elbow to Knee Crunch Straight Leg Toe Touch
High Low Open Close
Corkscrew Crunch
1-Kick 2-Kick V-Crunch
Roll to Boat
Superman Banana X
The Tornado
Banana Roll Up Toe Grab V-Boat
Through The Legs & Behind the Back (with Ball)
Bicycle 100

Equipment Needed:
Medicine Balls
Exercise Matt or Exercise Mat
I really wish they had two versions of this on the disk - the full one with Tony making notes and such, and an edited version with just the exercises; get it down to 20 minutes and it would be a great workout. But the next workout Shoulders and Arms MC2 restored my faith in this series and now I am looking forward with expectation instead of dread to next month's workout. To find out more about this series or other workouts in the collection, follow the links below. I have created a random workout generator that uses 1 on 1's and P90X if your interested.
Volume 1, Disk 1: Plyo Legs
Volume 1, Disk 2: Power 90® Road Warrior
Volume 1, Disk 3: Killer Abs

Volume 1, Disk 4: Just Arms
Volume 1, Disk 5: 30-15: The Upper-Body Massacre
Volume 1, Disk 6: Fountain of Youth
Volume 1, Disk 7: Super Cardio

Volume 1, Disk 8: Mammoth UML
Volume 1, Disk 9: Bun Shaper
Volume 1, Disk 10: Medicine Ball Core Cardio
Volume 1, Disk 11: Recovery 4 Results

Volume 1, Disk 12: Diamond Delts
Volume 1, Bonus Disk - Holiday Workout
Volume 2, Bonus Disk - Pay It Forward
Volume 2, Disk 1: Cardio Intervals
Volume 2, Disk 2: Core Ball Sandwich
Volume 2, Disk 3: Patience "Hummingbird"
Volume 2, Disk 4: 10-Minute Crusher Pack

Volume 2, Disk 5: Butt and Belly (I Dare You)
Volume 2, Disk 6: Back and BellyVolume 2, Disk 7: On One Leg
Volume 2, Disk 8: Iso Abs
Volume 2, Disk 9: Cardio Confusion - Mason's Choice
Volume 2, Disk 10: 100/30/20
Volume 2, Disk 11: On One Leg 4 legs
Volume 2, Disk 12: Upper Body Balance
Volume 3, Disk 1: Chest, Back & Balls
Volume 3, Disk 2: ARX2 (Ab-Ripper X 2)
Volume 3, Disk 3: Shoulders and Arms MC2
Volume 3, Disk 4: Base and Back
Volume 3, Disk 5: MC2
Volume 3, Disk 6: Plyocide
Volume 3, Disk 7: Stretch And Recovery
Volume 3, Disk 8: V Sculpt
Volume 3, Disk 9: Core Synergistics MC2
Volume 3, Disk 10: UBX
Volume 3, Disk 11: PAP
Volume 3, Disk 12: Total Body X


(Disclaimer:
I am asked frequently if I am a Beachbody Coach, no I am not, I am just some one who has used their products, P90X, 1on1 with Tony Horton and more and liked them and achieved good results. I am not paid by Beachbody or any of their affiliates. You can see my full disclaimer here.)

Monday, 18 October 2010

Shoulders & Arms - Tony Horton One on One Volume 3 Disk 3


Tony Horton
One on One
P90X - MC2
Volume 3 Disk 3
Shoulders and Arms
Beachbody
Out of the thirty One on One workout DVD's this is one of the best and one of my favourites. It is a good old fashioned weight workout with a Tony Twist. Tony does a set of two exercises then repeats three times. With four pairings of exercises for shoulders and arms and three rounds each, you end up blasting through 24 sets. And you do those 24 sets in 57 minutes with warm-up and cool down. It is a great workout that can be done in under an hour.


The Exercises are:
Pike Press
Arnold Press
Straight Arm 6 Move Fly
Seated Flies
Seated Curls
Stability Ball Skull Crushers
Crazy Eights
Tricep Kickbacks

Equipment Needed:
Stability Ball or Balance Ball
Weights or Exercise Bands
Bench or Chair

It is a hard workout. It is a fun workout and it has a great pace and variety. To find out more about this series or other workouts in the collection, follow the links below. I have created a random workout generator that uses 1 on 1's and P90X if your interested.
Volume 1, Disk 1: Plyo Legs
Volume 1, Disk 2: Power 90® Road Warrior
Volume 1, Disk 3: Killer Abs

Volume 1, Disk 4: Just Arms
Volume 1, Disk 5: 30-15: The Upper-Body Massacre
Volume 1, Disk 6: Fountain of Youth
Volume 1, Disk 7: Super Cardio

Volume 1, Disk 8: Mammoth UML
Volume 1, Disk 9: Bun Shaper
Volume 1, Disk 10: Medicine Ball Core Cardio
Volume 1, Disk 11: Recovery 4 Results

Volume 1, Disk 12: Diamond Delts
Volume 1, Bonus Disk - Holiday Workout
Volume 2, Bonus Disk - Pay It Forward
Volume 2, Disk 1: Cardio Intervals
Volume 2, Disk 2: Core Ball Sandwich
Volume 2, Disk 3: Patience "Hummingbird"
Volume 2, Disk 4: 10-Minute Crusher Pack

Volume 2, Disk 5: Butt and Belly (I Dare You)
Volume 2, Disk 6: Back and BellyVolume 2, Disk 7: On One Leg
Volume 2, Disk 8: Iso Abs
Volume 2, Disk 9: Cardio Confusion - Mason's Choice
Volume 2, Disk 10: 100/30/20
Volume 2, Disk 11: On One Leg 4 legs
Volume 2, Disk 12: Upper Body Balance
Volume 3, Disk 1: Chest, Back & Balls
Volume 3, Disk 2: ARX2 (Ab-Ripper X 2)
Volume 3, Disk 3: Shoulders and Arms MC2
Volume 3, Disk 4: Base and Back
Volume 3, Disk 5: MC2
Volume 3, Disk 6: Plyocide
Volume 3, Disk 7: Stretch And Recovery
Volume 3, Disk 8: V Sculpt
Volume 3, Disk 9: Core Synergistics MC2
Volume 3, Disk 10: UBX
Volume 3, Disk 11: PAP
Volume 3, Disk 12: Total Body X


(Disclaimer:
I am asked frequently if I am a Beachbody Coach, no I am not, I am just some one who has used their products, P90X, 1on1 with Tony Horton and more and liked them and achieved good results. I am not paid by Beachbody or any of their affiliates. You can see my full disclaimer here.)