--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/AJGillette As it appears live September 27, 2020 9:58:31 PM UTC

Showing posts with label AJGillette. Show all posts
Showing posts with label AJGillette. Show all posts

Saturday, 31 December 2016

Top Ten Fiction Books 2016

Top Ten Fiction Books 2016

This was a near record year for my reading. With reading 272 books on my reading list and 268 on Goodreads (Goodreads does not allow you to count books that are reread) it is my second highest year since I started keeping track. Before I get down to my top ten fiction list let’s take a look at some statistics from this year. 

272 Books Read
154 Fiction
118 Non-Fiction
73 Catholic
17 by Chris d’Lacey
16 by Andrew Clements
 7 by Courtney Sheinmel

With 154 books to choose from it was very hard picking just a top ten. 

1.  Sword and Serpent Series – Tarlor R. Marshall
2. We Are All Jacob's Children - Noah ben Shea
3. Kringle - Tony Abbott
4. Flickers - Auhur Slade
5. Erth Dragons – Chris d’Lacey
The Wearle - Dark Wyng
6. The Unicorne Files – Ufiles Trilogy – Chris d’Lacey
7. Troublemaker - Andrew Clements and Mark Elliott
8. Frindle - Andrew Clements
9. Exodus - A.J. Gillette - Geoterra Book 1
10. Stella Batts Needs A New Name - Courtney Sheinmel and Jennifer A. Bell - Stella Batts Book 1

As stated it was no easy task making this list. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Friday, 8 July 2016

Arrival - A.J. Gillette - Geoterra Book 3


Arrival
Geoterra Book 3
A.J. Gillette
Hidden Lake Press

ASIN B01FA55RAM

This was the third book I have read by Alfred Gillette. And to be honest based on those he has in the pipe I am looking forward too many more. The Geoterra books have a fun rhythm to them. They are part Spider Robinson Callahan's Saloon, Part Harry Harrison Stainless Steel Rat. But they also pay homage to a lot of science fiction styles and sub genre's. There are a lot of hat tip's to different series of books and tv shows, that make these really fun reads. 

This book has a bit of everything, and as such has something for everyone. You have a group of colonists from Earth hoping to start over with less technology and contact with other species. You have Vanian's - Vampires, You have Angel like beings, and giant whale like creatures who have been guiding and protecting the universe and are now about to move on and leave it in the hands of a new organization. And there are still pirates, a human who is really messing up the plans and goals of the other terran's. And when you add some guidance and visits from future versions of our many group and you have a really interesting adventure.

AJ's writing is a fun engaging style. I have really enjoyed discovering his books. And I really look forward to reading more in this series and some of the other books he has in the works. This was another great read so give the series a try!

The books are available on both Kindle and Kobo.


Books by A.J. Gillette:
Geoterra Series:

#1 Exodus
#2 Journey
#3 Arrival
#4 Chaos
#5
#6 Order
#7 Geoterra
#8 NewTerra
#9

Other books by A.J. Gillette:
Evolution
Being Yeti







Monday, 23 May 2016

Journey - A.J. Gillette - Geoterra Book 2


Journey
Geoterra Book 2
A.J. Gillette
Hidden Lake Press
ASIN B01EYZBCEE


I read this book immediately after finishing book one, Exodus, in this series. Finding a new series with three books out and nine planned is a wonderful place to be. I must admit, I absolutely loved book 1 and I did really enjoy book two, but at paints it seemed like it was trying too hard. A.J. (Alfred) Gillette in a new name in Canadian Science fiction, he has release the first three books in the Geoterra series and has a few other projects brewing. This is proving to be an awesome series and I eagerly expect the rest of the books.

The book in some ways reads like a Spider Robinson book or like Stainless Steel Rat books by Harry Harrison. A little bit of science, a little humor and a lot of fun. Is this a deep read by no means, does it ask a few questions worth thinking more deeply about, defiantly.  It is entertaining, highly. 

This book is slower paced than the first, but the crew of the 5 ships have some interesting adventures. We have a few crew members who face near certain death, we have accelerated pregnancies, the threat of imprisonment. The aid from some very advanced races. And encounter a race so small they are not visible to the humans. A lot happens in this short novel. And throughout the story are interspersed pop culture and sci-fi references from the 80's, 90's and 2000's. We see some interesting developments within the crew dynamics. 

The story is driven mainly by the characters and their goal of starting over again away from Earth, and away from Interstellar travel. They desire to start a new earth where the choice to not have interacted with other races had been made. But The journey is long and the obstacles many and with every encounter they are either making friends or enemies. And some of those enemies are very determined.

This book was a fun read. And I am really looking forward to where book three will lead. If you have not read his books I give them a big thumbs up and say give it a go.  

The books are available on both Kindle and Kobo.


Books by A.J. Gillette:
Geoterra Series:

#1 Exodus
#2 Journey
#3 Arrival
#4 Chaos
#5
#6 Order
#7 Geoterra
#8 NewTerra
#9

Other books by A.J. Gillette:
Evolution
Being Yeti








Monday, 16 May 2016

A.J. (Alfred) Gillette - Author Profile and Interview


A.J. Gillette is a technology guru, he is also a musician and writer. His first book Geoterra was published in 2005 and took him over 8 years to write. He has now published 3 books in the last year and seems to have found his stride using NaNoWriMo as a focusing force behind his writing. Currently he has 4 books available and a few in the works. A.J. or Alfred took some time to answer 20 Questions for the readers at Book Reviews and More, so here he is in his own words.

1. When did you know you wanted to be a writer? How did you nurture that dream?

I started reading Science Fiction in High School and continued to enjoy it through college and university. I ramped up my reading when I graduated and once our kids were grown, I realized that although I loved reading about new worlds, I wanted to build one of my own.

2. Who were some of your biggest supporters and contributors to your early success?

My wife Julianne, edited my first novel and has supported me in all of my crazy adventurers. Friends and family read my books and tell me that they are really good. I have discovered over the years of writing and playing music, that friends and family don't make the best critics. If you are not good at something, they won't tell you.

3. Knowing your computer science and programming background I was surprised that your book with not Hard Science Fiction. Was that a deliberate choice?

I like to read about stories and worlds. I felt that I had to create personalities that people could relate to. I read about theoretical physics, gerontology, advancements in medicine (Stem cell research, biological 3D printing) and try to work aspects of these things into the stories. I observe interpersonal relationships around me and work that into my books.

4. What authors influenced your writing style and format?

Anne McCaffery,  Elisabeth Moon, Paolo Bacigalupi, Robert Saywer, Eric Flint, David Weber, Dan Wells, Diana Gabaldon, Morgan Rice, Eliza Green, Suzanne Collins, Hugh Howey, John Scalzi.

5. Do you use a playlist when writing? Are certain books written while predominantly listing to the same music?

You would think that I would but not really. I perform weekly at open mics in the Ottawa area, where I play covers that range from Seals & Crofts to Ed Sheeran. When I listen to music, it's usually songs from my set lists so that I burn them into my brain. When I write I generally don't listen to music.

6. What does your writing process look like? Takes us through the steps from idea to publishing?

A good question. I woke up one day over the Christmas break with a complete book in my head. I generally create notes for topics that I will write about in each chapter of a new book, but don't start writing until November 1. NaNoWriMo is a great way to create a book in a short period of time. My first book was written over an eight year period. Each time I sat down to write, I had to read the entire book to figure out where I was at. With NaNoWriMo you can keep the whole book in your head from start to finish. The outline is basically done to you sit down and write, don't correct typos, don't edit, just write.

7. Your Geoterra series started as a trilogy, but is not planned to be 9 books. What spurred the change?

I generally only read series that have more than three books. I wanted to create a story that would appeal to people like me. The plan was a double trilogy and I started with book four because it placed me far enough in the future to have a free hand with future science. I went on to write three quarters of book five, but I couldn't use it for NaNoWriMo, because it was already started. Exodus was my first book written as part of NaNoWriMo. Journey and Arrival followed on as NaNoWriMo projects as well. When I got to the end of Arrival I realized that there was too much of a gap between it and book 4 (Geoterra) so I decided to add three more books in between. The series will now be a triple trilogy.

8. For your Geoterra series do you have plans or outlines for the remaining 5 books? Are they in progress? If so at what stage?

Yes and Yes kinda… Exodus, Journey and Arrival are all complete. The next three have tentative titles, and I have started making notes with respect to the extension of the story that will tie into what is now book 7.

9. Do you have any books in development outside of the Geoterra series?

Yes, there is one called Evolution that is loosely based on the science behind the book "Genome". In that book it talks about how some species go extinct, because only females are born. The book explains that the chemical makeup of the Genome favors the female Genome and when an extinction event happens, it happens almost overnight. The book explores what would happen to society when this occurs in the human race.

There is another book coming that explains the origin of the Yeti. I'm really excited about this one, but don't want to give too much away.


10. Being a programmer and teacher do you see yourself ever writing non-fiction to pass on some of the knowledge you have accumulated over years in the technology industry?

It's not out of the question, but there are way smarter people in that space. I'm more of a generalist which means I am pretty good at a large number of things. I can't really say I'm an expert in many areas though. I think that experts should write non-fiction.


11. What were some of your favorite authors in your teen years who helped shape you?

Wow that was a long time ago. I don't think there was any one author. We lived a long way from the closest library and my family did have money to buy books.

12. Who are some of your favorite authors or books now?

Right at the moment, I'm waiting for the next Outlander book, the next book in the "Name of the Wind" series by Patrick Rothfuss and the next book in the Partials series by Dan Wells.

13. Completely off topic but what TV shows or movies do you enjoy?

TV shows seem to come in and out of favor. Currently I watch Grey's Anatomy, The Arrow, The Flash, Elementary, Castle, Saving Hope, Rookie Blue, Vampire Diaries, NCIS, and Outlander.

14. If you could only recommend 10 books to a reader looking to be a well-rounded and whole person what books would you suggest?

The dragon rider series by Anne McCaffery explorers many different aspects of a society rebuilding itself. The inter-personal relationships are fascinating. The Partials series by Dan Wells is a little closer to earth and does similar things. On the non-fiction front, the book Genome, Long for this world, The youth pill. On the business front, The Alliance, Zero to One and the startup owner's manual.

15. I once heard Madeleine L'Engle state that her characters were real to her and almost an extended part of her family, she said once that at the dinner table she sat up and stated "Meg just finished her PhD." Are your characters real to you, do you ever get glimpses of what they are up to now, or once you finish a book is that it?

My characters have personalities of their own and they tell me what to write. They each speak in a certain way and choose words accordingly. If you were to ask me what Beth would say in a given situation, I would be able to answer. Mary would respond differently as would Jacob and Martin.

16. Most of your books are available in electronic formats but with that comes bootleg distribution. What are your impressions of ebooks and the distribution of them through torrents and other illegal means?

All of my books are DRM free. I hope that people copy them so that I get more readers. I think that authors and musicians need to establish a community before they should consider locking people in.

17. Some authors monitor torrent sites contact them to remove their content. Do you have plans to do so are have someone do so for you?

Nope, I hope that my books are freely distributed to the world. If people like them, hopefully they will tell me and compensate me for my efforts.

18. I once had a university professor state that the true goal of a university education should be to teach one to learn how to think. What would you state should be the goal of higher education and why?

Interesting question. I started with a college education (Electrical Engineering Technology) and then went on to do a University Education (Computer Science). The motivator was basically the difference in compensation. Having done both, I would say that University was easier and didn't really add much to the college education that I already had. I think education is the best investment that a person can make in their life. You invest time and money and it pays your salary for the rest of your life.

I have always been lucky in that I know in advance what I am going to enjoy. I picked electronics and computers because I could see the role that they were going to play in my life time and I wanted to be part of that. Students should think had about what they enjoy, save the top choice as a hobby and select the second one as a career.


19. If you were stuck on a desert island and could only have 10 books to read again and again, what books would you want with you?

I generally don't read a book more than once, so it would have to be books that require enough thought to inspire me to want to read them more than once or books that I need to survive. In no particular order…

Book 1: Some kind of survival guide. I don't know much about living on a desert island. Should contain a complete guide to edible plants and how to prepare them.

Book2: A book on how to fish, types of fish and how to clean and cook them.

Book3: A book on how to get rescued, if you're stranded on a desert island.

Book4: The complete dragon rider series by Anne McCaffery because the story is inspiring and contains nine books under one cover.

Book5: The taekwondo encyclopedia by General Choi. It would provide reading to help cope with stress and exercises that would help me stay fit.

Book6: A book on navigating by the stars so that I could figure out where I was.

Book7: Right now I'm reading "The startup owner's manual" that would be one because it's more of a reference and you need to read it 10 or 20 times to really get it to sink in. Not that the knowledge would do me any good on the island.

Book8: The Bible: I've had it read to me all my life (in Church) but I've never actually sat down and read it from cover to cover.

Book9: The Quran: I would need it translated to English, but I would like to understand more about other religions.

Book10: The Torah: Again I would need a translation.


20. What advice would you give to young aspiring authors and artists?

Life is too short to do things that you are not passionate about. If you want to write, then start writing. You'll know soon enough if it's for you. Participate in NaNoWriMo. It will force you to complete your first book and you will have the support of the rest of the world. You will be able to find local authors at libraries, coffee shops and various other public venues. NaNoWriMo has write-ins that happen all over during the month of November.

I had the privilege of meeting A.J. a number of years ago through work. I was greatly impressed with his passion for technology, his breadth of knowledge and his intense and yet jovial personality. When I found out he had written a book I had to read it. (Even buying it from a platform I do not enjoy that much.) I devoured the first book and can say it has been a long time since I found a new fiction author I have enjoyed so much.

It is not surprising that Robert J. Sawyer is an author who shaped his writings, for one of my first thoughts while reading his work was that it was like a cross between Sawyer and Heinlein. His writing is very enjoyable to read and I look forward to reading more of his works. You can read about part of the reason why he started releasing his books here. And if you have not read his book go give them a try they are excellent.




Books by A.J. Gillette:
Geoterra Series:

#1 Exodus
#2 Journey
#3 Arrival
#4 Chaos
#5
#6 Order
#7 Geoterra
#8 NewTerra
#9

Other books by A.J. Gillette:
Evolution
Being Yeti



Author profile and interview with A.J. Gillette


Monday, 9 May 2016

Exodus - A.J. Gillette - Geoterra Book 1


Exodus
Geoterra Book 1
A.J. Gillette
Hidden Lake Press
ASIN B01EYPLN70


There is a new name on the horizon in Canadian Science Fiction and that name is A.J. (Alfred) Gillette. The first three books are now available in this amazing new series. These books mainly written during National Novel Writing Month Competition (NaNoWriMo) in various years are now seeing the light of day, and if the first book is anything to judge by this will be a truly wonderful series to read. The writing is like a cross between Harry Harrison, Spider Robinson and Robert J. Sawyer. Fred has a computer science background but his writings so far is not a tech focused as Asimov and is more story telling driven.

The story begins just outside of Ottawa when Alfred Joseph Freeman, Joe wins a very very big lottery. He decides he will focus his time and effort on creating a new communications system. Being above average intelligence, and better than most at what he focused his time on, he soon consumed all he could about wormholes and quantum entanglements. His discovery would change earth and life for all humans in ways they could never imagine.  After first contact is established humans are given an option to either join space faring or stay separated. A new one earth government decides to join and things start changing very fast.

Joe soon realized that maybe earth made a mistake and finding out others with similar sentiment soon puts together a plan. Working with a team they plan and prepare to execute the greatest mission humans have ever undertaken.

This is a pretty face paced story. At first some of the different story arcs seam pretty separate much like a Tom Clancy novel, but when they start to come together you wonder how you failed to see it coming. There are some great characters, some face paced action. To be honest the story was so good that when I finished I did not wait to write a review as I usually force myself to do, but immediately started on book two.

These books have great writing and I really look  forward to seeing where the series will go. The only drawback is we only have 3 of the nine planned books available so it will soon be a waiting game. Check them out and for the price you cannot go wrong.  

The books are available on both Kindle and Kobo.

Books by A.J. Gillette:
Geoterra Series:

#1 Exodus
#2 Journey
#3 Arrival
#4 Chaos
#5
#6 Order
#7 Geoterra
#8 NewTerra
#9

Other books by A.J. Gillette:
Evolution
Being Yeti