--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/AimeeFriedman As it appears live September 19, 2020 5:02:59 PM UTC

Showing posts with label AimeeFriedman. Show all posts
Showing posts with label AimeeFriedman. Show all posts

Thursday, 2 February 2012

At First Bite - Poison Apple Book 8 - Ruth Ames

At First Bite
Ruth Ames
Poison Apple Book 8
An Imprint of Scholastic
ISBN 9780545324878

This series has been out for a few years now and this latest, the 8th book in the series, is the second to repeat an author. This series is a dark off-shoot of their popular Candy Apple Books. This series, Poison Apple Books, is amazing. The books explore such things as ghosts, vampires, haunting and other darker tales. Unlike most fluffy books for young girls, these tales have a little more grit but still have some humour and really fun reads.

This story continues shortly after This Totally Bites! Ashley Samantha Lambert is twelve years old, with blond hair and blue eyes, at her old school in New York she had been top of the social ladder, and then last fall she became a vampire. Now her family has moved to L.A. and things just seem to keep going downhill. Then she finds out she is living in a house famed for a vampire film, and the school play is the same story as that film: At First Bite. But not only are things rough for Ashley, she soon finds herself looking to uncover a dark one, a vampire that is attacking people. The Perfect life she pictured in L.A is not so perfect and life is even more complicated than she ever expected.

This book was another great read in a wonderful series. Give it a try.


Poison Apple Books:
The Dead End - Mimi McCoy
This Totally Bites! - Ruth Ames
Miss Fortune - Brandi Dougherty
Now You See Me
- Jane B. Mason & Sarah Hines Stephens
Midnight Howl - Clare Hutton
Her Evil Twin - Mimi McCoy
Curiosity Killed the Cat - Sierra Harimann
At First Bite - Ruth Ames

Rotten Apple Books:
Mean Ghouls - Staci Deutsch
Zombie Dog - Clare Hutton

Books By Aimee Friedman:
South Beach (2004)
French Kiss (2005)
A Novel Idea (2005)
Hollywood Hills (2007)
The Year My Sister Got Lucky (2008)
Sea Change (2009)

Contributed to:
Mistletoe (2006)
21 Proms

Graphic Novel:
Breaking Up (2007 - with Christine Norrie )

As Ruth Ames:
This Totally Bites - Poison Apple Book 2 (2009)
At First Bite - Poison Apple Book 8 (2011)

Author Profile Interview with Aimee Friedman

Monday, 28 November 2011

Breaking Up- Aimee Friedman and Christine Norrie A Fashion High Graphic Novel

Breaking Up
A Fashion High Graphic Novel

Aimee Friedman (Auhtor)
Christine Norrie (Illustrator)

Graphix an imprint of

Scholastic
ISBN 9780439748674

The back of this book begins with the statement: "There's a fine line between a friend and an enemy. One minute there's all this TRUST, and LAUGHTER, and LOVE. And the next minute … there's HURT. And CRUELTY. And BETRAYAL." All of us have been there. We have had friendships fail for many different reasons but this book tries to examine a group of friends as they have a falling out and with some effort maybe recovery. What happens when best friends break up?

This story is written following four friends through their junior year in high school. The four friends have a major blow up and falling out. As each goes their own way they encounter different problems and circumstances in life. And yet soon they realize that life sometimes bring us back to people who meant a lot to us. And sometimes it is the time apart that makes friendships strongest.

The story is very well written. Aimee Friedman and Christine Norrie have crafted a great graphic novel. The art work is awesome, similar in style to both Faith Erin Hicks and Hope Larson. The story is in some ways like Cecil Castellucci's and Jim Rugg's Janes series. It was a great read and a graphic novel I know I will read many times over.


Books By Aimee Friedman:
South Beach (2004)
French Kiss (2005)
A Novel Idea (2005)
Hollywood Hills (2007)
The Year My Sister Got Lucky (2008)
Sea Change (2009)

Contributed to:
Mistletoe (2006)
21 Proms

Graphic Novel:
Breaking Up (2007 - with Christine Norrie )

As Ruth Ames:
This Totally Bites - Poison Apple Book 2 (2009)
At First Bite - Poison Apple Book 8 (2011)

Author Profile Interview with Aimee Friedman

Wednesday, 27 April 2011

Aimee Friedman - Author Profile

Aimee Friedman is an author who specialized in young adult fiction. Yet even though her books are geared for a younger marker she has a large and dedicated adult following. Aimee who wrote her first story at age 5 has always been writing. She also wears the hat of editor for Children's books. Her books are wonderful and we thank her for taking some time to answer some questions for the readers at Book Reviews and More.

1. If you had not become a writer what do you think you would be doing for a living?

Probably a film director or a costume designer-I love fashion, and all elements of storytelling. I'm a big believer in make-believe.

2. When did you know you wanted to be a writer? How did you nurture that dream?

I've wanted to write since I COULD write - probably since the age of five or so. Nothing else gave me quite that thrill or sense of creative bliss. And I wrote all the time-it was my absolute favorite thing to do. So I think just the sheer act of practicing so much-although it didn't feel like practice, only fun-was a great way to nurture my dream.

3. Who were some of your biggest supporters and contributors to your early success?

I was very fortunate to have many wonderful teachers (and in college, professors) who encouraged my passion for writing, and critiqued my work as well. I also owe a huge debt to my parents, of course-they instilled in me a fierce love for books and language, and they always told me they knew I could "do it"-go on and become a published author.

4. What authors influenced your writing style and format?

Growing up, I was a voracious reader-I still am, but I don't have quite as much time to loll about my room and tear through books all day (I miss childhood summers!) I read everything from The Secret Garden to The Baby-Sitters Club, from V.C. Andrews to Virginia Woolf, and I think, on some level or another, everything I've read has influenced who I am as a writer. It's more subconscious than anything.

5. What advice do you wish an artist had passed on to you early in your career, which you only learned through experience?

To not feel as if there was something I "should" be writing-and to not worry too much about labels like "literary" and "commercial." The key is to write what excites you, and to try put all that other "noise" outside your head.

6. What does your writing process look like? Takes us through the steps from idea to publishing?

I like to outline. I basically just write out a fairly broad summary of what I want to happen in the story, but I leave it loose. I leave room for change and twists along the way. A novel is a living, breathing thing-I don't think I've ever written a book that stayed exactly as it was in outline form. Then I'll discuss the outline with my editor, and once I've been given the green light, I'll dive into writing. I write in a very linear way-I start at Chapter One and can't really skip around too much. The first draft is the hardest part for me, because I tend to self-edit as I go, so that takes a while. But once the first draft is done, I'm always happy to revise and tinker. I find revising much easier than drafting, but it's a different process for every author.

7. I once heard Madeleine L'Engle state that her characters were real to her and almost an extended part of her family, she said once that at the dinner table she sat up and stated "Meg just finished her PhD." Are your characters real to you, do you ever get glimpses of what they are up to now, or once you finish a book is that it?

I love that story! I totally relate. I think about my characters all the time-where they would be now, what they might do in a given situation. They become very real to me in the writing process, and they stay with me long after. If possible, I'd continue writing all their stories…but new characters always crop up in my head, too.

8. One of the greatest strengths in your books are the characters, they are so solid and believable. The characters you create, are they reflections of people you know, composites of different people you know or entirely your creations?

Thank you! I've never deliberately based a character on one particular person. They are mostly composites of people I've known, people I've read about, and, of course, myself. There's a piece of me in all my characters-some more than others.

9. What of your books was the hardest to write and why?

Sea Change was challenging to write because it has subtle elements of the fantastical in it, and that was a change of pace for me, even though I love all things paranormal. I knew I didn't want the book to go into full-on paranormal mode (and I wrote it before the paranormal romance genre even really exploded in YA!) but it was still tricky to walk that balance. In the end, I felt that the hard work paid off…I hope!

10. What were some of your favorite authors in your teen years who helped shape you?

Judy Blume, Ann M. Martin, Candace Ransom, Paula Danziger, Frances Hodgson Burnett, Stephen King, the Bronte sisters, Jane Austen, and on and on…

11. Who are some of your favorite authors or books now?

Michael Chabon, Ann Patchett, Philip Roth, Meg Cabot, Emma Donoghue, Emily Giffin, and on and on…

12. A few of your books are available in electronic formats but with that comes bootleg distribution. What are your impressions of ebooks and the distribution of them through torrents and other illegal means?

I am a die-hard traditional book person (I don't own an ereader yet), but you can't stem the tide. And ultimately I think ebooks are just another format for getting stories into the hands of readers. They also provide wonderful opportunities for interactive elements. I do feel strongly that we need to keep tabs on the pirating of ebooks, and ensure that authors and publishers are compensated.

13. Some authors monitor torrent sites and have their publishers contact them to remove their content. Do you do so are have someone do so for you?

This hasn't happened to me yet.

14. I once had a university professor state that the true goal of a university education should be to teach one to learn how to think. What would you state should be the goal of higher education and why?

It's different for everyone. I loved college-I do think it taught me how to think in a more critical and sharp way, and it really helped me hone my creative writing skills. This is almost more a question for my sister, who is an English professor. I will have to discuss with her!

15. What advice would you give to teens today, to your readers, what gems of knowledge have you gleaned in life that you would pass on?

Oh, boy…I don't think I've gleaned ANY gems of knowledge yet! In many ways, I still feel very much like a 15-year-old inside (no surprise I went into children's books….). One thing I wish I'd known as a teen would be to take things a lot less seriously and to develop a thicker skin-it's hard, at that time in your life, not to take everything that happens to you to heart. But on the other hand, that's what makes it such a rich and interesting time. And, in truth, I still take things too much to heart! That's probably why I'm a writer.

16. You have published some books under pseudonyms, the one know about is Ruth Ames, are there other names you have published under?

Nope, just Ruth Ames so far! But she does have a new book coming out-At First Bite, a companion to This Totally Bites, in November.

17. Have any of your books been optioned for books or TV? If so what ones? If not is there one you would especially like to see done?

My book South Beach was optioned for film, and my novella Working in a Winter Wonderland (in the collection Mistletoe) was as well. Some of my other books are in early development/discussion-of-optioning phases, so I don't want to jinx them by giving away too much! :

18. If you were stuck on a desert island and could only have 10 books to read again and again, what books would you want with you?

The Great Gatsby Jane Eyre The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay The Norton Anthology of Poetry Room The Secret Garden Without Feathers The Princess Diaries The Graveyard Book Something Borrowed (Though, come to think of it, if I had an eReader, I could upload hundreds! Hey!)

But the battery would die on the eReader then you would have no books.

19. What advice would you give to young aspiring authors and artists?

Keep writing, keep reading, keep "practicing"-but if it's something you truly love, it will never feel like practice. And stay on course- dreams are absolutely tangible. Go for it!

Aimee thank you for taking the time to answer some questions for us here at Book Reviews and More. I look forward to read more of your books in the near future.

Books By Aimee Friedman:
South Beach (2004)
French Kiss (2005)
A Novel Idea (2005)
Hollywood Hills (2007)
The Year My Sister Got Lucky (2008)
Sea Change (2009)

Contributed to:
Mistletoe (2006)
21 Proms

Graphic Novel:
Breaking Up (2007 - with Christine Norrie )

As Ruth Ames:
This Totally Bites - Poison Apple Book 2 (2009)
At First Bite - Poison Apple Book 8 (2011)

Thursday, 1 July 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books of the 2nd Quarter 2010

Top 10 fiction books of the second quarter of 2010 are:1. Jacob The Baker (Trilogy) - Noah benShea
2. The P.L.A.I.N. Janes & Janes in Love - Cecil Castellucci & Jim Rugg
3. LA Trilogy
- Cecil Castellucci
Boy Proof - Queen of Cool - Beige
4. Dead Water Zone - Kenneth Oppel
5. Bite Me - Christopher Moore
6. When You Reach Me - Rebecca Stead
7. Boom! (or 70,000 light Years) - Mark Haddon
8. Mercury - Hope Larson
9. Goth Girl Rising - Barry Lyga
10. Sea Change - Aimee Friedman
10. Leepike Ridge - N.D. Wilson

Looking forward to some of the new stuff coming out over the summer, and don't forget to check out the Scholastic summer reading challange. So far this year I have read 152 books, these are my top ten of the second quarter. It was harder this time than the first to narrow it down to 10.


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:
151 Jan-June 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996

Sunday, 30 May 2010

Sea Change - Aimee Friedman

Sea Change
Aimee Friedman
Point an imprint of

Scholastic
ISBN 9780439922289


Miranda Merchant is in for a big surprise this summer. She is joining her mother, prim and proper Dr. Merchant, on Selkie Island. She is going there to help her mother clean out the summer house she inherited from her estranged mother. On the way to the island by ferry she is warned by an old sea dog to be cautious of who she meets on the island. Her life is about to change in ways she never imagined, having gone to a Science Prep School back in New York City.

On the Island she starts to learn about her mother's past, as a southern belle who vacationed on this island year after year. She also meets some of her mother's friends from her youth. Miranda is also trying to get away from her past to some extent. Her ex-boyfriend and ex-best friend are both people she is trying to push from her mind. Here she meets other summer people, and daughters of her mother's friends - southern belles who pick dibs on who they will hook up with for the summer. But she also meets a strange island boy Leo, who seems different but in a good way, and maybe in a dangerous way. Good girl Miranda starts taking chances and risks she would not have done at home.

I picked up this book because I loved This Totally Bites - Poison Apple Book 2, written by Aimee under the pseudonym Ruth Ames. The cover of the book also attracted my attention. The mix of legends and myths, and a bit of mystery in a coming of age story, is wonderfully done. Aimee Friedman has written a wonderful story about love, falling in love, loss and grief and combines it all in a cohesive whole. It is a great story and we can only hope that we will encounter Miranda and the mythology of Selkie Island again.

Books By Aimee Friedman:
South Beach (2004)
French Kiss (2005)
A Novel Idea (2005)
Hollywood Hills (2007)
The Year My Sister Got Lucky (2008)
Sea Change (2009)

Contributed to:
Mistletoe (2006)
21 Proms

Graphic Novel:
Breaking Up (2007 - with Christine Norrie )

As Ruth Ames:
This Totally Bites - Poison Apple Book 2 (2009)
At First Bite - Poison Apple Book 8 (2011)

Author Profile Interview with Aimee Friedman

Monday, 12 April 2010

This Totally Bites - Poison Apple Book 2 - Ruth Ames

This Totally Bites
Ruth Ames
Poison Apple Book 2

An Imprint of Scholastic

ISBN 9780545208789

In this great new series from Scholastic Press, Scholastic Goes Goth. It is shaping up to be a dark off-shoot of their popular Candy Apple Books. This new series, Poison Apple Books, starts with 2 out this spring, one in August and another in the fall and it looks amazing. These books explore such things as ghosts, vampires, haunting and other darker tales. Unlike most fluffy books for young girls these tales have a little more grit but still have some humour and really fun reads.

Emma-Rose Paley is a twelve year old with a love and fascination with all things dark, from her black and purple wardrobe, to her black shag rug in her room, with pink skull-and-crossbones wallpaper. She is not quite what you expect from a middle grade student. Her mother would prefer if she wore pastels and acted a little more girly, but what can you do with a stubborn girl? Then her great aunt Margo arrives from Transylvania - tall, dark, ageless and cold to the touch. Emma discovers her family comes from Transylvania, and her great aunt looks ageless. She also looks just like Emma-Rose with dark hair, blue eyes and sharp incisors. Emma now thinks that she has uncovered the reason she is so different; she just might be a vampire, just like her great aunt. Soon she hopes so, for she is finding an inner strength from seeing herself as a vampire. She stands up to the class president, plans the school dance, and believes she has been invited to a ritual to turn her from a fledgling into a full fledged vampire. Her best friend Gabby thinks that she is crazy and this causes a rift between them that seems irreparable. While at the library, she meets Henry Greene, a guy from school she likes and who, it appears, is into folklore and legends, and he thinks that she just may have something. This second book out is in a new Scholastic imprint, Poison Apple Books. It is cool, hip, and fills a niche for those attracted to something a little darker at a younger age.

Poison Apple Books:
The Dead End - Mimi McCoy
This Totally Bites! - Ruth Ames
Miss Fortune - Brandi Dougherty
Now You See Me
- Jane B. Mason & Sarah Hines Stephens
Midnight Howl - Clare Hutton
Her Evil Twin - Mimi McCoy
Curiosity Killed the Cat - Sierra Harimann
At First Bite - Ruth Ames

Rotten Apple Books:
Mean Ghouls - Staci Deutsch
Zombie Dog - Clare Hutton

Books By Aimee Friedman:
South Beach (2004)
French Kiss (2005)
A Novel Idea (2005)
Hollywood Hills (2007)
The Year My Sister Got Lucky (2008)
Sea Change (2009)

Contributed to:
Mistletoe (2006)
21 Proms

Graphic Novel:
Breaking Up (2007 - with Christine Norrie )

As Ruth Ames:
This Totally Bites - Poison Apple Book 2 (2009)
At First Bite - Poison Apple Book 8 (2011)

Author Profile Interview with Aimee Friedman