--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/AlexanderGordonSmith As it appears live September 27, 2020 2:27:12 PM UTC

Showing posts with label AlexanderGordonSmith. Show all posts
Showing posts with label AlexanderGordonSmith. Show all posts

Friday, 4 September 2020

Whip Crack - Alex Smith - DCI Kett Book 4.0

Whip Crack
DCI Kett Crime Thrillers Book 4.0
Zertex Crime
ISBN 9781913877033
ASIN B086GY88VD
If you have been fallowing the saga of DCI Kett this book is a must read. If you happen to be a fan of rough and tough action you will also enjoy this novel. This is the fifth of the DCI Kett stories that I have read, and Kett made a brief appearance in The Harder They Fall, the first of the Softley Series of books. And this volume makes reference to Six Days, Six Hours, Six Minutes,  which is the darkest and grittiest of Smith’s novels. So all of his mysteries like together in some fashion. This book is different than the others in the series, but still has that same intense action mystery feel. 

I have stated before that each of the Kett novels have been great crime mystery novels, and interesting reads. But they are dark books with terrible crimes. In this one Kett and his wife are still finding their way after her has rescued her from kidnappers. Officially Kett is on compassionate leave. And is awaiting news of if there will be an inquiry into his actions that led to his wife’s rescue. He was offered a holiday back near Norwich. But the offer also had some alternative motives. Four teens have gone missing, and the more they investigate the worse things look. Kett has a gift for finding missing people, and often bringing them back alive. And his old team need his help again, unofficially. He is consulting. And In a case that only spans a few days there is an immense amount of action. Great risk, real danger. And clues just at the edge of his consciousness. A series of clues left on old tape recorders. Leading the victims and others taunting the police. Hope of a rescue but a time limit and the clock is ticking down. 

I admit I love the Kett novels. His character. His strength. His drive. He is a man who puts it all on the line for others. And does it because of his love for his wife and children. And after having both lost and regained his wife, he knows from personal experience the angst of a missing loved one. I did figure most of this story out well before the end. I had most of the who, but not all of the why. 

I will state again this book and this series is not for all readers. It is dark and gritty and very intense. They are great thrillers. Over ten years ago, I read and loved the Lockdown series published primarily for a young adult audience by Alexander Gordon Smith. When I found out he had this new crime mystery series in the works I had visions of his skill turned to series like Wired in the Blood, or the Commander. There is always something extra appealing about a British crime drama or procedural, I was hooked from the concept. The first short story is available for free on his site, if you are uncertain but I will warn you the stories are very addictive. I had preordered this and read it in one sitting. I could not put it down. Once I started reading, I just could not stop. Another great read in a high octane series.

Mystery Books as Alex Smith:

Softley Softley Series:
2.0 Hard Luck House
...

DCI Kett Series:
2.0 Bad Dog
3.0 Three Little Pigs
5.0 Run Rabbit Run
...

Books By Alexander Gordon Smith:
Escape from Furnace:
Lockdown

Solitary
Death Sentence
Fugitives 
Execution
Execution Epilogue - Short Story
The Night Children - Short Story


Fury Series:
The Fury
The Storm

The Inventors:
The Inventors
The Inventors And The City of Stolen Souls

Non-Fiction:
1001 Questions and Answers
Inspired Creative Writing: 52 Brilliant Ideas from the Master Wordsmiths
The Solar System
Family Quiz
Writing Bestselling Children's Books: 52 Brilliant Ideas for Inspiring Young Readers





Thursday, 20 August 2020

Six Days, Six Hours, Six Minutes - Alex Smith - A Brutal British Crime Thriller

Six Days, Six Hours, Six Minutes
A Brutal British Crime Thriller
Zertex Crime
ISBN 9781913877033
ASIN B0881X8MFS


The subtitle of this book calls it a Brutal British Crime Thriller, and it lives up to that. There is a lot of language in this read, and a lot of violence. If it was a movie and I was rating it, I would give it an R or an X. It was a disturbing read. Dark, gritty, and really disturbing. I really enjoyed Alex’s book for young adult. And I loved the first book in the Softley Softley series, The Harder They Fall. I have also been enjoying the DCI Kett novels which begins with Cry Baby. The Kett novels are dark, but this story takes it to a whole new level. In fact I took a break from reading it. It was so intense and dark. 

The first words in this book are:

“In six days, six hours, and six minutes, I will come back and kill you.”

The main character, Blake Barton, finds a strange carving on his door frame at home. And he is soon plunged into a nightmare when a stranger shoves into the house and says:

“In six days, six hours, and six minutes, I will come back and kill you.

Tell anyone, and your wife and child will die. Call the police, and your wife and child will die. Try to run, or hide, or trick me in any way, and your wife and child will die. And they will not die quickly, Blake. Theirs will not be a good death. It will be slow, and it will be bloody, and they will know the full horror of hell before I end them.”

And from there the story gets scarier and more terrifying with every chapter. The story follows Barton as he tries to handle this situation. First fear, then denial. Then anger. You are carried along at a breakneck pace. Follow Barton down the rabbit hole of this nightmare tale. He is living in fear for his own life, his wife, his son. And every time he thinks he has a plan. The stranger or one of his minions turns up. Can he find a way to outsmart someone who claims to be the devil, and seems to be guessing his every move? No matter what he tries they seem to be there. He is beaten up. Threatened, and abused. But ever man has a breaking point, some snape and some snap back. To find out which Barton is you will need to read this deeply disturbing novel.

This novel pushed my limits. It was so disturbing I almost gave up on it. I am thankful I finished it. But I prefer the Softley or Kett series to this book. There are references to events in some of the Kett books in this volume and it seems like it might be possible the stories will end up intersecting. Much as Softley and Kett have briefly intersected. It is a great read for those into horror or thrillers. A gripping page turner.  

Mystery Books as Alex Smith:
Six Days, Six Hours, Six Minutes
...

Softley Softley Series:
2.0 Hard Luck House
...

DCI Kett Series:
0.5 Cry Baby
2.0 Bad Dog
3.0 Three Little Pigs
5.0 Run Rabbit Run
...

Books By Alexander Gordon Smith:
Escape from Furnace:
Lockdown

Solitary
Death Sentence
Fugitives 
Execution
Execution Epilogue - Short Story
The Night Children - Short Story


Fury Series:
The Fury
The Storm

The Inventors:
The Inventors
The Inventors And The City of Stolen Souls

Non-Fiction:
1001 Questions and Answers
Inspired Creative Writing: 52 Brilliant Ideas from the Master Wordsmiths
The Solar System
Family Quiz
Writing Bestselling Children's Books: 52 Brilliant Ideas for Inspiring Young Readers







Wednesday, 22 April 2020

Three Little Pigs - Alex Smith - DCI Kett Book 3.0

Three Little Pigs
DCI Kett Crime Thrillers Book 3.0
Zertex Crime
ISBN 9781912767199
ASIN B082YF34DG


First if you have been fallowing the sage of DCI Kett this book is a must read. If you happen to be a fan of rough and tough action you will enjoy this novel also. This is the fourth of the DCI Kett stories that I have read, and Kett made a brief appearance in The Harder They Fall, the first of the Softley Series of books. And to be honest if you enjoy this one you need to check out that series also. This book is the closest to that series in that it is farm more action and thriller than mystery. For this story is almost non-stop action from beginning to the end. And you will be on the edge of your seat. 

I have stated before that each of the Kett novels have been great crime mystery novels, and interesting reads. But they are dark books with terrible crimes. This time Kett is close to finding his kidnapped wife. And the closer he gets the more he is warned to let it go. Even in her own handwriting. But he can’t let it go. He can’t let her go, especially since he knows he is close to finding her and figuring out the mystery of the Pig man.

This book and this series is definitely not for all readers. It is dark and gritty and very intense. It is a great thriller. Over ten years ago, I read and loved the Lockdown series published primarily for a young adult audience by Alexander Gordon Smith. When I found out he had this new crime mystery series in the works I had visions of his skill turned to series like Wired in the Blood, or the Commander. There is always something extra appealing about a British crime drama or procedural, I was hooked from the concept. The first short story is available for free on his site, if you are uncertain but I will warn you the stories are very addictive. 

Kett is back in London and getting closer by the minute. But the forces he is up against. And the foes he is facing will surprise even him. After another officer is murdered it is a race against time. Kett is determined to get his wife back no matter the cost to his career, his health and maybe even his sanity. 

But to find out if he gets her back, or even if he survives you will need to read this gripping crime drama yourself. It is a great read it what has shaped up to be a very intense addictive series. And if you enjoy it you really need to check out The Harder They Fall, the first book in his other series.

When younger, I went through a phase of reading mostly mysteries. A lot of books by Andrew M. Greeley, Tom Clancy, and Robert B. Parker. And DCI Kett is a great character in the genre. Up until last year I had not read much in the mystery or crime genres for over 25 years. But last year I read a lot of crime and mystery books. I read all the books available by Maureen Jennings, the Jack Reacher Series by Lee Child, and the Hunt for Reacher series by Diane Capri. I said it before and I stand by it, I really believe that the writing in this story kept up with them all. It is a great fourth story in a series. 

Mystery Books as Alex Smith:

Softley Softley Series:
2.0 Hard Luck House
...

DCI Kett Series:
0.5 Cry Baby
2.0 Bad Dog
3.0 Three Little Pigs
5.0 Run Rabbit Run
...

Books By Alexander Gordon Smith:
Escape from Furnace:
Lockdown

Solitary
Death Sentence
Fugitives 
Execution
Execution Epilogue - Short Story
The Night Children - Short Story


Fury Series:
The Fury
The Storm

The Inventors:
The Inventors
The Inventors And The City of Stolen Souls

Non-Fiction:
1001 Questions and Answers
Inspired Creative Writing: 52 Brilliant Ideas from the Master Wordsmiths
The Solar System
Family Quiz
Writing Bestselling Children's Books: 52 Brilliant Ideas for Inspiring Young Readers





Thursday, 12 March 2020

Bad Dog - Alex Smith - DCI Kett Book 2.0

Bad Dog
DCI Kett Crime Thrillers Book 2.0
Zertex Crime
ISBN 9781912767175
ASIN B07XY3RQKL


This is the third of the DCI Kett stories that I have read, and Kett made a brief appearance in The Harder They Fall. Each of the Kett novels have been great crime mystery novels, and interesting reads. But they are dark books with terrible crimes. Definitely not for all readers. Over ten years ago, I read and loved the Lockdown series published primarily for a young adult audience by Alexander Gordon Smith. When I found out he had a new crime mystery series in the works I had visions of his skill turned to series like Wired in the Blood, or the Commander. There is just something so appealing about a British crime drama or procedural, I was hooked from the concept. And I have read a mystery or crime thriller a week from the pen of Alex Smith since reading that first story.  The first short story is available for free on his site, if you are uncertain but I will warn you the stories are very addictive. 

The book begins 6 weeks after Paper Girls. DCI Kett who was on compassionate leave after the abduction of his wife. Is now assigned to the special task force in the area he went away to, to get away with his kids. It is the area he grew up in. After solving the first case in spectacular fashion he has been asked to stay on. For the benefit of the department, for his own health, and for his kids. When we first see Kett in this story he is meeting with a shrink to get cleared to return from duty. His injuries both physical and emotional from the paper girls case are not fully healed. When his commanding officer steps in and forces the shrink to clear him because there is a new case and he needs Kett working in. 

But right from when he first sees the body he suspects that all is not as it seems. It looks like it might be an attack from a large dog, but Kett sees indications that lead him to believe there is human involvement also. Unfortunately, the body is found right on the border between two departments. And by the end of the story Kett has greatly upset both commanders. But as usual Kett has a knack for figuring out things that others do not. And soon he realizes what is happening and places himself in great danger going in alone again. 

But to find out what happens you will need to read this gripping crime drama yourself. It is a good read it what has shaped up to be an intense addictive series.

When I was younger, I went through a phase of reading mysteries. A lot of books by Andrew M. Greely, Tom Clancy, and Robert B. Parker. And DCI Kett is a great character in the genre. But upp until last year I had not read much in the mystery or crime genres for over 25 years. But last year I did read a lot of crime and mystery books. I read all the books available by Maureen Jennings, the Jack Reacher Series by Lee Child, and the Hunt for Reacher series by Diane Capri. I said it before and I stand by it, I really believe that the writing in this story kept up with them all. It is a great third story in a series. Again it sets us up for some intense action in the coming volumes. 

This is a great read for anyone who enjoys the crime, mystery, thriller genres!

Mystery Books as Alex Smith:

Softley Softley Series:
2.0 Hard Luck House
...

DCI Kett Series:
2.0 Bad Dog
3.0 Three Little Pigs
5.0 Run Rabbit Run
...

Books By Alexander Gordon Smith:
Escape from Furnace:
Lockdown

Solitary
Death Sentence
Fugitives 
Execution
Execution Epilogue - Short Story
The Night Children - Short Story


Fury Series:
The Fury
The Storm

The Inventors:
The Inventors
The Inventors And The City of Stolen Souls

Non-Fiction:
1001 Questions and Answers
Inspired Creative Writing: 52 Brilliant Ideas from the Master Wordsmiths
The Solar System
Family Quiz
Writing Bestselling Children's Books: 52 Brilliant Ideas for Inspiring Young Readers





Thursday, 5 March 2020

The Harder They Fall - Alex Smith - Softley Softley Thrillers Book 1.0

The Harder They Fall
Softley Softley Thrillers Book 1.0
Zertex Crime
ASIN B0849PPWYL


This is the third mystery or thriller I have read from Alex Smith. I have read the first two stories on the DCI Kett stories that I have read and I have can state that both were great crime mystery novels. This is the first of the Softley Softley series I have read. A decade ago, I read and loved the Lockdown series published primarily for a young adult audience by Alexander Gordon Smith. I compared the DCI Kett series to TV series like Wired in the Blood, or the Commander. Reading this was more like reading a British story similar to the Jack Reacher series, by Lee Child. or the character John T. Clark from Tom Clancy's works. In fact, I am almost certain that people who like the Reacher stories will thoroughly enjoy this first novel in a new series from Smith.

This is a revised version of this novel. It has been updated with links to the DCI Kett stories. The original version of this that was released makes no reference to Kett, and the beginning because of that is slightly different. But the main story is the same. I can only expect that at some point the two series are going to cross over in a much more dramatic manner. If you have read the first version you only really need to reread the section where Jack Softley receives the news that his brother Liam is dead. He and his brother had mostly been estranged and had not seen each other in years. When he goes to London to the funeral, Jack gets mixed up in a world that he did not know existed, and that his brother had apparently been a part of.

 The story is fast packed, and is intense from the moment Jack walks into the funeral home until the story concludes. The Softley brothers appear to be very different. Jack is an English teacher, family man, and just wants to get back together with his wife and help look after his son. Liam was special forces and did a lot of contract work after his military time. But Jack holds secrets, and they upbringing at the hands of a brutal drunk has given both of them tools to survive, and tools to fight with. And Soon Jack is in a fight for his life and those of his family. Jack’s fight is both literal, in a bare-knuckle ring, against thugs, and against underworld characters. But also figurative in getting himself up and moving again and again no matter how hard he has been knocked down or what has happened to him. 

Woven through the current events that are taking place over a few days, are Jack’s memories. Remembering back to his childhood. To Liam as his older brother and protector. To their father beating them and their mother. To them finding a dead body in the woods. And even finding a gun. 

There are a couple of real twists in this story. Both took me by surprise. And the end leaves you desperate for book two.  Up until this past year I had not read many in the mystery or crime genres for over 25 years. But last year I did read a lot of crime and mystery books. I read all the books available by Maureen Jennings, the Jack Reacher Series by Lee Child, and the Hunt for Reacher series by Diane Capri. And the writing in this story kept up with each of them. It is a great first story in a series. And sets us up for some serious action in the coming volumes. 

It is a great read for anyone who enjoys the crime, mystery, thriller genres!

Mystery Books as Alex Smith:

Softley Softley Series:
2.0 Hard Luck House
...

DCI Kett Series:
2.0 Bad Dog
3.0 Three Little Pigs
5.0 Run Rabbit Run
...

Books By Alexander Gordon Smith:
Escape from Furnace:
Lockdown

Solitary
Death Sentence
Fugitives 
Execution
Execution Epilogue - Short Story
The Night Children - Short Story


Fury Series:
The Fury
The Storm

The Inventors:
The Inventors
The Inventors And The City of Stolen Souls

Non-Fiction:
1001 Questions and Answers
Inspired Creative Writing: 52 Brilliant Ideas from the Master Wordsmiths
The Solar System
Family Quiz
Writing Bestselling Children's Books: 52 Brilliant Ideas for Inspiring Young Readers


Thursday, 20 February 2020

Paper Girls - Alex Smith - DCI Kett Book 1.0

Paper Girls
DCI Kett Crime Thrillers Book 1.0
Zertex Crime
ISBN 9781912767151
ASIN B07X2LS1XF


This is the second of the DCI Kett stories that I have read and I have can state that both are great crime mystery novels. Over a decade ago, I read and loved the Lockdown series published primarily for a young adult audience by Alexander Gordon Smith. When I found out he had a new crime mystery series in the works I had visions of his skill turned to series like Wired in the Blood, or the Commander. There is just something so appealing about a British crime drama or procedural, I was hooked from the concept. After reading the first novella or short story I bumped this one way up in my to be read list. The first short story is available for free on his site, and leads into this novel. 

The book begins a few months after Cry Baby. DCI Kett is on compassionate leave after the abduction of his wife. And is heading back to the area he grew up with his three girls. Before he even gets them settled into the house he is rending he gets a call from his boss. And his services have been offered to the local team in Norwich have two abductions of young girls snatched while delivering papers. Kett is dragged back into the world he was trying to step away from. But soon the case and his own tenacity have him in situations of great personal risk. But even after some initial confrontation and hostility he is settling down and finding his way with his girls and assisting the Special Investigations Unit.

The story is fast paced. And the characters are expertly written. You find yourself pulling for Kett. It is a great crime mystery story. But as a father of daughters also terrifying.

Up until last year I had not read much in the mystery or crime genres for over 25 years. But last year I did read a lot of crime and mystery books. I read all the books available by Maureen Jennings, the Jack Reacher Series by Lee Child, and the Hunt for Reacher series by Diane Capri. And the writing in this story kept up with them all. It is a great second story in a series. And sets us up for some serious action in the coming volumes. 

A great read for anyone who enjoys the crime, mystery, thriller genres!


Mystery Books as Alex Smith:

Softley Softley Series:
2.0 Hard Luck House
...

DCI Kett Series:
2.0 Bad Dog
3.0 Three Little Pigs
5.0 Run Rabbit Run
...

Books By Alexander Gordon Smith:
Escape from Furnace:
Lockdown

Solitary
Death Sentence
Fugitives 
Execution
Execution Epilogue - Short Story
The Night Children - Short Story


Fury Series:
The Fury
The Storm

The Inventors:
The Inventors
The Inventors And The City of Stolen Souls

Non-Fiction:
1001 Questions and Answers
Inspired Creative Writing: 52 Brilliant Ideas from the Master Wordsmiths
The Solar System
Family Quiz
Writing Bestselling Children's Books: 52 Brilliant Ideas for Inspiring Young Readers





Tuesday, 11 February 2020

Cry Baby - Alex Smith - DCI Kett Book 0.5

Cry Baby
DCI Kett Crime Thrillers Book 0.5
Zertex Crime


Years ago, I read and loved the Lockdown series published primarily for a young adult audience by Alexander Gordon Smith. When I found out he had a new crime mystery series in the works I had visions of his skill turned to series like Wired in the Blood, or the Commander. There is just something so appealing about a British crime drama or procedural, I was hooked from the concept. And this first short story is available for free on his site, and leads into the first full length novel. Though to be honest the whole time I was reading this I was picturing Jamie Bamber as DCI Kett.

The description of the book begins by telling us the DCI Robert Kett is about to have the worst day of his life. And the story lives up to that prediction. The story follows Kett as he navigated the minefields at home, work and on the streets of London. The city is trapped in the middle of a heat wave. And there is a serial killer knocking off young men all on public transportation. Kett discovers there is a price on his head. 

I admit I have thoroughly enjoyed all the books I have read by Alex Smith. And this new story is setting up what looks like an excellent series. At the time of writing this review there are 2 novels that follow this story and a third that is publishing shortly. 

Over the last year I have read a lot of crime and mystery books. I read all the books available by Maureen Jennings, the Jack Reacher Series by Lee Child, and the Hunt for Reacher series by Diane Capri. And the writing in this story kept up with them all. It is a great start to a series. And sets us up for some serious drama in the coming volumes. 

The characters are well written. The plot proceeds at an excellent pace. And you can’t help but find yourself cheering for DCI Kett. It is an excellent beginning and I look forward to seeing what happens with DCI Kett next. If you enjoy a good crime novel give this story and try.


Mystery Books as Alex Smith:

Softley Softley Series:
2.0 Hard Luck House
...

DCI Kett Series:
2.0 Bad Dog
3.0 Three Little Pigs
5.0 Run Rabbit Run
...

Books By Alexander Gordon Smith:
Escape from Furnace:
Lockdown

Solitary
Death Sentence
Fugitives 
Execution
Execution Epilogue - Short Story
The Night Children - Short Story


Fury Series:
The Fury
The Storm

The Inventors:
The Inventors
The Inventors And The City of Stolen Souls

Non-Fiction:
1001 Questions and Answers
Inspired Creative Writing: 52 Brilliant Ideas from the Master Wordsmiths
The Solar System
Family Quiz
Writing Bestselling Children's Books: 52 Brilliant Ideas for Inspiring Young Readers