--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/AndrewClements As it appears live September 19, 2020 2:52:13 PM UTC

Showing posts with label AndrewClements. Show all posts
Showing posts with label AndrewClements. Show all posts

Tuesday, 14 July 2020

The Losers Club - Andrew Clements

The Losers Club
Andrew Clements
Random House
ISBN 9780399557576
eISBN 9780399557583
ASIN B01MZCNCNR


Four years ago, I discovered the works of Andrew Clements. I was instantly hooked and have now read 19 books by him. Many consider him the ‘master of school stories’, and I would agree. I have a dual form of dyslexia and did not learn to read until after grade 7. So I never read ‘school stories’ when I was young. That combined with having my own school aged children has instilled a great appreciation for the genre and specifically for the works of Andrew Clements. Clements passed away in 2019 and this was his second last published novel. The last was The Friendship War, which is an excellent volume. Around the time I discovered Clements works I also encountered Chris d’Lacey both write amazing stories for children, but they are also stories that any of us can learn from. Back then I set the goal of reading all of their works. And this story has inspired me to recommit to that goal.

I had no idea what this book was about when I picked it up. I grabbed it based on the author and title alone. And the cover grabbed my interest as well. It was an awesome read and one of my favorites of all his books I have read, maybe even one of my all time top ten children’s books. It is an excellent read.

The story focuses on Alec, a sixth grader that just can’t put a good book down. In fact, he loves reading so much that it keeps interfering with his school work. Principal Vance sets a new standard the first day of school. He needs to pay attention in class or else. And The principal has warned all the teachers. But Alec does not want to lose all his time to read. His plan is during the after school extended program to create a space so he can just sit and read. He calls it The Losers Club thinking that no one will want to join. He gets one other person to join so they can form the club, but he never knew how popular it would become. Soon he is migrating a mine field of parental expectation, a girl he is interested in, a former friend who is a bit of a bully, and the need to present at the school open house about the Losers Club.

And because they are a reading club, there are many books, authors and series mentioned in the story. Some of them are favorites of mine, and some were favorites of Andrew Clements. Not only is this a great read in and of itself, but it will likely leave a reader with at least a few other books they want to read that were mentioned. 

As mentioned, this is one of my favorite books by Andrew Clements, and one of my all time favorite Middle Grade reads. A fantastic book for young readers, and for those of us who just love a great story!

Books by Andrew Clements:
Bird Adalbert
Noah and the Ark and the Animals
Santa's Secret Helper
Temple Cat
Mother Earth's Counting Book
Billy and the Bad Teacher
Who Owns the Cow
Bright Christmas: An Angel Remembers
Frindle 
(Adapter)Philipp's Birthday Book
Riff's BeBop Book
Real Monsters Go for the Mold
Things That Go EEK on Halloween
Real Monsters Stage Fright
Music Time, Any Time
Double Trouble in Walla Walla
Workshop
Gromble's Haunted Halloween
Hey Dad, Could I Borrow Your Hammer
The Landry News
Look Who's in the Thanksgiving Play
The Mouse Family
The Janitor's Boy
Circus Family Dog
The Christmas Kitten
The School Story
Things Not Seen 
The Jacket 
A Week in the Woods
Slippers at Home
Naptime for Slippers
The Report Card
The Last Holiday Concert
Slippers at School
Slippers Loves to Run
A Million Is a Lot of Dots
Lunch Money
Things Hoped For
Room One: A Mystery or Two
No Talking
Things That Are
Lost and Found
Extra Credit
Troublemaker
About Average
The Map Trap
The Friendship War
The Losers Club
...

Pets to the Rescue Series
Ringo Saves the Day!
Brave Norman
Tara and Tiree, Fearless Friends
Delores and the Big Fire

Jake Drake Series
Jake Drake Know-It-All
Jake Drake, Bully Buster
Jake Drake, Teacher's Pet
Jake Drake, Class Clown

Benjamin Pratt and the Keepers of the School Series
We the Children
Fear Itself
The Whites of Their Eyes
In Harm's Way
We Hold These Truths

Reading Program Books
Karen's Island
Three Wishes for Buster
Bill Picket: An American Original, Texas Style
Hurricane Andrew
Ham and Eggs for Jack
Life in the Desert
Desert Treasure
Inventors: Making Things Better, Steck-Vaughn
Milo's Great Invention
...







Wednesday, 27 March 2019

The Friendship War - Andrew Clements

The Friendship War
Andrew Clements
Random House
ISBN 9780399557590
eISBN 9780399557613
ASIN B07DSZDNRT


A few years ago I read 17 books by Andrew Clements. All were good reads, many were excellent reads. This book is the 18th book by Clements that I have given a read, and it is one of the best! Once I got reading this book, I could not put it down. It is an excellent story about friendship, about fads, and about forgiveness. Andrew Clements writes amazing Middle grade fiction. His stories are fun, entertaining and great for starting discussions. I have yet to read a book by Clements I have not thoroughly enjoyed, or that I did not look forward to rereading with my children.

In this story Grace and Ellie have been best friends since second grade. And Grace has always felt a little like Ellie’s side kick. But at the beginning of the sixth-grade things change. Grace realizes that things with Ellie are not fair. And Ellie shows off a lot, and she tries to control things, and often does. Both with Grace and to a large extent with all the girls in their grade. But this school year Grace has started a new fad. The fad is buttons. It started over the summer while she was visiting her grandfather. They find 30 cases of old buttons in the factory her Grandfather purchased, and Grace has asked for them all. Once they become popular at school Grace has a power she has never had before. And Because of the conflict with Ellie she is determined to go to war and to win. 

But soon things start going from bad to worse. Grace is beginning to regret her actions but does not see a clear way out of the path they are on. Based on some advice from her older brother on supply and demand. She believes is she floods the button market maybe buttons will become the last old thing, like rainbow looms, fidget spinners, silly bandz and more. But Sometimes the best laid plans have very unexpected consequences. Can Grace restore her friendship with Ellie? Can she keep growing her new friendship with Hank? Can the friendship war come to an end without someone being destroyed?


This is a great realistic fiction novel. The events could take place at the school around the corner, or down the block, or in the next subdivision over. The story is deeper than some by Clements. It would be a great book to read in class or with a group of kids and have some discussions on. It is another excellent read from Clements and I give it a solid 5/5 stars!  

Books by Andrew Clements:
Bird Adalbert
Noah and the Ark and the Animals
Santa's Secret Helper
Temple Cat
Mother Earth's Counting Book
Billy and the Bad Teacher
Who Owns the Cow
Bright Christmas: An Angel Remembers
Frindle 
(Adapter)Philipp's Birthday Book
Riff's BeBop Book
Real Monsters Go for the Mold
Things That Go EEK on Halloween
Real Monsters Stage Fright
Music Time, Any Time
Double Trouble in Walla Walla
Workshop
Gromble's Haunted Halloween
Hey Dad, Could I Borrow Your Hammer
The Landry News
Look Who's in the Thanksgiving Play
The Mouse Family
The Janitor's Boy
Circus Family Dog
The Christmas Kitten
The School Story
Things Not Seen 
The Jacket 
A Week in the Woods
Slippers at Home
Naptime for Slippers
The Report Card
The Last Holiday Concert
Slippers at School
Slippers Loves to Run
A Million Is a Lot of Dots
Lunch Money
Things Hoped For
Room One: A Mystery or Two
No Talking
Things That Are
Lost and Found
Extra Credit
Troublemaker
About Average
The Map Trap
The Friendship War
The Losers Club
...

Pets to the Rescue Series
Ringo Saves the Day!
Brave Norman
Tara and Tiree, Fearless Friends
Delores and the Big Fire

Jake Drake Series
Jake Drake Know-It-All
Jake Drake, Bully Buster
Jake Drake, Teacher's Pet
Jake Drake, Class Clown

Benjamin Pratt and the Keepers of the School Series
We the Children
Fear Itself
The Whites of Their Eyes
In Harm's Way
We Hold These Truths

Reading Program Books
Karen's Island
Three Wishes for Buster
Bill Picket: An American Original, Texas Style
Hurricane Andrew
Ham and Eggs for Jack
Life in the Desert
Desert Treasure
Inventors: Making Things Better, Steck-Vaughn
Milo's Great Invention

Monday, 23 January 2017

The Landry News - Andrew Clements and Brian Selznick

The Landry News
Andrew Clements
Brian Selznick (Illustrator) 
Atheneum Books for Young Readers
A Division of Simon and Schuster

ISBN 9780689828683
eISBN 9780689850523
ASIN B008O4M174



This is the 17th book by Andrew Clements that I have read in under a year. With each new book I am even more impressed with his writing. A number of his books have achieved 5 out of 5 Stars from me but this is one of the best I have yet read by Clements. As I have stated in other reviews one of the best things about most of Clements writings is it is in a realistic fiction style. By that I mean they are stories you could see happen in real life, with kids your know, or in schools you or your children go to. 

Brian Selznick now of Hugo Cabret fame illustrated this book. He has illustrated a number of Andrew Clements books. And his illustrations always add to the stories. 

This story is different than a number of Clements other stories in that the Teacher, Mr. Larson plays a key role. This book deals with a number of issues, free speech, responsibility, divorce, anger management and learning to try again. Many years ago Mr. Landry was teacher of the year, but now he sits at the front of the class disengaged and for all appearances just waiting for retirement. His classes are unstructured and he allows the students to self-direct. But an incident with Cara Landry, and her passion for creating newspapers sparks a flame. The flame is sparked in Clara, in Mr Landy, in their class, and through the papers distribution the whole school.

The principal who has had longstanding conflict with Mr. Larson sees this as his opportunity to force Larson into early retirement. And as things escalate, the tension between the two rises and it raises the stakes, all the way to the board, and local and regional news. And things come to a head at a school board meeting. Fortunately by this point Cara and many of the students are now on Mr. Larson's side. The piece that started the conflict was written by a student about his feelings during his parent's separation and divorce. 

I will not spoil the story for you other than to state that it is very moving and powerful. This is another great book by an amazing author and I greatly recommend it to you.   

Books by Andrew Clements:
Bird Adalbert
Noah and the Ark and the Animals
Santa's Secret Helper
Temple Cat
Mother Earth's Counting Book
Billy and the Bad Teacher
Who Owns the Cow
Bright Christmas: An Angel Remembers
Frindle 
(Adapter)Philipp's Birthday Book
Riff's BeBop Book
Real Monsters Go for the Mold
Things That Go EEK on Halloween
Real Monsters Stage Fright
Music Time, Any Time
Double Trouble in Walla Walla
Workshop
Gromble's Haunted Halloween
Hey Dad, Could I Borrow Your Hammer
The Landry News
Look Who's in the Thanksgiving Play
The Mouse Family
The Janitor's Boy
Circus Family Dog
The Christmas Kitten
The School Story
Things Not Seen 
The Jacket 
A Week in the Woods
Slippers at Home
Naptime for Slippers
The Report Card
The Last Holiday Concert
Slippers at School
Slippers Loves to Run
A Million Is a Lot of Dots
Lunch Money
Things Hoped For
Room One: A Mystery or Two
No Talking
Things That Are
Lost and Found
Extra Credit
Troublemaker
About Average
The Map Trap
The Friendship War
The Losers Club
...

Pets to the Rescue Series
Ringo Saves the Day!
Brave Norman
Tara and Tiree, Fearless Friends
Delores and the Big Fire

Jake Drake Series
Jake Drake Know-It-All
Jake Drake, Bully Buster
Jake Drake, Teacher's Pet
Jake Drake, Class Clown

Benjamin Pratt and the Keepers of the School Series
We the Children
Fear Itself
The Whites of Their Eyes
In Harm's Way
We Hold These Truths

Reading Program Books
Karen's Island
Three Wishes for Buster
Bill Picket: An American Original, Texas Style
Hurricane Andrew
Ham and Eggs for Jack
Life in the Desert
Desert Treasure
Inventors: Making Things Better, Steck-Vaughn
Milo's Great Invention

Tuesday, 17 January 2017

Lost and Found - Andrew Clements

Lost and Found
Andrew Clements
Mark Elliott (Illustrator)
Atheneum Books for Young Readers
A Division of Simon and Schuster

ISBN 9781416909859
eISBN 9781442406155
ASIN B0070XQN74



In the last 6 months I have read 17 books by Andrew Clements. Along with Chris d’Lacey, Clements is currently among my top children’s and YA authors. He writes with such incredible insight into children, childhood and the school environment. Most of his stories are or a realistic fiction. They are events you could see happening with your children, children you know, or kids around your neighbourhood. His books are great fun reads!

In this adventure the Grayson twins have moved yet again. But on the first day of school Ray is sick. But during attendance they do not call Ray’s name. And there is no empty desk for him. For the first time in his life Jay finds out what it is like to not be a twin, and he loves it. And so Jay comes up with a plan. The school does not know there are supposed to be two Grayson boys so they will alternate days at school. They do plan on telling the truth next Friday. And the conflict between the two is escalating because of wanting different friends and activities at school. But an observant nurse at school starts to realise something is amiss. 

It was really interesting watching the twins try and act as one person, with their different strengths, interests and aptitudes. They both soon have close friends, female interest. And only one of them is good at math. 



The characters in this story are great. Both the Grayson twins Ray and Jay, James, Melissa. Even the teachers and parents are very well done. The setting, of young boys at a new school is also really well written. And the illustrations by Mark Elliott, though few are great drawings that capture elements of the story very well.

Andrew Clements is an incredible writer and this was another great read. I can highly recommend it!  


Books by Andrew Clements:
Bird Adalbert
Noah and the Ark and the Animals
Santa's Secret Helper
Temple Cat
Mother Earth's Counting Book
Billy and the Bad Teacher
Who Owns the Cow
Bright Christmas: An Angel Remembers
Frindle 
(Adapter)Philipp's Birthday Book
Riff's BeBop Book
Real Monsters Go for the Mold
Things That Go EEK on Halloween
Real Monsters Stage Fright
Music Time, Any Time
Double Trouble in Walla Walla
Workshop
Gromble's Haunted Halloween
Hey Dad, Could I Borrow Your Hammer
The Landry News
Look Who's in the Thanksgiving Play
The Mouse Family
The Janitor's Boy
Circus Family Dog
The Christmas Kitten
The School Story
Things Not Seen 
The Jacket 
A Week in the Woods
Slippers at Home
Naptime for Slippers
The Report Card
The Last Holiday Concert
Slippers at School
Slippers Loves to Run
A Million Is a Lot of Dots
Lunch Money
Things Hoped For
Room One: A Mystery or Two
No Talking
Things That Are
Lost and Found
Extra Credit
Troublemaker
About Average
The Map Trap
The Friendship War
The Losers Club
...

Pets to the Rescue Series
Ringo Saves the Day!
Brave Norman
Tara and Tiree, Fearless Friends
Delores and the Big Fire

Jake Drake Series
Jake Drake Know-It-All
Jake Drake, Bully Buster
Jake Drake, Teacher's Pet
Jake Drake, Class Clown

Benjamin Pratt and the Keepers of the School Series
We the Children
Fear Itself
The Whites of Their Eyes
In Harm's Way
We Hold These Truths

Reading program Books
Karen's Island
Three Wishes for Buster
Bill Picket: An American Original, Texas Style
Hurricane Andrew
Ham and Eggs for Jack
Life in the Desert
Desert Treasure
Inventors: Making Things Better, Steck-Vaughn
Milo's Great Invention

Saturday, 31 December 2016

Top Ten Fiction Books 2016

Top Ten Fiction Books 2016

This was a near record year for my reading. With reading 272 books on my reading list and 268 on Goodreads (Goodreads does not allow you to count books that are reread) it is my second highest year since I started keeping track. Before I get down to my top ten fiction list let’s take a look at some statistics from this year. 

272 Books Read
154 Fiction
118 Non-Fiction
73 Catholic
17 by Chris d’Lacey
16 by Andrew Clements
 7 by Courtney Sheinmel

With 154 books to choose from it was very hard picking just a top ten. 

1.  Sword and Serpent Series – Tarlor R. Marshall
2. We Are All Jacob's Children - Noah ben Shea
3. Kringle - Tony Abbott
4. Flickers - Auhur Slade
5. Erth Dragons – Chris d’Lacey
The Wearle - Dark Wyng
6. The Unicorne Files – Ufiles Trilogy – Chris d’Lacey
7. Troublemaker - Andrew Clements and Mark Elliott
8. Frindle - Andrew Clements
9. Exodus - A.J. Gillette - Geoterra Book 1
10. Stella Batts Needs A New Name - Courtney Sheinmel and Jennifer A. Bell - Stella Batts Book 1

As stated it was no easy task making this list. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Thursday, 29 December 2016

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Fourth Quarter 2016

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Fourth Quarter 2016

This was another great quarter! I was able to read 89 books over the last three months. Just short of a book a day. I read 49 non-fiction and 40 fiction books this quarter. So narrowing it down to a top ten fiction and non-fiction was not an easy task! I have built out an awesome and ever expanding Catholic reading list for 2016. There are some amazing books in this list! Though to be honest working from my favorite and influential books by year list it was very hard to narrow down to the top ten fiction list this quarter. 

Non-Fiction:
1. Father Michael E. Gaitley 33 Days Books
33 Days to Merciful Love: A Do-It-Yourself Retreat in preparation for Marian Consecration 
33 Days to Mornding Glory: A Do-It-Yourself Retreat in Preparation for Marian Consecration 
2. Here. Now. A Catholic Guide to the Good Life - Amy Welborn
3. Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit - Kevin Vost
4. Joseph of Nazareth - Federico Suarez
5. Behold the Man: A Catholic Vision of Male Spirituality - Harold Burke-Sivers
6. The Four Signs of a Dynamic Catholic - Matthew Kelly
7. Finding True Happiness - Fulton J. Sheen
8. Holy Water and its Significance for Catholics - Henry Theiler
9. Cathloics Wake Up! Be a Spiritual Warrior - Jesse Romero
10. Be A Man - Father Larry Richards

Fiction:
1. The Tenth Region of the Night - Taylor R. Marshall - Sword and Serpent Book II
2. The Unicorne Files – Ufiles Trilogy – Chris d’Lacey
3. Dexter's Journey - Chris d'Lacey and David Roberts
4. Dark Wyng - Chris d'Lacey - Erth Dragons Book 2
5. Pawnee Warrior - Chris d'Lacey - Fly Cherokee Fly Book 2
6. Fire Star - Chris d'Lacey - The Last Dragon Chronicles Book 3
7. Superstar - Courtney Sheinmel and Jennifer Bell - Stella Batts Book 8
8. We Hold These Truths - Andrew Clements - Benjamin Pratt and the Keeps of the School Book 5
9. About Average - Andrew Clements
10. A Little Taste of Poison - R.J. Anderson

Looking forward to what the next year will bring, and it is going to be very hard at the end of the year to narrow it down to a final Top 10 Fiction and Non-Fiction of 2016!

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996







Wednesday, 14 December 2016

Lunch Money - Andrew Clements

Lunch Money
Andrew Clements
Brian Selznick (Illustrator) 
Atheneum Books for Young Readers
A Division of Simon and Schuster

ISBN 9780689866852
eISBN 9781442462199
ASIN B007108U1I



This was the 15th book by Andrew Clements that I have read this year. But as an author with over 100 distinct works on Goodreads I have barely scratched the surface. Clements is one of two authors I have discovered in the last year that I have been completely enthralled with, the other is Chris d’Lacey. I have focused mostly on Clements middle grade offerings, and most of the ones I have read are what I would classify as realistic fiction. These are stories you could actually expect to see happen, nothing paranormal, supernatural, magical or that would require a big suspense of belief. They are good down to earth stories that teach lessons, but in a subtle way, in essence they are just great reads. And that is how I would sum up all of the standalone books by Clements that I have read, this one included, it is another great read. 

This book is illustrated by Brian Selznick, now of Hugo Cabret fame. This book is illustrated differently than a number of Andrew Clements books. Rather than a number of full page illustrations this book a far more illustrations but they are all smaller almost thumbnail drawings. The drawings in this book are in many ways indicative of the style used by Greg and Maura in their mini books, their chunky comics. So one can only assume this is intentional. They look like rough pencil sketches but fit the story well. 

As is easily deduced by the title this book has a central theme of money, but not in the way that you would first suspect. Greg Kenton forgets his lunch, and he is short of what he would need to buy lunch at school. When his teacher refuses to lend him the $0.50 he needs to buy lunch she asks the class if someone will help him and a plan is hatched. For Greg realizes that most students have at least 25 cents or more discretionary money at school each day. But is not as simple as being enterprising, and having access to startup money, his first two ideas get squashed pretty quickly. Then He has a great idea and spends a good part of the summer preparing for it. He has plans for a Chunky Comic empire. But Soon things turn sour again when he and his rival, Maura Shaw from across the street end up coming to accidental blows. 

This was another great read by Clements. It was especially interesting following the mind and thinking of a young man slightly obsessed with money, and following the entrepreneurship shown and the economics of scale. It was fun also reading about the long standing rivalry and eventually a possible resolution to hostilities. 

It is another good read from Andrew Clements and I can honestly say it is well worth the read.   

Books by Andrew Clements:
Bird Adalbert
Noah and the Ark and the Animals
Santa's Secret Helper
Temple Cat
Mother Earth's Counting Book
Billy and the Bad Teacher
Who Owns the Cow
Bright Christmas: An Angel Remembers
Frindle 
(Adapter)Philipp's Birthday Book
Riff's BeBop Book
Real Monsters Go for the Mold
Things That Go EEK on Halloween
Real Monsters Stage Fright
Music Time, Any Time
Double Trouble in Walla Walla
Workshop
Gromble's Haunted Halloween
Hey Dad, Could I Borrow Your Hammer
The Landry News
Look Who's in the Thanksgiving Play
The Mouse Family
The Janitor's Boy
Circus Family Dog
The Christmas Kitten
The School Story
Things Not Seen 
The Jacket 
A Week in the Woods
Slippers at Home
Naptime for Slippers
The Report Card
The Last Holiday Concert
Slippers at School
Slippers Loves to Run
A Million Is a Lot of Dots
Lunch Money
Things Hoped For
Room One: A Mystery or Two
No Talking
Things That Are
Lost and Found
Extra Credit
Troublemaker
About Average
The Map Trap
The Friendship War
The Losers Club
...

Pets to the Rescue Series
Ringo Saves the Day!
Brave Norman
Tara and Tiree, Fearless Friends
Delores and the Big Fire

Jake Drake Series
Jake Drake Know-It-All
Jake Drake, Bully Buster
Jake Drake, Teacher's Pet
Jake Drake, Class Clown

Benjamin Pratt and the Keepers of the School Series
We the Children
Fear Itself
The Whites of Their Eyes
In Harm's Way
We Hold These Truths

Reading Program Books
Karen's Island
Three Wishes for Buster
Bill Picket: An American Original, Texas Style
Hurricane Andrew
Ham and Eggs for Jack
Life in the Desert
Desert Treasure
Inventors: Making Things Better, Steck-Vaughn
Milo's Great Invention