--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/CTSBooks As it appears live September 19, 2020 3:17:46 PM UTC

Showing posts with label CTSBooks. Show all posts
Showing posts with label CTSBooks. Show all posts

Monday, 31 August 2020

The Message and Prayers of Fatima - Donal Anthony Foley - CTS Prayers and Devotions

The Message and Prayers of Fatima
Prayers and Devotions
Donal Anthony Foley
Timothy Tindal-Robertson
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781784691394
eISBN 9781784692193
ASIN B072BC3178
CTS Booklet D812


Over the last few years, I have read over 150 volumes from the CTS. I have read books from many series. And many authors. Lately I have read several books that are part of the CTS Devotions and Prayer Series. I have read many in the CTS Biographies and also Saints of the Isles Series, and the Great Saints Series. Prior to that I had only ever read two other books from the CTS and it was by Donal Anthony Foley, Apparitions of Mary, a wonderful volume I picked up on retreat almost 14 years ago.

This is the third volume I have read by Donal Anthony Foley. This book was first published in 2016 and the eBook was released in 2017. It was published for the 100th Anniversary of Fatima. The description of the book is:

“Our Lady’s appeal in 1917 to the three shepherd children of Fatima, for prayer for peace and for a deep conversion of heart, rings out from the site of her apparitions at the world-famous shrine with greater relevance than ever for the people of our times. This is explained in the concise summary of the remarkable developments that have continued up to the present time, which accompanies the Fatima prayers and devotions together with other Marian prayers and reflections that are included in this eBook.”

And the chapters are:
The Centenary of Our Lady of Fatima, 1917-2017 written by Timothy Tindal-Robertson
Fatima Prayers and Devotions compiled by Donal Anthony Foley
Our Lady of Fatima and the Rosary
Acts of Consecration and Reparation
Other Marian Prayers
Novenas to Our Lady of Fatima
Fatima and Immaculate Heart Litanies 
Fatima Hymns

The beginning of the Introduction states:

“The 13th May 2017 is the centenary of Our Lady’s first apparition at Fatima. One hundred years later, it is clear that as a result of recent developments with regard to Our Lady’s message, it has become more relevant than ever, both for the well-being of the Church today as well as for the development of its mission for the salvation of mankind in the years that lie ahead.”

The centenary of Fatima is now a few years behind us. But the message of Fatima and the prayers are just as important today. The collection of prayers are wonderful. This is one of the smallest books I have seen from the Catholic Truth Society. In comes in at 64 pages in the print edition. 

This is a fantastic little volume. Well worth picking up. 

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.


For reviews of other books in the CTS Devotions series click here.

Books by Donal Anthony Foley:
Our Lady and the New Evangelisation
Christian Living: The Spirituality of the Foyers of Charity
Message of Bernadette: Lourdes 2008 - 150th Anniversary of the Apparitions
Understanding Medjugorje: Heavenly Visions or Religious Illusion?
Marian Apparitions, the Bible, and the Modern World
Medjugorje Revisited: 30 Years of Visions or Religious Fraud?

Fiction:
The Glaston Chronicles:
The Secret of Glaston Tor
The Dark Tower






Wednesday, 26 August 2020

Maria Goretti Teenage Martyr for Chastity - Glynn MacNiven-Johnston - CTS 20th Century Martyrs

Maria Goretti: Teenage Martyr for Chastity
CTS 20th Century Martyrs
Glynn MacNiven-Johnston
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 
9781860820250
eISBN 9781784692995
ASIN B072MJC5VR


This was the seventh volume in the CTS 20th Century Martyrs series that I have read. It is also the sixth by Glynn MacNiven-Johnston. Over the last few years, I have read over 150 books and booklets from the Catholic Truth Society. I believe there are eight volumes in this series. And about half of them have eBook editions. This is one that does. I believe there are few Catholic who have not heart at least the name Maria Goretti. And though I knew the name and the basic details I was not aware of the whole story. This volume though small gives that whole story. The description of this volume is:

“In 1902 in an Italian village a young girl, Maria Goretti, was murdered during a sexual attack. Her killer, Alessandro Serenelli, himself a teenager, was a close neighbour well known to her and her family. He had been threatening her for some time. What does it mean, how can it help, to say that she is a virgin and martyr? This is an often misunderstood and sentimentalised story. When many parents and teenagers strive for a balanced view of sexuality, of personal integrity, of Christian family life, and forgiveness to those who do irreparable harm, Maria's story speaks powerfully and authentically. It echoes John Paul's cry to today's youth - 'Do not be afraid to be saints!'”

 This volume was first published in 1997 and the eBook edition was released in 2017. 

The chapters in the volume are:

Saint Maria Goretti
The Goretti Family
Living with Serenellis
Death of Luigi Goretti
Maria’s New Circumstances
First Communion
Troubles with Alessandro
The Day of the Attack
Maria Mortally Wounded
Maria Forgives Alessandro
The Aftermath
Alessandro Serenelli
Alessandro’s Repentance
Beatification and Canonisation
Love is Stronger than Death

The book begins with these words:

“Maria Goretti was an eleven year old girl who, in 1902, was murdered in the course of a frenzied, sexually-motivated attack. She was beatified in 1947, in the face of much cynicism from the secular press who did not believe that a child could have shown that kind of depth of faith and only three years later she was canonised and named patron of youth.

Why is she a saint, recommended to us in the 21st century as a powerful Christian witness? A virgin and a martyr! – but what does that mean, how does it help? This all happened nearly a hundred years ago in an obscure Italian village. It involved an uneducated farm girl and a boy, not that much older than her, who was a close neighbour. Some say that this kind of tragedy happens all the time. What makes this one different?

Maria Goretti’s story touches on several important themes: the dignity of the human person; the objectifying of sexuality; the importance of Christian family life; how an individual and a family can forgive a person who has done them violence and irreparable harm and how Christian love can change someone’s life.”

And further on:

“In an age which demands justice, we are shown that in Christ it is possible to forgive. At a time when no one accepts blame, there is a story of repentance.”

And that is what we find in the biography of this saint. We have an example of Christ. We see in action the turning the other cheek. Carrying the pack a second mile. But this is also the story of her family, that instilled in her a deep faith. And the story of her attacker, and his eventual repentance and changed life.

This book is not an easy read. It is a wonderful witness. An amazing story of Christian virtue, and of forgiveness. Well worth the read.  An excellent volume in an important series.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Books in the 20th Century Martyrs Series:
Sophie Scholl and the White Rose: Resistance to the Nazis - Helena Scott and Ethel Tolansky
Johann Gruber & Jacques Bunel Victims of the Nazis - Helena Scott and Ethel Tolansky
Maximilian Kolbe, F. Jagerstatter, K. Leisner, R. Mayer: Victims of the Nazis - Franz Jagerstatter
Edith Stein, Marcel Callo, Titus Brandsma: Victims of the Nazis – Matthew Monk
Saint Maria Goretti: Teenage Martyr for Chastity - Glynn MacNiven-Johnston
The Atlas Martyrs – Jean Olwen Maynard

Jerzy Popieluszko Victim of Communism - Grazyna Sikorski
Isidore Bankanja - Jean Maynard

...

Books by Glynn MacNiven-Johnston:
Biographies:
Maria Goretti Teenage Martyr
Pier Giorgio Frassati Inspiration for Students
Father Damien Apostle to the Lepers
Martin de Porres

Rita of Cascia 
...

Prayer Books:
Handbook of Novenas for Feasts and Seasons
Devotions to Our Lady of Perpetual Succour
The Infant of Prague
Handbook of Novenas to the Saints: Short Prayers for Needs & Graces
Handbook of Scriptural Novenas: For Various Needs and Intentions
Devotion to St Jude: Patron of Hopeless Cases

...








Tuesday, 18 August 2020

Saint Joseph Prayers and Devotions - Donal Anthony Foley - CTS Devotions

Saint Joseph Prayers and Devotions
CTS Devotions
Donal Anthony Foley
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 
9781860829109
CTS Booklet D772


Over the last few years, I have read over 150 volumes from the CTS. I have read books from many series. And many authors. Lately I have read several books that are part of the CTS Devotions and Prayer Series. Prior to that I had only ever read one book from the CTS and it was by Donal Anthony Foley, Apparitions of Mary, a wonderful volume I picked up on retreat almost 14 years ago. When doing research for a different review and I came across this book. I had to track it down and read it. And it did not disappoint. The description of the volume is:

“The booklet will help deepen love for St Joseph bringing him closer to the everyday needs, concerns and joys of all. Explaining the effects of devotion to St Joseph over the centuries, the booklet is a practical and simple way for people to foster a devotional spirit and can be used individually or in parish groups.”

And the jacket blurb states:

“The statues and paintings in Catholic churches and chapels are an aid to prayer and devotion for everyone. 

This booklet explains the origin of devotion to St joseph, and his importance in our everyday life and on our journey of faith.

The best loved litanies, novenas, devotions and hymns are included to encourage a prayerful visit to Jesus’s foster-father and a mind and heart lifted up to God.”

Over the last few years as I have aged, and as my children are growing, I have found myself drawn to Saint Joseph again and again. I have read several books about him, and prayer a few different prays for his intercession daily. And even with all the books and booklets I have already read about Saint Joseph I was very happy to have read this little work, and to have it now sitting in my bedside table. 

The chapters in this volume are:

Origins and Importance of the Devotion
     St Joseph’s role in the infancy narratives
     Devotion to Saint Joseph

Prayers and devotions to be said in front of the statue/icon.
     Readings from the Feasts of Saint Joseph
     Prayers to St Joseph
     Prayers to St Joseph, patron of the dying
     Novenas and Meditation in honour of St Joseph
     Hymns to St Joseph
     Prayers of consecration to St Joseph

The first part of this volume is a brief history and introduction. And then there are many prayers. The booklet can be used for personal devotion or for communion prayers. It is a wonderful little volume. This booklet should be in every Catholic home, or the desk of every Catholic man. At the end of the book it recommends Companion to Saint Joseph by J.B. Midgley and The Role of a Christian Father by Keith Chappell. Both of which are excellent volumes to pursue along side this one. Even with everything else I have read about Saint Joseph I found this book of great worth. I highly recommend this book and will be pursuing other offerings from the pen of Donal Anthony Foley. A great read, I encourage you to track it down and pray your way through it.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.


For reviews of other books in the CTS Devotions series click here.



Books by Donal Anthony Foley:
Our Lady and the New Evangelisation
Christian Living: The Spirituality of the Foyers of Charity
Message of Bernadette: Lourdes 2008 - 150th Anniversary of the Apparitions
Understanding Medjugorje: Heavenly Visions or Religious Illusion?
Marian Apparitions, the Bible, and the Modern World
Medjugorje Revisited: 30 Years of Visions or Religious Fraud?

Fiction:
The Glaston Chronicles:
The Secret of Glaston Tor
The Dark Tower







Monday, 17 August 2020

Fathers and Writers of the First Millennium - Pope Benedict XVI - The Spiritual Masters

Fathers and Writers of the First Millennium
The Spiritual Masters
Pope Benedict XVI
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781860827228
CTS Booklet B739


I love reading books from the Catholic Truth Society, and I love reading books by and about Pope Benedict XVI.  And this volume combines both those passions. Over the last few years I have read over 100 books and booklets from the Catholic Truth Society. And several volumes by or about Pope Benedict XVI. The description of the book is:

“The ten catechisms in this richly illustrated volume take us back to the historical period immediately following the first Fathers of the Church.  Each of the Spiritual Masters described by Pope Benedict left their own mark on the Church’s culture and spirituality and helped in her growth.

John Climacus describes the ladder to heaven famously depicted in many icons but also present in the practical counsels he passes on to us in his writings. Bede the Venerable reminds us of the centrality of the Sacred Scriptures as a constant source of theological reflection.  St. Boniface, Apostle to the Germans and a great organizer, founded the monastery of Fulda in 743 which became the heart and the centre from which a new spiritual and religious culture spread.  A less well known writer from Provence was Ambrose Autpert, who transmits across the centuries his precious theological work on the struggle between good and evil; he was a great defender of sacred images and of the Assumption of Our Lady.  John Damascene was a figure of great importance in the history of the Universal Church and the Byzantine theology.  St. Theodore the Studite bore a vivid and coherent witness to Jesus in turbulent times. Rabanus Maurus was a monk whose writings help put us into contact with the wisdom of the ancients.  John Scotus Erigena excelled as a notable thinker and patriotic scholar.  Sts Cyril and Methodius were brothers united both in the Faith and blood who together committed their lives to missionary work and to sanctity.”

And the chapters are:
John Climacus
Bede the Venerable
Saint Boniface
Ambrose Autpert
Germanus of Constantinople
John Damascene
Saint Theodore the Studite
Rabanus Maurus
John Scotus Erigena
Saints Cyril and Methodius

The English edition of this book released in 2011, it is a translation from Italian that was released in 2009. There is a companion volume Spiritual Masters: Medieval Fathers and Writers that was released the same year. Both are currently out of print. And I am still trying to track down the second volume. This volume was an excellent read. And one I plan to return to and read again. It is also different than many of the books I read from the Catholic Truth Society.  It is a beautiful hard cover volume. With full glossy pages. Aver few pages is a 2 page color print, and often single pages prints of classic artwork. There are 26 illustrations in total and 5 of those are two page spreads. Each chapter is a translation of an audience given between 11th February 2009 and 17th June that same year. These ten reflections go deep into the fathers, their lives, and their meaning for us today. They each are examples to us today. 

I seldom keep physical books. I tend to pass them on to others. But this book is a pleasure to read and view that it has gone on my shelf of keepers. 

This is an excellent volume and well worth tracking down. 





Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.


Books by Benedict XVI:

Friday, 14 August 2020

A Newman Prayer Book - The Birmingham Oratory - CTS Devotions

A Newman Prayer Book
The Birmingham Oratory (Editor)
John Henry Newman
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 
9781860826696
eISBN 9781784694265
CTS Booklet D729


Over the last few years, I have read many books from the Catholic Truth Society. This is one of a few either by or about Saint John Henry Cardinal Newman that I have read from the CTS. With his canonization in 2019 there has been a resurgence of interest in the man and his works. There are new editions of older books, and new works being published frequently. This volume was originally published in the early 2010. It was revised and the eBook was released in 2017. The physical volume has been updated again after his canonization in 2019. Many of the CTS books by and about Newman are back in print in new editions. But this one is currently only available as an electronically in some formats, and the new print edition.

The description of the book is:

“The canonisation of St John Henry Newman has led, perhaps more than ever, to a need for a simple Newman prayer book. This selection of brief extracts from Cardinal Newman’s Meditations and Devotions will introduce people to the mind and spirit of Newman, and enable many to participate in the Church’s joy. This selection of extracts has been arranged so that there is a prayer for each day of the month. Two morning and evening prayers, taken from his unpublished writings, are also included. A novena composed from Newman’s writings, allowing people to pray through Newman’s intercession, completes the prayer book.

Compiled by the Fathers of the Oratory, Birmingham.”

The chapters in the book are:

Preface
John Henry Newman, 1801-1890
Morning Prayers
Evening Prayers
Prayers for each day of the month
Lead Kindly Light
Prayer for the Light of Truth
Novena
Prayer for Canonisation

We are told in the preface to the unrevised eBook edition that:

“Thanks to the Catholic Truth Society this selection of prayers and meditations by John Henry Newman is, in time for his beatification, being made available in this new edition. These are the prayers that helped make Newman a saint. They certainly make his sanctity clear to us.”

We are also told:

“These prayers give us a unique entry into the prayer life of a saint, the words of his heart as he spoke to the Heart of God. They draw us, so to speak, into the conversation, and invite us to make the prayers our own. So while John Henry Newman’s heart speaks to God, his heart also speaks to ours.

In his life, John Henry Newman was a friend, teacher and priest to many people. And it is still so for us today. We recognise him as a friend, because his concerns are ours as well. We know him to be a teacher because he leads us always to a deeper knowledge of the truth. And we find him still to be a priest, through his prayer for us. In short, heart speaks to heart.

I hope that many will find a friend, a teacher and a priest in these words of the soon to be Blessed, John Henry Newman.”

These words by Father Richard Duffield, Provost of the Birmingham oratory set the tone and expectation for the volume. It is a wonderful little volume. I particularly enjoyed the prayers for each day of the month. 31 prayers that encompass a lot in the spiritual life. They will encourage, motivate, challenge and console. The novena was for his canonization but can still be used as a novena to the now canonized saint. 

I find that the more I read about and by Saint John henry Newman the more I appreciate him. His dedication to education, and his deep spiritual life. He was a voice of reason in a turbulent time. And his is a voice we should be harkening to today. I am thankful to have the eBook of this on my phone so it is always with me. Great prayers by a great man of God. 

It is another excellent volume in the canon of Newman works. And another great resource from the Catholic Truth Society.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.


Reviews of other books by John Henry Newman:
Stations of the Cross

Meditations on Mary, Our Mother 
Prayers Before The Eucharist
...

CTS books about Newman:
John Henry Newman: Lead Kindly Light -Dr. Raymond Edwards
Newman His Life and Legacy – Fr. Ian Ker
John Henry Newman Apostle to the Doubtful - Meriol Trevor and Leonie Caldecott
Newman Prayer Book - The Birmingham Oratory (ed)
The Mind of Cardinal Newman: From His Own Writings - Charles Stephen Dessain

Daily Christian Living with John Henry Newman


CTS Books by John Henry Newman:
Meditations on Stations of the Cross
Christ upon the Waters - CTS Onefifties Book 3


Reviews of other books about Newman:
Take Five: Meditations with John Henry Newman -  Mike Aquilina and Juan Velez















Wednesday, 12 August 2020

First Fridays and First Saturdays The Devotions Explained - Catholic Truth Society - CTS Devotions

First Fridays & First Saturdays: The Devotions Explained
CTS Devotions
J.B. Midgley
Fr Richard Whinder
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781860825088
eISBN 9781784692186
ASIN B071V83RF2
CTS Booklet D694


I have come to love and depend on the books from the Catholic Truth Society. Over the last few years, I have read over 150 books, and booklets from the CTS. I have may series I love, and many authors who have published with CTS. Ad the CTS Devotions Series is one of the best. The booklet is published without an official author but the description gives thanks to Fr Richard Whinder and Mr Barry Midgley for their assistance in preparing the booklet. Barry Midgley published most of his works under the name J.B. Midgley. Speaking of description the description of this volume is:

“These well-known devotions each have a fascinating origin and history, linked to apparitions of Jesus and Mary: the first to Margaret Mary Alacoque (1673-75) and the second to the three children at Fatima (1917). This booklet sets out how to pray these devotions, and offers helpful guidance as to their value, origins and purpose.

These devotions to the Sacred Heart of Jesus and to the Immaculate Heart of Mary can readily be seen as relevant to today as they have been in the past. New material on the Rosary and Confessions is included, along with the other traditional elements of the devotions.

CTS is grateful to Fr Richard Whinder and Mr Barry Midgley for their assistance in preparing this booklet.”

And the chapters in this book are:

Introduction
The devotion of the First Fridays in honour of the Sacred Heart of Jesus
      Guide to a good Confession
      Receiving Holy Communion devoutly
      Making a Holy Hour
The devotion of the First Saturdays in honour of the Immaculate Heart of Mary
      The Rosary
       ‘Meditating on the Mysteries’
      Other prayers to Our Lady
A note on indulgences

The section o ‘Other Prayers to Our Lady’ has a small collection of 10 Marian prayers. This book is a wonderful little read. We are told in the introduction:

“‘Devotions’ are popular prayers which are not part of the Church’s official liturgy but which flow from the liturgy and in their turn help us to participate in it more fully. The Church encourages these devotions, and in the year 2001 published a document entitled The Directory on Popular Piety and the Liturgy, to foster these popular customs and ensure that they conform to the authentic spirit of the Gospel.”

And later:

“It is to be hoped that this little book may encourage these two devotions anew, and lead many more Christians to discover the riches that can be found there.”

This book delivers on that hope. I was blessed to have read and this book and know that I will read it again and again. I should not have been surprised by Midgley’s contributions to this volume. The style and writing was very familiar. This is another excellent read from the Catholic Truth Society. I highly recommend this little volume, if you already practice these two devotions It will provide you with some more information and ideas for these practices. If you are not it will help you to learn the history of them, and likely inspire you to give them a try. A fantastic read.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

For other books in the CTS Devotions Series click here.


Books by J.B. Midgley:

Advent & Christmastide with the Saints
Antonio Rosmini
Benedict - Patron of Europe
Bernard of Clairvaux – CTS Great Saints
Charles Borromeo  - CTS Great Saints
Companion to St. Joseph
Companion to the Feasts of Mary
Companion to Saint Peter
Companion to Saint Paul
Companion to the Angels
Companion to the Feasts of Our Lord
Companion to the Passion of Our Lord
Dominic - CTS Great Saints
George: Patron of England - CTS Great Saints
Dewi Sant: St David Patron of Wales
Francis de Sales – CTS Great Saints
John Baptist de La Salle – CTS Great Saints
John Vianney – CTS Great Saints
Lent with the Saints
Nurturing the Young
Robert Bellarmine
Saint John the Baptist 
Stations of the Cross and Resurrection with the Saints
The Eucharist with the Saints
The Four Evangelists
Thomas Becket – CTS Saints of the Isles
Vincent de Paul – CTS Great Saints
Witchcraft, Sorcery and Magic


Contributed to:
First Fridays and First Saturdays The Devotions Explained 
...








Wednesday, 29 July 2020

Author profile and Interview with Glynn MacNiven-Johnston

Author profile and Interview with Glynn MacNiven-Johnston


I have read several books by Glynn MacNiven-Johnston and have picked up a number of others to read. I reached out to her through The Catholic Truth Society, which has published all her works to date. When I reached out across the pond to see if she would do an interview, she made an off hand remark about not really being an author. But I have found the books of hers that I have read to be of great spiritual value. And Wished to proceed with the interview to highlight this woman and her works.

1. When did you know you wanted to be a writer? How are you nurturing that dream?

To be honest I never thought of becoming a writer, but I wrote a lot of letters when I was a child - to family, and to pen pals which was popular in those days.

2. Who were some of the biggest supporters of your writing?

The CTS encouraged me in that they commissioned me several times.

3. What authors influenced your writing style and format?

I was really influenced by being a teacher of English as a Foreign Language. 

I try to be clear and concise. Raymond Edwards (a real author) with whom I collaborated on some prayer books has always helped with editing my work and lamenting my horrible punctuation.

4. Your books are mainly in two genres, prayer books and biographies. What caused you to focus on those two types?

I was working as manager of the CTS Bookshop (a long story). The CTS had a work experience student doing a project who suggested a biography of Maria Goretti. The CTS asked me to write it. (Why me is another long story). I wasn’t too keen at first as I thought Maria Goretti really mushy but discovered that her story is not only inspiring but surprisingly modern. I was surprised at how helpful biographies were. 

So, I went on from there trying to make things relevant to a modern audience. Some I was asked to write. Some I chose. St Damien de Veuster is a hero of mine - for his good works and energy of course but also because he started out rough and impatient which is helpful to those of us who are not by nature saintly.

From there I saw the kind of books my customers were buying and thought the CTS could do better ones- the Infant of Prague for example. I also learned not to dismiss all the old devotions and tried to make them accessible to the less pious.

5. Writing is not your day job, what is it that keeps you busy when you are not writing? 

Last year I started work at Westminster Cathedral Shop but then lockdown happened. My day is taken up with Zoom meetings, praying on the phone etc.

6. What does your writing process look like? Takes us through the steps from idea to publishing?

I try to read everything I can about a person and then ask myself - Why should I care about this person? Then I do several drafts and hope it comes together. I have only written short booklets, so I try to keep to the main points. If I am writing a novena to a saint, I look at the problems and experiences they had in life and ask their intercession in those areas.

7. What is your favorite book that you have written and why?

Fr Damien. As I said he is a hero of mine. When I was about 4 years old my Presbyterian grandmother took me to church and in the children’s Sunday School, I saw a slide show of his life and I’ve been devoted ever since. Odd, I know, that I should meet him there, but Robert Louis Stevenson introduced him to the Scottish public.

8. What books are currently in progress for you? Writing, researching, planning or even just ideas that you would like to work on?

I am not writing anything at the moment.

9. If you could write only one more book, what topic would you want to write on? 

I have nothing in mind.

10. You have written about several novena’s, what is your favorite novena?

I like A Handbook of Scriptural Novenas that Raymond Edwards and I wrote. I am happy we were able to pray using lives of biblical characters I think I like the novena to St Martha best though to be honest i can’t remember if it was me that wrote it!

11. Of all the devotions you have written about what is your favorite devotion?

As above.

12. If there was a single prayer you could recommend to my readers that they might not know what prayer would you recommend?

I pray the Jesus Prayer every day: 

Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, Have mercy on me a Sinner.

13. Some of your books are available in electronic formats but with that comes bootleg distribution. What are your impressions of eBooks and the distribution of them through torrents and other illegal means?

The copyright of my work is retained by the Catholic Truth Society, so I leave it to them.

14. Some authors monitor torrent sites and contact them to remove their content. Do you do so are have someone do so for you?

See above.

15. What were some of your favorite books and authors when you were younger?

When I was a child, I read all the children’s and other classics - thanks to the local library endowed by Andrew Carnegie and to Blackie, a publisher who produced simplified forms of Dickens, the Brontes etc.

I was very fond of Anne of Green Gables and read the whole series several times. 

16. What were some of your favorite authors in your teen years who helped shape you?

In my teens I read translations of foreign classics but also a lot of things about misery especially Thomas Hardy.

17. What are some of your favorite books and authors now?

I like to relax by reading detective stories, but I prefer those where I learn something too but not ones with interminable opinions from the author. At the moment I am reading books by Jonathan Dunsky set in 1950’s Israel and Cay Rademacher set in 1940’s Berlin.

As for religious books I am very taken with Brand Pitre and Scott Hahn (despite the annoying puns). I have also found Caryl Houselander very inspiring.

18. I once had a university professor state that the true goal of a university education should be to teach one to learn how to think. What would you state should be the goal of higher education and why?

I am shocked by the shutting down of debate and the totalitarian persecution of dissent. I think students should learn to put ideas in context, think round them, see how they work in practice and only then decide whether they want to take a position.

19. If you were stuck on a desert island and could only have 10 books to read again and again, what books would you want with you?

I am assuming we already have the Bible and the Complete Works of Shakespeare. That’s usually in the rules.

I am not a patient person so I like short books but then I might have a lot of time on a desert island so long ones would be better! I certainly want to choose hopeful ones a mixture then of long, short, hopeful and helpful in no particular order.

1 Tolkein - Raymond Edwards
2 The Eternal Woman - Gertrud von le Fort
3 The Reed of God - Caryl Houselander
4 Grimms Fairytales 
5 The White Ram - Isaac Beshevis Singer
6 Poems and Fables - Robert Henryson
7 A Father who keeps his promises - Scott Hahn
8 Persuasion - Jane Austen
9 Enchanted April - Elizabeth Von Arnim
10 The Hidden Face - Ida Görres

20. What advice would you give to young aspiring authors and artists?

Decide why you are writing and then follow through.

There you have Glynn MacNiven-Johnston in her own words. If you have not read one of her biographies or her devotional booklets you owe it to yourself to check them out. 

Books by Glynn MacNiven-Johnston:
Biographies:
Maria Goretti Teenage Martyr
Pier Giorgio Frassati Inspiration for Students
Father Damien Apostle to the Lepers
Martin de Porres

Rita of Cascia 
...

Prayer Books:
Handbook of Novenas for Feasts and Seasons
Devotions to Our Lady of Perpetual Succour
The Infant of Prague
Handbook of Novenas to the Saints: Short Prayers for Needs & Graces
Handbook of Scriptural Novenas: For Various Needs and Intentions
Devotion to St Jude: Patron of Hopeless Cases