--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/CTSChristianShrines As it appears live September 27, 2020 11:54:07 PM UTC

Showing posts with label CTSChristianShrines. Show all posts
Showing posts with label CTSChristianShrines. Show all posts

Thursday, 16 May 2019

Poland: A Pilgrim's Companion - David Baldwin - CTS Christian Shrines Series

Poland: A Pilgrim's Companion
CTS Christian Shrines Series
David Baldwin
Catholic Truth Society

ISBN 9781784691004
CTS Booklet D805


This book was a complete surprise to me. I read it because of the authors and the series. I have read over 75 books from the Catholic Truth Society in just over the last year. I can honestly say I had never thought of pilgrimage to Poland. Even with all the great saints that have come from there, it literally never crossed my mind. But after reading this volume, if money was not an issue, I could see myself going there for an extended trip or for several trips. David Baldwin immerses the reader in so many places, and many saints. This book is an incredible read. 

This is the eleventh volume in the CTS Christian Shrines series that I have read. I approached this volume with completely new eyes. I have personally had an interest in Pilgrimage, for as long as I can remember. I have written about personal pilgrimage, and previously written about my desire for pilgrimage. I have a university degree in Religious Studies with a specialization in Roman Catholic Thought I would have loved to have had books from this series, and many from the CTS catalog to use as resources during my schooling. But back to this specific volume on Pilgrimage to Poland. 

The sections in this book are: 
Why Poland
     A Catholic Country
     Variety of pilgrim destinations
     People
     Geography
     A turbulent history
     Christianity
     World Wars
     Practical Thoughts
     Mercy and Reconciliation
Krakow and the Royal Cathedral
     Krakow
     Wawel Hill
     The Royal Cathedral
     First Impressions
     Once Inside
     Zygmunt Bell Tower
     Altar of Jesus Crucified
     Meditation before a Crucifix
     Side chapels and monuments
     Zygmunt Chapel
     Crypts
The Old Town of Krakow
     Our lady of the Assumption
     Meditation
     Visitors’ section
     The Church of St Barbara
     The Church of St Adalbert
     Contrasting churches
     The Dominican church of the Holy Trinity
     The Franciscan church of St Francis of Assisi
     The Church of St Andrew’s
Sanctuary of the Divine Mercy and the John Paul II Centre
     Foundation
     The Basilica
     Meditation
     Chaplet to the Divine Mercy
     Adoration Chapel
     Adoration Meditation
     Convent chapel
     Meditation
     Prayer
     John Paul II Centre
Around and About Krakow
     Nowa Huta
     Arka Pana
     Inside
     Church dedicated to St Maximillian Kolbe
     Contrasting churches
     Cistercian Abby at Mogila
     The Church of St Bartholomew
     Benedictine Monastery at Tyniec
     The Salt Mines
     St Kinga’s Chapel
Kalwaria Sanctuary and Wadowice
     Kalwaria
     Our Lady of the Angels
     Calvary Way
     Wadowice
     Basilica of the Presentation
     Side chapels
     Museum
     The Church of St Peter the Apostle
     Three places worth a visit
     Warsaw
     Lichen
     Zakopane
Our Lady of Czestochowa
     The Black Madonna
     Monastery
     Chapel of Our Lady of Czestochowa
     Act of Consecration
     The Basilica
     Unusual Stations of the Cross
Auschwitz
     Meditation
     Oswiecim
     Auschwitz II and III
     Unknown Numbers
     Auschwitz I
     Grim Displays
     The Children
     Prayer
     Black II
     Meditation
     Crematorium
     Prayer
     Meditation
     Birkenau
     Victims’ Monument
     Meditation – Kaddish – Jewish prayer for the Dead
     Centre for Information, Meetings, Dialogue, 
          Education and Prayer:
     The Carmelite convent
     The Parish of the Franciscan Friars
Mercy and Reconciliation

As can bee seen there is a lot of content in just over 100 pages of this book. This book refers to several other Books from CTS, specifically books about some of the Saints of Poland or the concentration camps. It was a book that inspired me to prayer. It was a book that has sparked an interest in this country, and the faith of the people there. I want to see pictures of many of the places highlighted in this pilgrimage book. I know I will reread this book and pray my way through it again soon. And it has sparked a quest for knowledge about this country, the churches, the shrines, and the Saints. In my opinion the only drawback is this book only comes in a physical format, many of the books in the series are available as eBooks and I really wish this was one of them. 

This is another great book in an excellent series. Maybe the best of the series.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Other Books in the CTS Christian Shrines Series:
Message of Assisa
Message of Fatima
Message of Guadalupe
Message of Walsingham
Santiago: Santiago de Compostela - The Pilgrim Way of St James
The Message of Carmel at Aylesford

Pilgrim’s Companions:
Why Pilgrimage?
Fatima - A Pilgrim's Companion
Glastonbury - A Pilgrim's Companion
Holy Land - A Pilgrim's Companion
Lisieux - A Pilgrim's Companion
Poland: A Pilgrim's Companion
Rome - A Pilgrim's Companion









Tuesday, 12 March 2019

Fatima: A Pilgrim's Companion - David Baldwin - CTS Christian Shrines Series

Fatima: A Pilgrim's Companion
CTS Christian Shrines Series
David Baldwin
Catholic Truth Society

ISBN 9781784691493
eISBN 9781784692100
ASIN B072L45VCV
CTS Booklet D816


This book was of interested to me for a few reasons. First last year was the 100th anniversary of the aspirations. Second our parish here in Canada has a replica statue of Our lady of Fatima that was blessed by Saint John Paul II. And it is the tenth book in the CTS Christian Shrines series that I have read. I might have approached this volume in a more critical way than others in the series. I have had a personal interest in Pilgrimage, for nearly as long as I can remember. I have written about personal pilgrimage, and previously written about my desire for pilgrimage. I hold a university degree in Religious Studies with a specialization in Roman Catholic Thought I would have loved to have had this book, other in this series, and many from the CTS catalog to use as resources during my schooling. There is a lot to love about this book, and this series. I really appreciate that the book can be used as a guide to plan and physically partake in a pilgrimage. Or this book allows us to virtually go on tour to Fatima, but only after a grate overview of the history. I strongly recommend this wonderful series and specifically this wonderful volume. 

The chapters in this volume are:
Foreword
Fatima - Introduction
Events, People and Apparitions
The Sanctuary
Outside the Sanctuary
Aftermath

But the focus of this book is not the logistics of planning and doing a pilgrimage. Instead this one focuses on more on the history and spirituality. David states:

“It is not a guide book in the conventional sense of giving comprehensive specific details of events, accommodation or travel times - these tend to change and fluctuate over time and season, and this type of information is given in other publications or relevant internet sites. Some major organisations and contacts regarding Fatima are listed at the back of the book.”

David Baldwin declares:

“It is a story of many layers. From the initial telling by simple, uneducated children, striving to articulate, be consistent, and having the courage to stand by the incredible supernatural happenings that they had witnessed; to the Church’s and the State’s reaction; to the response of the people of Portugal; and, in the longer term, of world history. It is a story still underlain with speculation, enigma - and enduring mystery.”

And that is the sense we come away with from this book, this apparition of our lady. The historical, the social and the ongoing impact. This guide is written in such a way that it tells the story. We are drawn into the original events. Have a wonderful telling of visiting the Sanctuary in Fatima today. The book is interspersed with prayers and meditations. They can be used while on pilgrimage or as a resource for personal prayer. I really appreciated the section on the Fatima Parish, Our lady of Joys, I find it helps root the larger churches and grounds in the history of the events. In the chapter Aftermath there is a section called ‘Heading Home’, it has some great advice for pilgrims as they are preparing for the trip home and once they are there. It helps them to take the high of the pilgrimage and incorporate it in their life once the trip is over. 

At the end of the volume is an extensive list of contacts, web links, and bibliography for reference. Including fie other books from the Catholic Truth Society on Fatima.

A great book in an excellent series.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Other Books in the CTS Christian Shrines Series:
Message of Assisa
Message of Fatima
Message of Guadalupe
Message of Walsingham
Santiago: Santiago de Compostela - The Pilgrim Way of St James
The Message of Carmel at Aylesford

Pilgrim’s Companions:
Why Pilgrimage?
Fatima - A Pilgrim's Companion
Glastonbury - A Pilgrim's Companion
Holy Land - A Pilgrim's Companion
Lisieux - A Pilgrim's Companion
Poland: A Pilgrim's Companion
Rome - A Pilgrim's Companion







Monday, 25 February 2019

Santiago de Compostela: The Pilgrim Way of St James - David Baldwin - CTS Christian Shrines Series

Santiago de Compostela: The Pilgrim Way of St James
CTS Christian Shrines Series
David Baldwin
Catholic Truth Society

ISBN 9781860821073
eISBN 9781784693176
ASIN B072XRSL15
CTS Booklet D763


I have now read books from the CTS Christian Shrines Series 12 times over the last few months. I have been absolutely loving this series. So far, I have been focusing on the two main styles of books. Pilgrimage companions and books focusing on the message from the shrine. And have been alternating back and forth between the two types. But I had some trepidation about reading this volume. For I have always had a specific interest in the Way of Saint James. I did a fourth year seminar when in university on this pilgrimage, and have read extensively on it previously. But I should not have been concerned for I have loved all the books in the CTS Christian Shrines Series that I have read and this one is one of the best. I have long had an interest in Pilgrimage. I have written about personal pilgrimage, and desire for pilgrimage previously. But of the books I have read in the series this one is different than any of the others. 

This volume is part history. It is a history of pilgrimage and specifically Santiago de Compostela. It is also part prayer books with a collection of prayers for before, during and even after pilgrimage. But it is also part personal journal. In this volume there are dated entries by David Baldwin on his path and pilgrimage along this route. The actual chapters in the book are:

Preface
Pilgrim Ways
Saint James the Greater and Santiago de Compostela
Iter Sancti Jacobi
Le Chemin de Saint-Jacques
El Camino de Santiago
Pilgrimage Reflections and Devotions

In the introduction the Ambassador to the Court of St James states: 

“A debt of gratitude is certainly owed to the author, David Baldwin, for providing such a scholarly and fascinating book which will help both seasoned pilgrim and attract those who have still to make the journey.”

And that really is a great summary of this book. It is an excellent work. It could serve as a great guide for those who wish to learn more about this pilgrimage. It could be used for study or meditation.  Or just as an introduction. 

I have been loving this series, and as stated this is one of the best in the series. There are also several other books from CTS that could support your quest for knowledge on pilgrimages and Christian shrines. But this volume on Santiago is a wonderful read. I look forward to exploring more in the Christian Shrines Series. And highly recommend this wonderful series and specifically this book on the Pilgrim Way of Saint James.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Other Books in the CTS Christian Shrines Series:
Message of Assisa
Message of Fatima
Message of Guadalupe
Message of Walsingham
Santiago: Santiago de Compostela - The Pilgrim Way of St James
The Message of Carmel at Aylesford

Pilgrim’s Companions:
Why Pilgrimage?
Fatima - A Pilgrim's Companion
Glastonbury - A Pilgrim's Companion
Holy Land - A Pilgrim's Companion
Lisieux - A Pilgrim's Companion
Poland: A Pilgrim's Companion
Rome - A Pilgrim's Companion









Friday, 15 February 2019

Rome: A Pilgrim's Companion - David Baldwin - CTS Christian Shrines Series

Rome: A Pilgrim's Companion
CTS Christian Shrines Series
David Baldwin
Catholic Truth Society

ISBN 9781860823251
eISBN 9781784693077
ASIN B071GBTX5H
CTS Booklet D676


This is the sixth book in the CTS Christian Shrines Series that I have read. I have long had an interest in Pilgrimage. I have written about personal pilgrimage, and desire for pilgrimage previously. While in university doing a Religious Studies Degree with a specialization in Roman Catholic Thought I would have loved to have had this book, other in this series, and many from the CTS catalogue. I love a lot about this book, and this series. I love that the book can be used as a guide to plan and execute a pilgrimage. I have never been to Rome, and it is unlikely I ever will. This book allows me to virtually go on tour to Rome. I have read this book once and used adaptive technology and listed to it after finishing reading it. Having done several courses in both church and art history, while listening to this book I just closed my eyes and went on pilgrimage in my mind. I also love learning about the history, the devotion, and the prayers associated with Christian shrines. And Rome is one of the most important sites in Catholic tradition. And in this specific volume I love the prayers scattered throughout the text. I have copied a few into my journal and plan to use them often. David has written many of the books in this series and this one is one of the best so far.  The book is written to be a companion for visiting the eternal city but can be read an enjoyed even if you never plan to make it to Rome. The sections in this volume are:

Rome - The Eternal City
The Beginning
     Domine Quo Vadis?
     The Catacombs
     Three Special Places
Rome Today
     Weekly Events
     The Vatican
St Peter’s Basilica
     Some History
     Ground Level
     Below Ground
     Above Ground
Our Lady In Rome
     St Mary Major
     Four Historical Marian Churches
Pilgrimage To The Seven Churches
     St Paul’s Outside The Walls
     Basilica Of St Sebastian
     St John Lateran
     The Holy Cross In Jerusalem
     St Lawrence Outside The Walls
The Saints In Rome
Journey’s End
Suggested Itineraries
Rome - A Timeline
Index

This volume begins with these words:

“There is no other place in the world such as Rome that portrays the story of Christianity - and the human condition - on such an expansive and vivid, yet compact tapestry. It presents a wealth of physical evidence reaching back through the millennia, and in so doing, evokes many emotions, rekindles many memories, and brings to light fresh sentiments and perspectives about one’s Christian faith, as seen through the places, people and events - past and present - that drove it forward, and continues to do so, in such a powerful and enduring manner.”

And that is the sense the reader gets from this volume. It is part travel guide, part art history, and part prayer book. For those planning on going to Rome, you can follow specific plans outlined in this volume, or you can pick and choose and build your own tour based on the information contained within. It also has clear information of specific events that take place and when that would be of interest. There are three separate pilgrim paths you could choose to follow: Our Lady in Rome, The Pilgrimage to the Seven Churches, and The Saints in Rome.

At the end of the volume is a brief timeline of Rome. And an excellent index. The index has three sections, Index of Churches and Basilicas, Index of Places, and an Index of People. When you consider the information presented in this volume and how it is presented, and combine that with the prayers and meditations throughout the book, it is in many ways an essential guide for those going in person to Rome, and a wonderful resource for those of us who will experience Rome through the book alone.

The CTS Christian Shrines Series seems to have two main styles of books. Pilgrimage companions and books focusing on the message from the shrine. This book is from the first category. And from the three I have read so far the best yet. There are also numerous other books from CTS that could support your quest for knowledge on pilgrimages and Christian shrines. This was a wonderful read, and I look forward to exploring more in the Christian Shrines Series. And highly recommend this wonderful series and specifically this excellent volume. 

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Other Books in the CTS Christian Shrines Series:
Message of Assisa
Message of Fatima
Message of Guadalupe
Message of Walsingham
Santiago: Santiago de Compostela - The Pilgrim Way of St James
The Message of Carmel at Aylesford

Pilgrim’s Companions:
Why Pilgrimage?
Fatima - A Pilgrim's Companion
Glastonbury - A Pilgrim's Companion
Holy Land - A Pilgrim's Companion
Lisieux - A Pilgrim's Companion
Poland: A Pilgrim's Companion
Rome - A Pilgrim's Companion







Thursday, 7 February 2019

Glastonbury: A Pilgrim's Companion - David Baldwin - CTS Christian Shrines Series

Glastonbury: A Pilgrim's Companion
CTS Christian Shrines Series
David Baldwin
Catholic Truth Society

ISBN 9781860828805
eISBN 9781784694074
ASIN B073H1RGPB
CTS Booklet D763


This is now the fourth book in the CTS Christian Shrines Series that I have read. I have long had an interest in Pilgrimage. I have written about personal pilgrimage, and desire for pilgrimage previously. While in university doing a Religious Studies Degree with a specialization in Roman Catholic Thought I would have loved to have had this book, other in this series, and many from the CTS catalogue. This book would have been a great resource for two specific courses: ‘Sacred Spaces’ and ‘Faith Quests’. What I love about this series and specifically this book, is learning about shrines that I am less familiar with. I love learning about the history, the devotion, and the prayers associated with Christian shrines. David has written many of the books in this series and this one is another great little read. The book is written to be a companion for visiting the shrine but can be read an enjoyed even if you never plan to make it to Glastonbury. The sections in this volume are:

Foreword
Glastonbury
Setting the Scene
The Abbey
The Restored Shrine of Our Lady of Glastonbury
The Tor
Other Places of Interest

For those who plan to visit Glastonbury the last chapter will be of specific interest. As this section contains 18 locations of interest associated with Glastonbury and in and about the surrounding region. But in the forward rhe Right Reverend Dom Charles Fitzgerald-Lombard states:

“This welcome Pilgrim’s Companion is much more than a guide. The tenth in David Baldwin’s series on Christian Shrines, it manages to combine a poetic, almost mystical narrative, beautifully encapsulating the spirit of the place, with a minimum of tourists’ directives, ensuring that the pilgrim neither loses the way nor misses the point.”

And that is in part of what is attracting me to this book and the series. The sense of mystical, the sense of divine and the captured spirit of Glastonbury and other sites explored through the series. Part of the description of this book is:

“Glastonbury is the oldest Marian Shrine north of the Alps. It is a place of myth, mystique, legend, tradition and faith, which, for many reasons, has a high profile in Britain and abroad and to where many head, seeking truth. Arguably, after Walsingham, it is the second most prominent Marian shrine in England and Wales.”

So give this book a try and either virtually or physically go on pilgrimage and immerse yourself in the history, prayers and legends of this shrine.

The CTS Christian Shrines Series seems to have two main styles of books. Pilgrimage companions and books focusing on the message from the shrine. This book is from the second category. There are also numerous other books from CTS that could support your quest for knowledge on pilgrimages and Christian shrines. This was a great little read, and I look forward to exploring more in the Christian Shrines Series. And highly recommend this wonderful volume. 

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Other Books in the CTS Christian Shrines Series:
Message of Assisa
Message of Fatima
Message of Guadalupe
Message of Walsingham
Santiago: Santiago de Compostela - The Pilgrim Way of St James
The Message of Carmel at Aylesford

Pilgrim’s Companions:
Why Pilgrimage?
Fatima - A Pilgrim's Companion
Glastonbury - A Pilgrim's Companion
Holy Land - A Pilgrim's Companion
Lisieux - A Pilgrim's Companion
Poland: A Pilgrim's Companion
Rome - A Pilgrim's Companion







Friday, 1 February 2019

Message of Guadalupe - Gillian Rae - CTS Christian Shrines Series

Message of Guadalupe 
Our Lady of Guadalupe, Queen of Mexico, Mother of the Americans and Protectress of the Unborn Child
CTS Christian Shrines Series
Gillian Rae
Catholic Truth Society

ISBN 9781860820984
eISBN 9781784693701
ASIN B073GZZ2XK
CTS Booklet D652


First I need to state that I love the books I have read in the CTS Christian Shrines Series, this is the third book in as many weeks in this series I have read, and each has been excellent. I have known about Guadalupe for many year, but it has only been in the last few years that I have read more specifically on this apparition, Juan Diego, and pilgrimage there. And this book is a great introduction. And it gives a great overview of the background, and the present practice. The sections in this volume are:

The Queen of Mexico
Aztecs and Conquistadors
Cortes in Mexico
Rebellion
Men of War and Men of God
Missionaries in Mexico
Our Lady and St Juan Diego
The Second Apparition
The Third Apparition
The Fourth Apparition
The Church is Built
The Immaculate Conception
Our Lady and the Mexican Identity
Church and State in New Spain
The Fight for Mexican Independence
The Shrine of Our Lady of Guadalupe
Pope John Paul II in Mexico
Pilgrimage to the Basilica of Our Lady of Guadalupe
The Image on the Tilma
The Symbolism of the Image
The Message of Our Lady to Mexico and to the World
Life Force
Prayer of Pope John II

This book begins with these words:

“Mexico has more public holidays than any other country in the world, but with the possible exceptions of Christmas and Easter, none is celebrated with more fervour than the feast of Our Lady of Guadalupe.

On 12th December each year, thousands of people gather in or in front of the beautiful basilica in a suburb of Mexico City which is dedicated to the patroness of Mexico. Masses are said, there are processions and displays, and rich and poor alike cross the vast concourse on their knees to seek the blessing of the Virgin.

On this day, all over Mexico, even in the smallest villages, Mexicans honour Our Lady of Guadalupe.”

This volume goes through the history prior to the appearance, and since. It gives a brief history of the original Church built in 1531, the first basilica in 1709, and the current basilica completed in 1976. Prior to reading this book, I was unaware that the shrine contains no other statues or images than the tilma of Juan Diego with the image of our lady upon it. From reading this book the site sounds amazing, with a mix of historical and modern building, the old repurposed. I can close my eyes and picture 20,000 people praying and attending a mass at this site.

This is another wonderful read in a great series. These little booklets inspire my faith and encourage me to pray more and in new ways. I may never visit this shrine, but it now holds a new place of importance in my heart. And as the most visited shrine in the Americas it is great to read this book just to grown in knowledge of faith, and the importance of this specific site both historically and still today.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Other Books in the CTS Christian Shrines Series:
Message of Assisa
Message of Fatima
Message of Guadalupe
Message of Walsingham
Santiago: Santiago de Compostela - The Pilgrim Way of St James
The Message of Carmel at Aylesford

Pilgrim’s Companions:
Why Pilgrimage?
Fatima - A Pilgrim's Companion
Glastonbury - A Pilgrim's Companion
Holy Land - A Pilgrim's Companion
Lisieux - A Pilgrim's Companion
Poland: A Pilgrim's Companion
Rome - A Pilgrim's Companion






Tuesday, 29 January 2019

Why pilgrimage? - David Baldwin - CTS Christian Shrines Series

Why pilgrimage?
CTS Christian Shrines Series
David Baldwin
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781784690779
eISBN 9781784693022
ASIN B072FSFC2V
CTS Booklet D800



I have long had an interest in Pilgrimage with a particular passion for Santiago de Compostela. I have written about personal pilgrimage, and desire for pilgrimage previously. When I did my university degree, I did a course on ‘Sacred Spaces’ and another on ‘Faith Quests’ this little volume would have been excellent resource material for both of those courses. This is a great little read and serves as an excellent introduction and jumping off point to the CTS Christian Shrines Series. And David has written many of the book in the series. The sections in this volume are:

Dedication
Introduction
Why Pilgrimage?
Pilgrimage through the Ages
Three Principal Pilgrim Places
     The Holy Land and Jerusalem
     Rome
     The Way of Saint James and Santiago de Compostela
Marian Shrines
     Lourdes
     Fatima
     Guadalupe
     Walsingham “England’s Nazareth”
     Paris - Rue de Bac
     Banneux
     La Salette
     Loreto
     Knock
     Ephesus - The House of The Virgin Mary
The Great Saints
Other Pilgrim Places

     The Sacred Heart of Jesus - Paray-le-Monial
     Taizé
     Our Lady of Graces and St Joseph - Cotignac
     Canterbury Cathedral
     Poland - Auschwitz and the Divine Mercy
     The Shroud of Turin
     Marthe Robin - Chateauneuf-de-Galaure:
     The Infant of Prague
     The Holy Island of Lindisfarne
     Medjugorje
Pilgrim Prayer
A Pilgrim’s Prayer
Further Reading

This volume begins with these words:

“Recent years have seen rising numbers of pilgrims of all faiths seeking out their holy places. Set in the context of today’s overburdened and fractured world, there seems to be a deep yearning and a restless desire to seek consolation, solace, healing, affirmation, peace, forgiveness, reassurance - whether through that encounter on the pilgrim journey, or at the destination, or both - that would bring about a sense of fulfillment and a deeper understanding of self.

This applies equally to the Christian pilgrim, as evidenced by the millions who go every year to those well known, cherished pilgrim destinations such as the Holy Land, Rome, Lourdes, Fatima, Guadalupe, Santiago de Compostela. But there are many others less well known or locally popular places of pilgrimage - which, of course, are just as valid or appealing.

This small book is about pilgrimage. It aims to give insights, ideas and inspiration, with a view to setting you -or continuing you - on your pilgrim journeys!”

Even though it is a small booklet it is packed with information. It examines reasons for going on pilgrimage. How to prepare. Setting realistic expectations. And How to process the experience once you have returned home. It looks briefly at the history of pilgrimage and the renewed appeal. Then it looks at different pilgrimages. The pilgrim’s prayer composed by David Baldwin is a wonderful way to conclude this book.

This book would be a great read for anyone with a passing interest in pilgrimages. For those who wish to go on pilgrimage and want a broad overview. Or for those who are unlikely to travel and just want to know in knowledge of the pilgrimage sites and devotions.

The CTS Christian Shrines Series seems to have two main styles of books. Pilgrimage companions and books focusing on the message from the shrine. This book is from the second category. There are also numerous other books from CTS that could support your quest for knowledge on pilgrimages and Christian shrines. This was a great little read, and I look forward to exploring more in the Christian Shrines Series.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Other Books in the CTS Christian Shrines Series:
Message of Assisa
Message of Fatima
Message of Guadalupe
Message of Walsingham
Santiago: Santiago de Compostela - The Pilgrim Way of St James
The Message of Carmel at Aylesford

Pilgrim’s Companions:
Why Pilgrimage?
Fatima - A Pilgrim's Companion
Glastonbury - A Pilgrim's Companion
Holy Land - A Pilgrim's Companion
Lisieux - A Pilgrim's Companion
Poland: A Pilgrim's Companion
Rome - A Pilgrim's Companion





Friday, 25 January 2019

Message of Walsingham - R.W. Connelly - CTS Christian Shrines Series

Message of Walsingham
The Shrine of Our Lady of Walsingham
CTS Christian Shrines Series
R.W. Connelly
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781860820304
eISBN 9781784693565
ASIN B073FK3WW3
CTS Booklet D646



This book was originally written in 1973 and was expanded in 1998 and again in 2015. Some of the expansions are devotional guides and collection of prayers. Of all the Marian shrines in the CTS Christian Shrines Series or even the pilgrimage sites with the subtitle ‘A Pilgrim's Companion’ this book is about the location I am least familiar with. And that might be the reason I start with this book. I wanted to approach the series and this book with fresh eyes. I am thankful for the book and this message contained.

The sections in this book are:

Walsingham Ever Ancient - Ever New
Preface
History

     Origins Of Walsingham
     Growth Of Walsingham
     The Dowry Of Mary
     The Reformation
     The Desolation
     1897: Annus Mirabilis
Modern Times
     First National Pilgrimage
     England’s National Shrine
     Years Of Progress
     Ecumenism
     Slipper Chapel Statue
     Site Of The Original Shrine
Pilgrims
Devotions For Pilgrimage

     Departure For A Safe Pilgrimage
     During The Journey And On The Holy Mile
     Visit To The Holy Ghost Chapel
     Visit To The Slipper Chapel
     Visit To The Chapel Of Reconciliation
Message Of Walsingham
     Mary Of Nazareth
     The Word Of God
     What Do Pilgrims Seek?
     Walsingham Today
     Hospitality
     Walsingham Association

I was fascinated to read about the history of Walsingham. Some of the history that was of particular interest was:

“Walsingham has been a place of pilgrimage since 1061. This is the traditional date and is based upon the statement in the Pynson Ballad published in the last years of the fifteenth century.

In that year, when St Edward the Confessor was King of England, five years before the Norman Conquest, a lady of the village, Richeldis de Faverches, received a vision from Our Lady. The Pynson Ballad relates how Richeldis was ‘led in spirit’ to the Holy Land and shown the house where Mary was told she was to be the Mother of God. Richeldis was then requested by Our Lady to build another house like this at Walsingham and was promised: ‘Whoever seeks my help there will not go away empty-handed’.

This vision is the start of the Walsingham story. It shows that Mary herself selected Walsingham as a holy place, and invited people to visit her and seek her aid.”


And

“For over 350 years Walsingham was to be a land of desolation. With the Priory in ruins, the village seemed to forget its religious heritage. The vast majority of Englishmen had no interest in Our Lady of Walsingham. Even many Catholics through the difficult days of persecution found it difficult to preserve the memory of a shrine they could not visit. Yet it is remarkable that despite all the vicissitudes of English Catholics they never completely forgot the Lady of Walsingham.”

I am very intrigued by the resurrection of this shrine and pilgrimage site. Also, of the dray not only to Catholics but those of the Anglican persuasions. It is interesting that the current shrine is not on the original site, but near by. The original site being under private ownership. We are told:


“There has been some discussion in recent years as to whether the present Shrine should be sited in the Slipper Chapel, which after all is one mile outside Walsingham. At one time it was understood that this was merely a temporary site and that eventually the Shrine would return to Walsingham.

Perhaps in the distant future it will be possible for the Shrine to return to the village, but for the moment it is accepted that there are no practical possibilities for this. The cost of a new shrine would be prohibitive; the provision of land impossible. The old Catholic dream of rebuilding on the ancient site remains a dream. The Priory is in private hands and the owner has no wish to sell his family home.

It may be that future generations will have the privilege of restoring Our Lady to her old home, but in the meantime development will continue at the Slipper Chapel. It will not be in vain. No matter what the future may hold, the Slipper Chapel will always be a place for pilgrims to congregate either as the centre of the Shrine or as the starting point for processions into Walsingham.”


I have never been to Walsingham and have not been to the UK in almost 30 years. The section of prayers to be used while on pilgrimage and on site are intriguing. I copied the Prayer of Erasmus to my prayer journal and see my self praying it often. But even with never expecting to visit this shrine I have been blessed and benefited from reading this book.

The CTS Christian Shrines Series seems to have two main styles of books. Pilgrimage companions and books focusing on the message from the shrine. This book is from the second category. I loved reading this book and look forward to exploring more in the Christian Shrines Series.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Other Books in the CTS Christian Shrines Series:
Message of Assisa
Message of Fatima
Message of Guadalupe
Message of Walsingham
Santiago: Santiago de Compostela - The Pilgrim Way of St James
The Message of Carmel at Aylesford

Pilgrim’s Companions:
Why Pilgrimage?
Fatima - A Pilgrim's Companion
Glastonbury - A Pilgrim's Companion
Holy Land - A Pilgrim's Companion
Lisieux - A Pilgrim's Companion
Poland: A Pilgrim's Companion
Rome - A Pilgrim's Companion