--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/CTSCompanions As it appears live September 27, 2020 11:45:22 PM UTC

Showing posts with label CTSCompanions. Show all posts
Showing posts with label CTSCompanions. Show all posts

Tuesday, 23 June 2020

A New Companion to Lent - The Catholic Truth Society - CTS Companions Series

New Companion to Lent
CTS Companions
Fr Jerome Bertram
Fr Tim Finigan
Amette Ley
Fr Richard Ruff
Fr Richard Whinder
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781860823619 
CTS Booklet Do740


Over the last few years I have read over 150 volumes from the CTS. And currently have over 150 in my to be read pile or on my Wishlist. I have read several of the books in the original CTS Companions series, and this is the first of the New Companions I have read. And to be honest this was the first book from the CTS that I was not impressed with. While reading it I oscillated between men, being underwhelmed, and actual disappointment. I have read many great books from the Catholic Truth Society, but this is not one. There where a few times while reading this volume I almost put it down and put it in my ‘did not finish pile’. The description on the back of the volume is:

“Taking ‘personal and heartfelt conversion’ as its central theme, this booklet unfolds the Lenten practices of prayer, fasting and almsgiving, particularly as part of preparing for Easter. Full of spiritual insight culled from centuries of Christian experience, and astutely balanced with practical advice for people of today, this companion also offers advice on making a retreat, a good confession, and understanding some of the key themes of the scriptures and liturgy during Lent and Holy Week.

Contributors: Fr Jerome Betram, Fr Tim Finigan; Amette Ley, Fr Richard Rutt, and Fr Richard Whinder.”

The chapters in the volume are:

Conversion
Fasting
Almsgiving
Prayer
How to make a good retreat
Making a Good Confession
The Sunday Gospels During Lent
Holy Week – Liturgy and Word
Steps to Daily Prayer in Lent
Understanding the Stations of the Cross

None of the chapters are attributed. There is no way to know which of the contributors wrote what. Most of the contributors have written other books, for the Catholic Truth Society. 

The book started off well:

“Conversion is never a once and for all experience: conversion is something fresh every morning, renewed every evening. Our whole Christian life is a process of turning towards God, meeting Him as He comes towards us. No day should pass without refreshing our desire to break with sin, to break away from the values of this world, and to unite ourselves ever more closely to God.”

But there were a number of things I read in this book that I just shook my head about. For example, cutting down on gambling, or playing the lottery as a Lenten fast.

“Some will find it best to cut down on gambling, refraining from playing the lottery during the weeks of Lent, or betting only on horses with Catholic owners…”

And though written tongue in cheek I found this ridiculous:

“If we begin by trying to think charitable thoughts about Osama bin Laden or Robert Mugabe, we can work up gradually to charity towards the mother-in-law.”

There was some good in the book, but not enough that I would recommend it. CTS has many other great Lenten resources. I really struggled with rating it, I settles on 3 but would really give it 2.5 stars if possible. But it will not stop me from trying other books in the New Companions series.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Link to other Lent Resources.

Other books in the CTS Companions Series:

Companion to St. Joseph – J.B. Midgley
Companion to the Feasts of Mary – J.B. Midgley
Companion to Saint Peter – J.B. Midgley
Companion to Saint Paul – J.B. Midgley
Companion to the Angels – J.B. Midgley
Companion to the Feasts of Our Lord
Companion to the Passion of Our Lord – J.B. Midgley
Companion to the Order of the Mass - Mgr Bruce Harbert
Companion to Reading the Old Testament – Adrian Graffy
Companion to Reading the New Testament – Adrian Graffy
Companion to Praying with the Bible – Z. Mattam
New Companion to Advent & Christmastide - CTS
New Companion to Prayer - Celia Wolf-Devine
New Companion to Lent - CTS
...










Wednesday, 29 April 2020

Companion to the Passion of Our Lord - J.B. Midgley - CTS Companions Series

Companion to the Passion of Our Lord
CTS Companions Series
J.B. Midgley
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781860823008
CTS Booklet D670


This is nineteenth volume by J.B. Midgely that I have read and the sixth in the Companions Series. I have read over a hundred books from The Catholic Truth Society over the last few years. Some are incredible reads, some are excellent, and all have been good and profitable reads. Last year I become fascinated with the works of Midgley. I have a friend who calls me a ‘completionist’ in that when I find an author that I really like I try to read everything they have written. This is now the case with Midgely, I believe he has published 28 books, and 26 of them are with the Catholic Truth Society. Most of those books are either in the ‘Great Saints Series’ or like this one the ‘Companions Series’. This book was originally published in 2005 and as of writing this review there is no eBook edition available. I can state that this particular volume is another excellent read. I read this book during the first week of Easter. I used it to reflect back on the week before. The description of this book is:

“This retelling and reflection on the passion of Christ will help readers to appreciate the immensity of Christ’s sacrifice, particularly in the Eucharist. 

The lucid opening sections set the scene, exploring the need for Christ’s controversial mission, his death and resurrection, and their impact on us today.”

I would agree, this volume is a treasure and it is finely written and edited. Midgley has created another wonderful little companion. I have read it cover to cover, and plan on rereading it again next year over lent.

The chapters in this volume are:

Introduction
The Plan of Salvation
The Opposition to Jesus
Our Lord’s last Journey
Holy Thursday
Good Friday
Holy Saturday
Easter Sunday
The Days to Pentecost

Over the years I have read many different versions of the Way of the Cross or Stations of the Cross. And Each time I pray through one I am moved. But reading this volume has taken me deeper into the events and has reached me at a very different level. This book goes back to the beginning. It goes back to angels, the fall. And gives us an overview of human history that lead up to the need for the passion. This volume sets the context both historically and culturally at the time of the events. But reading it we also experience the reality of these events and their importance to our own lives and times. 

This book has a brief bibliography that contains Midgley’s own Companion to the Feats of the Lord, a book that I have not read yet but that has jumped in my ‘to be read pile’.  This is another great read from the pen of J.B. Midgley and from the Catholic Truth Society.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Books by J.B. Midgley:

Advent & Christmastide with the Saints
Antonio Rosmini
Benedict - Patron of Europe
Bernard of Clairvaux – CTS Great Saints
Charles Borromeo  - CTS Great Saints
Companion to St. Joseph
Companion to the Feasts of Mary
Companion to Saint Peter
Companion to Saint Paul
Companion to the Angels
Companion to the Feasts of Our Lord
Companion to the Passion of Our Lord
Dominic - CTS Great Saints
George: Patron of England - CTS Great Saints
Dewi Sant: St David Patron of Wales
Francis de Sales – CTS Great Saints
John Baptist de La Salle – CTS Great Saints
John Vianney – CTS Great Saints
Lent with the Saints
Nurturing the Young
Robert Bellarmine
Saint John the Baptist 
Stations of the Cross and Resurrection with the Saints
The Eucharist with the Saints
The Four Evangelists
Thomas Becket – CTS Saints of the Isles
Vincent de Paul – CTS Great Saints
Witchcraft, Sorcery and Magic


Contributed to:
First Fridays and First Saturdays The Devotions Explained 
...

Other books in the CTS Companions Series:
Companion to St. Joseph – J.B. Midgley
Companion to the Feasts of Mary – J.B. Midgley
Companion to Saint Peter – J.B. Midgley
Companion to Saint Paul – J.B. Midgley
Companion to the Angels – J.B. Midgley
Companion to the Feasts of Our Lord
Companion to the Passion of Our Lord – J.B. Midgley
Companion to the Order of the Mass - Mgr Bruce Harbert
Companion to Reading the Old Testament – Adrian Graffy
Companion to Reading the New Testament – Adrian Graffy
Companion to Praying with the Bible – Z. Mattam
New Companion to Advent & Christmastide - CTS
New Companion to Prayer - Celia Wolf-Devine
New Companion to Lent - CTS
...










Friday, 10 April 2020

A New Companion to Prayer - Celia Wolf-Devine - CTS Companions Series

A New Companion to Prayer: 
Meeting God Where You Are
CTS Companions Series
Celia Wolf-Devine
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781860827525
eISBN 9781784693039
ASIN B071SJBXZG
CTS Booklet SP32


This is the fourth book in the CTS Companions series that I have read. There are a few titles under ‘New Companion’, and several original titles in the CTS Companions. The other three I read so far were by J.B. Midgley. Several of the original series are currently out of print. I have tracked down all of them I can find, and reviews will follow this one. This is also the first book I have read by Celia Wolf-Devine but several of her other titles are very intriguing. But back to this volume. This book was published in 2011, and the eBook released in 2017. 

The description of this book is:

“This companion will guide you through the ways in which prayer gives God the space to work in us - and transform our hearts to become like the heart of Jesus. In prayer, we give ourselves to God and he gives himself to us. We need to fit in time to satisfy our desire for him just as he gives himself to us infinitely. The obstacles we need to overcome are explored here, and ways of prayer are offered to help us attain singleness of heart.”

And the sections in this volume are:

An invitation to prayer
     Christian meditation
Why pray?
     Conversion of heart
     Private and communal prayer
Getting past your blocks
     I’m too busy
     Prayer is just a crutch for the weak
     Bad experiences with Christians
     Embarrassment
     I’m too sinful to pray
     Fear that God will take you over
     Not wanting to let go of things you are attached to
     Fear that God wants you to give up what you most desire
Some practical suggestions for prayer 
     Prayer of presence
     Come as you are
     Be yourself
     Depart from me for I am a sinful man
Getting a prayer routine in place
     Easing into prayer
     Opening prayers
     Holy Spirit invocation hymn
     Surrender prayer
     Appeal to the Heart of Jesus
     The Litany of the Sacred Heart
     Background images for prayer that you may find helpful
A few common problems in prayer
     Distractions
     Scruples
     Discouragement
     Temptations
     Doubts
Prayer throughout the day
     Prayer at set hours
     Prepare with prayer
     Calling on the name of Jesus
     Intercession
     Praying with Scripture (lectio divina)
     The Stations of the Cross
     Adoration of the Blessed Sacrament
     The Rosary
     The Litany of the Sacred Heart
Praying in tongues
Prayer in times of desolation
Towards singleness of heart
The hope to which we are called 
Acknowledgements
Further reading

Over the last thirty or thirty-five years I have read several books on prayer, about prayer and prayer books. And this is an excellent little volume. It is soft of a mash up of the three types of books. It is in part a why and how to book. And in part specific prayers. It is easily accessible and would be a great confirmation gift, or gift for students late in public school or secondary school. But it is also a good book for collage age students, or even for adults. I am in my 50’s and I got a lot out of this book. 

The book does cover a wide range of topics. Covers different styles and types of prayer. And also, how to pray and where to start. I wish the further reading section was a little more extensive, and maybe broken down into categories. But overall a great concise volume on prayer.


In the last few years I have read over a hundred books from The Catholic Truth Society. And even though I have read a hundred I currently have over 100 I still wish to read! There have been many good reads, some great reads and a few outstanding volumes. This is a great read and I recommend it for readers of all ages.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Other books in the CTS Companions Series:

Companion to St. Joseph – J.B. Midgley
Companion to the Feasts of Mary – J.B. Midgley
Companion to Saint Peter – J.B. Midgley
Companion to Saint Paul – J.B. Midgley
Companion to the Angels – J.B. Midgley
Companion to the Feasts of Our Lord
Companion to the Passion of Our Lord – J.B. Midgley
Companion to the Order of the Mass - Mgr Bruce Harbert
Companion to Reading the Old Testament – Adrian Graffy
Companion to Reading the New Testament – Adrian Graffy
Companion to Praying with the Bible – Z. Mattam
New Companion to Advent & Christmastide - CTS
New Companion to Prayer - Celia Wolf-Devine
New Companion to Lent - CTS
...









Tuesday, 4 February 2020

Companion to the Feasts of Mary - J.B. Midgley - CTS Companions Series

Companion to the Feasts of Mary
CTS Companions Series
J.B. Midgley
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781860820557
CTS Booklet DO656


This is eight volume by J.B. Midgely that I have read and the third in the companions series. I have read almost hundred books from The Catholic Truth Society over the last few years. Some are incredible reads, some are excellent, and all have been good and profitable reads. Lately I have become fascinated with the works of Midgley. I have a friend who calls me a ‘completionist’ in that when I find an author that I really like I try to read everything they have written. This is now the case with Midgely, I believe he has published 28 books, and 26 of them are with the Catholic Truth Society. Most of those books are either in the ‘Great Saints Series’ or like this one the ‘Companions Series’. This book was originally published in 199 and as of writing this review there is no eBook edition available. I can state that this particular volume is another excellent read, so much information about Marian Feasts. The description of this book is:

“This handy Companion is designed to accompany the reader through the various feats of the Virgin Mary as they occur during the church year. Here you will find helpful historical background to the feasts, as well as Church teaching, scripture passages, spiritual writings and devotions. Where is Mary’s place in the Christian journey? Why does the Church celebrate these feasts? These questions are richly answered here in this true treasure chest finely collected and edited by Mr. J.B. Midgley for the CTS.”

I would completely agree, this volume is a treasure and it is finely written and edited. Midgley has created a wonderful little companion. I have read it cover to cover, but plan on leaving it on my bedside table and following the feats around the church year and rereading those chapters.

The chapters in this volume are:

Introduction

Feasts of the Most Blessed Virgin Mary
Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God, January 1st
The Presentation of the Lord, February 2nd
The annunciation of the Lord, March 25th 
The Visitation, may 31st
The Immaculate Heart of Mary, After Pentecost
The Assumption, August 15th
Our Lady Queen and Mother, August 22nd
Birthday of the Blessed Virgin Mary, September 8th
Our Lady of Sorrows, September 15th
Our Lady of the Rosary, October 7th
Presentation of the Blessed Virgin Mary, November 21st
The Immaculate Conception, December 8th 
The Holy Family, Octave of Christmas or December 30th 

Commemorations
Our Lady of Lourdes, February 11th
Our Lady of Fatima, May 13th
Our lady of Mount Carmel, July 16th
Our Lady of Ransom, September 24th

Feasts in the order of Mary’s Life

In this volume Midgley draws heavily from the writings of Saint Pope Paul VI and Saint pope John Paul II. But most of the source material comes from scriptures, the Church Fathers, and the liturgy. Most of the feast days have between 4 and 6 pages dedicated to them. Where one of the commemorations has just a single page. This volume is an excellent introduction to Mary, and her place in the church year. Through that we grow in understanding about her role in salvation history. And Her continued role to help lead, guide and point us towards her son. For as she said at the wedding feast in Cana “Do as he says” she continues to say the same to us and points us ever towards her son. It is an excellent read. 

I only wish there was an index or a bibliography in this book. But other than that I have no complaints about this book, any in the series or any that I have read by Midgley for that matter. Another great read from the pen of J.B. Midgley and from the Catholic Truth Society.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Books by J.B. Midgley:

Advent & Christmastide with the Saints
Antonio Rosmini
Benedict - Patron of Europe
Bernard of Clairvaux – CTS Great Saints
Charles Borromeo  - CTS Great Saints
Companion to St. Joseph
Companion to the Feasts of Mary
Companion to Saint Peter
Companion to Saint Paul
Companion to the Angels
Companion to the Feasts of Our Lord
Companion to the Passion of Our Lord
Dominic - CTS Great Saints
George: Patron of England - CTS Great Saints
Dewi Sant: St David Patron of Wales
Francis de Sales – CTS Great Saints
John Baptist de La Salle – CTS Great Saints
John Vianney – CTS Great Saints
Lent with the Saints
Nurturing the Young
Robert Bellarmine
Saint John the Baptist 
Stations of the Cross and Resurrection with the Saints
The Eucharist with the Saints
The Four Evangelists
Thomas Becket – CTS Saints of the Isles
Vincent de Paul – CTS Great Saints
Witchcraft, Sorcery and Magic


Contributed to:
First Fridays and First Saturdays The Devotions Explained 
...

Other books in the CTS Companions Series:
Companion to St. Joseph – J.B. Midgley
Companion to the Feasts of Mary – J.B. Midgley
Companion to Saint Peter – J.B. Midgley
Companion to Saint Paul – J.B. Midgley
Companion to the Angels – J.B. Midgley
Companion to the Feasts of Our Lord
Companion to the Passion of Our Lord – J.B. Midgley
Companion to the Order of the Mass - Mgr Bruce Harbert
Companion to Reading the Old Testament – Adrian Graffy
Companion to Reading the New Testament – Adrian Graffy
Companion to Praying with the Bible – Z. Mattam
New Companion to Advent & Christmastide - CTS
New Companion to Prayer - Celia Wolf-Devine
New Companion to Lent - CTS
...








Monday, 27 January 2020

Companion to the Angels - J.B. Midgley - CTS Companions Series

Companion to the Angels 
A little Handbook on the Truth about Angels 
CTS Companions Series
J.B. Midgley
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781860820816
eISBN 9781784693459
ASIN B073FJC7WD
CTS Booklet DO661


This is fourth volume by J.B. Midgely that I have read and the second in the companions series. I have read nearly a hundred books from The Catholic Truth Society over the last few years. Some have been incredible reads, some have been excellent, and all have been good reads. And lately I have become fascinated with the works of Midgley. I have a friend who calls me a ‘completionist’ in that when I find an author I really like I try to read everything they have written. That is now the case with Midgely, I believe he has published 28 books, and 26 of them are with the Catholic Truth Society. Most of those books are either in the ‘Great Saints Series’ or like this one the ‘Companions Series’. This book was originally published in 2000 and the eBook edition released in 2017. An I can safely state that this particular volume is another excellent read.

The chapters in the volume are:
Introduction
The Angels
The Celestial Hierarchy
The Fall of the Angels
Saints Michael, Gabriel, Raphael
The Feast of the Holy Guardian Angels
Angels in the New Age

But even before the table of contents there are two quotes that set the tone for the volume:

“We believe in One God,
Father, Son and Holy Spirit,
Creator of things visible,
such as the world in which our brief life
runs its course, and of things invisible,
such as the pure spirits which are called angels.”
     -Profession of Faith, 
     -Pope Paul VI, 1968

“Angel sent by God to guide me,
Be my light and walk beside me;
Be my guardian and protect me;
On the paths of life direct me.”
     -Prayer to our Guardian Angel

The introduction of this volume states:

“This booklet invites us to consider again the Angels - those who share our dwelling in time and space and whose existence is entwined with our own. It would be a pity if Angels were remembered only when Christmas carols were sung, cards written or shining examples fixed to the tops of conifer trees. In acknowledging the angels, we join in their adoration of our Creator and thank Him for their creation and ours. Awareness of the guardian angels is a special comfort for which to be grateful. This companion considers the nature and activity of angels, how some, led by Satan, disobeyed God and the effects this fall from grace had upon our own history of salvation. The inspiration is the Church’s belief and teaching, her protection against misunderstandings about the world of the spirit, and her Feasts and Liturgy by which she guides devotion to illuminate doctrine and support the prayerful habits of Faith which keep it vibrant.”

And Midgley does an excellent job of present solid teaching on the Angels from history, from church documents, and from the bible. In the first chapter The Angels the sections are:

What the Church Believes
Angels in the Bible
Angels and the Prophets
Visits by Angels
Angels as Sons of God
Angels in the New Testament
The angels and Jesus Christ
Christ speaks to us about His angels

Considering the size of this volume Midgley goes into detail. The writing is tight, clean and crisp. Of special importance is the last chapter ‘Angels in the New Age’, I would have loved to have had this book 30 years ago to have shared with my grand mother, for this chapter alone.

This is an excellent volume. If the rest by Midgley and even others in the series are as good, I will need to read them all. Share them with my children and encourage others to read this book and the whole series. Another great read from the pen of J.B. Midgley and from the Catholic Truth Society.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Books by J.B. Midgley:

Advent & Christmastide with the Saints
Antonio Rosmini
Benedict - Patron of Europe
Bernard of Clairvaux – CTS Great Saints
Charles Borromeo  - CTS Great Saints
Companion to St. Joseph
Companion to the Feasts of Mary
Companion to Saint Peter
Companion to Saint Paul
Companion to the Angels
Companion to the Feasts of Our Lord
Companion to the Passion of Our Lord
Dominic - CTS Great Saints
George: Patron of England - CTS Great Saints
Dewi Sant: St David Patron of Wales
Francis de Sales – CTS Great Saints
John Baptist de La Salle – CTS Great Saints
John Vianney – CTS Great Saints
Lent with the Saints
Nurturing the Young
Robert Bellarmine
Saint John the Baptist 
Stations of the Cross and Resurrection with the Saints
The Eucharist with the Saints
The Four Evangelists
Thomas Becket – CTS Saints of the Isles
Vincent de Paul – CTS Great Saints
Witchcraft, Sorcery and Magic


Contributed to:
First Fridays and First Saturdays The Devotions Explained 
...

Other books in the CTS Companions Series:
Companion to St. Joseph – J.B. Midgley
Companion to the Feasts of Mary – J.B. Midgley
Companion to Saint Peter – J.B. Midgley
Companion to Saint Paul – J.B. Midgley
Companion to the Angels – J.B. Midgley
Companion to the Feasts of Our Lord
Companion to the Passion of Our Lord – J.B. Midgley
Companion to the Order of the Mass - Mgr Bruce Harbert
Companion to Reading the Old Testament – Adrian Graffy
Companion to Reading the New Testament – Adrian Graffy
Companion to Praying with the Bible – Z. Mattam
New Companion to Advent & Christmastide - CTS
New Companion to Prayer - Celia Wolf-Devine
New Companion to Lent - CTS
...










Monday, 29 April 2019

Companion to Saint Joseph - J.B. Midgley - CTS Companions Series

Companion to Saint Joseph: 
Father, Worker and Guardian of our Redeemer
CTS Companions Series
J.B. Midgley
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781860821721
eISBN 9781784694364
ASIN B073GZJGGX
CTS Booklet DO686


This is the second book by J.B.Midgley that I have read, and it will not be the last. I have greatly enjoyed both books by him that I have read to date. In just over a year I have read 70 books and booklets from the Catholic Truth Society. There has not been a bad book in the lot. And As much as I enjoyed this book by Midgley and look forward to reading others by him, I also look forward to pursuing other books in the CTS Companions Series.

After I became a father, and as my children grow. My fascination, appreciation and devotion to Saint Joseph has continually grown. In the last few months I have come across this book on Saint Joseph and eagerly await the Consecration to St. Joseph by Fr. Don Calloway that is due out later this year, this book was an excellent little volume to hold me over. This volume was originally published in 2002, and the eBook edition was released in 2017. The book was written in part to a Jubilee Year Midgley states in the introduction:

“In his Apostolic Letter ‘At the Beginning of the New Millennium’, January 2001, Pope John Paul hoped that the Great Jubilee’s legacy for the world would be an increase in holiness. At the same time, the World of Work Committee of the Bishops’ Conference of England and Wales published ‘A Spirituality of Work’, calling attention to the ‘Gospel of Work’ which teaches that life is not compartmentalised, and that the necessity of work is a means to the holiness for which every man and woman is created. Thoughts turn naturally to Saint Joseph, their universal patron.”

And further on:

“Today, he remains the exemplar of persevering honesty, the incomparable pattern for fathers of families, and now cares for all God’s children as they undertake their responsibilities in the world. The foster-father from whom the Carpenter of Nazareth Himself was happy to learn, is now supremely placed to support all who work for justice, peace, and well-being, within and between families and nations, for the glory of God and their own sanctification.”

The chapters in this volume are:
Introduction
Devotion to Saint Joseph
Preparations for the Incarnation
Annunciation and Visitation
The Nativity
After the Nativity
The Finding in the Temple
The Hidden Life
Joseph’s Legacy
The Liturgy of Saint Joseph
The Feasts

In the section on the history of the devotion he starts with some of the history, he says:

“The nineteenth century witnessed a universal growth in devotion to Saint Joseph, especially on the part of workers who were often exploited and impoverished. In 1847, Pope Pius IX, in an early act of his pontificate, extended to the universal Church the Feast of ‘The Patronage of Saint Joseph’ to be celebrated on the third Wednesday after Easter. In 1861, he approved the establishment, in Beauvais, of the Archconfraternity of Saint Joseph which welcomed the affiliation of Associates throughout France. Its aims were to extend devotion to Saint Joseph, ask his protection for the Holy Father, the Church, the well-being of Christian family life, and his intercession for the grace of a holy death.”

I loved reading about some of the areas where Saint Joseph is the patron saint. He is the principal Patron Saint of Canada, not noted in the book. There are some great prayers to Saint Joseph, and a wonderful litany. The final section on the feats has the history of that feast, and then a reflection.  

Overall this book was a wonderful read. It leaves readers wanting to go deeper in their knowledge and devotion to Saint Joseph. A great introduction to devotion to Saint Joseph, and another book from the Catholic Truth Society that I am blessed to have read. And now I am left with a long list of books to read by Midgley and others from the Companions series.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Books by J.B. Midgley:

Advent & Christmastide with the Saints
Antonio Rosmini
Benedict - Patron of Europe
Bernard of Clairvaux – CTS Great Saints
Charles Borromeo  - CTS Great Saints
Companion to St. Joseph
Companion to the Feasts of Mary
Companion to Saint Peter
Companion to Saint Paul
Companion to the Angels
Companion to the Feasts of Our Lord
Companion to the Passion of Our Lord
Dominic - CTS Great Saints
George: Patron of England - CTS Great Saints
Dewi Sant: St David Patron of Wales
Francis de Sales – CTS Great Saints
John Baptist de La Salle – CTS Great Saints
John Vianney – CTS Great Saints
Lent with the Saints
Nurturing the Young
Robert Bellarmine
Saint John the Baptist 
Stations of the Cross and Resurrection with the Saints
The Eucharist with the Saints
The Four Evangelists
Thomas Becket – CTS Saints of the Isles
Vincent de Paul – CTS Great Saints
Witchcraft, Sorcery and Magic


Contributed to:
First Fridays and First Saturdays The Devotions Explained 
...

Other books in the CTS Companions Series:
Companion to St. Joseph – J.B. Midgley
Companion to the Feasts of Mary – J.B. Midgley
Companion to Saint Peter – J.B. Midgley
Companion to Saint Paul – J.B. Midgley
Companion to the Angels – J.B. Midgley
Companion to the Feasts of Our Lord
Companion to the Passion of Our Lord – J.B. Midgley
Companion to the Order of the Mass - Mgr Bruce Harbert
Companion to Reading the Old Testament – Adrian Graffy
Companion to Reading the New Testament – Adrian Graffy
Companion to Praying with the Bible – Z. Mattam
New Companion to Advent & Christmastide - CTS
New Companion to Prayer - Celia Wolf-Devine
New Companion to Lent - CTS
...

Other reviews and articles about Saint Joseph:
Consecration to St. Joseph - Fr. Donald Calloway
Favorite Prayers to St. Joseph Compiled from Traditional Sources- TAN Books
Prayer to Saint Joseph Prayer of the Day
Joseph of Nazareth - Federico Suarez
Devotion to St. Joseph - F. Declaux
Go to St. Joseph: Do Whatever He Tells You - Brian Kiczek
Saint Joseph: Help for Life's Emergencies - Kathryn J. Hermes
Feast of Saint Joseph 2018 Husband of the Blessed Virgin Mary Principal Patron of Canada
Companion to Saint Joseph - J.B. Midgley - CTS Companions Series
Saints of the Roman Canon - Julien Chilcott-Monk - CTS Living the Liturgy Series
Seven Saints for Seven Virtues - Jean M. Heimann