--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/CTSDeeperChristianity As it appears live September 28, 2020 12:20:51 AM UTC

Showing posts with label CTSDeeperChristianity. Show all posts
Showing posts with label CTSDeeperChristianity. Show all posts

Wednesday, 1 July 2020

Prayer in Sadness and Sorrow - Robert Taylerson - CTS Deeper Christianity Series

Prayer in Sadness and Sorrow
The Healing Power Of Lament
Deeper Christianity Series
Robert Taylerson
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781860827785
eISBN 9781784693114
ASIN B072XQ1PY9
CTS Booklet SP35


Over the last few years, I have read many books from the Catholic Truth Society. Most were good reads; some were great reads; and a few are exceptional. This is another excellent offering. It is the eighth in the Deeper Christianity Series that I have read, and the second by Robert Taylerson. But I have already added his other two to my wish list. I have read over 150 offerings from the CTS over the last few years. And this series is one of my favorites. This book was a surprise when I stumbled across it as I thought I had a list of all the books in this series, alas I was mistaken. This book was originally published 2012 and the eBook was released in 2017. The description of this volume is:

“Prayer of lament is prayer in moments of deep suffering or hopelessness, when God can seem absent or distant. This ebooklet introduces this difficult but vital aspect of the spiritual battle. First the author considers the dangerous alternatives to crying out to God, then he shows how scripture, the teaching of the Church and the example of the saints can guide us in our journey from anguish towards peace.”

The chapters in the book are:

Responding in prayer to anguish
When to lament
What is prayer of lament?
Harmful alternatives to lament
Grief and lament
Lamenting sin
Lamenting complex evil
Learning to lament
Lament in the Old Testament
Lament in the New Testament
What about tears?

I highlighted many passages on my first read through this volume a random selection of them are as follows:

“Lament sometimes seems an almost-forgotten element of prayer in the Catholic tradition. It is however, I believe, one which is essential in Christian life. Here we explore its fuller nature and its rich and fruitful use in our lives today.”

“So in day-to-day life I lament death and sickness of friends. I also lament break-ups of families. I lament the giving-up of the practice of the faith of many. I lament the problems of debt, of unemployment, of injustice, of sickness and stress. The call to find God in all things impels such prayer. To disregard lament would either allow so much to pileup in my heart that hope would be crushed, or I would close the door to compassion. Lament is honest. Lament admits vulnerability.”

“Lament is about such personal or community unhappiness. It is about specific things which bring pain into our lives.”

“Prayer of lament happens when I determinedly bring God into the picture.”

“Prayer of lament starts with expression of human loss or pain, but it grows to encompass a conviction of grace already given or which will be given. The rendering of thanks to God is a sign of progress on the journey. Peace comes as the lament journey runs its course.”

“I suggest four common alternative directions to lament which may be adopted when suffering if faith is abandoned or not brought to bear on the pain. These four are: despair, anger, displacement activities, and bitterness.”

“The more complex the evil, the more I have to pray about, the more I am called to realise the way in which one evil predisposes another evil to take place. This awareness prompts in me a desire and petition for deeper insight, deeper honesty, deeper compassion, more detailed personal examination of conscience and discernment of motives in my own life, more courageous action against evil, more trusting confidence in God alone.”

“St Augustine and Blessed John Paul II are good teachers to help us to recognise where evil or sadness are real. The help us to achieve a Christian perspective in discerning what is truly a cause for anguish and what is not. They lead us down good paths of prayer which establish in out hearts lament, hope and trust in God.”

“Prayers with tears are an accepted part of ancient Jewish tradition. They are found in Old Testament and New Testament scripture. From the spiritual writings of the early Greek and Syriac speaking Christian Church onwards, tears to accompany Christian prayer have also been seen as normal, and tears to accompany prayers of repentance have often been seen as a gift from God.”

I picked this book up after the passing of one of my younger brothers. We loved each other but we were never really close. Seeing the outpouring from others whom he positively impacted has impacted me. And reading this volume has helped me to start the healing process. 

The conclusion of this book states:

“Prayer of lament is a journey of the heart from anguish to peace. Though its path is not immediately obvious, it is a path of God’s love and it is a grace and a source of hope. Always ask for the courage and trust to take it.”

This is another excellent little volume from the Catholic Truth Society. It is a great read no matter what stage you are at in life. For some it will be a reminder. For others in will put into words what they have learned and lived. And for others it will help them to learn to process sorrow and suffering. An excellent resource.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Books in the Deeper Christianity Series:
7 Gifts of the Holy Spirit
8 Deadly Sins Learning to Defend the Life of Grace
Christian Fasting Disciplining the Body, Awakening the Spirit
Deepening Prayer Life Defined by Prayer
Desire & Delight
Faith, Hope and Love The Theological Virtues
Fruits of the Holy Spirit Living a Happy Life
Icons
Lectio Divina Spiritual Reading of the Bible
Making Sunday Special

Mary in the Liturgy
Mary Mysteries of the Blessed Virgin Mary
Providence and Prayer
Prayer in Sadness and Sorrow

Prudence, Justice, Courage, and Temperance
Purgatory A Mystery of Love
Spiritual Warfare Fighting the Good Fight

The Church's Year Unfolding the Mysteries of Christ
The Name of God The Revelation of the Merciful Presence of God
Understanding The Story Of The Bible
Union with God


Books by Robert Taylerson:
Prayer in Sadness and Sorrow
Desire and Delight
Guide to Morning, Evening and Night Prayer
...








Friday, 5 July 2019

Christian Meaning of Time - David W. Fagerberg - CTS Deeper Christianity Series

Mary in the Liturgy
Deeper Christianity Series
David W. Fagerberg
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781860827914
CTS Booklet SP36


In the last 18 months I have read nearly 80 books from the Catholic Truth Society. And I have at least twice that many on my wish list of books to read. There are so many great books, and also many great series. This volume is from the Deeper Christianity Series. This book is the sixth I have read in the Deeper Christianity Serie. Up until recently I believed there were 16 books in the series and that 15 of those 16 were available as eBooks. I was mistaken. I was mistaken. There have actually been 52 books in this particular series over the years. And many are out of print. And from a contact at CTS, for many of the out-of-print volumes the CTS no longer holds the rights. So tracking down those older volumes is going to prove difficult. The Catholic Truth Society has been publishing books and booklets for over 150 years, they add many new titles each year, and likely as many go out of print category each year. This is one of my favorite series, and even if I cannot track them all down, I will track down and read all I can find. Because all of them have been excellent to date. The description of this series is:

“The Deeper Christianity Series delves into the mysteries of Christianity, opening up the spiritual treasures of the church.”

This book does not just look at the seasons in the church year. That is covered in The Church's Year Unfolding the Mysteries of Christ, by the same author as this volume. The chapters in this volume are:

Introduction
The Time of Creation
Time of the Old testament
Time of the New testament
The Church’s Time
The End of Time

This book looks at both Chronos and Kairos time. It examines God stepping into time. And the importance and reoccurrence of specific themes and modalities of being. It talks about the difference between thin and thick time. A lesson we learned from Israel. We are told:

“Christianity learned sacred time from Israel. Christians move between thin time and thick time, the secular world and a sacred place, ordinary days and holy days. Thus, the eternal finds a place within the passage of time. This makes up our liturgical year (see below), and this view of festival comes from Israel’s experience of making feasts to God.”

And also:

“The Greeks were so conscious of thin and thick time that they had different words for them. The time that passes moment by moment was called chronos, and time that has a shattering consequence was called Kairos.”

And out of these Jewish and Greek traditions and understandings the Church grew and developed. Latter on he states:

“The first day of the week is the time of a radical new beginning. If the Sabbath looks primarily to the work God has completed, and reminds Jews and Christians of this world’s goodness, and blessedness, Sunday looks primarily to the future breaking open unto unheard of possibilities.

For the Greeks, the seven-day week represented a closed cycle which returned perpetually on itself, without beginning and without end. For Christians, the week represents a creation still unfolding, moving toward a Sabbath rest in the grave and a Resurrection day beyond that. Sunday is a figure of the age to come; it is a day without succession; it is the first day for all the sons of Adam and daughters of Eve.”

After this teaching on time, The boom examines the different understanding of the ween, from Roman, to Greek , to Jew, and then how early Christians applied and lived the lord’s day. There is a quote from a Fr Aidan Kavanagh that really struck me:

“I don’t go to Mass because I’m Catholic, I’m Catholic because I go to Mass.”

Later there is a comparison with C.S. Lewis’s Narnia, and how Aslan tells Lucy each year as she grows he will be bigger. Fagerberg states:

“In each liturgical year, we will find God bigger, not because he has changed but because we have (if we have been careful to do our daily work during the year).”

This resonates with my experience, especially as I age, and my children are growing. I am striving to instill this love of the church and church year in them. 

“If we know the meaning at the end, not only will we spend our time differently, but the time we spend is different.”

This book was an amazing read. So far, one of my favorites in the series, and the series is one of my favorites from CTS. My only complaint is there is nor reference section at the end. There are a few quotes in the book where we are told the person but not the source. I would dearly love to have that information. As it is I am embarking on some further research. It is a great book in a great series. And one of the most academic of the books in the series hat I have come across yet. A very solid 5/5 stars! 

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Books in the Deeper Christianity Series:
7 Gifts of the Holy Spirit
8 Deadly Sins Learning to Defend the Life of Grace
Christian Fasting Disciplining the Body, Awakening the Spirit
Deepening Prayer Life Defined by Prayer
Desire & Delight
Faith, Hope and Love The Theological Virtues
Fruits of the Holy Spirit Living a Happy Life
Icons
Lectio Divina Spiritual Reading of the Bible
Making Sunday Special

Mary in the Liturgy
Mary Mysteries of the Blessed Virgin Mary
Providence and Prayer
Prayer in Sadness and Sorrow

Prudence, Justice, Courage, and Temperance
Purgatory A Mystery of Love
Spiritual Warfare Fighting the Good Fight

The Church's Year Unfolding the Mysteries of Christ
The Name of God The Revelation of the Merciful Presence of God
Understanding The Story Of The Bible
Union with God


Books by David W. Fagerberg:
C.S. Lewis: An Introduction to the Wonderful World of Narnia
Consecrating the World: On Mundane Liturgical Theology
The Church's Year: Unfolding the Mysteries of Christ
Liturgy outside Liturgy: The Liturgical Theology of Fr. Alexander Schmemann
Around Chesterton: An Adventurous Tour Through the World of G.K. Chesterton
The Size of Chesterton's Catholicism
What Is Liturgical Theology? A Study In Methodology
Why do we need the Mass?: Asceticism, Sanctification, and the Glory of God
On Liturgical Asceticism
Theologia Prima: What Is Liturgical Theology?
Christian Meaning of Time
Mary In The Liturgy
...








Monday, 1 July 2019

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Second Quarter 2019

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Second Quarter 2019

This quarter I have read 102 books, and a total of 225 to date this year. I am reading at the pace of about a book and a quarter a day.  Of those 102 a total of 53 were non-fiction and 49 were fiction. And out of those 102 a total of 50 books received 5/5 stars and are first time reads and are therefor eligible for this quarters top ten list. That left me to choose from 28 non-fiction and 22 fiction.

Here is my top ten fiction and non-fiction books of the second quarter of 2019. 

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:
1. Introduction to Catholicism for Adults - James Socias  
2. Infiltration: The Plot to Destroy the Church from Within - Dr. Taylor R. Marshall
3. Mike Aquilin Take Five Series
4. Guadalupe: The Freedom of Loving - Cristina Abad Cadenas
5. CTS Deeper Christianity Series
6. Heavenly Hosts: Eucharistic Miracles for Kids - Kathryn Griffin Swegart
7. Finding God in Times of Stress - Fr. Antonio Ritaccio  
8. Forgiving Mother: A Marian Novena of Healing and Peace - Marge Steinhage Fenelon
9. Our Lady, Undoer of Knots: A Living Novena - Marge Fenelon
10. How to Get the Most Out of the Eucharist - Michael Dubruiel 

Bonus:
11. My Russian Way: A Spiritual Autobiography - Alexandre Havard
12. Meditations on the Passion: The Way of the Cross - Susanna Tamaro
13. Praying 15 Days with St. Josemaria Escriva - Guillaume Derville
14. Poland: A Pilgrim Companion - David Baldwin - CTS Christian Shrines Series

Top Ten Fiction Books:
1. The Hive - Barry Lyga and Morgan Baden 
2. Martyrs - Kathryn Griffin Swegart - Brave Hearts Book 2
3. Dragon Assassin - Arthur Slade
4. Jack Reacher Cross Over Stories - Lee Child
5. A Truly Raptor-ous Welcome - Corinna Turner - unSPARKed Book 2
6. Maureen Jennings Books
7. An Arrow In Flight - Jane Lebak - Seven Archangels Book 1.0
8. Transfer Complete - J.S. Criado - Memories of Twilight Book 1
9. The Kindness Club - Courtney Sheinmel - The Kindness Club Book 1
10. The Truth App - Jack Heath - Liars Book 1

Bonus:
11. Jack Reacher Stories - Lee Child
12. Belt of Truth - Theresa Linden - Armor of God Book 1
13. The Diamond Mistake Mystery - Sylvia McNicoll - The Great Mistake Mysteries
14. Bones on Ice - Kathy Reichs - Temperance Brennan 17.5

One of the big differences this quarter is reading mystery – suspense – crime novels. Especially those by Lee Child and Maureen Jennings. This quarter has been my second most prodigious in reading since I started keeping track. Some of that is attributed to lifestyle changes. I now commute to work on a bus and read on the bus every day. A few years ago, I removed all games from my phone and tablet, except for a brain training game. And over the last six months or so I have been reading far more non-fiction again than fiction. This quarter I had a much better balance between fiction and non-fiction. 

Note: I did not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists, they were in the bonus section. As stated it was no easy task making this quarter. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list. This post is going up early because of the end of the quarter falling during holy week.


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2018
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2019
... 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

143 - January-March 2019
359 - 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Monday, 24 June 2019

Mary in the Liturgy - David W. Fagerberg - CTS Deeper Christianity Series

Mary in the Liturgy
Deeper Christianity Series
David W. Fagerberg
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781860827914
CTS Booklet SP36


I love the books I have read from the Catholic Truth Society. I have read almost 90 books and booklets in just under 18 months. I also love that we have a liturgical year. I love liturgy. And I love that we have a mother in Mary. And this book combines all of those loves together. This is the seventh book in the Deeper Christianity Series that I have read. This is an excellent book and it is a wonderful series. 

The chapters in this book are:
Where is Mary in the Liturgy?
What is Liturgy?
Spiritual attitudes belonging to Mary and the Church
     Attentive virgin
     Virgin in Prayer
     Virgin mother
     Virgin presenting offerings
Mary in the Mass
The Church as it dawns in a single person

David W. Fagerberg does an amazing job of opening our eyes and unveiling some of the deeper meanings in the sacrifice of the mass in this booklet. He states:

“If we understand our Christian life as a journey from this world into the new age, then imagine that in from of every one of us stretches a parade of Christians across twenty-one centuries. At its head is Christ, leading us to his Father. And first behind Christ is Mary. Church tradition has not only called Mary the Mother of God (Mater Dei) but also Mother of the Church (Mater Ecclesia). She is already at the fullness where we hope to arrive at the end our pilgrimage. We follow a path she has already trodden.”

I thoroughly enjoyed this little volume. My son has been asking me questions and we are going to read it together soon. I have yet to read a book from the Catholic Truth Society that I did not benefit from. And this one is no exception. This year I have read several books on Mary. And with each one I have a better understanding of Mary’s role in salvation history and God’s plan for redemption. But what this book really helped with is a solid grounding of Mary’s presence in the prayers and actions of the Mass. And of the imagery around Mary as mother of the Church. It is an excellent read and I highly recommend it. 

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Books in the Deeper Christianity Series:
7 Gifts of the Holy Spirit
8 Deadly Sins Learning to Defend the Life of Grace
Christian Fasting Disciplining the Body, Awakening the Spirit
Deepening Prayer Life Defined by Prayer
Desire & Delight
Faith, Hope and Love The Theological Virtues
Fruits of the Holy Spirit Living a Happy Life
Icons
Lectio Divina Spiritual Reading of the Bible
Making Sunday Special

Mary in the Liturgy
Mary Mysteries of the Blessed Virgin Mary
Providence and Prayer
Prayer in Sadness and Sorrow

Prudence, Justice, Courage, and Temperance
Purgatory A Mystery of Love
Spiritual Warfare Fighting the Good Fight


The Church's Year Unfolding the Mysteries of Christ
The Name of God The Revelation of the Merciful Presence of God
Understanding The Story Of The Bible
Union with God


Books by David W. Fagerberg:
C.S. Lewis: An Introduction to the Wonderful World of Narnia
Consecrating the World: On Mundane Liturgical Theology
The Church's Year: Unfolding the Mysteries of Christ
Liturgy outside Liturgy: The Liturgical Theology of Fr. Alexander Schmemann
Around Chesterton: An Adventurous Tour Through the World of G.K. Chesterton
The Size of Chesterton's Catholicism
What Is Liturgical Theology? A Study In Methodology
Why do we need the Mass?: Asceticism, Sanctification, and the Glory of God
On Liturgical Asceticism
Theologia Prima: What Is Liturgical Theology?
Christian Meaning of Time
Mary In The Liturgy
...







Thursday, 18 April 2019

Fruits of the Spirit - Stratford Caldecott - CTS Deeper Christianity Series

Fruits of the Spirit
CTS Deeper Christianity Series
Stratford Caldecott
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781860826610
eISBN 9781784692919
ASIN B072JPXV9K
CTS Booklet SP31


I have a friend who calls me a ‘completionist’ because when I find an author I love I try and read everything they wrote. I have come to realize that with books from the Catholic Truth Society that is likely impossible. Nearly every time I finish one I find 2 or three more I want to read. And so many are out of print and hard to track down. In just the last year I have read over 60 books from the Catholic Truth Society, I discovered them by accident doing research on an Alice Curtayne, and have fell in love with the books and booklets I have read. This book is the sixth book I have read in the Deeper Christianity Series. Up until recently I believed there were 16 books in the series and that 15 of those 16 were available as eBooks. I was mistaken. There have been 52 books in this particular series over the years. And most are now out of print. And from a contact at CTS, for many of the out-of-print volumes the CTS no longer holds the rights, therefore it is unlike they willcome back into print either as physically or eBooks. Tracking down those older volumes is proveing difficult. The Catholic Truth Society has been publishing books and booklets for over 150 years, they add many new titles each year, and many drop into the out of print category. Of the 60 titles I have read so far all have been 4 or 5 Stars our of 5. And I loved the books in this series.

The description of this volume is:

“This booklet explores the imagery of trees and fruitfulness in the Bible, and offers a sketch of Christian morality based on the relationship of spiritual fruits to the four cardinal virtues and the three theological virtues. The result is a kind of rough map, a guidebook of sorts to a life in the Spirit, inspired by teachings that we find in Holy Scripture and in the Catechism of the Catholic Church.

The chapters in the book are:

Introduction
Nostalgia for Paradise
The Tree of the Cross
The Pattern of the Moral Life
Dividing the Fruits
Fruits of Prudence
Fruits of Justice
Fruits of Fortitude
Fruits of Temperance
The Healing of the Nations
References

This book in many ways was much more academic than others in the series. Reading it, the book had a very different feel than others in the series. The fruit of the spirit and the spiritual disciplines are something that have fascinated me for over 30 years now. Stratford in the introduction states:

“This booklet is about the fruits of the Holy Spirit. It explores the imagery of trees and fruitfulness in the Bible, and offers a tentative sketch of Christian morality based on the relationship of spiritual fruits to the four cardinal virtues and the three theological virtues. The result is a kind of rough map, a guidebook of sorts to a life in the Spirit, inspired by teachings that we find in Holy Scripture and in the Catechism of the Catholic Church.”

He also says:

“The translation of Saint Paul’s Letter to the Galatians in the Revised Standard Version of the Bible lists the fruits of the Spirit as nine: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. But the older Vulgate and Douai versions give twelve: charity, joy, peace, patience, benignity, goodness, longanimity, mildness, faith, modesty, continency, chastity. Finally, the Catechism of the Catholic Church (para 1832) follows the older tradition, and lists twelve:

“The fruits of the Spirit are perfections that the Holy Spirit forms in us as the first fruits of eternal glory. The tradition of the Church lists twelve of them: ‘charity, joy, peace, patience, kindness [benignity], goodness, generosity [longanimity], gentleness [mildness], faithfulness [faith], modesty, self-control [continency], chastity’.”

Guided by the Catechism, it is this list of twelve that will be followed in what follows. But whether nine or twelve we need to remember that all these diverse fruits are aspects of the one fruit that is mentioned at the beginning of all three lists; namely love, or charity.”

After that he goes on to speak about symbols in the bible, about ways of interpreting symbols. And then he looks specifically at the symbols of trees, light, lamps and boats. One of the great sections in this book was a look at the differences between fruits and virtues. He states:

“One thing that many find confusing is the distinction between virtues and fruits. The fruits of the Holy Spirit are the result of the virtues. To put it more poetically, the virtues are the blossom on the tree of life, which we see in springtime, and the fruits are what come from these flowers at the time of ripeness. So at this point we need to consider the virtues. What are they, and how do they grow?”

In the next section ‘Dividing the Fruits’ Stratford declares:

“How are we to understand the fruits of the Holy Spirit in detail? What can we say about them? In what follows I have been very specific - perhaps too specific for some people. But I want to show that the twelve fruits are not just vague terms to describe the attributes or behaviour of a typically nice person; they are the actual results of the four cardinal virtues being energized by the Holy Spirit through the three theological virtues.”

And in part that is what I mentioned earlier. This book is much more detailed then others in the series. That is not a bad thing, but it is not what I was expecting. But it was a book I am blessed to have read. And it is another great read from the Catholic Truth Society.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Books in the Deeper Christianity Series:

7 Gifts of the Holy Spirit
8 Deadly Sins Learning to Defend the Life of Grace
Christian Fasting Disciplining the Body, Awakening the Spirit
Deepening Prayer Life Defined by Prayer
Desire & Delight
Faith, Hope and Love The Theological Virtues
Fruits of the Holy Spirit Living a Happy Life
Icons
Lectio Divina Spiritual Reading of the Bible
Making Sunday Special

Mary in the Liturgy
Mary Mysteries of the Blessed Virgin Mary
Providence and Prayer
Prayer in Sadness and Sorrow

Prudence, Justice, Courage, and Temperance
Purgatory A Mystery of Love
Spiritual Warfare Fighting the Good Fight


The Church's Year Unfolding the Mysteries of Christ
The Name of God The Revelation of the Merciful Presence of God
Understanding The Story Of The Bible
Union with God


Books by Stratford Caldecott:
Secret Fire: The Spiritual Vision of J.R.R. Tolkien
All Things Made New: The Mysteries of the World in Christ
The Radiance of Being: Dimensions of Cosmic Christianity
The Tumbler of God: Chesterton as Mystic
Not as the World Gives: The Way of Creative Justice
A Hidden Presence: The Catholic Imagination of J.R.R Tolkien
Eternity in Time
Understanding The New Age Movement
Catholic Social Teaching







Wednesday, 6 March 2019

7 Gifts of the Holy Spirit - Fr Richard Conrad OP - CTS Deeper Christianity Series

7 Gifts of the Holy Spirit
CTS Deeper Christianity Series
Fr Richard Conrad OP
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781860825347
eISBN 9781784692452
ASIN B071NMCZHD
CTS Booklet SP27


In the last year I have read 60 books from the Catholic Truth Society, I discovered them by accident doing research on an author from the last Century, and have fell in love with the books and booklets I have read. This book is the fifth I have read in the Deeper Christianity Series that I have read. Up until recently I believed there were 16 books in the series and that 15 of those 16 were available as eBooks. I was mistaken. There have actually been 52 books in this particular series over the years. And many are out of print. And from a contact at CTS, for many of the out-of-print volumes the CTS no longer holds the rights. So tracking down those older volumes is going to prove difficult. The Catholic Truth Society has been publishing books and booklets for over 150 years, they add many new titles each year, and many drop into the out of print category. Of the 60 titles I have read so far all have been 4 or 5 Stars our of 5. And I loved the books in this series.

The description of this volume is:

“Every Christian who has been confirmed has received the fullness of the seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit. This booklet explains what these gifts are, the effect they can have on the life of the person who accepts them and what a life truly led by the Spirit should look like.”

 And with my oldest daughters upcoming confirmation it has proved and informative and enlightening read. And I already plan on reading it with my daughter as she picks which specific gift she will pray for during her confirmation. This book is an overview of the 7 gifts, but also has a strong focus on the role and results of the gifts in the confirmation process. The chapters in the book are:

Introduction
Jesus hands on the Spirit to us
The Spirit in our lives
The Seven Gifts
Confirmation – sharing Jesus’ ministry and glory
This book looks at the history of these seven gifts. Including Saint Jerome’s choice in translation. Saint Gregory the great, Thomas Aquinas, and Bonaventure. The book ends with a prayer to the Holy spirit that was composed by Cardinal Manning. 

A Prayer to the Holy Spirit 
(composed by Cardinal Manning)

O Holy Spirit of God, take us as your disciples.
Guide us, enlighten us, sanctify us.
Bind our hands that they may do no evil.
Cover our eyes that they may see it no more.
Sanctify our hearts that evil may not dwell within us.
Be our God and our Guide.
Wherever you lead us, we will go.
Whatever you forbid us we will renounce.
And whatever you command us, in your strength, we will do.
Lead us, then, into the fulness of your truth.

This book is a great read. It can serve as a reminder to those of us who are already confirmed. And for those yet to be confirmed can serve as a great guide in helping them select a particular gift. It is an excellent read in a wonderful series, and I recommend both this specific book and the series as a whole.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Books in the Deeper Christianity Series:

7 Gifts of the Holy Spirit
8 Deadly Sins Learning to Defend the Life of Grace
Christian Fasting Disciplining the Body, Awakening the Spirit
Deepening Prayer Life Defined by Prayer
Desire & Delight
Faith, Hope and Love The Theological Virtues
Fruits of the Holy Spirit Living a Happy Life
Icons
Lectio Divina Spiritual Reading of the Bible
Making Sunday Special

Mary in the Liturgy
Mary Mysteries of the Blessed Virgin Mary
Providence and Prayer
Prayer in Sadness and Sorrow

Prudence, Justice, Courage, and Temperance
Purgatory A Mystery of Love
Spiritual Warfare Fighting the Good Fight


The Church's Year Unfolding the Mysteries of Christ
The Name of God The Revelation of the Merciful Presence of God
Understanding The Story Of The Bible
Union with God