--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/CTSDevotions As it appears live September 28, 2020 12:29:59 AM UTC

Showing posts with label CTSDevotions. Show all posts
Showing posts with label CTSDevotions. Show all posts

Monday, 31 August 2020

The Message and Prayers of Fatima - Donal Anthony Foley - CTS Prayers and Devotions

The Message and Prayers of Fatima
Prayers and Devotions
Donal Anthony Foley
Timothy Tindal-Robertson
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781784691394
eISBN 9781784692193
ASIN B072BC3178
CTS Booklet D812


Over the last few years, I have read over 150 volumes from the CTS. I have read books from many series. And many authors. Lately I have read several books that are part of the CTS Devotions and Prayer Series. I have read many in the CTS Biographies and also Saints of the Isles Series, and the Great Saints Series. Prior to that I had only ever read two other books from the CTS and it was by Donal Anthony Foley, Apparitions of Mary, a wonderful volume I picked up on retreat almost 14 years ago.

This is the third volume I have read by Donal Anthony Foley. This book was first published in 2016 and the eBook was released in 2017. It was published for the 100th Anniversary of Fatima. The description of the book is:

“Our Lady’s appeal in 1917 to the three shepherd children of Fatima, for prayer for peace and for a deep conversion of heart, rings out from the site of her apparitions at the world-famous shrine with greater relevance than ever for the people of our times. This is explained in the concise summary of the remarkable developments that have continued up to the present time, which accompanies the Fatima prayers and devotions together with other Marian prayers and reflections that are included in this eBook.”

And the chapters are:
The Centenary of Our Lady of Fatima, 1917-2017 written by Timothy Tindal-Robertson
Fatima Prayers and Devotions compiled by Donal Anthony Foley
Our Lady of Fatima and the Rosary
Acts of Consecration and Reparation
Other Marian Prayers
Novenas to Our Lady of Fatima
Fatima and Immaculate Heart Litanies 
Fatima Hymns

The beginning of the Introduction states:

“The 13th May 2017 is the centenary of Our Lady’s first apparition at Fatima. One hundred years later, it is clear that as a result of recent developments with regard to Our Lady’s message, it has become more relevant than ever, both for the well-being of the Church today as well as for the development of its mission for the salvation of mankind in the years that lie ahead.”

The centenary of Fatima is now a few years behind us. But the message of Fatima and the prayers are just as important today. The collection of prayers are wonderful. This is one of the smallest books I have seen from the Catholic Truth Society. In comes in at 64 pages in the print edition. 

This is a fantastic little volume. Well worth picking up. 

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.


For reviews of other books in the CTS Devotions series click here.

Books by Donal Anthony Foley:
Our Lady and the New Evangelisation
Christian Living: The Spirituality of the Foyers of Charity
Message of Bernadette: Lourdes 2008 - 150th Anniversary of the Apparitions
Understanding Medjugorje: Heavenly Visions or Religious Illusion?
Marian Apparitions, the Bible, and the Modern World
Medjugorje Revisited: 30 Years of Visions or Religious Fraud?

Fiction:
The Glaston Chronicles:
The Secret of Glaston Tor
The Dark Tower






Tuesday, 18 August 2020

Saint Joseph Prayers and Devotions - Donal Anthony Foley - CTS Devotions

Saint Joseph Prayers and Devotions
CTS Devotions
Donal Anthony Foley
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 
9781860829109
CTS Booklet D772


Over the last few years, I have read over 150 volumes from the CTS. I have read books from many series. And many authors. Lately I have read several books that are part of the CTS Devotions and Prayer Series. Prior to that I had only ever read one book from the CTS and it was by Donal Anthony Foley, Apparitions of Mary, a wonderful volume I picked up on retreat almost 14 years ago. When doing research for a different review and I came across this book. I had to track it down and read it. And it did not disappoint. The description of the volume is:

“The booklet will help deepen love for St Joseph bringing him closer to the everyday needs, concerns and joys of all. Explaining the effects of devotion to St Joseph over the centuries, the booklet is a practical and simple way for people to foster a devotional spirit and can be used individually or in parish groups.”

And the jacket blurb states:

“The statues and paintings in Catholic churches and chapels are an aid to prayer and devotion for everyone. 

This booklet explains the origin of devotion to St joseph, and his importance in our everyday life and on our journey of faith.

The best loved litanies, novenas, devotions and hymns are included to encourage a prayerful visit to Jesus’s foster-father and a mind and heart lifted up to God.”

Over the last few years as I have aged, and as my children are growing, I have found myself drawn to Saint Joseph again and again. I have read several books about him, and prayer a few different prays for his intercession daily. And even with all the books and booklets I have already read about Saint Joseph I was very happy to have read this little work, and to have it now sitting in my bedside table. 

The chapters in this volume are:

Origins and Importance of the Devotion
     St Joseph’s role in the infancy narratives
     Devotion to Saint Joseph

Prayers and devotions to be said in front of the statue/icon.
     Readings from the Feasts of Saint Joseph
     Prayers to St Joseph
     Prayers to St Joseph, patron of the dying
     Novenas and Meditation in honour of St Joseph
     Hymns to St Joseph
     Prayers of consecration to St Joseph

The first part of this volume is a brief history and introduction. And then there are many prayers. The booklet can be used for personal devotion or for communion prayers. It is a wonderful little volume. This booklet should be in every Catholic home, or the desk of every Catholic man. At the end of the book it recommends Companion to Saint Joseph by J.B. Midgley and The Role of a Christian Father by Keith Chappell. Both of which are excellent volumes to pursue along side this one. Even with everything else I have read about Saint Joseph I found this book of great worth. I highly recommend this book and will be pursuing other offerings from the pen of Donal Anthony Foley. A great read, I encourage you to track it down and pray your way through it.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.


For reviews of other books in the CTS Devotions series click here.



Books by Donal Anthony Foley:
Our Lady and the New Evangelisation
Christian Living: The Spirituality of the Foyers of Charity
Message of Bernadette: Lourdes 2008 - 150th Anniversary of the Apparitions
Understanding Medjugorje: Heavenly Visions or Religious Illusion?
Marian Apparitions, the Bible, and the Modern World
Medjugorje Revisited: 30 Years of Visions or Religious Fraud?

Fiction:
The Glaston Chronicles:
The Secret of Glaston Tor
The Dark Tower







Friday, 14 August 2020

A Newman Prayer Book - The Birmingham Oratory - CTS Devotions

A Newman Prayer Book
The Birmingham Oratory (Editor)
John Henry Newman
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 
9781860826696
eISBN 9781784694265
CTS Booklet D729


Over the last few years, I have read many books from the Catholic Truth Society. This is one of a few either by or about Saint John Henry Cardinal Newman that I have read from the CTS. With his canonization in 2019 there has been a resurgence of interest in the man and his works. There are new editions of older books, and new works being published frequently. This volume was originally published in the early 2010. It was revised and the eBook was released in 2017. The physical volume has been updated again after his canonization in 2019. Many of the CTS books by and about Newman are back in print in new editions. But this one is currently only available as an electronically in some formats, and the new print edition.

The description of the book is:

“The canonisation of St John Henry Newman has led, perhaps more than ever, to a need for a simple Newman prayer book. This selection of brief extracts from Cardinal Newman’s Meditations and Devotions will introduce people to the mind and spirit of Newman, and enable many to participate in the Church’s joy. This selection of extracts has been arranged so that there is a prayer for each day of the month. Two morning and evening prayers, taken from his unpublished writings, are also included. A novena composed from Newman’s writings, allowing people to pray through Newman’s intercession, completes the prayer book.

Compiled by the Fathers of the Oratory, Birmingham.”

The chapters in the book are:

Preface
John Henry Newman, 1801-1890
Morning Prayers
Evening Prayers
Prayers for each day of the month
Lead Kindly Light
Prayer for the Light of Truth
Novena
Prayer for Canonisation

We are told in the preface to the unrevised eBook edition that:

“Thanks to the Catholic Truth Society this selection of prayers and meditations by John Henry Newman is, in time for his beatification, being made available in this new edition. These are the prayers that helped make Newman a saint. They certainly make his sanctity clear to us.”

We are also told:

“These prayers give us a unique entry into the prayer life of a saint, the words of his heart as he spoke to the Heart of God. They draw us, so to speak, into the conversation, and invite us to make the prayers our own. So while John Henry Newman’s heart speaks to God, his heart also speaks to ours.

In his life, John Henry Newman was a friend, teacher and priest to many people. And it is still so for us today. We recognise him as a friend, because his concerns are ours as well. We know him to be a teacher because he leads us always to a deeper knowledge of the truth. And we find him still to be a priest, through his prayer for us. In short, heart speaks to heart.

I hope that many will find a friend, a teacher and a priest in these words of the soon to be Blessed, John Henry Newman.”

These words by Father Richard Duffield, Provost of the Birmingham oratory set the tone and expectation for the volume. It is a wonderful little volume. I particularly enjoyed the prayers for each day of the month. 31 prayers that encompass a lot in the spiritual life. They will encourage, motivate, challenge and console. The novena was for his canonization but can still be used as a novena to the now canonized saint. 

I find that the more I read about and by Saint John henry Newman the more I appreciate him. His dedication to education, and his deep spiritual life. He was a voice of reason in a turbulent time. And his is a voice we should be harkening to today. I am thankful to have the eBook of this on my phone so it is always with me. Great prayers by a great man of God. 

It is another excellent volume in the canon of Newman works. And another great resource from the Catholic Truth Society.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.


Reviews of other books by John Henry Newman:
Stations of the Cross

Meditations on Mary, Our Mother 
Prayers Before The Eucharist
...

CTS books about Newman:
John Henry Newman: Lead Kindly Light -Dr. Raymond Edwards
Newman His Life and Legacy – Fr. Ian Ker
John Henry Newman Apostle to the Doubtful - Meriol Trevor and Leonie Caldecott
Newman Prayer Book - The Birmingham Oratory (ed)
The Mind of Cardinal Newman: From His Own Writings - Charles Stephen Dessain

Daily Christian Living with John Henry Newman


CTS Books by John Henry Newman:
Meditations on Stations of the Cross
Christ upon the Waters - CTS Onefifties Book 3


Reviews of other books about Newman:
Take Five: Meditations with John Henry Newman -  Mike Aquilina and Juan Velez















Wednesday, 12 August 2020

First Fridays and First Saturdays The Devotions Explained - Catholic Truth Society - CTS Devotions

First Fridays & First Saturdays: The Devotions Explained
CTS Devotions
J.B. Midgley
Fr Richard Whinder
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781860825088
eISBN 9781784692186
ASIN B071V83RF2
CTS Booklet D694


I have come to love and depend on the books from the Catholic Truth Society. Over the last few years, I have read over 150 books, and booklets from the CTS. I have may series I love, and many authors who have published with CTS. Ad the CTS Devotions Series is one of the best. The booklet is published without an official author but the description gives thanks to Fr Richard Whinder and Mr Barry Midgley for their assistance in preparing the booklet. Barry Midgley published most of his works under the name J.B. Midgley. Speaking of description the description of this volume is:

“These well-known devotions each have a fascinating origin and history, linked to apparitions of Jesus and Mary: the first to Margaret Mary Alacoque (1673-75) and the second to the three children at Fatima (1917). This booklet sets out how to pray these devotions, and offers helpful guidance as to their value, origins and purpose.

These devotions to the Sacred Heart of Jesus and to the Immaculate Heart of Mary can readily be seen as relevant to today as they have been in the past. New material on the Rosary and Confessions is included, along with the other traditional elements of the devotions.

CTS is grateful to Fr Richard Whinder and Mr Barry Midgley for their assistance in preparing this booklet.”

And the chapters in this book are:

Introduction
The devotion of the First Fridays in honour of the Sacred Heart of Jesus
      Guide to a good Confession
      Receiving Holy Communion devoutly
      Making a Holy Hour
The devotion of the First Saturdays in honour of the Immaculate Heart of Mary
      The Rosary
       ‘Meditating on the Mysteries’
      Other prayers to Our Lady
A note on indulgences

The section o ‘Other Prayers to Our Lady’ has a small collection of 10 Marian prayers. This book is a wonderful little read. We are told in the introduction:

“‘Devotions’ are popular prayers which are not part of the Church’s official liturgy but which flow from the liturgy and in their turn help us to participate in it more fully. The Church encourages these devotions, and in the year 2001 published a document entitled The Directory on Popular Piety and the Liturgy, to foster these popular customs and ensure that they conform to the authentic spirit of the Gospel.”

And later:

“It is to be hoped that this little book may encourage these two devotions anew, and lead many more Christians to discover the riches that can be found there.”

This book delivers on that hope. I was blessed to have read and this book and know that I will read it again and again. I should not have been surprised by Midgley’s contributions to this volume. The style and writing was very familiar. This is another excellent read from the Catholic Truth Society. I highly recommend this little volume, if you already practice these two devotions It will provide you with some more information and ideas for these practices. If you are not it will help you to learn the history of them, and likely inspire you to give them a try. A fantastic read.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

For other books in the CTS Devotions Series click here.


Books by J.B. Midgley:

Advent & Christmastide with the Saints
Antonio Rosmini
Benedict - Patron of Europe
Bernard of Clairvaux – CTS Great Saints
Charles Borromeo  - CTS Great Saints
Companion to St. Joseph
Companion to the Feasts of Mary
Companion to Saint Peter
Companion to Saint Paul
Companion to the Angels
Companion to the Feasts of Our Lord
Companion to the Passion of Our Lord
Dominic - CTS Great Saints
George: Patron of England - CTS Great Saints
Dewi Sant: St David Patron of Wales
Francis de Sales – CTS Great Saints
John Baptist de La Salle – CTS Great Saints
John Vianney – CTS Great Saints
Lent with the Saints
Nurturing the Young
Robert Bellarmine
Saint John the Baptist 
Stations of the Cross and Resurrection with the Saints
The Eucharist with the Saints
The Four Evangelists
Thomas Becket – CTS Saints of the Isles
Vincent de Paul – CTS Great Saints
Witchcraft, Sorcery and Magic


Contributed to:
First Fridays and First Saturdays The Devotions Explained 
...








Thursday, 9 July 2020

Praying for Priests with St Therese of Lisieux - Maureen O'Riordan - CTS Devotions

Praying for Priests with St Therese of Lisieux: 
Including a special Novena for Priests
CTS Devotions
Maureen O'Riordan
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 
9781860826191
eISBN 9781784694876
ASIN B074K8C11K
CTS Booklet D715


Over the last few years, I have read over 150 volumes from the CTS. I have read books from many series. And many authors. Lately I have read several books that are part of the CTS Devotions and Prayer Series I believe this is the only book written by Maureen O'Riordan. This is an excellent volume. The print edition of this book was published in 2009 and the eBook edition released in 2017. 

The current description of this volume is:

“This eBook about how St Thérèse prayed for priests out of love for them and for the souls they touch. We can share with Thérèse in this work of prayer, praying a special Novena for priests, including excerpts of her correspondence with missionary priests.”

And on the CTS site:

“St Thérèse prayed for priests out of love for them and for the souls they touch. We can share with Thérèse in this work of prayer, praying a special Novena for priests, including excerpts of her correspondence with missionary priests.”

And the contents are:

An invitation
St Thérèse’s Apostolate of Prayer for Priests
Maurice Bellière
A Novena to St Thérèse of the Child Jesus of the Holy Face written by herself
Adolphe Roulland
Proclaiming A Year for Priests
Further information

This volume was first published after Pope Benedict XVI had proclaimed a year for Priests. And with all that has happened in the last 10 years since the release of the volume we need to be praying for our priests and bishops even more than ever. 

Reading this volume is very moving and inspirational. You cannot help but feel the deep love that Saint Thérèse’s had for priests in general, and for several specific priests. I doubt anyone could read this volume and not pray more for the priests in their lives. Pray for the good priests who have helped and ministered to them. And hopefully pray for the priests they struggle to appreciate, respect, or even doubt their worth. I have expanded my praying for priests since reading this volume. And I have set colander reminders to pray the Novena. A few of the passages I highlighted my first time through this wonderful booklet are:

“‘I lived in the company of many saintly priests for a month and I learned that, though their dignity raises them above the angels, they are nevertheless weak and fragile . . . men. If holy priests, whom Jesus in His Gospel calls the “salt of the earth,” show in their conduct their extreme need for prayers, what is to be said of those who are tepid? Didn’t Jesus say too: “If the salt loses its savour, wherewith will it be salted?””

“This is Carmel’s vocation since the sole purpose of our prayers and sacrifices is to be the apostle of the apostles.”

“Throughout her religious life Thérèse prayed fervently for parish priests, missionaries, and priests in trouble.”

“Thérèse did not pray for priests in isolation, but for the souls they would influence. Céline reports that Thérèse called the apostolate of prayer for priests “bulk buying,” because, if she got the head, she would get the members too.”

“‘Oh! Give us priests! Priests filled with the fire of true children of Mary, who will give Jesus to souls with the same tenderness and care with which you carried the little Child of Bethlehem in your arms! In the Host, oh, Mother, your Jesus is even poorer than in the crib! He no longer has hands as tender as yours to touch Him. . . . Give Him a generation of priests formed in your school, in the tenderness of your virginal love.’”

This is an important little volume. Particularly at this juncture in the history of the Church. As Catholics we need to raise up prayers for our priests and their ministry. Please pick up this book and read about the importance or those prayers.

This is an excellent little volume. I have set calendar reminders over the next 9 days to pray the novena, and know it is one I will return to frequently. This is a volume I could easily return to again and again. It is another great offering in the CTS Devotions and Prayers series. A fantastic book to add to your personal library.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.


For reviews of other books in the CTS Devotions series click here.










Tuesday, 7 July 2020

Little Book of Consolation - David Coombs - CTS Devotions

Little Book of Consolation: 
For Those Who Mourn
CTS Devotions
David Coombs
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 
9781860827211
eISBN 9781784694760
ASIN B0745881F2
CTS Booklet D739


Over the last few years I have read over 150 books from the Catholic Truth Society. Lately I have read several that are part of the CTS Devotions Series. This one was not what I was expected. I picked this up after the untimely passing of my younger brother. It was one of a few books dealing with mourning and loss that I have read over the past few weeks. This volume was published in 2011, and the eBook was released in 2017. 

The description of this volume is:

“This thoughtful compilation of prayers, reflections, hymns and scripture brings a great message of Christian hope and consolation into the human and spiritual void experienced by those recently bereaved. Each chosen prayer and reading provides the sense of divine love and mystery that lies at the heart of the human encounter with grief and loss. The reader can browse easily, in private reflection and prayer, receiving Christ's consolation along a difficult and often lonely journey. This little book of comfort will help the reader through the tough and almost difficult aspect to life in order to comfort and console them.”

And the description on the CTS website has dropped the last sentence from that description. The beginning of the Introductory Note states:

“Through its liturgy and public prayers the Catholic Church powerfully and constantly supports the dead and the dying. 

But, the needs of the bereaved, they who mourn, are strangely neglected: an unexpected human and spiritual void that has led me to compile this little publication. Its message is one of personal consolation and thus of hope. To these purposes, a hint or sense of divine mystery is present in all the chosen prayers and readings.”

And the chapters in the volume are:

Blessed are those who mourn
Prayers
From the Psalms
From the Prophet Isaiah
The Patriarch Abraham
From the Prophet Elijah
The Annunciation
The Visitation
The Nativity
Jesus walks on the water
The labourers in the vineyard
The story of Lazarus
Jesus and Nicodemus
The garden of Gethsemane
The Crucifixion
The Resurrection
Easter
From the Dream of Gerontius
Hymns

Each chapter is comprised of a mix of prayers and excerpts from the bible. Some just a few sentences and some a few paragraphs or pages. There is no commentary, guidance, or reflection. It is all straight text taken from other sources. As an eBook it was easy to read through from beginning to end. But I could see how one dealing with grief would appreciate the physical volume and be able to just randomly open and read the section they discover.

As stated, it was not what I was expecting. I did however benefit from reading the volume. It is a good little resource, and I have copied several prayers into my One Note Prayer book for frequent use.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.


For reviews of other books in the CTS Devotions series click here.









Friday, 3 July 2020

St John XXIII and St John Paul II Prayer Book - Joanna Bogle - CTS Devotions

St John XXIII and St John Paul II Prayer Book
CTS Devotions
Joanna Bogle
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 
9781860829161
eISBN 9781784694494
ASIN B073H1XBDJ
CTS Booklet D774


Over the last few years I have read over 150 volumes from the CTS. I have read books from many series. And many authors. A few authors so captured my attention I tried to track down all the books by them. This was the third book I have read by Joanna Bogle. And I very much enjoyed this volume. It was not what I expected, hoverer it is an excellent volume. The print edition of this book was published in 2014 and the eBook edition released in 2017. 

The description of this volume is:

“Praying with these two new saints who were canonised on 27th April 2014. We have new friends in heaven. John XXIII and John Paul II were men of deep prayer, with a message about prayer and the spiritual life which can be learned and shared. This new prayer book helps and encourages the faithful to seek the intercession of these two new saints and to thus grow in their own prayer, holiness and virtue. – Insight into their spirituality and how they prayed – Two Novenas – one to John XXIII and one to John Paul II – Prayers they themselves used and prayers written by them on themes close to their heart – Their meditations on the mysteries of the Rosary and the Stations of the Cross.”

And the contents are:

Introduction
Spiritual Biographies
The Saints they loved
How they prayed
The Holy Rosary - Meditations
The Stations of the Cross - Meditations
The Divine Mercy
Prayers on themes close to their hearts
A Novena to St John XXIII
A Novena to St John Paul II

I was expecting just a prayer book, but this is much more than that. The first part of the book is concise spiritual biographies of the two saints. Followed by a section on saints that they had devotion to. Then a chapter on their prayer lives. And then 6 chapters focused on specific prayers and devotions. 

The saints examined in that chapter are:
Saint Joseph
Saint Charles Borromeo
Saint Martin de Porres
Saint Edith Stein, patroness of Europe
Saint Josephine Bakhita
Saint ianna Beretta Molla
Saint Maximilian Kolbe
Saint Teresa of Calcutta

And a few of these sections have prayers as well. Then when we get to the chapter Prayers On Themes Close To Their Hearts, we have 14 prayers from these 2 saints on a wide variety of topics. The book concludes with a novena to each of the saints. The novena to Saint John XXIII is based on the nine virtues and good qualities: hope, humility, obedience, charity, peace, kindness, good humour, faith, and openness to God’s will. The novena to Saint John Paul II is based on nine virtues and good qualities of Saint John Paul II: courage, love, faithfulness, justice, loyalty, respect for others, truthfulness, patience, and steadfastness in prayer.

This is an excellent little volume. I have set calendar reminders over the next few weeks to pray the two novenas. And have added a few of the other prayers to my One Note prayer collection. But it is a volume I could easily return to again and again. Another great offering in the CTS Devotions and Prayers series. A fantastic book to add to your personal library or prayers.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.


Books by Joanna Bogle:
A Heart for Europe: the lives of Emperor Charles and Empress Zita of Austria-Hungary
Book of Feasts and Seasons
A Yearbook of Seasons and Celebrations
Lent and Easter: Catholic Customs and Traditions
John Paul II, Man of Prayer. the Spiritual Life of a Saint
English Catholic Heroines
Advent & Christmas: Catholic Customs and Traditions
Newman's London: A pilgrim handbook
Courage and Conviction. Pius XII, the Bridgettine Nuns, and the Rescue of Jews
St John XXIII and St John Paul II Prayer Book
Saints & Patrons: Christian Names for Baptism and Confirmation.
A Yearbook of Seasons and Celebrations