--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/CTSSaintsOfTheIsles As it appears live September 19, 2020 4:51:28 PM UTC

Showing posts with label CTSSaintsOfTheIsles. Show all posts
Showing posts with label CTSSaintsOfTheIsles. Show all posts

Wednesday, 10 June 2020

Frances Taylor - Sr Eithne Leonard - CTS Saints of the Isles

Frances Taylor: Mother Magdalen 1832-1900
CTS Saints of the Isles
Sr Eithne Leonard
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781860826139
CTS Booklet B724


Over the last few years I have read over 100 books from the Catholic Truth Society. This was the thirteenth I have read in the Saints of the Isles Series. I have read all that are readily available and now tracking down those that are harder to find. And I must state that this one was another one that was well worth finding. I have also read many in the CTS Biographies and also Great Saints Series. There are so many great stories about the lives of the saints. I believe I have a complete list of the volumes in this series, and this is the twelfth I have read from the fourteen I have discovered so far. The description of the series is:

“The Saints of the Isles series brings together telling accounts of the extraordinary lives of men and women from the British Isles - lives of holiness, courage and true discipleship to Christ and the Gospel message.”

And of this specific book:

“Frances Taylor served alongside Florence Nightingale as a nurse in the Crimea and on returning to England in 1855, she quickly won respect for her charitable work with deprived children and adults in London. She converted to Catholicism and went on to be one of the few British founders of a religious order: The Poor Servants of the Mother of God who continue her work among the poor and disadvantaged today.”

This is one of the shortest of the biographies I have read from the Catholic Truth Society, across all series. This volume was published in 2009, and Frances Taylor - Mother Magdalen Taylor, was declared venerable in 2014. And her cause for canonization is still in process. There was a prayer for her beatification first published in 1935, and the last section of this volume is a prayer for that beatification. Now that she had been beatified the prayer can be modified for her canonization. 

This little volume has stirred in me a desire to track down more books about this women of God, and more books by her. She wrote extensively about her work as a nurse and is considered to have over 25 major works. In particular I wish to read:

Eastern Hospitals and English Nurses
Irish Homes and Irish Hearts
Lost and other Tales

And at least one of the longer biographies of this woman. The chapters in this volume are:

Victorian Childhood
Crimean Nursing
A New Catholic
Poor Servant of the Mother of God

Frances Taylor travelled extensively meeting with other orders and researching their charism before founding her own distinct order. She worked to serve the poor. She faced many hardships, and that strove to live for God and to serve others. And She had a focus in ministering to poor Irish. This biography was a fascinating read and it will leave you wanting more. 

Another excellent volume in the Saints of the Isles Series from the Catholic Truth Society.  

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Books in the Saints of the Isles Series:

Edmund Arrowsmith - John S. Hogan
Margaret Clitherow - Jean Olwen Maynard
Edmund Campion - Alexander Haydon
John Southworth Priest and Martyr - Michael Archer
Saint Thomas More - Alvaro de Silva
John Ogilvie - Eleanor McDowell
Frances Taylor - Eithne Leonard
Mary Potter - Elizabeth Gilroy
John Fisher - Richard L. Smith
Robert Southwell - Fiorella Sultana De Maria
Ignatius Spencer - Fr. Ben Lodge
Sr Elizabeth Prout - Dominic Savio Hamer
Forty Martyrs of England and Wales - James Walsh
Thomas Becket - J.B. Midgley

...














Monday, 27 April 2020

Sr. Elizabeth Prout - Sister Dominic Savio Hamer CP - CTS Saints of the Isles

Sr. Elizabeth Prout
CTS Saints of the Isles
Sister Dominic Savio Hamer CP
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781860825491
CTS Booklet B715


Over the last few years I have read over 100 books from the Catholic Truth Society. This was the thirteenth I have read in the Saints of the Isles Series. I have read all that are readily available and now tracking down those that are harder to find. And I must state that this one was well worth finding. I have also read many in the CTS Biographies and also Great Saints Series. There are so many great stories about the lives of the saints. I believe I have a complete list of the volumes in this series, and this is the eleventh I have read from the fourteen I have discovered so far. The description of the series is:

“The Saints of the Isles series brings together telling accounts of the extraordinary lives of men and women from the British Isles - lives of holiness, courage and true discipleship to Christ and the Gospel message.”

And of this specific book:

“Elizabeth Prout was christened as an anglican but grew up very near to Blessed Dominic Barberi's Passionist monastery. His preaching and actions inspired her to convert to Catholicism and give her life to Christ. With the help of the Passionists Elizabeth founded an order that poor girls could join in order to bring help and education to the very poorest. Elizabeth spent the rest of her life founding convents, schools and working tirelessly for the poor in Britain. Over the last 150 years the Congregation of the Sisters of the Cross and Passion has spread all over the world and Sr Elizabeth's cause is progressing to a recognition of her heroic work.”

This is the shortest of the biographies I have read from the Catholic Truth Society, across all series. There is no table of contents in this book, and but a single chapter but the sections in the book are are:

Elizabeth Prout
Elizabeth Prout’s encounter with Blessed Dominic Barberi CP
First Encounter with Father Ignatius Spencer CP
Northampton
The cost of conversion to Catholicism
Foundress of a new religious order
The Rule
Education
St Chad’s, Manchester
St Mary’s Mulberry Street, Manchester
St  Joseph’s, Goulden Street, Manchester
Newton Heath, Manchester
St Mary’s Leveshulme
St Ann’s Ashton-under-Lyne
St Anne’s Sutton, St Helens
Parr Hall
Blackbrook
Holy Cross Convent, Peckershill, Sutton
St Anne’s School, Sutton
St Joseph’s School, Peasley Cross
Crisis
The Lancashire Cotton Famine in Ashton-under-Lyne
Homes for mill girls
Papal Approbation
Sisters of the Cross and Passion
A Prayer for the Beatification of Elizabeth Prout
Further Reading

That is a lot of sections in a volume that comes in at 32 pages. This is the story of the life and tireless work of Sister Elizabeth Prout, who is also known as Mother Mary Joseph of Jesus, she was the founder of the Roman Catholic religious institute originally called the Institute of the Holy Family, but known later as the Passionist Sisters or the Sisters of the Cross and Passion. This book captures much about here life. And the order she founded, including why the name changed. 

The book also begins by mentioning that she has been reinterred beside Ignatius Spencer and Dominic Barberi in the new shrine at Sutton. All three who are in process towards canonization. It was incredible to read about this woman, her life, her passion for Jesus, and her devotion to education, especially of girls and young women. 

Her conversion was almost instantaneous upon seeing the blessed Eucharist.  After entering a novitiate, she contracted tuberculosis. She returned home and recovered, but her mother gave her the choice of have a home or remaining Catholic. Soon after she was asked to found a new religious order. And that is the story we have here.

This was an amazing read. A fascinating life of service. Another great book in an excellent series. 

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Books in the Saints of the Isles Series:

Edmund Arrowsmith - John S. Hogan
Margaret Clitherow - Jean Olwen Maynard
Edmund Campion - Alexander Haydon
John Southworth Priest and Martyr - Michael Archer
Saint Thomas More - Alvaro de Silva
John Ogilvie - Eleanor McDowell
Frances Taylor - Eithne Leonard
Mary Potter - Elizabeth Gilroy
John Fisher - Richard L. Smith
Robert Southwell - Fiorella Sultana De Maria
Ignatius Spencer - Fr. Ben Lodge
Sr Elizabeth Prout - Dominic Savio Hamer
Forty Martyrs of England and Wales - James Walsh
Thomas Becket - J.B. Midgley

...













Wednesday, 4 March 2020

Thomas Becket - J.B. Midgley - CTS Saints of the Isles

Thomas Becket
CTS Saints of the Isles
J.B. Midgley
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781860824760
CTS Booklet B697 


Over the last few years I have read over 100 books from the Catholic Truth Society. This was the thirteenth I have read in the Saints of the Isles Series. And the thirteenth I have read by J.B. Midgley. I have also read many in the CTS Biographies and also Great Saints Series. There are so many great stories about the lives of the saints. Lately I have not been focused more on this series  but more on the works of Midgley, this one just happens to cross over both interests. But back to this specific volume. The description of this book is:

“This fascinating account of one of England’s best known saints reaches beyond the rise to power of a privileged and intelligent man, to reveal a story of holiness, suffering and courage. Set in a turbulent and changing times, the forces of religious freedom and unchecked political power inevitably and fatally clashed – in the person of the King and the Archbishop. ‘Our crime’ said Becket, ‘is the assertion of ecclesiastical liberty; for to profess it is to be guilty of high treason’.”

And the chapters are:
Politics and Religion
Early Life
The king and the Archbishop
Exile and martyrdom
Devotion to Saint Thomas

This is the second time I have read about Saint Thomas Becket, and there is a third coming out next year by Father John S. Hogan I plan on reading. This is an excellent book about a fascinating man. This is a small volume but I feel that it has provided an excellent foundation for further reading and study. One of the things that surprised me most was last section of the book, ‘Destruction of Becket’s shrine by Henry VIII’. In my previous reading and study, I had not known the extent on how wide spread this action was. And the description of the amount of wealth that was stolen from the shrine while it was destroyed. 

Also, of great interest was the section ‘Murder in the Cathedral’, which highlights that five of his early biographers witnessed the events and two others had access to firsthand accounts. 

There is much I can learn from this saint and his example. For many years I had animosity to the English and practically ignored English saints, because of my Irish and Scottish heritage. But reading this book and others in the Saints of the Isles Series have given me a new look, and have inspired and invigorated my faith. It is an excellent volume and well worth a read.

Another excellent volume from the pen of Midgley and from the Catholic Truth Society!

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2020 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Books by J.B. Midgley:

Advent & Christmastide with the Saints
Antonio Rosmini
Benedict - Patron of Europe
Bernard of Clairvaux – CTS Great Saints
Charles Borromeo  - CTS Great Saints
Companion to St. Joseph
Companion to the Feasts of Mary
Companion to Saint Peter
Companion to Saint Paul
Companion to the Angels
Companion to the Feasts of Our Lord
Companion to the Passion of Our Lord
Dominic - CTS Great Saints
George: Patron of England - CTS Great Saints
Dewi Sant: St David Patron of Wales
Francis de Sales – CTS Great Saints
John Baptist de La Salle – CTS Great Saints
John Vianney – CTS Great Saints
Lent with the Saints
Nurturing the Young
Robert Bellarmine
Saint John the Baptist 
Stations of the Cross and Resurrection with the Saints
The Eucharist with the Saints
The Four Evangelists
Thomas Becket – CTS Saints of the Isles
Vincent de Paul – CTS Great Saints
Witchcraft, Sorcery and Magic


Contributed to:
First Fridays and First Saturdays The Devotions Explained 
...

Books in the Saints of the Isles Series:
Edmund Arrowsmith - John S. Hogan
Margaret Clitherow - Jean Olwen Maynard
Edmund Campion - Alexander Haydon
John Southworth Priest and Martyr - Michael Archer
Saint Thomas More - Alvaro de Silva
John Ogilvie - Eleanor McDowell
Frances Taylor - Eithne Leonard
Mary Potter - Elizabeth Gilroy
John Fisher - Richard L. Smith
Robert Southwell - Fiorella Sultana De Maria
Ignatius Spencer - Fr. Ben Lodge
Sr Elizabeth Prout - Dominic Savio Hamer
Forty Martyrs of England and Wales - James Walsh
Thomas Becket - J.B. Midgley

...

Other books about Saint Thomas Becket:
Devotions to St Thomas Becket - John S. Hogan
...













Monday, 30 December 2019

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2019

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2019

This year was a banner year, I read 392 books. The most since I started keeping track. The year by the numbers:

392 Books Read
311 Books read for the first time.
204 received 5/5 Stars.
194 Non-Fiction
198 Fiction

Here are my top ten non-fiction books of 2019.

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:
1. Introduction to Catholicism for Adults - James Socias  
2. Rediscover the Saints - Matthew Kelly
3. Remember Your Death Memento Mori - Theresa Aletheia Noble
4. Illustrissimi: The Letters Of Pope John Paul I - Albino Luciani - Pope John Paul I
5. Books by Father Nigel Woollen
6. CTS Saints of the Isles 
7. Mike Aquilina Take Five Series
8. How to Make Great Decisions - Fr. Mike Schmitz
9. Reclaiming Catholic History Series
10. Life Lessons Fifty Things I Learned in My First Fifty Years - Patrick Madrid 

My reading has been up over each of the last few years. Which I attribute in part to Brandon Vogt’s course Read More Books Now, removing all games but 1 brain game from my devices. And I now commute to work on a bus and read on the bus every day. It was not easy narrowing this down to a top 10, but the above list is what I came up with.

Note: I do not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists, they are sometimes in the bonus section. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list.  


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2018
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2019
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2019
Top Ten Fiction Books 2019
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2020
... 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

392 - 2019
359 - 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Wednesday, 25 September 2019

Thomas More - Alvaro De Silva - CTS Saints of the Isles Series

Thomas More
CTS Saints of the Isles Series

Alvaro De Silva
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 
9781784692650
eISBN 9781860822179
ASIN B071LKLXP8
CTS Booklet B677


I really do love the CTS books and booklets ! There are so many great reads, and wonderful series. And this ‘Saints of the Isles’ is one of my favorite series to date. This is the eighth book in this series from the Catholic Truth Society that I have read. And I loved it. I have read almost 100 books and booklets from the Catholic Truth Society in the last year and a half. Many have been great reads, and I have read books from several excellent series. I love this series that focuses on the Saints of the Isles. It has been inspiring, challenging, and encouraging to read about the Saints and Martyrs of the British Isles. Through my religious studies degree, with a focus on Roman Catholic Thought, I had encountered saints from all over the world, and the great and lesser known saints of Europe. But this series is opening my eyes to Saints that are part of my heritage, saints from Ireland, Scotland, England and Wales. These are incredible books about amazing saints. It is a part of our history we need to be reminded of. And to be inspired by them and their lives, and as in the case of More also his death.

That would be how I would summarize this series. But this specific book is on Saint Thomas More.  This series and this book will inspire, encourage, and challenge us in our faith! The sections in this booklet are:

Introduction
“In the Shadow of Piety”
More’s early life
Education
More’s vocation
Against pride
Common sanctity
In the service of the King

The Home of Humanity
Marriage and remarriage
Children’s education
Educating daughters
Ambition

A Reformer’s Dream
Christian humanism
Utopia
An island of intelligent imagination

More after Luther
From Lord Chancellor to Prisoner
The “Great Matter”
Dead man walking

“Everlasting Liberty”
‘The Sadness of Christ’
Final letters
The trial
Execution

The Teeth of the Church
More on More - Further Reading
A Godly Meditation

Of all the saints in this series, I was most familiar with More before reading this volume. So, in some ways this little booklet served as a refresher. I am sure that most people raised in an English-speaking country would know the name Thomas More. Either from history class or even drama class and studying the play about his life. We are told in the introduction:

“A modern biography is certainly not what medieval Christians enjoyed as “lives of the saints.” Authorial intentions being quite different, so were the reader’s expectations. In the history of the genre, the life of Thomas More (1478-1535) seems to have particular relevance. First, because no other figure in the landscape of his time, much less a layman, knew of such an intense biographical interest so soon after death. Once the conspiracy of silence around someone who had been executed as a traitor to crown and country was lifted, half a dozen writers took up their pens to record his life and martyrdom. These were William Roper, Nicholas Harpsfield, Thomas Stapleton, an anonymous writer known as “Ro. Ba.”, and two more whose works have not come down to us.”

And we are told:

“Today’s biographies tend to be huge books, and a very small one like this, a mere sketch, might seem rather pointless. But the very idea of biography is not to tell everything about a person (impossible, in any case, to write or to read) but to disclose the reasons and causes - the bios, or vital force behind that person’s actions and words.”

And concludes with:

“Unless all my reading, editing, translating, and learning from Thomas More has been a waste, I am certain that he would have wanted nothing but the truth about him, to make us see him “as he really was.” Embraced now in the unconditional love of the Trinity in heaven, he knows himself in the best possible way, perhaps the only way, and at least those who share his Creed read about him also to learn more of the splendid and merciful light of Christ. Thus, as I embark in this biographical sketch, …”

I think that captures the essence of the book, the series and many of the CTS booklets. Getting to the essence of something. And in this case I agree with the author in that More would undoubtedly appreciate that approach.

This bios will give highlights of More’s life, his ministry, and ultimately his death. He is often hailed as a Catholic humanist, and also a martyr. More died for the faith, a faith that as he grew older became every more important in his life. It is a sentiment that I feel echo’s in my own life. 

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Books in the Saints of the Isles Series:
Edmund Arrowsmith - John S. Hogan
Margaret Clitherow - Jean Olwen Maynard
Edmund Campion - Alexander Haydon
John Southworth Priest and Martyr - Michael Archer
Saint Thomas More - Alvaro de Silva
John Ogilvie - Eleanor McDowell
Frances Taylor - Eithne Leonard
Mary Potter - Elizabeth Gilroy
John Fisher - Richard L. Smith
Robert Southwell - Fiorella Sultana De Maria
Ignatius Spencer - Fr. Ben Lodge
Sr Elizabeth Prout - Dominic Savio Hamer
Forty Martyrs of England and Wales - James Walsh
Thomas Becket - J.B. Midgley

...