--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/Catechism As it appears live September 27, 2020 2:18:05 PM UTC

Showing posts with label Catechism. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Catechism. Show all posts

Wednesday, 26 December 2018

Catholic Christianity - Peter Kreeft - A Complete Catechism of Catholic Beliefs Based on the Catechism of the Catholic Church

Catholic Christianity: A Complete Catechism of Catholic Beliefs Based on the Catechism of the Catholic Church
Peter Kreeft
Ignatius Press

ISBN 9780898707984
ASIN  B004QOB78A


I read this book as part of my working through the Catechism in a year. Over the last few years I have read the catechism and other similar books a little bit each day throughout the year. This year I added this book and it took me 4 months of study to work through this volume. This was an excellent read. It was a wonderful study tool. It helped me go so much deeper in my study of the Catholic Faith. The sections in this volume are:

Preface
PART I: Theology (What Catholics Believe)
Chapter 1: Faith 
Chapter 2: God 
Chapter 3: Creation 
Chapter 4: Man 
Chapter 5: Jesus Christ 
Chapter 6: The Holy Spirit 
Chapter 7: The Holy Catholic Church 
Chapter 8: The Forgiveness of Sins 
Chapter 9: The Resurrection of the Body 
Chapter 10: Life Everlasting

PART II: Morality (How Catholics Live)
Chapter 1: The Essence of Catholic Morality 
Chapter 2: Human Nature as the Basis for Morality 
Chapter 3: Some Fundamental Principles of Catholic Morality 
Chapter 4: Virtues and Vices
Chapter 5: The First Three Commandments: Duties to God 
Chapter 6: The Fourth Commandment: Family and Social Morality 
Chapter 7: The Fifth Commandment: Moral Issues of Life and Death 
Chapter 8: The Sixth and Ninth Commandments: Sexual Morality 
Chapter 9: The Seventh and Tenth Commandments: Social and Economic Morality
Chapter 10: The Eighth Commandment: Truth

PART III: Sacraments and Prayer (How Catholics Worship)
Chapter 1: Introduction to Catholic Liturgy
Chapter 2: Introduction to the Sacraments
Chapter 3: Baptism and Confirmation
Chapter 4: The Eucharist
Chapter 5: The Sacrament of Penance
Chapter 6: Matrimony 
Chapter 7: Holy Orders 
Chapter 8: Anointing of the Sick 
Chapter 9: Prayer 
Chapter 10: The Lord’s Prayer 
Chapter 11: Mary
Conclusion
Abbreviations
Notes

This is not a volume I could pick up and read through from beginning to end. At least not do so and really take it in. But by reading 5-15 points a day it was very digestible. In the introduction Dr. Kreeft goes over some of the possible titles this book had, and his reason for them, and reasons for changing. They were:

Mere Christianity
What Is a Catholic

He also states:

“Half a century ago such a book would have been superfluous, for Catholics knew then twenty times more than they know now about everything in their faith: its essence, its theology, its morality, its liturgy, and its prayer; and there were twenty times more books like this one being written. The need was less, and the supply was more. Today the need is much more, and the supply is much less. Since “nature abhors a vacuum”, spiritually as well as physically I offer this unoriginal “basic data” book to those Catholics who have been robbed of the basic data of their heritage.”

The book might be unoriginal, and basic data about Catholicism, but maybe that is what makes it such a treasure. This book is likely one I will read each year for years to come. This book is an amazing resource, for the faithful, for those studying Catholicism, and for those just curios about what Catholicism is all about.

Kreeft has written some amazing books and this is among the best! 

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2018 Catholic Reading Plan!

Other Kreeft Reviews:
Socrates Meets Jesus
The Sea Within
Handbook of Christian Apologetics
Pocket Handbook of Christian Apologetics
The Journey
The Unaborted Socrates
The Best Things In Life
Between Heaven Hell
Doors in the Walls of the World
Catholic Christianity



Articles That Mention Kreeft:
Opus Dei
Opus Dei Part II
Catholic Catechism Dialogue blog
4 Resources


Monday, 13 August 2018

Catholic Christianity Getting Started - Catholic Truth Society

Catholic Christianity: Getting Started
Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781860828614
eISBN 9781784694029


Since discovering them earlier this year I have read over 25 books from the Catholic Truth Society, have another 25 to read and double that on my wish list. I have read some incredible books and nearly every time I write a review, while researching for the review, I find another 2 or 3 I want to read. I have read books in the CTS Biographies Series, Living the Liturgy Series, Living Fruitfully Series, Saints of the Isles Series, books on reading the Catechism, and some YOUCAT resources. Of the 27 books I have read so far 25 get 5/5stars. I had pretty high expectations for this book. This book opens with these words:
"Many people find it hard to believe in a loving God. They doubt his existence altogether, or their experience of suffering and human tragedy make them doubt his love. Scientists seem to be solving the great puzzles of the universe, and psychologists seek to unlock the deepest mysteries of the human heart. 
But there are some questions that don't go away. 
     What caused the whole universe to exist in the first place?    
     Why is there so much suffering in the world?      
     What is the meaning of human life?   
     What is the point of my own individual life?      
     Is there such a thing as life after death? 
These are huge questions. You would be suspicious if someone claimed to answer them with any certainty. There is a limit, surely, to what we can discover for ourselves, and very often we need to admit that some questions are simply beyond human understanding."
This book addresses those questions and More. The sections in this book are:

The Heart of Christianity
A Guide for Christian Living
What is the Catholic Faith?
How to Become a Catholic
Signs and Symbols Inside a Catholic Church
How to Pray
Everyday Catholic Prayers
Further Reading

This is not a long volume, it comes in at under 50 pages in the print edition. But there is a lot of great information. This book would be excellent for a spouse who is not Catholic, for a teen looking to be able answer questions about their faith to friends and families. The chapter on How to Become a Catholic, is particularly good. And would be worth reading for someone returning to the church. 

One of the paragraphs in this book that had particular impact on me is:
"The journey doesn't end with Confirmation. As Catholics we should pray every day, take part in the Mass every Sunday and Holy Day of Obligation, live the seasons and feasts of the Church's life, receive the sacraments and live a life of Christian charity towards our fellow man. Christ invited us to deny ourselves, take up our cross and follow him. You are special and unique in the sight of God. He wants the best for you and is leading you to himself. As you reflect on how to become a Catholic, try to be open to God's will."
Except for the last line I transpose it as 'As you reflect on your life as a Catholic, try to be open to God's will.' As such any Catholic Christian can read this book and benefit from it. This is a wonderful little read, and the teaching on different types of prayer and the small collection of prayers just add to the overall benefit of this book.

Another great read from the Catholic Truth Society.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2018 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Tuesday, 7 August 2018

YOUCAT Confession - YOUCAT

YOUCAT Confession
YOUCAT

Catholic Truth Society
ISBN 9781784695552
eISBN 9781784695866
ASIN B078TLKG6J


This past year I decided to read through the Catechism in a year. And I ended up ahead of schedule, so when I finished the Catechism of the Catholic Church, I moved on to The Compendium to the Catechism of the Catholic Church. So, I decided to read DOCAT: Catholic Social Teaching for Youth and I really enjoyed it. In fact I enjoyed it so much I am now reading YOUCAT: The Youth Catechism of the Catholic Church. This year after I finished the Catechism I decided to read YOUCAT Confession. I have been going to confession for 40 years now, There were some sparsely and over the last number of years at least monthly.  This little book is an incredible read. And much as Young Adult fiction has a wide audience with adult readers, So should the YOUCAT, this book was an excellent read. 

The Sections in this book are:
INSTEAD OF A FORWARD
1. GOING TO CONFESSION
Why it's great to seek reconciliation with God and how to do it.
2. IN & OUT
A different kind of "confession mirror"
THE SACRAMENT OF PENANCE
How does it work?
What do you need?
What do you do?
SPECIAL PRAYERS FOR CONFESSION

The book has 4 pictographs to indicate special parts of the book they are:

" Quotations from various authors
! Information & Tips
A picture of a bible for quotes from Sacred Scriptures
A Yellow Book with a Y for YOUCAT Questions


In the first section of the book, written by Andreas Süß, INSTEAD OF A FORWARD, Father Andreas writes about his own experience with confession, and his experience at World Youth Day in 2005. He states about the Nightfever movement that grew out of that WYD, 
"Because we receive the liberating power of God's forgiveness in confession and begin again with God, and the joy that is experienced can really be seen. On one occasion a visitor addressed me directly. She had seen how a young woman had left confession completely resolved and happy. It was almost tangible to see the load that had been lifted from her shoulders. So, the woman approached me and said: "That's what I want too." She didn't know exactly how to go to confession but she had seen what happens when you do."
Further in the book they have three analogies for the book, when answering the question 'What is Confession?' the first two in the book are:
"Confession is like performing a regular update on my life. If I miss the update, then all my software is out-of-date. My Laptop is unprotected and exposed to viruses and trojan attacks."
Or
"Confession is like taking a car for service. At least every 30,000 km the car needs to go to the garage. Otherwise it will stop working and the engine will break down. At least once a year - preferably before Easter - every Catholic should go to confession."
To find out the third you will need to read the book. These three examples were excellent. They got me thinking about something that happened a few weeks ago at church. The other two children and I were going to confession, and my oldest said she would wait. My wife asked he 'Are you just going to let your sins pile up like that?' and my oldest replied 'Not if you put it like that.' It makes me think about the 'In and Out List' in this book. This book also has an amazing question and answer section on many aspects of confession, repeat sins, circumstances and more. 

This book is an excellent read. I have read sections to my children ages, 11, 10 and 7. And as I approach 50 it is just as important a read for me. This book will benefit any Catholic who reads it, or anyone who is exploring the Catholic Faith. I highly recommend it.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2018 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Books from YOUCAT:
YOUCAT: The Youth Catechism of the Catholic Church
YOUCAT: Study Guide
YOUCAT: Youth Prayer Book
YOUCAT: Confirmation Book: Student Book
YOUCAT: Confession Book
YOUCAT: Bible
DOCAT: Catholic Social Teaching for Youth
DOCAT Study Guide: What to Do?










Sunday, 19 November 2017

DOCAT: Catholic Social Teaching for Youth - YOUCAT

DOCAT: Catholic Social Teaching for Youth
YOUCAT
Bernhard Meuser (Editor)
Ignatius Press
ISBN 9781621640493
eISBN 9781681497051
ASIN B01M10336X




This past year I decided to read through the Catechism in a year. And I ended up ahead of schedule, so when I finished the Catechism of the Catholic Church, I moved on to The Compendium to the Catechism of the Catholic Church. So I decided to read DOCAT: Catholic Social Teaching for Youth and I really enjoyed it. In fact I enjoyed it so much I am now reading YOUCAT: The Youth Catechism of the Catholic Church. But back to DOCAT: Catholic Social Teaching for Youth.

Like many other Catechisms this one is in the question and answer format. The subtitle of this book is ‘What to do?’ It focuses on the social teachings of the Catholic Church. There are four symbols in the book. A Bible which highlights passages from the bible. Quotations which highlights specific meanings in the church. A Picture of a church which contains magisterial teachings. And an Exclamation Mark where words are defined or explained. There are also three colored arrows blue for the Compendium of Social Doctrine, grey for the Catechism, and Yellow for quotes from YOUCAT.

Each chapter has a number of points the questions and answers, And then there are a number of quotes from church documents to highlight those teachings. The chapters in the book are:

1 God’s Master Plan: Love 1-21
2 Together We Are Strong: The Church’s Social Mission 22-6
3 Unique and Infinitely Valuable: The Human Person 47-83
4 The Common Good, Personhood, Solidarity, Subsidiarity: The Principles of the Church’s Social Teaching 84-111
5 The Foundation of Society: The Family 112-133
6 Occupation and Vocation: Human Work 134-157
7 Welfare and Justice for All: Economic Life 158-194
8 Power and Morality: The Political Community 195-228
9 One World, One Humanity: The International Community 229-255
10 Safeguarding Creation: The Environment 256-269
11 Living in Freedom from Violence: Peace 270-304
12 Personal and Societal Commitment: Love in Action 305-328

Though this book is written for youth and young adults, I found it well worth the time and effort to read it. The social teachings of the Catholic Church have been a growing focus for a long time now. In this book you will get a concise clear picture of those teachings, and though the quotes from church documents see some of their progression and refinement over time. This is the first book from the YOUCAT series that I have read but I know I will be reading many more. And in fact I cannot wait for the last few to be available in English in North America.

A great read, informative and challenging. This book was so good that before I even finished it I had picked up YOUCAT and the YOUCAT Bible to have to read as soon as I finished this one. It is a wonderfully informative book and part of what looks like an incredible series!

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2017 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books from YOUCAT:
YOUCAT: The Youth Catechism of the Catholic Church
YOUCAT: Study Guide
YOUCAT: Youth Prayer Book
YOUCAT: Confirmation Book: Student Book
YOUCAT: Confession Book
YOUCAT: Bible
DOCAT: Catholic Social Teaching for Youth
DOCAT Study Guide: What to Do?










Saturday, 5 August 2017

Just a blog post rambling thoughts about books.


This year I have been reading the Catechism ever day again, loosely following a plan that will read the whole book in a year. I took this picture late last year. I do not actually read many physical books. I much prefer eBooks. But today I am tired, sore, and starting to feel a cold coming on. Because of my preference for eBooks I have a few things I wish for:

  • I wish that all books were available electronically.
  • I wish than so many eBooks I want to read were not geolocked (US Only, UK only, Australia only ...).
  • Or why physical books are region specific.
  • I do not understand why some eBooks cost more than the current paperback editions.

In this day and age books being locked to specific regions or countries does not make a lot of sense to me. But I am just an old bibliophile. But we do not always get what we wish for. With my dual form of dyslexia I find that I read faster and with better comprehension on an electronic device. But so many books I want to read are either not available in Canada, or often not available electronically. That being said as of today I have read 235 books so far this year. Reviewed the majority of them. And have a monster pile of books I wish to read.

Related posts:2017 Catholic Reading Plan!
2016 A Year of Reading Intention - Catholic Reading!

Sunday, 8 January 2017

Top Ten Catholic Books, plus a few other great reads!


Top Ten Catholic Books, plus a few other great reads!


I was recently really pushed to pick my Top Ten Catholic Books. It was not an easy decision. There are a lot of great books out there which is why I do a Top Ten Non-Fiction each quarter and each year. Matthew Kelly in many of his books mentions that he had a shelf at home with his 30 favourite books, his go to reads. But he only publishes his top ten list, because the other 20 books change occasionally. It took a long time to come up with this list and I have been thinking about it for a whole week now. So here are my Top 10 Catholic Books and a few non catholic books that are excellent and that I go back to often.

1. The Bible - My three preferred versions are:
a. The Jerusalem Bible (Love reading this edition)
b. The Saint Jerome Study Bible
c. Didache Study Bible
2. Catechism
a. I Prefer the US version over the Canadian Version, especially in ebook format. The US edition moves the links and references to the end of the chapters.
3. The Way, Furrow and Forge by Saint Josemaria Escriva the three in one edition is excellent and you always get to keep them with you. Can be read from beginning to end, use the topical index or just randomly flip open and read. I keep one on my desk at work and one at home.
4. In Conversation with God - Francis Fernandez - 7 Volume Set Daily Devotions following the church year and 2 volumes of special feasts. I have reviewed all 7 volumes and am currently planning on theviewing the new split ebook editions.
5. Handbook of Prayers by: Rev. James Socias General Editor - excellent book. I have copies at work, home and in my backpack. I also now have the ebook and always have it with me.

6. 33 Days to Morning Glory: A Do-It-Yourself Retreat in Preparation for Marian Consecration - Michael E. Gaitley
7. The Manual For Spiritual Warfare - Paul Thigpen an excellent resource.
8. In the School of the Holy Spirit - Jacques Philippe thought almost any book by Father Philippe will bless your spiritual life.
9. Unearthing Your Ten Talents - Dr. Kevin Vost, great jumping off point.
10. Resisting Happiness - Matthew Kelly

11. God is Not Reasonable - Irma Zaleski, really opened my eyes at a specific point in time.
( I could not get it down to just 10!)

Though to be honest any books by Escriva, Vost, Philippe, Matthew Kelly, Paul Thigpen, and Michael Gaitley would be a great read.

A few Non-Catholic Books that I read again most years are:

1. Jacob the Baker - Noah benShea
2. Bench Press - Sven Linqvist
3. The Closing of the American Mind - Allan Bloom
4. Bench Press - Sven Linqvist
5. As You Think - James Allen

So there you have it 15 books that can change your life.


Update 
December 2017: I would add:
Love Is Patient, But I'm Not - Christopher West
November 2019 added:
Learning to Love: Journeys Through Life with the Rosary - Father Nigel Woollen
December 2019 added:
Memento Mori Prayers on the Last Things- Theresa Aletheia Noble, FSP
January 2020 added:
Spiritual Warfare and the Discernment of Spirits - Dan Burke
...



Tuesday, 3 January 2017

Read the Catechism of the Catholic Church in a Year

Read the Catechism of the Catholic Church in a Year

About 10 years ago I wrote short reviews of the Catechism of the Catholic Church: Second Edition, The Companion to the Catechism of the Catholic Church, and Introduction to the Catechism of the Catholic Church and also the Compendium of the Catechism of the Catholic Church. At the time I was a team of bloggers working through blogging the daily reading of the Catechism is you were working through it in a year, it was called the Catholic Catechism Dialogue Blog, and though now defunct it was a great pleasure being part of the project.

The Catechism can basically be read in a year if you read 10 sections a day. There are numerous resources online that give you reading plans that have this sort of list but I could not find any that did not also have a bible reading plan. The closest I could come up with was this list with links to the online version at the same site, A Solemn Charge. I have taken out the dates so it can be started any time.

So this year I am going to read the Catechism in a year. Why don't you join in and see how it transforms your faith?



September 13th 2017 Update: I finished the Catechism a little early moving on to reading the Compendium


October 28th 2017 Update: I finished the Compendium moving on to reading the DOCAT Catholic Social Teaching for Youth.


November 17th 2017 Update: I finished the DOCAT moving on to reading the YOUCAT: The Youth Catechism of the Catholic Church


I did finish YOUCAT and am starting over on the Catechism.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2017 Catholic Reading Plan!

Friday, 4 November 2011

Why God Matters - Karina Lumbert Fabian and Deacon Steven Lumbert

Why God Matters:
How to Recognize Him in Daily Life
Karina Lumbert Fabian and
Deacon Steven Lumbert
Tribute Books
ISBN 9780982256534

This was an amazing little book. The physical book is almost 120 pages. The eBook comes in around 40 pages. But while reading the book, I went back and forth and reread many sections. I probably read the book about 4 times through. I read this as an eBook. The nice thing about it was having it with me all the time, on my iPhone, on my iPad, on my MacBook Pro, on my Desktop or on my Kobo eReader. What made it nice to always have it with me was that often I went back and reread sections a few times over, pondering them, meditating on them and absorbing them before moving on to the next point. The book is written as a series of pensees, reflections or meditations called life lessons. Each chapter is a different Life Lesson, which are alternately written by Karina and Steven, daughter and father. These lessons are:

The Reluctant Convert
Love in a Pot of Rice
So Help Me, God, I Didn't Do It
Martyr for the Trivial
Out of the Depths of Despair
Does God Send Flowers?
The Close Call
Bare Feet
Who, Me?
Small Steps, Steady Progress
Cough Up
My Non-Personal Relationship with God
The Patient Friend
Influence

Each chapter begins with a personal story and then the Life Lesson learned from the experience. Each life lesson is supported with a biblical verse and with a quote from the Catechism of the Catholic Church. This book is a little treasure that I know I will go back and reread again to inspire and encourage me in my faith. It is a great book that was very well written. The book also includes a list of books for further reading and a few prayers at the end of the book to help start us along the path of deeper devotion. So give it a try; it will challenge you in your faith and motivate you to go deeper in your spiritual journey!


Books by Karina Fabian:
Why God Matters: How to Recognize Him in Daily Life
Discovery
Perfect Ten
Frightliner


Dex Hollister Series:

The Old Man and the Void
Dex's Way
...

Neeta Lyffe, Zombie Exterminator Series :
Neeta Lyffe, Zombie Exterminator
I Left My Brains in San Francisco
Shambling in a Winter Wonderland


DragonEye Pi Series:

Magic, Mensa and Mayhem 
Live and Let Fly
Greater Treasures: A DragonEye Novella
Murder Most Picante


Space Traipse Series:
Space Traipse: Hold My Beer, Season 1
Space Traipse: Hold My Beer, Season 2


Mind Over Series:
Mind Over Mind
Mind Over Psyche
Mind Over All
Hearts Over Mind


Edited by: Karina Fabian:
Infinite Space, Infinite God I
Leaps of Faith
Infinite Space, Infinite God II


Contributed to:
Firestorm of Dragons
The Zombie Cookbook
The Book of Tentacles
Twisted Fayrie Tales
FRIGHTLINER: And Other Tales of the Undead
Mother Goose is Dead
Word by Word: Slowing Down with the Hail Mary
Image and Likeness Literary Reflections on the Theology of the Body
Corrupts Absolutely? Dark Metahuman Fiction
Weird Noir
The Complete Guide to Writing Paranormal Novels
Manifesto UF
Avenir Eclectia
Planetary Anthology: Jupiter
Planetary Anthology: Pluto
Planetary Anthology: Luna
Planetary Anthology: Uranus
FlagShip Science Fiction and Fantasy v2i5
My Little Book of Headdesks
To Be Men: Stories Celebrating Masculinity
...


Wednesday, 18 October 2006

Catholic Catechism Dialogue blog

New Venture.

I have embarked on a new venture, that of writing for another blog and being part of a team of bloggers. The blog is catholic catechism dialogue blog basically this is a group study blog with a team of writers who commit to writing at least once a months. We follow a reading plan and then discussion can take place.

I have a few reasons for doing this:
  1. It will help me read the Catechism in a year
  2. It will keep me reading at a digestible pace
  3. It will help me grow in my faith
  4. Reading to write causes me to read at a much deeper level
It will be interesting to see how it goes. Last winter I wrote reviews of The Catechism of the Catholic Church, The Companion to the Catechism of the Catholic Church and Introduction to the Catechism of the Catholic Church by Pope Benedict XVI also to Handbook for Today’s Catholic Yet at that point I read quickly to write the reviews.

I am looking forward to this adventure, this new venture that will be a challenge, and hopefully a tool to help me grow in my faith.

The resources I will be using are:




C
atechism of the Catholic Church:
Second Edition
Ignatius Press
ISBN 1574551108









Catechism of the Catholic Church:

Popular and Definitive Edition
CCCB
(Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops)
ISBN 0889974470








The Companion to the Catechism of the Catholic Church
A Compendium of Texts Reffered to in the Catechism of the Catholic Church
Ignatius Press
ISBN 0898704510
(note: Indexed to Second Edition by Ignatius Press)








Introduction to the Catechism of the Catholic Church

Pope Benedict XVI –
Joseph Cardinal Ratzinger & Christoph Schonborn

Ignatius Press
ISBN 0898704855








Compendium:
Catechism of the Catholic Church

USCCB
(United States Conference of Catholic Bishops)

ISBN 9781574557206







Catholic Christianity:

A Complete Catechism of Catholic Beliefs based on the Catechism of the Catholic Church
Peter Kreeft
Ignatius Press
ISBN 0898707986









Handbook for Today’s Catholic

Revised Edition
Ed.
A Redemptorist Pastoral Publication
ISBN: 0764812203




So pop in and take a look from time to time, or join in the discussion. My only real regret so far is that I did not buy most of these in hardcover so they would have more durability.