--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/ChristopherMoore As it appears live September 19, 2020 4:15:29 PM UTC

Showing posts with label ChristopherMoore. Show all posts
Showing posts with label ChristopherMoore. Show all posts

Wednesday, 9 March 2011

Christopher Moore - Author Profile

Christopher Moore is an author with a tremendous gift for wit and wisdom. He spends his time between Hawaii and San Francisco, but grew up or at least was raised in Toledo, Ohio. His writings have a giant cult following. His main characters are a typical 'everyman' who comes to possess supernatural power or has an encounter and conflict with said power(s). All of his books but the most recent are set in the same universe with characters traversing between the different books. And now for some frivolity with Mr. Moore.

1. When did you know you wanted to be a writer? How did you nurture that dream?

I was sixteen, I think, when I first thought about going pro. I immediately started pursuing education in photography because I figured I couldn't make a living writing. I'm from Ohio. We don't nurture dreams there, we crush them.

2. Which books or authors had the greatest impact on your work?

John Steinbeck's Cannery Row had more influence on me than any single book. He has such gentle, forgiving voice in that book, yet it's very funny, and at that point in my studies (mid twenties) that was like finding the Rosetta Stone.

3. Who were some of your biggest supporters and contributors to your early success?

I had a number of close friends who were waitresses and bartenders in the places I worked who were very supportive of me, despite a complete lack of evidence that I'd ever have any success. Once I sold a book, my agent was and has always been very supportive and doggedly loyal and enthusiastic.

4. You have stated elsewhere that you gave up drinking and started writing. Has your writing ever driven you to the drink again?

A couple of times when I was in Micronesia, on an outer island of Yap, I had to drink with the men's circle with the islanders or they wouldn't talk to me, and I needed to have information for my book. It really wasn't an emotional thing, just a necessary social thing. (These people had a very old way of life - living in huts, off of fish, coconuts, and breadfruit. It wasn't a situation I have ever encountered since.)

5. What advice do you wish an artist had passed on to you early in your career, which you only learned through experience?

That you need to sit down and do the work before you can participate in the luck. There is no shortcut to discipline.

6. What does your writing process look like? Take us through the steps from idea to publishing.

I have an idea for a story. I do a little bit of research to see if it's feasible. Then I research and plan out the story, go to the places where the story takes place, figure out the characters. If I have a contract, I send an outline or proposal to my editor. If I don't have a contract, I do a proposal and my agent presents it to my publisher. (When you start out, you have to write the book. I can only do this because I have a track record.) That usually takes six months or so. Then I write the manuscript. That usually takes 9-12 months. I send the first 100 pages to my agent and my editor, just to make sure I'm not too far off base. When I have a draft I usually go back through it once, then send it to my editor. She does a pass on it, sends me a comment letter, and I make changes or not depending on her comments. Almost without exception, this makes the book stronger, and it's usually fairly minor. The first edit may take me a week. I send it back. It goes to a copy editor, who fixes spelling, punctuation, and checks for continuity (eg. "She orders coffee on p175 but is drinking tea on p176). I make changes and send the manuscript back. It goes through another proofreader and my main editor again. By now they will have been designing covers and found a place for the book on the release calendar, usually 9-12 months out. Then, a month or so later, the unbound galleys come back. These are the printed pages, as they will appear in the book, unbound. I proof them, and I also pay another, independent proofreader to go through them. I'll make corrections and return them to my publisher, who will send them to a proofreader again. By this time, there will inexplicably, be new errors in the book that everyone has missed. Next, bound galleys will come out and be sent to other authors for comment, to a few booksellers, and a few reviewers. Now we're about 3-6 months from publication. My tour schedule is figured out, and if there are trade shows, like BEA or the regional booksellers' conventions, I may go and give out bound galleys and sign them for booksellers. When the book comes out, I'll tour, twenty to thirty cities in a month or so, doing media (if we can get it) in the morning, and doing signings every evening. Sometimes there are two events a day in some cities. I usually catch a cold on the 2nd day of tour and then proceed to infect about 3000 people by the end of the tour. That's sort of it from my end. In addition, there are tons and tons of meetings at the publisher which I'm not party to, talking about everything from cover design to marketing and sales.

7. I once heard Madeleine L'Engle state that her characters were real to her and almost an extended part of her family. She said once that at the dinner table she sat up and stated, "Meg just finished her PhD." Are your characters real to you, do you ever get glimpses of what they are up to now, or once you finish a book is that it?

When I'm in the middle of a book, I'm spending more time with my characters than I am with any real person, so sometimes I talk about them as if they were imaginary friends. My girlfriend might say, "I talked to Karen today-", and go on about something a friend said, and I might respond with something one of my characters said. It's not confusion with reality, it's just really all the contact I've had that day.

8. What current projects are you working on or are on the back burner in some stage of development?

I just finished an historical novel about painters in 19th Century Paris, and now I'm adapting my novel "Fool" for the stage and researching my next book, which will be set in Venice.

9. Do you use a playlist when writing? Are certain books written while predominantly listening to the same music?

Lately I just have a couple of Pandora stations that are built around slow groove and chill music. It's mostly music that will disappear into the background. I can't listen to music with words or it distracts me. I listened to a lot of Eric Satie and Claude Debussy when I was writing the Paris book.

10. Which of your books is your favorite and why?

That changes. I think I'm most delighted by scenes in "A Dirty Job" when I read them, but "Lamb" is probably my most ambitious accomplishment, so it's probably the one I'm most proud of.

11. What current projects are you working on?

See above.

12. What were some of your favorite authors or books in your teen years that helped shape you?

Early on, it was Jules Verne and Ray Bradbury; in my teen years, Richard Matheson and Robert Bloch, as well as H.P. Lovecraft. In my twenties it was Vonnegut, Douglas Adams, Tom Robbins, and John Steinbeck.

13. What are some of your favorite books and authors now?

Steinbeck and the plays of Shakespeare. I still read the occasional Wodehouse. I love Nick Hornby's books. I like Sedaris, Dave Barry, Carl Hiaasen, and a number of crime writers.

14. All of your books are available in electronic formats but with that comes bootleg distribution. What are your impressions of e-books and the distribution of them through torrents and other illegal means?

There's no percentage in talking about this. Whatever I say, it results in people squirming in their self-justification.

15. Some authors monitor torrent sites and have their publishers contact them to remove their content. Do you do so or have someone do so for you?

I publish with Harper Collins, which is part of News Corp. They have one of the most vigilant team of rights lawyers outside of Disney or Apple. I don't have much to do with it, but they move on anyone they know about who violates their copyrights.

16. Is it possible we will see more stories in the lines of A Love Story (Bloodsucking Fiends, You Suck, and Bite Me)?

I don't think so. I feel as if I've finished that story arc. I might consider picking it up again for another form. Maybe graphic novel or film or TV.

17. I once had a university professor state that the true goal of a university education should be to teach one to learn how to think. What would you state should be the goal of higher education and why?

I think that's almost spot on. I had a friend who used to say that a university education was to teach you how to learn. I think the truth lies between the two.

18. Your books appear to regularly go through cover changes. Do you play a role in selecting new artwork? What is your favorite cover today and why?

I do have some input, but I'm not involved in every image. I think the cover to "A Dirty Job", with the Death's Head baby that glowed in the dark, was probably my favorite, and I had nothing to do with that idea.

19. If you were stuck on a desert island and could only have 10 books to read again and again, what books would you want with you?

Complete works of Shakespeare, the Firefox survival books, a Norton Anthology of English-language poetry, I don't know. I'd have a hard time picking them out of the air. If I were standing in front of a bookshelf it might be easier.

20. What advice would you give to teens today, to your readers? What gems of knowledge have you gleaned in life that you would pass on?

Don't drive drunk. Ever. Don't shag anyone you don't like, or who doesn't like you. Get a look at how people live in a place where you don't. Suffering is over-rated, don't pursue it. Ask for help when you need it, don't when you don't, and learn to recognize the difference. Don't confuse movement and progress. Be kind. Be forgiving. Pay attention.

Thank you again Mr. Moore for taking the time to answer some questions for the readers here at Book Reviews and More. Much appreciated.

Books By Christopher Moore:
Practical Demonkeeping
Coyote Blue
Bloodsucking Fiends: A Love Story
Island of the Sequined Love Nun
The Lust Lizard of Melancholy Cove
Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ's Childhood Pal
Fluke, or, I Know Why the Winged Whale Sings
The Stupidest Angel: A Heartwarming Tale of Christmas Terror
A Dirty Job
You Suck: A Love Story
Fool
Bite Me: A Love Story

The Griff (Graphic Novel with Ian Corson)

Thursday, 1 July 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books of the 2nd Quarter 2010

Top 10 fiction books of the second quarter of 2010 are:1. Jacob The Baker (Trilogy) - Noah benShea
2. The P.L.A.I.N. Janes & Janes in Love - Cecil Castellucci & Jim Rugg
3. LA Trilogy
- Cecil Castellucci
Boy Proof - Queen of Cool - Beige
4. Dead Water Zone - Kenneth Oppel
5. Bite Me - Christopher Moore
6. When You Reach Me - Rebecca Stead
7. Boom! (or 70,000 light Years) - Mark Haddon
8. Mercury - Hope Larson
9. Goth Girl Rising - Barry Lyga
10. Sea Change - Aimee Friedman
10. Leepike Ridge - N.D. Wilson

Looking forward to some of the new stuff coming out over the summer, and don't forget to check out the Scholastic summer reading challange. So far this year I have read 152 books, these are my top ten of the second quarter. It was harder this time than the first to narrow it down to 10.


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:
151 Jan-June 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996

Sunday, 9 May 2010

Bite Me - A Love Story Book 3 - Christopher Moore

Bite Me
Christopher Moore
Harper Collins
Browse Inside
ISBN 9780061779725

The first Christopher Moore Book I read was Bloodsucking Fiends. It is the first book in this Love Story trilogy and one of four set in and around San Francisco. I absolutely loved it. When I reached the end of book 2, You Suck, I literally wanted to throw it across the room - I hated the ending so much. This one completely redeems it beyond all expectations. The fourth book set in the Bay area is A Dirty Job, and though a great story, and deserving of a squeal, it overlaps with this trilogy with a number of characters, and places. All are worth reading. But I don't think this book should be read as a standalone.

This story continues a few months after You Suck. Abby von Normal is still running around desiring to become a vampire with her boyfriend, Stephen Fooman. But all hell breaks loose in the bay area. Vampire Cats are eating all the street people and others. Their hoard is growing and appears unstoppable. Jodi and Tommy are freed from their bronze encasement, but Tommy has lost his mind while encased in bronze and is missing. To make matters worse, a dark ship arrives in the bay with three ancient vampires who have come to clean up the mess.

Moore states on his website that he wanted to write horror books. But people kept laughing at what he wrote, so he decided to write humour. He does indeed write with a humour bent and a very skewed look at life, and in this book life through a number of different characters eyes. The book is written as a series of first person narratives. Each character telling their experience of the events, so the story jumps time to time from person or storyline. Yet it all remains a complete and fluid composite whole. When you finish reading you feel satiated, satisfied and like anyone who has eaten too much maybe a little sleepy. The book proceeds at a break neck pace, and you find yourself not wanting to put it down. Bite Me does a great job of tying up the story lines from both the first and second books in the series.

This book is witty, whimsical and somewhat sublime. Moore's humour is not for all readers, but if you like Douglad Coupland, Chuck Palahniuk or Irvine Walsh you will enjoy this humorous presentation of the other side of the coin. Moore is an excellent writer and his 11 previous books have garnered him a huge and loyal following. Anyone I have introduced to his writings has fallen in love with them. I even have a friend who is currently re-reading all of Moore's works in chronological order to experience the growth in Moore as a writer. As such, Bite Me is definitely a pinnacle in Moore's canon of literature. It is full of characters you will love and jokes you might even laugh out loud at.

(First published in Imprint 2010-05-07.)

Friday, 17 April 2009

Meme - A fun book meme

This book meme has shown up a lot lately, the first three I read were Catholic Fire, Anchoress and Happy Catholic. A fun book meme, include up to 3 answers each if you like. We won’t tell.

1. Most treasured childhood book(s)?
I really did not read as a child, I could not because of my dyslexia. The earliest I remember reading and enjoying are: A Separate Peace - John Knowles, Cue for Treason - Geoffrey Trease, Piers Anthony - Bio Of A Space Tyrant, Steven Brust Jhereg. But once I got to university and took a children's lit I now read a few children's and teen books a year. Current favorite children's books: Narnia - C.S. Lewis, anything by Madelein L'Engle, Patrick Carman, Kenneth Oppel and Arthur Slade .

2. Classic(s) you are embarrassed to admit you’ve never read?
Don't know.

3. Classics you read, but hated?


4. Favorite genre(s)?
A read pretty much everything.

5. Favorite light reading?
Adrian Plass, Christopher Moore, Fred Seacombe, Noah ben Shea.

6. Favorite heavy reading?
Francis Fernandez, Federico Suarez, Jacques Philippe, Sven Lindqvist, Terry Tempest Williams, Scott Hahn.

7. Last book(s) you finished?
Exam 70-294 Planning, Implementing, and Maintaining a Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Active Directory Infrastructure - Wendy Corbin.
100 Cupboards - N.D. Wilson
The Sword Thief - 39 Clues Book 3 - Peter Lerangis

8. Last book(s) you bailed on?
I don't remember.

9. Three (only three!) books on your nightstand?
The Princess Plot - Kirsten Boie
70-298 Designing Security for a Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Network - Tony Northrup
Terra Nullis - Sven Lindqvist

10. Book(s) you’ve read more than once, twice or three times?
Singer Trilogy - Calvin Miller
God Rides a Yamaha - Kathy Shaidle
The Way, Furrow, Forge - Josemaria Escriva
Jacob The Baker - Noah benShea
and so many more you can see my whole reading list since 1995 here.

11. The book(s) that meant the most to you when you were younger (ie, college/young adult)?
Favorite Books by year, Favorite authors by year.

12. Book(s) that changed the way you looked at life?
The Way, Furrow, The Forge - St. Josemaria Escriva
The Alchemist - Paulo Coelho
Ishmael - Daniel Quinn
Bench Press - Sven Linqvist
Jacon the Baker - Noah benShea
As you Think - James Allen
Infected Christianity - Alan Davies
The Skull Measurer's Mistake - Sven Lindqvist
Dead Man Walking - Sr. Helen Prejean
Waking the Dead - John Eldredge
Life After God - Douglas Coupland
Anam Cara - John O'Donohue

13. Book(s) some would be surprised to know you’ve read?
Marquis de Sade

14. Book(s) You Mean to Read this Year?
I have 3 shelfs of review copy books to work through.

15. Desert Island Book?
Lord of the Rings - J. R. R. Tolkien
Watership Down - Richard Adams
The Reckoning - James Bryon Huggins
Jhereg - Steven Brust
The Alchemist - Paulo Coelho
The Final Planet - Andrew M. Geeley
God Game - Andrew M. Greeley
The Singer Trilogy - Calvin Miller
An Alien at Saint Wilfrids - Adrian Plass
Chronicles of a Curate - Fred Secombe
Falling Sideway - Tom Holt

BONUS! Desert Island Book for Your Worst Enemy?
Their Kingdom Come: Inside the Secret World of Opus Dei - Robert Hutchison
Man's Seacrh for Meaning - Viktor Emil Frankl
The Sea Within - Peter Kreeft

If you want to play along post your answers and link back or post a comment.

Friday, 2 March 2007

You Suck: A Love Story By Christopher Moore

You Suck: A Love Story
Christopher Moore

WM Morrow

ISBN 9780060590291


Have you ever been reading a book and completely loved it, only to have the author make a boneheaded twist in the plot and you went from loving the book to hating it? Unfortunately, that is what happened with this book. This book started off so well - the first words in the book are: "You bitch, you killed me! You Suck!" This book is a sequel to Bloodsucking Fiends. Our hero is Tommy Flood, known by his pen name C. Thomas Flood.

In the previous book, he was in love with a vampire, a tall sultry red- head who woke up one day a vampire, and Tommy was in love with her and her protector. This book begins with Tommy waking up and he is now a vampire also. At first he thinks it is cool. But his conscience gets the best of him. He likes the power, and the greater abilities, but he does not like the taking of life, or even just taking blood.

This book also overlaps with Moore's A Dirty Job. The focus of this story is the changing life of Thomas Flood and his girlfriend Jody, and there is a second parallel story of Abby Normal, vampire wannabe, who is a servant of the vampire flood. She fetches coffee, finds new lairs and such.

It's hard to write a hate-it review, when what you hate is the ending of the book, without spoiling it for those who are reading it or will read it. But I can state with all sincerity, that of all of Moore's books, this is not more fun, it is not more entertaining and it is not more Moore. It was in fact far, far less.

Like most of Moore's books, this one is at times incredibly witty and always funny. But without spoiling the ending, the last chapter makes me hate this book. There are so many other ways he could have ended the book, yet he chose a cheap and easy way out. The end of this book is so poor that you regret having spent the time and effort reading it. What should have been a light fun romp through the nightlife of San Francisco, becomes a flop because of the ending.


On a more positive note here are links to two other reviews of Moore's books I have writen and published, both of these were great fun.

Bloodsucking Fiends
A Dirty Job

(First Published in Imprint 2007-03-02 as 'Hate It' from the 'Love it/Hate it' book review column.)

Friday, 31 March 2006

A Dirty Job by: Chrstopher Moore

A Dirty Job
Christopher Moore
Harper Collins - Browse Inside
March 2006
ISBN: 0060590270


How often do you think about death, or even more so about your soul? Well what if soul’s were passed from one person to another like hand-me-down jeans? Where would that leave us the teaming masses of earth? Well Christopher Moore tries to tackle the big questions in his latest book A Dirty Job.

Our not so gifted hero is Charlie Asher, who is a normal guy, or we should say a normal Beta Male. He has a very active imagination but has lived by flight rather then the fight instinct. He has a pretty good life, a loving sister, and adoring wife and a little baby on the way; then his world comes crashing down around him. First his wife dies, and a mysterious man who only Charlie saw was in her hospital room when she died. He doesn’t appear on the security tapes, and no one recalls seeing him. Then things really start getting weird.

Charlie has become a ‘Death Merchant’ sort of an assistant to Death, or the equivalent of the Salivation Army’s Santa’s to Santa. He is a little death, and as such his job is to collect soul objects and pass them on to people without souls. Which as an owner of a second hand store he is in a good position to do. However he does not get receive ‘The Great Big Book of Death’ one of his employee’s borrows it for her own amusement. So Charlie does not know what to do, or how to do it but weird things keep happening to him. He keeps showing up when people are dying and there are items that are glowing a bright red. These were the soul vessels.

But all is not well in the great city of San Francisco, darkness it trying to rise for the cosmic battle will soon take place between the powers of darkness and the little deaths, before the rising of the Great Death once again.

We have a cast of Characters that would put a Shakespeare comedy to proud our Falstaff is the Emperor of San Francisco, a man of the street who knows and care for his city deeply, Charlie’s Daughter who is protected by two hellhounds – 400lb dog that eat toasters and small engines named Mohamed & Alvin these two also love eating soap and shampoo, Minty Fresh a used music dealer who is over 6 foot tall and always dressed in green. And many many more.

If you have read any of Moore before this one will be even more funny. You go on a walkabout both above and below the city of San Francisco.

(First Published in Imprint 2006-05-18 in the column Live it/Hate It Book Reviews)

Other Moore Books I have Reviewed:
Bloodsucking Fiends
A Dirty Job
You Suck: A Love Story


Wednesday, 28 September 2005

Bloodsucking Fiends by: Christopher Moore

Bloodsucking Fiends
Christopher Moore
Harper Collins


Christopher Moore wanted to write horror books; he dreamed of being the next Stephen King. Unfortunately for him but fortunately for us, people laughed when they read what he wrote. Thus was born a humorist of the caliber of Dave Barry or Christopher Buckley and some have gone so far as to say he is the next Kurt Vonnegut. Now that we know a bit about our Author, what about the book?

Bloodsucking Fiends
is a glorious romp through the night. We have an office worker, Jodi, who has a 9-to-5 dead-end office job in San Francisco, and wakes up one morning under a dumpster and the sun burns her and she has super human strength. She has never watched vampire movies or read the books, so she doesn’t know what to do or how to do it. She is on the hunt for the man/creature who turned her.

This is where C. Thomas Flood comes in, a beatnik author from Indiana, who works midnights at the Safeway. He falls in love with Jodi immediately, and realizes that there is something strange about his love.


Follow the humorous journey through the night, the underworld, the streets and alleys of San Francisco as Thomas tries to find a way to be with the woman he loves even if she is undead. And Jodi tries to find out what being undead is all about. Can this love survive? And if you’ve enjoyed this one, check out his other writings:
Island of the Sequined Love Nun, or The Lusty Lizard of Melancholy Cove.

(First Published in 'Imprint' 2005-12-02 as 'Horrific Humour')

Other Moore Books I Have Reviewed:
Bloodsucking Fiends
A Dirty Job
You Suck: A Love Story