--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/CynLeitichSmith As it appears live September 27, 2020 2:29:09 PM UTC

Showing posts with label CynLeitichSmith. Show all posts
Showing posts with label CynLeitichSmith. Show all posts

Wednesday, 1 October 2014

Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014

Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014

First I must state the last few years have seen serious changes in my reading habits and volume, but it did pick up again this quarter. Some of the changes if that now I have three children ages 8, 6 and 3. Some if it is ever new and expanding responsibilities at work and the volume of training involved with that. This quarter I only read 29 books and all but one was fiction. You can see the list of all books read here, and favourite books here. There is even a favourite list of authors each year here

Fiction:
1. Blood of my Blood - I Hunt Killers #3 - Barry Lyga
2. Stone in the Sky - Cecil Castellucci - Tin Star Book 2
3. The Iron Trial - Magisterium Book 1 - Holly Black and Cassandra Clare
4. The I Hunt Killers Short Stories - Barry Lyga
Lucky Day - Career Day - Neutral Mask - Blood Boy
5. We Have Always Lived on Mars - Cecil Castellucci

7. Brother Prince Snake - Cecil Castellucci
8. Strongest Conjuration - Skyler White - An Incrementalist Short Story
9. When Gods and Vampires Roamed Miami - Goddess War 0.5 - Kendare Blake
10. Wee Danny - Gerard Brennan


Non-Fiction
6. The Big Picture: 11 Laws That Will Change Your Life - Tony Horton

So another good 3 months and some great books. Four of these authors contributed to Geektastic: Stories from the Nerd Herd an anthology I read a few years back. I have since read books by almost all the contributors and almost all of the books by some of them. It was an amazing collection and will introduce you to some incredible authors. The books I read this quarter were, Blood of My Blood by Barry Lyga's Page the final book in the Jasper Dent series and it was incredible. The Second book I read The Iron Trial by Cassandra Clare and Holly Black it is the first book in a new series Magisterium and if the next 4 are as good it will be another great series. The final book I am currently read was Stone in the Sky the sequel to Tin Star by Cecil Castellucci also an incredible read it is weeks later and I am still mulling it over. But it all stemed from reading Geektastic. The other contributors to that collection are:
Tracy Lynn
Scott Westerfeld
M.T. Anderson
Cynthia Leitich Smith
Greg Leitich Smith
David Levithan
Garth Nix
Lisa Yee
Kelly Link
John Green
Sara Zarrm
Wendy Mass
Libba Bray.



Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More  

Statistics Books Read By Year:

92 - 2014 - January-September
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996









Thursday, 23 February 2012

Sideshow: Ten original Tales of Freaks, Illusionists, and Other Matters Odd and Magical - Ed. Deborah Noyes

Sideshow
Ten original Tales of Freaks, Illusionists, and Other Matters Odd and Magical
Deborah Noyes (Editor)
Candlewick
ISBN 9780763637521

In the last few years I have become a huge fan of anthologies. I usually pick them up because I know an author or two in the collection, but usually find a few new authors to look into deeper. This book was no different. I picked it up for three reasons: first, it was from Candlewick and I have yet to read anything from them that was not enjoyable. Second and third, Cecil Castellucci and Cynthia Leitich Smith both had stories in the collection, and I have read almost all of their respective works. The contributors are:

Contributors:
David Almond
Aimee Bender
Cecil Castellucci
Shawn Cheng
Annette Curtis Klause
Margo Lanagan
Danica Novgorodoff
Matt Phelan
Cynthia Leitich Smith
Vivian Vande Velde

The subtitle of this book is Ten original Tales of Freaks, Illusionists, and Other Matters Odd and Magical. It lived up to that title. These stories are great, from circus freaks to family secrets. Some stories will haunt, some will disturb and all will entertain.

The individual stories are:

The Bearded Girl - Aimee Bender
Those Psychics on TV - Vivian Vande Velde
Year of the Rat - Danica Novorodoff
The Mummy's Daughter - Annette Curtis Klause
When God Came to Kathleen's Garden - David Almond
The Shadow Troupe - Shawn Cheng
Cat Calls - Cynthia Leitich Smith
The Bread Box - Cecil Castellucci
Living Curiosities - Margo Lanagan
Jargo! - Matt Phelan

This was a great collection. Pick it up and maybe you also will discover some new authors from which to read.

Wednesday, 1 February 2012

Haunted Love - Cynthia Leitich Smith

Haunted Love
Cynthia Leitich Smith

Candlewick

eISBN 9780763660475


This short story is now available for free from both Amazon and Kobo. Even though I knew this was a short story, when I hit the end I wanted to know what happens next. I really did not want the story to end. And that is a tribute to the skill of Cynthia Leitich Smith and her mastery as a wordsmith. For fans of Cynthia Leitch Smith's Tantalize, Eternal and Blessed, you will love the story as it just adds to her cannon and we can't help but wonder who the mysterious inline seller of the energy elixir is. For those who have yet to read her works, it will draw you in. Her writings, in this world she created, are very addictive. The other great thing about this free eBook is it has an extended sample of her new book Diabolical. This was a great short story with a really unique twist. Kudos to Cynthia for surprising me yet again. And I am sure it will do the same for you.

Books by Cynthia Leitich Smith:

Young Adult Books:

Tantalize
Eternal
Blessed
Cat Calls - Short Story
Tantalize Kierens Story - Graphic Novel
Haunted Love - Short Story
Diabolical


Books for Kids:

Holler Loudly
Santa Knows
Indian Shoes
Rain Is Not My Indian Name
Jingle Dancer

Author Profile Interview with Cynthia Leitch Smith


Friday, 27 January 2012

Tantalize Kierens Story - Cynthia Leitich Smith and Ming Doyle

Tantalize Kierens Story
Cynthia Leitich Smith (Author)

Ming Doyle (Illustrator)

Candlewick

ISBN 9780763641146

Over these past 2 years, Cynthia Leitich Smith has become one of my favorite authors. The world she has created in her main series and the characters, their interaction, dialogue and flare are incredible. I was a little leery when I heard that one of her books out in 2011 was going to be a graphic novel. I love her writing style and craft as a story teller. So I approached this book with both a little anxiety and a lot of excitement because it was her new book. I should have just trusted that her name would not appear on anything not of great quality.

The thing that took me most by surprise was the appearance of Kieren and Quincie, though to some extent they look as I had pictured them. While reading Tantalize, there was something more. Ming Doyle has captured the essence of the shifter world that Cynthia has created in her previous three novels. The story is well told in word and art. It was a good read and added to the story we already know and love. Well done.

Books by Cynthia Leitich Smith:

Young Adult Books:

Tantalize
Eternal
Blessed
Cat Calls - Short Story
Tantalize Kierens Story - Graphic Novel
Haunted Love - Short Story
Diabolical

Books for Kids:

Holler Loudly
Santa Knows
Indian Shoes
Rain Is Not My Indian Name
Jingle Dancer

Author Profile Interview with Cynthia Leitch Smith














Thursday, 24 March 2011

Cat Calls - Cynthia Leitich Smith

Cat Calls
Cynthia Leitich Smith
Candlewick Press
eISBN 9780763657437

This short story is now available for free from both Amazon and Kobo. Unfortunately I did not realize it was a short story. I started reading it and when I hit the end, I desperately wanted the story to continue. For fans of Cynthia Leitch Smith's Tantalize, Eternal and Blessed, you will love the story. For others who have not read her works it will draw you in. Her writings, in this world she created, are very addictive. It is an amazing short story and it first appeared in a collection from Candlewick Press called: Sideshow: Ten Original Tales of Freaks, Illusionists, and Other Matters Odd and Magical. But I will warn you - this story will make you want to have that whole collection immediately! If you have not read any of her books, get the free download and sample her writings; if you have, you will love this new short story.

Books by Cynthia Leitich Smith:

Young Adult Books:

Tantalize
Eternal
Blessed
Cat Calls - Short Story
Tantalize Kierens Story - Graphic Novel
Haunted Love - Short Story
Diabolical


Books for Kids:

Holler Loudly
Santa Knows
Indian Shoes
Rain Is Not My Indian Name
Jingle Dancer

Author Profile Interview with Cynthia Leitch Smith


Monday, 3 January 2011

Top 10 Picture Books 2010

2010 was my beat year for reading productivity, not counting books read to my children, some again and again I read over 300 books this year. As such it was really hard to pick the Top 10 Picture Books for the year but here goes.

1. Grandma's Gloves - Cecil Castellucci & Julia Denos
2. Peg and the Yeti - Kenneth Oppel and Barbara Reid
3. In The Time Of Noah - N.D. Wilson
4. The Snow Day - Komako Sakai
5. The Littlest Christmas Star - Brandi Dougherty and Sanja Rescek
6. Jingle Dancer - Cynthia Leitich Smith, Cornelius Van Wright and Ying-Hwa Hu
7. Fancy Nancy: Tea Parties - Jane O'Connor and Robin Priess Glasser
8. Daddy Sneaks - Sharlene Weingart
9. Ivy Loves To Give - Freya Blackwood
10. Vunce Upon A Time - Siobhan Vivian & J. Otto Seibold
 

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996

Sunday, 2 January 2011

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010

2010 was my beat year for reading productivity, not counting books read to my children, some again and again I read over 300 books this year. As such it was really hard to pick the Top 10 Fiction Books for the year but here goes.

1. Geektastic - Holly Black & Cecil Castellucci
2. LA Trilogy - Cecil Castellucci
Boy Proof - Queen of Cool - Beige
3. Gothic Trilogy - Cynthia Leitich Smith
Tantalize, Eternal and Blessed
4. Mortal Instruments - Casandra Clare
City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass
5. Thirteen Days to Midnight - Patrick Carman
6. Northern Fright Trilogy - Arthur Slade
Dragur, The Haunting of Drang Island and The Loki Wolf
7. Not That Kind Of Girl - Siobhan Vivian
8. Plain Kate - Erin Bow
9. White Cat - The Curse Workers Book 1 - Holly Black
10. The Knife Of Never Letting Go - Chaos Walking #1 - Patrick Ness
11. The Live-Forever Machine - Kenneth Oppel
12. Clockwork Angel - Infernal Devices Book 1 - Cassandra Clare

As a side note, the reason Geektastic made #1 first it was a great anthology. Second it introduced me to 4 authors who I have read their complete works since discovering them in Geektastic. And third I have plans to read books by almost every other contributor in the book.


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996

Thursday, 30 December 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books of the 4th Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books of the 4th Quarter 2010
1. Blessed - Cynthia Leitich Smith

2. Plain Kate - Erin Bow
3. City Of Bones - Mortal Instruments 1 - Cassandra Clare
4. City Of Ashes - Mortal Instruments 2 - Cassandra Clare
5. City Of Glass - Mortal Instruments 3 - Cassandra Clare
6. The Loki Wolf - Arthur Slade
7. The Knife Of Never Letting Go - Chaos Walking #1 - Patrick Ness

8. Rain Is Not My Indian Name - Cyhthia Leitich Smtih
9. Emiko Superstar - Mariko Tamaki and Steve Rolston10. Rose Sees Red - Cecil Castellucci

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996

Tuesday, 14 December 2010

Rain Is Not My Indian Name - Cynthia Leitich Smith

Rain Is Not My Indian Name
Cynthia Leitich Smith
Harper Collins
Browse Inside
ISBN 9780688173975

With the reading of this book I have now read all of Cynthia Leitich Smith's books in the last few months. All eight of the books are great in different ways, but this one has a depth that even the most casual of readers will find himself touched by the emotions portrayed in the story. Cassidy Rain Berghoff is learning to deal with loss - first the loss of her mother, and now the loss of her best friend. She barely leaves her home. But six months after the death of her best friend, things start to change. First her aunt Georgina is running an Indian Camp, and both her aunt and older brother want her to attend. But that is too much of a commitment for Rain. But she does take the job of capturing the camp on film for the local newspaper.

The story deals with such subjects as grief, death, and recovery; and it is a coming of age story through the process of loss. Rain must learn to find her voice again, either through her pictures or through the journal her aunt gave her and the campers to chronicle their experiences at camp. It is an amazing story and one I know I will read again and again, for myself and to my daughters.

Books by Cynthia Leitich Smith:

Young Adult Books:

Tantalize
Eternal
Blessed
Cat Calls - Short Story
Tantalize Kierens Story - Graphic Novel
Haunted Love - Short Story
Diabolical


Books for Kids:

Holler Loudly
Santa Knows
Indian Shoes
Rain Is Not My Indian Name
Jingle Dancer

Author Profile Interview with Cynthia Leitch Smith


Friday, 3 December 2010

Holler Loudly - Cynthia Leitich Smith and Barry Gott

Holler Loudly
Cynthia Leitich Smith (Author)
Barry Gott (Illustrator)
Dutton Children's Books
an imprint of Penguin
ISBN 9780525422563

Holler Loudly was born loud. Every few generations, one of the Loudlys is unusually loud. But as he grows, everybody thinks he is too loud. He gets kicked out of the movie theatre, he disrupts class, scares the fish away. But maybe one day that loud voice can come in handy. The story is wonderfully written and illustrated. It will be enjoyed in our house again and again and I am sure in yours also, especially as the children try to copy Holler's loud outbursts.

Books by Cynthia Leitich Smith:

Young Adult Books:

Tantalize
Eternal
Blessed
Cat Calls - Short Story
Tantalize Kierens Story - Graphic Novel
Haunted Love - Short Story
Diabolical


Books for Kids:

Holler Loudly
Santa Knows
Indian Shoes
Rain Is Not My Indian Name
Jingle Dancer

Author Profile Interview with Cynthia Leitch Smith

Wednesday, 1 December 2010

Blessed – Cynthia Leitich Smith

Blessed
Cynthia Leitich Smith
Candlewick
ISBN 9780763643263


I was first introduced to Cynthia Leitich Smith's writings this year through the anthology Geektastic. That anthology was so good I have tracked down and read books by most of the authors in it. Cynthia is one of my new favorites. This book ties together characters from two of her other stories from both Tantalize and Eternal and brings them together in a wonderful new story. I did not read these stories in order, and though the three books form a kind of trilogy, they are strong enough to be read by themselves. This story is one of my favorites of over 275 read so far this year.

Our cast of characters is a little overwhelming when looks at together:

Quincie Morris - A neophyte vampire, and heir of her family's restaurant Sanguini's .
Henry Johnson - AKA Bradley Sanguini, the vampire that turned Quincie and who seeks to obtain the powers of Dracula Prime.
Zachary - a guardian angel whose new assignment is Quincie, the first vampire to have a GA.
Kieren - Quincie's best friend and true love, also a werewolf hybrid who has left to join a pack.
Nora - former chef to the Vampire Prince, now head chef at Sanguini's, and ally of Zachary and Quincie.
Freddy - raised to be a servant of vampire royalty, now allied with Nora and Zachary.

And that is just a few of the characters in this story.

This book, and the whole trilogy was written in part as homage to Bram Stoker's Dracula, but also as a dialogue with him and the mythology he created in his story about Dracula Prime. The way she weaves her narrative in and out of these dual intentions is amazing. She has created a world and stories that are compelling and real, and yet she manages to humbly nod her hat to the original. The characters are believable and some endearing; the plot has many unique twists and turns that keeps the reader addicted and turning the pages. In a recent interview the author indicated there is a fourth and possibly fifth book to be written in this work, and they will be much anticipated after this amazing story.

Books by Cynthia Leitich Smith:

Young Adult Books:

Tantalize
Eternal
Blessed
Cat Calls - Short Story
Tantalize Kierens Story - Graphic Novel
Haunted Love - Short Story
Diabolical


Books for Kids:

Holler Loudly
Santa Knows
Indian Shoes
Rain Is Not My Indian Name
Jingle Dancer

Author Profile Interview with Cynthia Leitch Smith



























Friday, 12 November 2010

Indian Shoes - Cynthia Leitich Smith

Indian Shoes
Cynthia Leitich Smith
Harper Collins
ISBN 9780060295318

In this book Ray Halfmoon lives with his Grandfather. It is a collection of 6 short stories about their lives as Seminole-Cherokee living in Chicago. These stories are enduring and heart warming. The stories are:

Indian Shoes
Don't Forget The Pants!
Guess Who's Coming to Dinner?
The Accident
Team Colors
Night Fishing

From stories about pants not being delivered with a tux for a wedding, to a Christmas menagerie, these stories will be fun to read as a family again and again. You will find yourself rooting for Ray, and surprised by his grandfather's kindness, gentleness and ingenuity in solving problems and making things right. It is a wonderful book by an amazing author.

Books by Cynthia Leitich Smith:

Young Adult Books:

Tantalize
Eternal
Blessed
Cat Calls - Short Story
Tantalize Kierens Story - Graphic Novel
Haunted Love - Short Story
Diabolical


Books for Kids:

Holler Loudly
Santa Knows
Indian Shoes
Rain Is Not My Indian Name
Jingle Dancer

Author Profile Interview with Cynthia Leitch Smith