--> Saving page now... https://www.bookreviewsandmore.ca/search/label/DanielALord As it appears live September 28, 2020 4:25:25 PM UTC

Showing posts with label DanielALord. Show all posts
Showing posts with label DanielALord. Show all posts

Wednesday, 31 October 2018

Pamphlets, Booklets, and Books What’s the Difference?

Pamphlets, Booklets, and Books What’s the Difference?

This year I have read and reviewed numerous pamphlets and booklets. I was asked by a read about the formats and functions of the three. It started with the discovery of two Catholic Authors; Alice Curtyane, and Daniel A. Lord. Both were prolific writers in the last century. Both wrote books, booklets and pamphlets. And unfortunately, most of their works are currently out of print. While doing research on these two authors I encountered booklets by The Catholic Truth Society, and have since read 40 books and booklets from CTS. In response to the honest inquiry of non-Catholic, non-Christian reader he is my attempt to add some clarification.

If I were to compare the three formats to fiction to provide some background. If we take the three:

Pamphlet – Short Story
Booklet - Novella
Book – Novel

So, the first distinction is simply length. I cannot give a specific length difference between pamphlets and booklets; but can give some antidotal. Pamphlets art typically printed on thinner paper, and the cover is often the same style of paper, or occasionally a same weight but with color copy. Pamphlets are like tracks or brochures you would pick up at a medical office, or governmental office. Booklets have a heavier card stock cover and are often much longer. I would say most pamphlets are under 50 pages, booklets are between 75-175 pages. Both Pamphlets and booklets have a staple binding.

So that would be the big distinction between booklets and books. Booklets are staple bound, are always ‘paperback’. And are on the shorter side. Books have a glued, glued and stitched binding.

A second factor is the actual process of publishing. Both Blessed James Alberione (1884-1971) and Cardinal Vaughan (1832-1903), were visionaries in using printing presses, and media in evangelization. Cardinal Vaughan founded the Catholic Truth Society, and James Alberione founded the Pauline Family of ministries, including Pauline Books and Media. Both organizations are known to have historically owned their own printing presses. From what I have seen of physical copies of the CTS booklets You can tell when I book was published based on the style, size and format. Again, aligning to the presses, they owned.

For example, older CTS Booklets are printed on a size that matches standard trade paperback. Where the newer CTS booklets are smaller in format. Also, for the newer size you can tell the rough time of printing based on cover designs as they have changed over times, or for some series the color changes every few years.

Now I have been clear in the past that I much prefer electronic books. But the photos below are of physical copies of booklets and books from CTS that I have, that are not available electronically. But with finding authors that I love, and their stuff being out of print I have been ordering scanned copies of old books and booklets from libraries around the world.

And finally, for the purpose. Pamphlets are usually to give a quick introduction, or overview of a topic. The difference between pamphlets and booklets are just length. I have read booklets on single topics, or related topics.  For example I read these three booklets: Saints of North America, Saints of South Asia, and Saints of Africa. Each of these represented numerous saints who were from or served in a specific geographic region. But I have also read booklets of the exact same size and length on specific saints.   


To move from the fiction analogy to a food one; a pamphlet is a taste, a booklet a snack and a book is the whole meal. And what I have loved this year is having so many great snacks from CTS to read. I hope that provides some clarity for the reader who asked the question, and that other readers find it interesting and informative.

My current collection of physical booklets and books from CTS.


A Simple Prayer Book in English and Spanish are booklets bound by staples. The Marian Prayer Book is roughly same size but twice the length and bound by glue with a much heavier cover.


The top two are much older out of print CTS Booklets, the bottom two are more recent booklets.
 

Wednesday, 19 September 2018

Played by Ear - Daniel A.Lord S.J.

Played by Ear
Daniel A. Lord S.J.
Loyola University Press
ISBN 9780829400496
1956

 


Reading this book was both a great joy and a terribly frustrating, It was a joy to read such an incredible autobiography. It was frustrating in all the books he has written that he mentioned and many of the books he mentions that shaped him are all out of print and proving very hard to track down. Even tracking down this book proved not easy. This is the fourth book or booklet by Daniel a. Lord S.J. that I have read this year but it is by far the longest. My introduction was I Don't Like Lent, and it was wonderful. My youngest daughter then received two children's books by Father Lord, for her first communion, and they were wonderful reads for the whole family. Then after many tries I was able to track down this volume through inter-library loan to read.

This autobiography is unlike any that I have read. It was written as a series of letters, from the author to various people. He stated that he wrote in this form because it was natural to him. He also stated he tried not to duplicate too much that is included in his other books, but often touches upon them or refers to them. (The more the pity they are all out of print.) In the introduction we are told:

"He wrote exactly thirty adult books and twelve booklets.  His pamphlets must number nearly three hundred. He wrote forty-eight children's books.  He wrote twenty-five plays, twelve pageants, three musicals; and he published five separate musical compositions, not to mention the tunes incorporated in his pageants, some written in collaboration with others."

From my research only 2 of those books for adults are still in print. And about 50 of the pamphlets are available electronically. The booklets he wrote for children seem to still be available in beautiful hard cover editions. But the rest of his works are very difficult to track down. In the first letter he is writing to young parents and he states about his own school days:

"What I remember most clearly about grammar school was the competition between a group of us for the largest number of books read each week.  We were spurred on by Sister Mary Blanche, who loved books simply and intelligently.  We considered it a feat comparable to athletic victories to score high in the records of books taken from our school library, read, and returned in jig time.  I cannot recall that any of these books were ever assigned for class reading.  They seem to have been the object of supererogatory love."

His love of books and knowledge is a theme that runs through the letters and throughout his won life. And it appears to be something he holds in common with readers who discover his works. Outside of the two passages from the book already quoted, two other passages really had an impact upon me. I took pictures of the text and printed the paragraphs to have them up on my desk at work. In part as a reminder and in part to reflect on them.

First speaking about his early school days he states:

"Yet often, as my priestly life progressed and I have spoken to small college bodies on Catholic campuses, I have bragged in this fashion: "I am a graduate of a small college in a run-down building situated in the very center of Chicago's darkest Ghetto.  Yet I would not trade what I got there for the most spectacular college education the universities of the world could offer."  And I have meant sincerely what I said."

Another speaking about finances while growing up he says:

"Of a Satruday evening my dad simply tossed the pay envelope on the table in the kitchen.  On Monday morning my mother gave him the money he would need for carfare, lunches and incidedntal expenses of the week.  For the rest, his was the generosity and trust, hers was the financial managements that came in its small way close to genius.  When I hear moderns protesting the terrible lack of money, once more I smile.  Times are changed, no doubt of that; and money has no longer the purchasing power that once it had.  But I wonder if in domestic matters it is nearly as much a question of "how much income" as it is of "how well managed and with what generosity, loyalty, good humor, and love.""

I truly enjoyed reading this book. But having it on inter-library loan I felt rushed. I did not have long to read it, and it was an old and frail copy. I could only read it during dedicated times, and because of the condition, would not carry it to read on my commute to work. I would love to eventually track down my own copy of this and take my time and reread the letters at a more leisurely pace.

Lord was a man, a priest, and a Jesuit from a different time. His faith was contagious, to those who knew him, and like me those who encountered him via his writings. I was encouraged and challenged while reading this book. A few times I stopped and took notes, and at other times, stopped and prayed. If you can lay your hands on this book it is a wonderful read!

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2018 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Daniel A. Lord:
Father Finn, S.J., The Story Of His Life Told By Himself For His Friends Young And Old
Played by Ear


Children's Books:
The Our Father: Our Prayer to God
The Hail Mary Our Mother in Heaven

Novels:
Red Arrows in the Night

Pamphlets:
Our Nuns: Their Varied and Vital Service for God and County
I can read ANYTHING!? All right! - then read THIS!
Confession is a joy?
Religion and Leadership
Fashionable Sin - A Modern Discussion of an Unpopular Subject
My Mother, The Study of an Uneventful Life
You Can't Live That Way
The Call to Catholic Action
Our Part in the Mystical Body
I Don't Like Lent

Three Great Catholic Writers That You Might Never Have Heard Of!  Curtayne - Lord - Powers


Saturday, 25 August 2018

Three Great Catholic Writers That You Might Never Have Heard Of! Curtayne - Lord - Powers

Three Great Catholic Writers That You Might Never Have Heard Of!
Curtayne - Lord - Powers

I have a habit of coming across writers, falling in love with their works, trying to track down all of their works. The three authors featured in this piece are writers I consider to have exceptional skills. But other than powers most of their works are out of print, and proving hard to track down. I will give some brief information on each of the authors, and provide links to any reviews I have written, and I strongly encourage you to track down some of their writings and sample them for yourself. I am going to present the authors in the order I encountered them.


J.F. Powers
July 8th 1917 - June 12th 1999


My introduction to the works of J.F. Powers was a short story The Warm Sand, it was a story that really stuck with me, in fact I stated that it haunted me. I wrote about this story and eventually tracking it down again here. It stuck with me and once I found out it was part of a larger story I devoured the works of Powers. I was so intrigued by the works of Powers that in my final year of university I made arrangements to do an independent reading course on his life and his works. He published 2 novels 25 years apart, and both won the National Book award. He also published 4 collections of short stories with some overlapping stories.  Currently both his novels and a collected volume of stories and available in print and electronic formats. In a previous essay I quoted Joseph Bottum who stated that J.F. Powers was: "'The greatest Catholic Writer of the 20th Century'. Up until encountering the following two authors I would have agreed, now I consider the three of them excellent and could not pick a favourite.


Alice Curtayne
November 6th 1898 - 1981


I first encountered the writings of Alice Curtayne through an eBook of Twenty Tales of Irish Saints. I immediately loved it and started researching the author and her works. The hard part is that many of her works did not have North American printings, and all but 2 are currently out of print. I believe she wrote 23 books and 10 booklets. Her booklets were published for the Catholic Truth Society and other publications. Of the 33 works I have identified to day I have been able to track down 17, and have read and reviewed 9. He writing about saints is masterful. And her collections of short stories about Irish Saints are wonderful, and loved by my children and I. The rest of her works are not available in Canada through inter library loan. So I am slowly working on purchasing scanned copies from libraries in Australia, Ireland, England, and Scotland. One book I have tried to purchase used three times, the first was the wrong book when it arrived, the second time it disappeared in the mail, and the third the book seller cancelled because they could not find it after it was ordered. Everything of hers that I have read is excellent. 


Daniel A. Lord
April 23rd 1888 - January 15th 1955


A priest and author posted about Daniel A. Lord and piqued my interest. My first foray into his works is a booklet called I Don't Like Lent, it is simply brilliant. I read it three times this past lent, and have sent a download link to numerous friends. In the introduction to his autobiography Played by Ear I was astonished to read: "He wrote exactly thirty adult books and twelve booklets. His pamphlets must number nearly three hundred. He wrote forty-eight children's books. He wrote twenty-five plays, twelve pageants, three musicals; and he published five separate musical compositions, not to mention the tunes incorporated in his pageants, some written in collaboration with others." If Powers is known by the sparseness of his published works, Lord takes the cake for his prodigious output. Currently all of his fiction seems to be out of print, as well as his booklets. But 45 of his pamphlets are available electronically on Kindle. And numerous are available through The Australian Catholic Truth Society Archive. From what I have read to date, his works like the authors above are well worth tracking down.


So there you have an introduction to three great Catholic authors, leave a comment with who you would recommend. My to be read pile is so high now there is no harm adding to it.


My Reviews and Articles on Powers:
1962 - Morte d'Urban - novel
1963 - Lions, Harts, Leaping Does, and Other Stories
1988 - Wheat that Springeth Green - novel
1991 - The Old Bird, A Love Story - Illustrated Edition
1999 - The Stories of J. F. Powers
J.F. Powers Selected Bibliography
J.F. Powers Book Covers
That Elusive Story
The Warm Sand
Meme Booked By 3 May 2007
Meme Book Meme
Meme Booked by 3 February 2007


RS398 Directed Reading - The Religious Fiction of J.F. Powers
Essay - Why J.F. Powers
The Prince of Darkness and Other Stories
The Presence of Grace
Morte d'Urban
Look How the Fish Live
Wheat that Springeth Green
Essay - J.F. Powers Literary Life and Legacy


Books by Alice Curtayne:
St. Catherine of Siena
A Recall to Dante
Saint Brigid of Ireland
Saint Bernard Abbot Of Clairvaux And Doctor Of The Church
Saint Anthony of Padua
Saint Columcille: the Dove of the Church
St Francis of Assisi: Founder of the Franciscan Order
St. Patrick, Apostle of Ireland
House of Cards
Borne of the Wind
Lough Derg: St. Patrick's Purgatory
Twenty Tales of Irish Saints
More Tales of Irish Saints
Irish Saints for Boys and Girls
Jean-Baptiste Debrabant
Patrick Sarsfield
Saint Bernard and His Friend Saint Malachy
The Trial of Oliver Plunkett
The Irish Story
Francis Ledwidge: A Life of the Poet

Booklets by Alice Curtayne:
(Catholic Truth Society and others)
Saint Philomena
Saint Brigid, The Mary of Ireland
St. Bernard Doctor of The Church 1933
Saint Catherine Of Siena A Woman Who Changed The World
The Story of Knock

The servant of God, Mother Mary Aikenhead
The Holy Man of Dublin; or, the Silence of Matt Talbot
Croagh Patrick. An account of the great national pilgrimage to Ireland's holy mount. 
The New Woman Transcript of a Talk

Books Edited by Alice Curtayne:
The Complete works of Francis Ledwidge

Books Translated by Alice Curtayne:
Labours in the Vineyard by Giovanni Papin


Books by Daniel A. Lord:

Father Finn, S.J., The Story Of His Life Told By Himself For His Friends Young And Old

Played by Ear


Children's Books:


Novels:
Red Arrows in the Night

Pamphlets:
Our Nuns: Their Varied and Vital Service for God and County
I can read ANYTHING!? All right! - then read THIS!
Confession is a joy?
Religion and Leadership
Fashionable Sin - A Modern Discussion of an Unpopular Subject
My Mother, The Study of an Uneventful Life
You Can't Live That Way
The Call to Catholic Action
Our Part in the Mystical Body
I Don't Like Lent


Saturday, 30 June 2018

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Second Quarter 2018

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Second Quarter 2018

It was an excellent quarter. I have found an author I love, Alice Curtayne, even though her books were published between 1930 and 1980 and most never had North American printings. And a publisher the Catholic Truth Society. Between the two of them there are over 30 reads this quarter. The Quarter by the numbers:

102 books read
60 received 5/5 stars
6 of those had been read before
34 were non-Fiction
20 were fiction

Like I stated a good quarter. My problem is even with reading over a book a day my to be read pile is always growing faster than I can read. It was by no way easy to narrow these down to a top ten list for fiction and non-fiction. But this is what I managed to come up with.

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:

1. Alice Curtayne's Books
2. Catholic Truth Society Booklets
and more.
3. Encounter the Saints Series
Saint Maximilian Kolbe Mary's Knight - Saint Teresa of Avila
4. The First Society: The Sacrament of Matrimony and the Restoration of the Social Order - Scott Hahn
5. Daniel A. Lord S.J.
6. Mary and the Christian Life: Scriptural Reflections on the First Disciple - Amy Welborn
7. Heroic Catholic Chaplains: Stories of the Brave and Holy Men Who Dodged Bullets While Saving Souls - Thomas J. Craughwell
8. Further Up & Further In: Understanding Narnia - Joseph Pearce 
9. What the Saints Never Said - Trent Horn
10. Moving in the Spirit - Richard J. Hauser

Non-Fiction Bonus Books:
The Life and Letters of Father Damien, Apostle of the Lepers Joseph Damien De Veuster Edited by Paul E. Nowak
Theology of the Body for Beginners: Rediscovering the Meaning of Life, Love, Sex and Gender Revised Edition - Christopher West
Working Well, Working For Love: On The Sanctification Of Work In The Teachings Of St Josemaría Escrivá - Javier López Díaz

Top Ten Fiction Books:

1. West Brothers Series Theresa Linden
2. Outwalkers - Fiona Shaw  
3. Secrets Visible & Invisible - Catholic Teen Books Anthology
4. Fight for Liberty - Theresa A. Linden - Chasing Liberty Book 3.0
5. Rightfully Ours - Carolyn Astfalk
6. Crimson - Arthur Slade
7. The Priest and the Peaches - Larry Peterson
8. A Battle for the Faith: Two Short Stories -  John Paul Wohlscheid and Theresa Linden
9. Stink Hamlet and Cheese - Megan McDonald and Peter H. Reynolds - Stink Moody Book 11
10. Body Swap - Sylvia McNicoll 

Fiction Bonus Books:
The Demons of Abadon - Larry Peterson - The Complete Series
No Fixed Address - Susin Nielsen 

If you give some of these a try I am sure they will be with the read!

Note: I did not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists, they were in the bonus section. As stated it was no easy task making this quarter. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list. This post is going up early because of the end of the quarter falling during holy week.

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2018 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

193 - January to June 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996




Friday, 27 April 2018

Hail Mary: Our Mother in Heaven - Daniel A. Lord S.J.

Hail Mary:
Our Mother in Heaven
Rev Daniel A. Lord S.J.
Fratelli Bonella (Illustrations)
Gloria Children's Books
William J. Hirten Co., Inc.
ISBN 9781936837168


I discovered the works of Daniel A Lord's works, this past lent with his booklet, I Don't Like Lent. And instantly fell in love with his writing style. But I was unaware that he had written for children. My youngest received as first communion gifts this book and 'The Our Father: Our Prayer to God'. I have read both books through and read them with my youngest who received them and her older brother. Both Children have already asked to read them again tomorrow. To say that they are popular would be an understatement. These books were originally published in 1944 and have be reprinted in 2012. And in preparing to write this review I have discovered that they are also part of a Gloria Children's Book Set with 12 volumes.

This specific book is a reflection on the Hail Mary prayer. It alternates pages of text with facing full page illustrations. The first page is an introduction, the second is Hail Mary, and the rest of the book is a page for each phrase of the prayer. The illustrations are wonderfully and done in a more classic prayer card style. My children loved poring over the illustrations. The book really causes one to think about the words of the prayer, and for the three of us who have read them from 7-47 years of age we loved this book.

My wife is not Catholic, and yet she recognizes our children's and my own devotion to our lady. This book is amazing and helping children understand the centrality of Mary to salvation history and the Hail Mary as a prayer we pray often. This book is not only great to read, and have excellent illustrations, but it is also very well constructed. I find that so many children books today and not constructed to last. I have had books fall apart before a dozen readings. This is not an issue with this book and the others I have seen in this series.

I know that this book will be read and reread many many many times in our household. And that will will track down other books by Rev. Daniel A. Lord S.J., for the kids to read and more me to read as well. This book was a wonderful gift that will be treasured in this household. We recommend it!

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2018 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Daniel A. Lord:
Father Finn, S.J., The Story Of His Life Told By Himself For His Friends Young And Old
Played by Ear


Children's Books:
The Our Father: Our Prayer to God
The Hail Mary Our Mother in Heaven

Novels:
Red Arrows in the Night

Pamphlets:
Our Nuns: Their Varied and Vital Service for God and County
I can read ANYTHING!? All right! - then read THIS!
Confession is a joy?
Religion and Leadership
Fashionable Sin - A Modern Discussion of an Unpopular Subject
My Mother, The Study of an Uneventful Life
You Can't Live That Way
The Call to Catholic Action
Our Part in the Mystical Body
I Don't Like Lent

Three Great Catholic Writers That You Might Never Have Heard Of!  Curtayne - Lord - Powers





Monday, 23 April 2018

The Our Father: Our Prayer to God - Daniel A. Lord S.J.

The Our Father:
Our Prayer to God
Rev Daniel A. Lord S.J.
Fratelli Bonella (Illustrations)
Gloria Children's Books
William J. Hirten Co., Inc.
ISBN 9781936837151


I discovered the works of Daniel A Lord's works, this past lent with his booklet, I Don't Like Lent. And instantly fell in love with his writing style. But I was unaware that he had written for children. My youngest received as first communion gifts this book and 'The Hail Mary Our Mother in Heaven'. I have read both books through and read them with my youngest who received them and her older brother. Both Children have already asked to read them again tomorrow. To say that they are popular would be an understatement. These books were originally published in 1944 and have be reprinted in 2012. And in preparing to write this review I have discovered that they are also part of a Gloria Children's Book Set with 12 volumes. 

This specific book is a reflection on the Lord's Prayer. It alternates pages of text with facing full page illustrations. The first page is an introduction, the second is The Our Father, and the rest of the book is a page for each phrase of the prayer. The illustrations are wonderfully and done in a more classic prayer card style. My children loved poring over the illustrations. The book really does a great job of explaining what each of the phrases in the prayer means, and for the three of us who have read them from 7-47 years of age we loved this book.

This book is not only great to read, and have excellent illustrations, but it is also very well constructed. I find that so many children books today and not constructed to last. I have had books fall apart before a dozen readings. This is not an issue with this book and the others I have seen in this series.

I know that this book will be read and reread many many many times in our household. And that will will track down other books by Rev. Daniel A. Lord S.J., for the kids to read and more me to read as well. This book was a wonderful gift that will be treasured in this household. We recommend it!

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2018 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Daniel A. Lord:
Father Finn, S.J., The Story Of His Life Told By Himself For His Friends Young And Old
Played by Ear


Children's Books:
The Our Father: Our Prayer to God
The Hail Mary Our Mother in Heaven

Novels:
Red Arrows in the Night

Pamphlets:
Our Nuns: Their Varied and Vital Service for God and County
I can read ANYTHING!? All right! - then read THIS!
Confession is a joy?
Religion and Leadership
Fashionable Sin - A Modern Discussion of an Unpopular Subject
My Mother, The Study of an Uneventful Life
You Can't Live That Way
The Call to Catholic Action
Our Part in the Mystical Body
I Don't Like Lent

Three Great Catholic Writers That You Might Never Have Heard Of!  Curtayne - Lord - Powers





Wednesday, 28 March 2018

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books First Quarter 2018

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books First Quarter 2018

I continue to average about a book a day; and have done so over the last two years. This change came about in part due to several factors. First would be a job switch mid 2016 that has lead to a much better work-life balance. Second would be walking between 40-120 minutes a day and using text to speech to listen to books while walking. I currently listen to a book while walking to my bus stop and then read the book while on the bus, and the reverse on the way home. And a few years ago, I removed all games from my PC, phone and tablet, except for a brain training game and Catholic trivia game. I also applied many tips and tricks from Brandon Vogt’s course Read More Books Now. Those three factors have greatly increased how much I am able to read. 

So how does this quarter look? I read 91 books, of those 91 I gave a 5/5 rating to 47. Of those 47 the total non-fiction was 30 and the fiction were 17. So, all in all it was a good quarter. Also, of those 47 a total of 10 were books that had been read and on top ten lists previously. So, I will pick a Top 10 in each category from the new reads and give a hat tip to the rereads. I read some amazing books and narrowing it down to a top ten was not easy. 

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:
1. God Is Love - Pope Benedict XVI - Deus Caritas Est
2. From Islam to Christ: One Woman's Path through the Riddles of God - Derya Little 
3. I Don't Like Lent - Daniel Lord S.J. 
4. Stories of Saints by Alice Curtayne
5. Saint Margaret Mary Alacoque - Emily Beata Marsh and Dani Lachuk - Encounter the Saints Book 37
6. The Fourth Cup: Unlocking the Secrets of the Last Supper and Christ's Crucifixion - Scott Hahn
7. The Peace Promise: Trusting God to Solve the Unsolvable - John Kuypers
8. Blessings from the Battlefield - Ed. Thomas R. O'Brien 
9. Saint Catherine of Siena - Alice Curtayne
10. A Catholic Guide to Mindfulness - Susan Brinkmann

Bonus:
St. Robert Bellarmine - Shaun McAfee
Trickle Down Mindset: The Missing Element In Your Personal Success - Michal Stawicki
Divine Mercy in My Pocket - Marianne Lorraine Trouvé
Keeping Mary Close: Devotion to Our Lady through the Ages - Mike Aquilina and Frederick W. Gruber
Mary Help in Hard Times - Marianne Lorraine Trouve

Extra Bonus Previously on Top Ten List:
1. In Conversation with God - Francis Fernandez
(New eBook editions links to all reviews here)
Volume 2 Part 1: Lent & Holy Week
2. Welcome Baby Jesus: Advent and Christmas Reflections for Families - Sarah A. Reinhard
3. Master Your Time in 10 Minutes a Day: Time Management Tips for Anyone Struggling with Work-Life Balance - Michal Stawicki

Top Ten Fiction Books:
1. Anyone But Him - Theresa Linden
2. Image and Likeness: Literary Reflections on the Theology of the Body - Edited by Erin McCole Cupp and Ellen Gable
3. Amber Fang Revenge - Arthur Slade - Amber Fang Librarian. Assassin. Vampire Book 3
4. Kayan Kronicles - Derya Little 
5. Testing Liberty - Theresa Linden - Chasing Liberty Book 2
6. The Other Side of Freedom - Cynthia T. Toney
7. Stealing Jenny - Ellen Gable
8. Wonder - R.J. Palacio - Wonder Book 1.0
9. We're All Wonders - R.J. Palacio
10. The Revisionary - Kristen Hogrefe - The Rogues Book 1.0

Bonus Previously on Top Ten List:
1. The Flash Hocus Pocus - Barry Lyga
2. Modo Ember's End - Arthur Slade and Christopher Steininger - Mission Clockwork Graphic Novel

Note: I did not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists, they were in the bonus section. As stated it was no easy task making this quarter. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list. This post is going up early because of the end of the quarter falling during holy week.

Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013

Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018 

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

91 - January to march 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996